[Discussion] BT software update 28.26.0

PhilPhil Posts: 974Administrator admin
edited 2 October 2017 in Announcements
Hi all,

Please feel free to discuss the latest BT software update 28.26.0 in this thread.
Tagged:
«13456713

Comments

  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,312Member, Champion mod
    edited 4 September 2017
    At the risk of repeating myself (from the equivalent retail thread):

    Hallelujah - it may only have one small improvement but it will make a huge difference!

    Finally a back journey out of a recording that returns you to exactly the episode tile you went in on!!!!!

    An obvious follow up though is, when will the much mentioned hide channels, discover and action panel feature reappear as promised. If we could have those back very soon now then it would show some good progress at restoring more of the features lost when next gen launched (which for some is now over 7 months ago).

    There would of course still be plenty to work on :)
  • Bernard StayBernard Stay Posts: 16Member
    edited 19 August 2017
    I appreciate the logic improvements. But - for pity's sake - the whole thing is still swamped by dirty blue smog, whenever playback is started, paused, fast forwarded whatever. Even using Guide it is impossible to follow the current program behind all that blue fog. Who in heaven's name came up with that? When, oh when are we going to be shot of it?.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,286Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 September 2017
    The back button is your friend.
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 10 July 2017
    Visionman said:

    The back button is your friend.

    Exactly
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    I daren't update on account that last time it wasnt an "update" (more of a down date) and Ive been regretting doing so ever since.  The catch 22 is that if I don't I'm stuck with the current mess so I guess I'll have to.  After all, it cant get any worse.  Can it?

    Be sure I will provide constructive feedback once updated.

    (Update in progress as I type)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,286Member ✭✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Well?
  • Deke WDeke W Posts: 15Member
    edited 24 September 2017
    No update available on my bt dtr-t2100
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,977Member ✭✭✭
    edited 27 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    I daren't update on account that last time it wasnt an "update" (more of a down date) and Ive been regretting doing so ever since.  The catch 22 is that if I don't I'm stuck with the current mess so I guess I'll have to.  After all, it cant get any worse.  Can it?

    Be sure I will provide constructive feedback once updated.

    (Update in progress as I type)

    I doubt you will ever experience another Great Leap Backwards like the first release of NextGen; expect instead that it will slowly get better until It rivals OldGen for functionality, at least.

    Though I think there are going to be a few things from OldGen that won't come back, and will be sadly missed by various people (Lists, the mini-TV, an EPG that wraps round from 1 to 900 again?), there will be new things in their place.

    And, no doubt, the continued infuriating omission of things that anyone but a YouView executive can see are badly needed, like padding :-)
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • John C1John C1 Posts: 5Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    No update available on my bt dtr-t2110
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Deke W said:

    No update available on my bt dtr-t2100

    Update was forced on my DTR2100 by going in to the SETTINGS - SOFTWARE UPDATE and manually checking.
  • Deke WDeke W Posts: 15Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Visionman said:

    Well?

    Try actually replying to the comments you are alluding to properly
  • SarahSarah Posts: 421Administrator admin
    edited 12 July 2017
    Morning all, 

    This is a phased roll-out to the T2100, T2110, T2200 & T4000 so although the update may not be with your box right away, it should be there soon :) 
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 27 July 2017
    Initial reaction is that unfortunately I see no difference whatsoever.  Caveat:  I updated, had a BROWSE around the GUI, and then went to bed.  No playback, recording or deletion was attempted so full testing is yet to take place (not all bugs where noticeable immediately before).

    All the annoying functionality exists (slow navigation, MyTV in the wrong place, annoying preview banner, extremely annoying half a screen of black fog every time pause or 'Info' is pressed and lingering for far too long).  I cannot review the stop-delete-watched program issue yet but Keith has reported that is now fixed.  Slipping tiles, missing pictures, truncated Info text, incorrect program counts, program icon in place of Apps - all yet to be checked for over time so cant tell if they have been addressed or confirmed gone.  And all the much-loved now missing functionality is still missing eg, playback at time-specific entry point, 'start play' from Info text in guide, mini-review screen, list view, hide/restore channels etc.

    So, one down, and God know how many more changes/fixes/reversals to go...IF they are planning to do anything noticeable (and at 2 months between update intervals I suspect we are going to be enduring this for a long time.  Im afraid hope has long gone.)  With so much frustration that a user can experience from all of the issues he has with the current version, yearning for updates will be heightened and with added urgency.  So, getting an update with no visible changes only leads to a bigger disappointment.

