[Discussion] Humax software update 29.27.0

Philip TrottPhilip Trott Posts: 995Administrator admin
Hi all,

Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software 29.27.0 in this thread.
«13

Comments

  • John LJohn L Posts: 65Member
    Problem with grey banner fast forward/rewind since 29.27.0 update today 19/10/17.

    Hi Phil, Thank you for the software update. Much appreciated at long last! Still a slow process. I use other Freeview machines (thankfully!) but another Member of home uses Youview all the time & I have to keep sorting out problems etc.  
    First thing I noticed is one minor bug with the grey banner? For some reason you can no longer use back button to get rid of the dreaded grey banner that takes up nearly half your tv screen while searching through programmes recorded. The Grey banner timeout seems more or less the same to me. Why not have an option to "turn it off" or "adj delay" if you are a Youview user that "loves" a grey banner in the way nearly all the time? Just seems a silly idea. Freesat managed to resolve their issues years ago with regards the banner. Hopefully Youview will eventually do the same. I assume that your Tech guys are aware & will add to next bug fixes for next software update. John
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    Hi John L,
    Banner time on screen has gone from 10 seconds to 5 and it doesn't take up half the screen, it takes up a third. The 'Back' button on my retail T2000 works as normal.
    I for one welcome your suggestion to have user options for it.
  • John LJohn L Posts: 65Member
    Visionman I was contacting Phil, but thank you for your feedback. It might be 5/6/7 seconds (!), but still takes up more room on my screen + also you can no longer press back even fast forwarding/rewinding. I now record more programmes on an old Freeview box that works better while hopefully awaiting "simple fixes" that were correct/working ok in the original Youview. At the end of the day Visionman, the devices are in my home & we have to live with them until Youview fix errors. John
  • Maybe there's some stuff 'under the hood' but this is a pretty minor update. A reduction in a time delay and a redirect from the end of watching a programme are hardly two month's work. The more intelligent information bar is a plus but I have to reiterate what I really want:
    1) An ability to select a point in a recorded programme other than by using fast forward
    2) List view
    Keep up the good work though.

  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    @JohnL
    This is a peer to peer forum.
    You dont get to choose who responds (as we have sometimes found to our cost) :p
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    edited 20 October 2017, 6:26PM
    @JohnL
    If you want to talk to a member of the YouView team directly, you just need to send an email to community@youview.com and mark it for the attention of the person you wish to speak to.
    Hope that helps.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    edited 21 October 2017, 6:41AM
    Visionman said:
    @JohnL
    If you want to talk to a member of the YouView team directly, you just need to send an email to community@youview.com and mark it for the attention of the person you wish to speak to.
    Hope that helps.
    I rather deprecate this suggestion, as it deprives all those on the community who have the same problem from knowing that it has been raised, and more importantly, of knowing the answer.

    It will also mean that the forum gets unnecessarily bypassed, the workload of the YouView team member unnecessarily increased, and/or the poster getting their answer unnecessarily delayed, especially at weekends, when a question that can perfectly well be answered by a member of the community is asked.

    There are legitimate uses of community@youview.com, of course, but ideally, we should reserve this for when matters are private, not just when people demand their answers only from the horse’s mouth, and spurn the stable lads and lasses who perfectly well know the answer.

    There are, likewise, cases where only the horse’s mouth, so to speak, can provide the answer, but even here before using private communications, the poster should consider if the issue is not actually private, but if the whole community might benefit from the answer.

    At which point, the attention of the YouView staff member is best sought by the @ mechanism, which will ensure they pay attention to that post; but may still respond by endorsing a Community response, if a complete and correct one has already been given.


    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • John LJohn L Posts: 65Member
    Thank you Roy. Point taken. If it's not Visionman, it's Roy! Here ends the "sermon" on the Youview mount. I will contact Youview directly & hopefully progress will be made . . . Have a good Weekend/enjoy your Youview. John
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    John L said:
    Thank you Roy. Point taken. If it's not Visionman, it's Roy! Here ends the "sermon" on the Youview mount. I will contact Youview directly & hopefully progress will be made . . . Have a good Weekend/enjoy your Youview. John
    Sorry - did somebody speak?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • John LJohn L Posts: 65Member
    . . .  and this quiet voice could be heard through the youview box  . . . "yes Roy" . . . have a good weekend . . . thank you for your help . . .
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    John, neither Roy nor I are having a go at you. We're just explaining how things work.
    If you post a comment on this public forum anyone is free to reply, as its a user to user forum.
    If you want to talk to one of the YouView team directly you have to use their email address. 
  • Graham5Graham5 Posts: 8Member
    When trying to update the players & apps manually I get an error message saying "We can't update your players & apps".  I don't know whether this is a problem introduced in this update or a previous updates
  • scottscott Posts: 1,634Member ✭✭
    edited 30 October 2017, 2:04PM
    Graham5 said:
    When trying to update the players & apps manually I get an error message saying "We can't update your players & apps".  I don't know whether this is a problem introduced in this update or a previous updates


    @Graham5 see here :-

    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7604059/discussion-bt-software-update-29-27-0/p1


    SarahSarah Posts: 432Administrator admin

    Thanks for raising the issue regarding the players & apps update button.

    After looking into this, it's just a visual bug so the players themselves will continue to update when a new version is available. We'll make sure this issue gets resolved in the next update. 

    Thanks again,
    Sarah

  • dave3dave3 Posts: 186Member
    edited 3 November 2017, 10:52PM
    Update recieved today
    I agree with some of the points made above
         @andro101010 - The more intelligent information bar is a plus [MYTV]
        @ visionman - [Pause / play] banner now last 5 secs - 'Back' button on my retail T2000 works [as before]
    I also like the hide channel feature and the option when a playback has finished to either play next episode or go back to the list of episodes, although it would be good if with one press of a button you could delete the watch episode and return to main MYTV menu 
    I haven't checked but does this version have the same confirm delete prompt as introduced in the new BT version? 

