Failed recordings again !!!

16791112

Comments

  • SW1SW1 Member Posts: 240
    edited 11 March 2013, 5:36PM
    Glyn Ford said:

    Failed recordings : try this.

    When setting up your YV box, it may offer various regions. Mine offered North West, Isle of Man and Wales.

    I used a 6db Attenuator (from Maplin) in line with the Arial and re tuned again, to just get North West and Isle of Man. I am in North West region (Manchester).

    Once you have reduced the regions it offers you, you might be able to save the set up and remove the attenuator, but i have left mine in line for now. I think it fails recordings when it is able to receive more than your local region?

    Mine has only failed one recording this week since I retuned with the attenuator. I suspect it was a scheduling error as it said the program started and ended at midnight?

    These are not just different transmitters, they are also in different regions, Wales and West in this case. This might be another little factor in all this.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 11 July 2017, 4:57PM
    My Humax trial box is on the latest March release. It definitely picks up signals only from the correct transmitter (Rowridge) and it has definitely not been powered off since the last recording yesterday.

    However, Eggheads was scheduled to record at 6:00 tonight on BBC2. I brought the box out of High Eco mode standby at 6:24 and the recording only started then. This is not a failed recording, but a failure to come out of standby automatically to record. This is only the second time this has happened.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 14 March 2013, 9:05PM
    bramble said:

    My Humax trial box is on the latest March release. It definitely picks up signals only from the correct transmitter (Rowridge) and it has definitely not been powered off since the last recording yesterday.

    However, Eggheads was scheduled to record at 6:00 tonight on BBC2. I brought the box out of High Eco mode standby at 6:24 and the recording only started then. This is not a failed recording, but a failure to come out of standby automatically to record. This is only the second time this has happened.

    The failure to come out of standby to record was followed by a gradual degradation in performance of my youview box thereafter,

    The scheduled recording the following day had a status of Failed Recording. (The only programme scheduled to record was Eggheads daily.) When I next tried to bring the box out of High Eco mode standby, it did absolutely nothing. It would not come out of standby at all.

    In the end, I powered the box right off and on and now it's behaving itself properly again and correctly bringing itself out of standby to record. The problems seem to be caused by some kind of corruption resolved by the power cycle.

    The fix in a recent release has not corrected this particular problem. My Humax box has in the past been pretty reliable and has not been plagued with failed recordings.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 15 March 2013, 9:04PM
    bramble said:

    My Humax trial box is on the latest March release. It definitely picks up signals only from the correct transmitter (Rowridge) and it has definitely not been powered off since the last recording yesterday.

    However, Eggheads was scheduled to record at 6:00 tonight on BBC2. I brought the box out of High Eco mode standby at 6:24 and the recording only started then. This is not a failed recording, but a failure to come out of standby automatically to record. This is only the second time this has happened.

    My Humax youview box failed again today to come out of High Eco standby to make a scheduled recording.

    I had previously experienced the Long boot up / double boot up problem http://community.youview.com/youview/... but this was fixed in an earlier release. I don't know if I'm alone in having this problem and whether it's a known software fault or whether, more worryingly, my box is moribund.
  • Stephen HawkinsStephen Hawkins Member Posts: 11
    edited 10 January 2015, 8:51PM
    I think it's almost pointless adding any more comments regarding this issue; Youview obviously can't work out what the problem is and are therefore keeping very quiet on the whole issue (the dual transmitter thing seems a bit of a red herring in my humble opinion). I still keep getting random failed recordings and recordings that only commence when I go to the MyView to check what's happening after a failed start, etc., etc.

    In summary: you just cannot rely on Youview for timer recordings.
  • PPP QQQPPP QQQ Member Posts: 857
    edited 11 July 2017, 4:57PM
    In summary: you just cannot rely on Youview for timer recordings.
    It doesn't seem like a generalized YouView thing, since not everyone gets it.

    I used to get failed recordings when I first got the box, now I don't, and haven't had for months. So something probably changed, but I don't know what. Not the transmitter. Could have been something about my setup, or the way I was using it.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 15 March 2013, 11:02PM
    PPP QQQ said:

    In summary: you just cannot rely on Youview for timer recordings.
    It doesn't seem like a generalized YouView thing, since not everyone gets it.