    It would be nice also if Youview would actually publicise the changes ('change log') to their updates given there is so much public interest.
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    It would be nice also if Youview would actually publicise the changes ('change log') to their updates given there is so much public interest.
    It seems they do.  From here: https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/bt-software-update-28-26-0 they say:
    Whats new imageImprovements to MyTV programme navigation
    You can now easily navigate back to your episodes in a series when you have finished watching a programme. When selecting a series in MyTV and playing an episode, pressing the 'Back' button on the remote control will now return you to the episode selection screen.
    So,  just the 1 change then.  One. Oh boy.  Oh well.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,977Member ✭✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Initial reaction is that unfortunately I see no difference whatsoever.  Caveat:  I updated, had a BROWSE around the GUI, and then went to bed.  No playback, recording or deletion was attempted so full testing is yet to take place (not all bugs where noticeable immediately before).

    All the annoying functionality exists (slow navigation, MyTV in the wrong place, annoying preview banner, extremely annoying half a screen of black fog every time pause or 'Info' is pressed and lingering for far too long).  I cannot review the stop-delete-watched program issue yet but Keith has reported that is now fixed.  Slipping tiles, missing pictures, truncated Info text, incorrect program counts, program icon in place of Apps - all yet to be checked for over time so cant tell if they have been addressed or confirmed gone.  And all the much-loved now missing functionality is still missing eg, playback at time-specific entry point, 'start play' from Info text in guide, mini-review screen, list view, hide/restore channels etc.

    So, one down, and God know how many more changes/fixes/reversals to go...IF they are planning to do anything noticeable (and at 2 months between update intervals I suspect we are going to be enduring this for a long time.  Im afraid hope has long gone.)  With so much frustration that a user can experience from all of the issues he has with the current version, yearning for updates will be heightened and with added urgency.  So, getting an update with no visible changes only leads to a bigger disappointment.

    It would be nice also if Youview would actually publicise the changes ('change log') to their updates given there is so much public interest.

    This, you mean, as linked to from Phil's announcement?

    https://support.youview.com/youview-b...
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • andy.whitefordandy.whiteford Posts: 12Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    It's a start but please also bring back a list view to make navigating the episodes easier in the first place!
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 24 September 2017
    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).
  • scottscott Posts: 1,614Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    So you are assuming the update is responsible for this rather than it just be a coincidence.

    Do we have anyone on the older version that can test to prove one way or the other...

  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    I say it based on the conversation with the ITV support guy who said that the "version of the app goes with the software update."  It would be good to see if someone can do a version check of the app (go in to 'About' in the app) on a box pre-update to 28.26.0.
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    It's a problem on itvs side. I have this issue on my youview box granted but my naughbor also has this issue who requested I block the update so she's still on youview classic.
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    Good to know Daniel.  Can you confirm the App version number from your neighbour?  (This will state if its localised app software or ITV-central services with the problem).
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    V1.12
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    Also my version is the same as yours but I run next generation and I run it out of choice.
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    BTW:  A little tip picked up in my conversation:  pointing you remote at the HOME screen of ITV app and pressing 0000777 will clear and reset all ITV Hub app data on the box (requiring you to set you location etc again).
  • scottscott Posts: 1,614Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    so nothing to do with the Software or App versions on YouView it is a problem at ITV's end as two different software and App combinations don't work.

    Maybe this conversation should be in a thread on its own so it is highlighted rather than dragging down the software update thread.

  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    Now that we have identified the problem and confirmed it isnt related (but coincidental in timing) then it will no longer be discussed. (After all, Youview dont need any more dragging down by others, they are doing that well enough themselves with their own software).  However, the thread should remain as discussed in case others experience and then link the problem with the update and can see the details and conclusion.
  • Joanne WestonJoanne Weston Posts: 7Member
    edited 27 July 2017
    List view and hidden channels (one that you can add to rather than "all undo" and start again) are absolutely fundamental functions. Please get those in an update - forget the rest! Fancy frills can wait. Stick to the basics.
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    Its fixed.
  • GrundersGrunders Posts: 122Member
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    Yep, I concur.  Thanks for letting us know.
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,672Member ✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017
    Grunders said:

    Today I now cannot watch any programs from 'ITV' (formerly ITV1) from the ITV HUB app on the youview box (but keep reading).

    It constantly keeps telling me that a region isnt set despite setting the region, and the 'region-setting' page confirming a region has been set. 

    This has serious implications in that you cannot use the 'view direct from EPG' feature that Youview sell themselves on for any programs in the past for channel ITV.  (Try it and you will see that the ITV app reports an error).

    This was not a problem before the update.

    I have now spoken to ITV directly and he has just replicated the error with the latest app and so is reporting it to ITV's tech team.

    So it seems this latest version of the app that came with this software upgrade is faulty.  The current app installed is v1.13.3+28  (I dont know if this was the same version prior to last nights upgrade).

    Readers note:  If you rely on the ITV app to watch ITV, (including the play historic programs' function from the RPG) then for now I would avoid the update until ITV fix things their end.  (I am awaiting email feedback from their technical team).

    No problem
«13456713
Sign In or Register to comment.