    However when the new release first invaded my box, the Paused / Play banner was a solid black bar and probably the most annoying new feature.  At some point this changed to a semi- transparent banner, but still with a big black symbol for Play / Paused, which for a lot of programmes can reluctantly be tolerated, but not for certain programmes e.g. sports, subtitles etc. For those programmes I’ll still be pressing the back button as quick as possible, or in the worst case I'll need to  press rewind, play and back button.

     I don't remember this being a problem with playback on previous platforms:-  Betamax, VHS, Freeview, SKY, the previous version of Youview

    In my opinion reducing the time to live of the banner from 10 secs to 5 secs was a waste of effort, why when the bonnet was up, didn’t you get rid of this intrusive and uninformative Play/ Paused banner?





  • dave3dave3 Posts: 186Member

    Does either the version updates or MM4 reset users settings back to defaults?

     Just looked at my setting for “Recording”

     “confirm Delete”    is set to off  

    “Auto delete”   is set to on –

      I thought I had reviewed these settings, post NewGen release and I'm fairly certain I wouldn't have set the above vaules.

        





  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    dave3 said:

    Does either the version updates or MM4 reset users settings back to defaults?

     Just looked at my setting for “Recording”

     “confirm Delete”    is set to off  

    “Auto delete”   is set to on –

      I thought I had reviewed these settings, post NewGen release and I'm fairly certain I wouldn't have set the above values.

    Yes, the MM4 certainly does.

    “Using this mode will revert all your settings back to their defaults, remove any paired devices and delete your recordings & scheduled recording list. Though, we know how important recordings are, so we do offer options to keep your recordings.”

    You can read this here.

    Version updates don’t mess with your settings unless this is unavoidable though, e.g. the change of the modes available in Standby.
     

    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • dave3dave3 Posts: 186Member
    @Roy Thanks for the info - i don’t remember previously seeing the “Before you start”  sectionr – but I was in a bit of a twizzle - blind panic

    I suggest that most people using these instructions for the first time would apperciate they were  changed:-
    In the specific device instructions;  item 1 should be – Please read the “Before you start” instructions and the last item should be “Now reset your preferred users options and if necessary re-schedule all required recordings”. If a factory reset option  has been chosen then also  download latest version of software.

    In the “Before you start” instructions, item 5 could  be re-worded to clarify the different impacts / user actions:-
    e.g. ( but I don’t know if this is correct – I assume if you lose your recordings you also lose the schedule and factory reset regresses software.

     5 All Maintenance Mode resets will cause user settings to be returned to manufactor's defaults, some MM resets will also cause your recordings and  schedule to be deleted. Therefore if able, before starting MM reset, make a note of all your preferred settings and scheduled recordings.

    6 – If the factory reset option has been used, then to bring yourself up to a supported level download the latest version of software using the option in Settings "software Information".

    The above is just a suggestion from a newbie – happy to leave to the experts

    Also I think I saw a posting where someone stated the Youview team are waiting for the rollout to be completed. Does that include those people who have opted to diconnect their devices at night time so they don't get NewGen? Some people have stated, that's what they do.

    In the early days of NewGen I was so irratated I seriously consider doing the same -   Factory Reset - and disconnect over night 


  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    edited 10 November 2017, 3:57PM
    I am told that MM4 now recovers your Schedule from the cloud; if so, the wording there needs to be changed to cover this.

    A YouView rollout is ‘complete’ when the release has been made available to every serial number of the model or models to which it applies.

    This is not related to whether the target boxes actually download the release or not.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • CathyJ76CathyJ76 Posts: 3Member
    Now when I come out of a recorded programme it goes to back to TV. Which means you have to go to MyTV, scroll through to find the programme again to delete it. Is this a permanent change?! Or can it please go back to taking us directly back to the programme in the recordings list when you press stop?
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    It shouldn't do that. Press and hold the power button on the box until it starts to reboot.
  • CathyJ76CathyJ76 Posts: 3Member
    Thanks Visionman, I’m guessing it’s not a new feature then. We’ve tried that and turning it off completely and it still does it. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,233Member ✭✭✭
    CathyJ76 said:
    Thanks Visionman, I’m guessing it’s not a new feature then. We’ve tried that and turning it off completely and it still does it. 
    @CathyJ76, can you check in Settings if you actually have 29.27.0?

    And also check your model/variant, again from Settings, against this list?

    As the behaviour you describe existed, but was fixed in an earlier release than this one.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • CathyJ76CathyJ76 Posts: 3Member
    Thanks Roy, it seems I have version 28.35.0 (but it says software is up to date). So fingers crossed the new software will rollout soon for my box. Thanks for the help.
  • Roy said:
    And also check your model/variant, again from Settings, against this list?
    Ah, glad you posted that for Cathy. I'd been puzzling over why my box hadn't been updated one month on. Answer is the rollout hasn't started for my box yet.
  • It's great that you can hide channels from the guide, but when you scroll through channels in the mini guide they're still there. So please can you remove them from all places in the next update.
  • My Netflix app isn't working with latest software.



  • Dtrt2000 humax.

  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    Try 'Reload Netflix' from the 'Get help' screen. And whats your make and model of box and ISP?
    And it is on 29.27.0, yes?
  • This version says it’s only compatible with the T2000.  Does this mean development has been abandoned on older models?
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,463Member ✭✭✭
    I don't know what you mean, sorry. Whats your make and model of box and ISP?
    And it is on 29.27.0, yes?
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.