    I used to get failed recordings when I first got the box, now I don't, and haven't had for months. So something probably changed, but I don't know what. Not the transmitter. Could have been something about my setup, or the way I was using it.I would tend to agree with you that how people use the equipment is a possible explanation for why some experience particular problems while other don't. However I really have not changed my rather limited usage - same old Eggheads recording every day which has worked fine for months. The only change I am aware of (unless there's a hardware issue coming out of standby) is the latest (March) release.

    I hope that youview or Humax are investigating this sort of reliability issue.
  • CiceroCicero Member Posts: 345
    edited 15 March 2013, 11:45PM
    PPP QQQ said:

    In summary: you just cannot rely on Youview for timer recordings.
    It doesn't seem like a generalized YouView thing, since not everyone gets it.

    I used to get failed recordings when I first got the box, now I don't, and haven't had for months. So something probably changed, but I don't know what. Not the transmitter. Could have been something about my setup, or the way I was using it.Like aisha I used to get failed recordings when I first had the box and now I don't. I haven't changed the way I've been using it but I used to have it in high eco mode and now I have it in low eco.
  • PPP QQQPPP QQQ Member Posts: 857
    edited 16 March 2013, 12:05AM
    PPP QQQ said:

    In summary: you just cannot rely on Youview for timer recordings.
    It doesn't seem like a generalized YouView thing, since not everyone gets it.

    I used to get failed recordings when I first got the box, now I don't, and haven't had for months. So something probably changed, but I don't know what. Not the transmitter. Could have been something about my setup, or the way I was using it.I agree high eco mode could well be involved. I stopped getting failed recordings long before I stopped using high eco mode, but it might be because the failed recordings led me to avoid trying to record overnight, in case it might fail. I just don't remember.

    Since the box failed to emerge from high eco standby, and had to be replaced, I've used only the low-eco mode.
  • KeithKeith Member, Super User Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭
    edited 11 July 2017, 4:57PM
    I still think it is quite difficult to be sure what the cause of failed recordings is and that not all failures will be for the same reason. Since I first got a YouView box almost 9 months ago I have not had any significant problem with failed recordings. I have run my box in high-eco mode for the entire time except for a couple of weeks over Christmas when high-eco was particularly annoying due to the long double boot bug at that time.

    So at least for me recordings are very reliable and the box is run in high-eco mode. However, it is clear to see that not everyone has such a reliable experience and hence there is one or more issues that need to be pinpointed, understood and addressed.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 16 March 2013, 10:27AM
    Keith1 said:

    I still think it is quite difficult to be sure what the cause of failed recordings is and that not all failures will be for the same reason. Since I first got a YouView box almost 9 months ago I have not had any significant problem with failed recordings. I have run my box in high-eco mode for the entire time except for a couple of weeks over Christmas when high-eco was particularly annoying due to the long double boot bug at that time.

    So at least for me recordings are very reliable and the box is run in high-eco mode. However, it is clear to see that not everyone has such a reliable experience and hence there is one or more issues that need to be pinpointed, understood and addressed.

    Until this last week, my experience was very similar to yours Keith (including even the High Eco mode except at Christmas for the same reason!). Failed recordings had not been an issue for me.

    I will see how it goes next week to understand whether this is a temporary blip or whether something has changed the box's behaviour, If it continues, I may have to reset it and start again.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 16 March 2013, 10:42AM
    Don't think I have ever had a failed recording other than when a programme has been dropped or rescheduled. But I use my YV box exclusively for BBC1 HD and BBC HD recordings as this completely sidesteps clashes caused by late-running or early-starting B2B recordings on different channels. Other channels get recorded on one of my other PVRs.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 11 July 2017, 4:57PM
    This is sad. I'm trying to record just the one programme a day, Eggheads on BBC2, but my youview Humax box is just not reliable. After a a few recording failures and failing to come out of standby to record last week, it actually recorded successfully last night. However, this evening I had another another failed recording.

    I remember seeing others reporting this over the last few months while my box was working all right, but now it just keeps happening to my box..

    Has the problem been fixed by the latest software release for the people who were having the problem previously or have they fixed it in some other way, such as getting a replacement unit or running Low Eco mode?

    Is anyone else enduring failed recordings still (particularly affecting most of their recordings) or have I got the problem just when it's been fixed for everyone else?
  • peter griffinpeter griffin Member Posts: 2
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:29PM
    Hi,

    I've now got the March update and still have failed recordings. At least one last night was due to failure to come out of standby, as it started recording the program when the box was turned on.

