[Discussion] Android app update 11.0.25

2»

Comments

  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 629Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 October 2017, 12:27PM
    Graham5 said:

    I have a Pixel XL phone running Android Oreo 8.0.0 and everything is working fine, however, I also have Nexus 9 tablet running Android Noughat 7.1.1 and on that there is strange behaviour: on the main screen if it is set to Sunday 8th Oct, then I tap on a channel logo to see that channels listings, say BBC ONE, the day is still Sunday 8th Oct which is great, however when I hit the back button to go back to the main screen with all channels the day changes to Sat 7th Oct, if you repeat the steps again the day will be on Fri 6th Oct.  
    If it helps, the app doesn't exhibit this behaviour on Nougat version 7.0 running on a Samsung Galaxy S7 edge.

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • CeejayCeejay Posts: 167Member
    edited 11 October 2017, 9:38PM
    Roy said:
    Ceejay said:
    I got excited for a second thinking that this was an update for the Android TV app. But it's not. Still stuck on the old interface for my brand new Sony, so have disabled it in favour of the Freeview EPG...
    Just don’t try to watch catchup from All4 or the itv Hub now, then  :/

    Well I can still access the All4 and ITV Hub apps from the Android App home screen - the only difference is that catch-up programmes cannot be accessed via the EPG.

    Still have a BT TV box with full-fat Youview, just that the implementation on Sony Android TVs seems to have been abandoned and no longer supported.


  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    It hasnt been abandoned, and it is still actively being supported; the recent All4 upgrade is testament to that.

    But it has certainly stalled.

    And Sony have had three iterations of these Android TVs, and still can't get them right; the Sony forum has ongoing complaints every day.

    Considering the flaky platform, it's a wonder that YouView performs so well on it; the major complaints we still get are that it can't record, and that you have to run it to get the All4 and itv Hub apps.

    As if, in some mysterious way, the latter was reason to find fault with YouView, instead of praising it for being the only way you can get either app on any Sony TV anywhere o:)
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • BrendonBrendon Posts: 2Member
    I have just updated to this new version of the app, on a phone running Android version 6.0. I have paired the phone with my youview box and all other functionality works but the TV guide no longer downloads! I cannot therefore set any recordings from my phone any more! Any suggestions?
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    Unpair and re-pair, and see if that helps.

    if not, delete the app, power cycle the phone, download the app afresh, and pair again.

    If it still doesn’t work, post again.

    Come to that, post again if it does work, and let us know what fixed it.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • BrendonBrendon Posts: 2Member
    Roy said:
    Unpair and re-pair, and see if that helps.

    if not, delete the app, power cycle the phone, download the app afresh, and pair again.

    If it still doesn’t work, post again.

    Come to that, post again if it does work, and let us know what fixed it.
    I deleted the app, redownloaded it, paired it again and it works fine now, thanks!
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 24Member
    Finally got the 29.27 update yesterday and it's working fine. Merrily hid all the channels we never watch and again the guide works fine. When I use the app on android, I still see all the channels, including those I've hidden. I recall on previous versions of this app, that it would sync your personal tv guide with that of the app. Tried unpairing and repairing but still the same. Is my memory wrong or is this the way it is? 
  • StephenStephen Posts: 643Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    Dan Dan said:
    Finally got the 29.27 update yesterday and it's working fine. Merrily hid all the channels we never watch and again the guide works fine. When I use the app on android, I still see all the channels, including those I've hidden. I recall on previous versions of this app, that it would sync your personal tv guide with that of the app. Tried unpairing and repairing but still the same. Is my memory wrong or is this the way it is? 
    You're right, it did used to work like that, but with the current implementation of channel hiding, it doesn't get mirrored on mobile. It's something we're looking at restoring though. Although we've heard from some users that they just want the app to mirror the box, and from others that they want a different set of hidden channels on their mobile.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    Stephen said:
    ... we've heard from some users that they just want the app to mirror the box, and from others that they want a different set of hidden channels on their mobile.
    I’m in group one, and the rationale(s) of those in group two escape me  :|

    What might they be?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Dan DanDan Dan Posts: 24Member
    Roy said:
    Stephen said:
    ... we've heard from some users that they just want the app to mirror the box, and from others that they want a different set of hidden channels on their mobile.
    I’m in group one, and the rationale(s) of those in group two escape me  :|

    What might they be?

    Put me in that group too. I can't see the logic in wanting to see or search for channels and the genre of programmes  that I've already decided I have no interest in whatsoever. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    Dan Dan said:
    Roy said:

    I’m in group one, and the rationale(s) of those in group two escape me  :|

    What might they be?

    Put me in that group too. I can't see the logic in wanting to see or search for channels and the genre of programmes  that I've already decided I have no interest in whatsoever. 
    I imagine users might want to do the opposite - have less channels visible on the App than on their YouView box.

    Maybe because they wanted the App to have a more manageable channel list, as they use it to remote record, and they record from fewer channels than they actually keep visible on the box?

    Just guessing, though.....
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Just got a pixel2 running Android 8.0, it does find my youview box, my old phones on Android 5 and 7.1 both running same version of app find the box. They are all on the same network. Have tried factory reset on box it made no difference
  • Just got a pixel2 running Android 8.0, it does find my youview box, my old phones on Android 5 and 7.1 both running same version of app find the box. They are all on the same network. Have tried factory reset on box it made no difference
    Sorry it should say pixel 2 does NOT find the youview box
  • drhowellsdrhowells Posts: 633Member
    Just got a pixel2 running Android 8.0, it does find my youview box, my old phones on Android 5 and 7.1 both running same version of app find the box. They are all on the same network. Have tried factory reset on box it made no difference
    Sorry it should say pixel 2 does NOT find the youview box
    Have you tried restarting your router? I had the same problem a few weeks ago and that solved it for me.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    edited 28 November 2017, 6:59AM
    Just got a pixel2 running Android 8.0, it does find my youview box, my old phones on Android 5 and 7.1 both running same version of app find the box. They are all on the same network. Have tried factory reset on box it made no difference
    Sorry it should say pixel 2 does NOT find the youview box
    Edit (from the little downward arrow top right on a posting, after you have made it) is your friend here; you could just have clicked/tapped there and gone in again, to add the ‘not’ to that first posting.

    And even better, Vanilla does not have the stupid restrictions that NotSat had, so you can still edit a post even after someone else has replied.

    Though Vanilla trust you, as GetSat did not, to avoid making a nonsense of such subsequent postings thereby  :p
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
2»
Sign In or Register to comment.