    I still need to try an adjustable attenuator to get rid of the Wales transmitter to see if that improves the situation at all.

    I believe its a Broadcom system on chip at the heart of this box, and working for a semiconductor company myself I know power management drivers are normally part of the board support package provided by the silicon vendor to the OEM (in this case Humax). So I suspect YouView may not even be in a position to do much about this issue without proper support from Broadcom on why the SoC is not coming out of standby.

    Do YouView actually monitor this support channel? Is there any official way of monitoring the status of the issue (e.g. a bug tracker?) Has anyone had any success reporting these issues with Humax?

    Cheers,

    Pete.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 20 March 2013, 9:05PM
    bramble said:

    This is sad. I'm trying to record just the one programme a day, Eggheads on BBC2, but my youview Humax box is just not reliable. After a a few recording failures and failing to come out of standby to record last week, it actually recorded successfully last night. However, this evening I had another another failed recording.

    I remember seeing others reporting this over the last few months while my box was working all right, but now it just keeps happening to my box..

    Has the problem been fixed by the latest software release for the people who were having the problem previously or have they fixed it in some other way, such as getting a replacement unit or running Low Eco mode?

    Is anyone else enduring failed recordings still (particularly affecting most of their recordings) or have I got the problem just when it's been fixed for everyone else?

    Today the unit would not come out of standby using the remote - the button on the front was blue but nothing came up on the television. Pressing the blue button for several seconds successfully booted the box which revealed another Failed Recording.

    It's just not working. Is this a hardware fault requiring a replacement box? I can't believe this after months of reliable service. Should I contact Humax?
  • KeithKeith Member, Super User Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭
    edited 21 December 2016, 11:30PM
    bramble said:

    This is sad. I'm trying to record just the one programme a day, Eggheads on BBC2, but my youview Humax box is just not reliable. After a a few recording failures and failing to come out of standby to record last week, it actually recorded successfully last night. However, this evening I had another another failed recording.

    I remember seeing others reporting this over the last few months while my box was working all right, but now it just keeps happening to my box..

    Has the problem been fixed by the latest software release for the people who were having the problem previously or have they fixed it in some other way, such as getting a replacement unit or running Low Eco mode?

    Is anyone else enduring failed recordings still (particularly affecting most of their recordings) or have I got the problem just when it's been fixed for everyone else?

    It may be too early to say for sure it is a hardware problem. The first signs my box was failing were several lock ups over a series of days when it was in low eco mode. I switched back to high eco mode and the box appeared ok for several more weeks before nose diving and needing to be replaced.

    If you have another PVR you may want to initiate an exit strategy, e.g. set all the recordings up on the other PVR and on the YouView box focus on watching the most important and older recordings. The YouView box will hopefully last long enough for you to watch up the recordings if it is hardware fault that ultimately needs a replacement. If it dies sooner hopefully you can cover the gap between what you have recorded on the backup PVR and what you managed to watched before the failure using on demand services (so potentially worth checking now which recordings will be available as series catch up for a few more weeks etc).
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:19PM
    gomez said:

    Given that today's update includes a fix for failed recordings perhaps time to draw a line and start again with reporting failures?

    Since the last update, I have had a number of failed recordings which I had not experienced before. One strange thing, I have a morning programme on series record on ITV1 HD. This has begun to show up twice in the my recordings menu. Once as a failed recording and a second time as a complete (and playable) one.

    That update also seems to further slow down the Humax unless you do a hard reboot once a week - mine is taking minutes to change channels at times!
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:20PM
    bramble said:

    My Humax trial box is on the latest March release. It definitely picks up signals only from the correct transmitter (Rowridge) and it has definitely not been powered off since the last recording yesterday.

    However, Eggheads was scheduled to record at 6:00 tonight on BBC2. I brought the box out of High Eco mode standby at 6:24 and the recording only started then. This is not a failed recording, but a failure to come out of standby automatically to record. This is only the second time this has happened.

    Mine fails coming out of low eco mode.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:24PM
    bramble said:

    This is sad. I'm trying to record just the one programme a day, Eggheads on BBC2, but my youview Humax box is just not reliable. After a a few recording failures and failing to come out of standby to record last week, it actually recorded successfully last night. However, this evening I had another another failed recording.

    I remember seeing others reporting this over the last few months while my box was working all right, but now it just keeps happening to my box..

    Has the problem been fixed by the latest software release for the people who were having the problem previously or have they fixed it in some other way, such as getting a replacement unit or running Low Eco mode?

    Is anyone else enduring failed recordings still (particularly affecting most of their recordings) or have I got the problem just when it's been fixed for everyone else?

    Same problem as you today here Bramble. I have also had a garbled recording today (quite a time compared to the ones I had on my previous box). Hope this is not a second disc drive with a bad sector!
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:29PM

    Hi,

    I've now got the March update and still have failed recordings. At least one last night was due to failure to come out of standby, as it started recording the program when the box was turned on.

    I still need to try an adjustable attenuator to get rid of the Wales transmitter to see if that improves the situation at all.

    I believe its a Broadcom system on chip at the heart of this box, and working for a semiconductor company myself I know power management drivers are normally part of the board support package provided by the silicon vendor to the OEM (in this case Humax). So I suspect YouView may not even be in a position to do much about this issue without proper support from Broadcom on why the SoC is not coming out of standby.

    Do YouView actually monitor this support channel? Is there any official way of monitoring the status of the issue (e.g. a bug tracker?) Has anyone had any success reporting these issues with Humax?

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    The firmware responsibilities are a bit murky but the usual analogy is that the bootup software on the boxes is like the BIOS in a computer and the YV GUI like the OS.

    Continuing the analogy, the drivers would seem to be part of the "BIOS" and presumably should be down to Humax to fix. What seems to happen is complaints go through YouView to the manufacturers for comments on what is causing the fault.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 20 March 2013, 10:33PM
    bramble said:

    This is sad. I'm trying to record just the one programme a day, Eggheads on BBC2, but my youview Humax box is just not reliable. After a a few recording failures and failing to come out of standby to record last week, it actually recorded successfully last night. However, this evening I had another another failed recording.

    I remember seeing others reporting this over the last few months while my box was working all right, but now it just keeps happening to my box..

    Has the problem been fixed by the latest software release for the people who were having the problem previously or have they fixed it in some other way, such as getting a replacement unit or running Low Eco mode?

    Is anyone else enduring failed recordings still (particularly affecting most of their recordings) or have I got the problem just when it's been fixed for everyone else?

    Thanks, Keith. In truth, my usage of the box is so low that I don't really need any standby PVR. In fact my recording requirement at the moment is ludicrously undemanding - just one programme on weekday evenings.

    I was going to try Low Eco mode as a circumvention, but from your other comment, Peter, that's not going to help. Only other option I suppose is a full reset of the box.

    I could understand a bad sector causing Failed Recordings, but I'm not sure how that would stop it coming out of standby, but who knows!...
  • tpofstpofs Member Posts: 3
    edited 25 March 2013, 9:31PM
    I was directed here as I tried to find a solution to a problem.

    My problem - recording failures.

    I have a Talk Talk You View box and I can see that many are talking about Humax having the same problem.

    So surely this is a software issue?

    Also as many others have mentioned I can see that the info display does not relate to the program being transmitted.

    Not only can we not make timed recordings we cannot record programs as they are being broadcast.

    So having seen all these people with the same issues where is the solution?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Tpofs

    How are your recordings failing?

    Total loss? Late start? Early finish?

    TT boxes seem to be exhibiting early finish as a bug, though the jury is still out on this
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • tpofstpofs Member Posts: 3
    edited 25 March 2013, 11:25PM
    Update.

    Failed recordings only began on 24th march. Having recorded the Grand Prix a film on film 4 began to record on time. However recording of ITV at 7 did not start and the film 4 recording was still being recorded past the finish time. I stopped this manually.
    On 25th 5 recordings on BBC and ITV failed.
    The software had been auto updated on 20th March.
    I have manually updated the software and the info relates to the program being transmitted.

    Let's see what happens when a recording is due.

    Is anyone from You View out there?
  • AnotherJohnHAnotherJohnH Member Posts: 36
    edited 11 July 2017, 4:57PM
    IMHO, if

    "I can see that the info display does not relate to the program being transmitted. "

    it's likely you are in an area where there is overlap in coverage between two transmitters in different regions (networks).

    Freeview/YouView recording does not cope with multiplxes from different networks due to the epg information being region specific.
    You can watch all the different multiplexes quite happily, but it all goes "failed recording" when you try to record one multiplex using the EPG from another multiplex which is on a different network/region, as the guide contents are subtly different for the "same program" on each region.

    The cure for this is likely to be careful choice and fitting of aerial: band specific, and directional. And/Or signal attenuation, if there's lots of signal from the tx you want, and significantly less from the one you don't.

    Note - all the above may be complete tosh. But it's how I understand it to work, or not, as the case may be.
  • cb3856cb3856 Member Posts: 11
    edited 26 March 2013, 5:19PM
    tpofs: Ive been getting failed recordings, only started in the last week or so.

    Last night it tried to record a program on bbc hd at 8:30, recording failed, the name was Great Savings Wipeout Panorama but that wasnt even on , it was Ripoff Britain. I dont know if there was a change in the schedule. I didnt set anything to be recorded at that time.
  • MrBMrB Member Posts: 57
    edited 31 January 2016, 12:48PM

    IMHO, if

    "I can see that the info display does not relate to the program being transmitted. "

    it's likely you are in an area where there is overlap in coverage between two transmitters in different regions (networks).

    Freeview/YouView recording does not cope with multiplxes from different networks due to the epg information being region specific.
    You can watch all the different multiplexes quite happily, but it all goes "failed recording" when you try to record one multiplex using the EPG from another multiplex which is on a different network/region, as the guide contents are subtly different for the "same program" on each region.

    The cure for this is likely to be careful choice and fitting of aerial: band specific, and directional. And/Or signal attenuation, if there's lots of signal from the tx you want, and significantly less from the one you don't.

    Note - all the above may be complete tosh. But it's how I understand it to work, or not, as the case may be.

    The potential issue of "overlapping transmitter coverage" would be much easier to diagnose (and cure) if the YV box just allowed manual tuning or even just displaying which frequency/channel number is tuned for each channel (like every other Freeview box out there). No fiddling with aerials or attenuators necessary.
  • TomWTomW Member Posts: 508 ✭✭
    edited 27 November 2016, 7:35PM

    IMHO, if

    "I can see that the info display does not relate to the program being transmitted. "

    it's likely you are in an area where there is overlap in coverage between two transmitters in different regions (networks).

    Freeview/YouView recording does not cope with multiplxes from different networks due to the epg information being region specific.
    You can watch all the different multiplexes quite happily, but it all goes "failed recording" when you try to record one multiplex using the EPG from another multiplex which is on a different network/region, as the guide contents are subtly different for the "same program" on each region.

    The cure for this is likely to be careful choice and fitting of aerial: band specific, and directional. And/Or signal attenuation, if there's lots of signal from the tx you want, and significantly less from the one you don't.

    Note - all the above may be complete tosh. But it's how I understand it to work, or not, as the case may be.

    Spot on MrB.

    Lack of manual tuning was raised as an issue at a very early stage (during the trial I think) for exactly this reason.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 26 March 2013, 9:08PM

    IMHO, if

    "I can see that the info display does not relate to the program being transmitted. "

    it's likely you are in an area where there is overlap in coverage between two transmitters in different regions (networks).

    Freeview/YouView recording does not cope with multiplxes from different networks due to the epg information being region specific.
    You can watch all the different multiplexes quite happily, but it all goes "failed recording" when you try to record one multiplex using the EPG from another multiplex which is on a different network/region, as the guide contents are subtly different for the "same program" on each region.

    The cure for this is likely to be careful choice and fitting of aerial: band specific, and directional. And/Or signal attenuation, if there's lots of signal from the tx you want, and significantly less from the one you don't.

    Note - all the above may be complete tosh. But it's how I understand it to work, or not, as the case may be.

    I had the problem of overlapping transmitters at the start of the trial and fixed it with a variable attenuator to solve the problem (not sure if this is an ideal solution for a consumer product.)

    However, after months of reliable service, recently I have been plagued with failed recordings, but with a different cause. My Humax box fails most of the time to come out of standby to make a recording.

    Having no error codes must make it very difficult for youview/Humax to fix the errors. They could fix one cause without knowing about others.
  • tpofstpofs Member Posts: 3
    edited 26 March 2013, 10:45PM
    Thanks for the input from all.

    Must say I'm a little dismayed to see this has been talked about for 6 months and no obvious root cause found.

    I've had this box for almost 2 months and this problem only started on 24th March.

    I don't believe the problem is due to overlapping transmitters (why has it taken 2 months to show?) as suggested but then I'm unsure how I'd go about proving this.. When we were analogue we were able to access two transmitters but the second signal was so weak that pictures were unwatchable.

    Tonight we have recorded two scheduled programs without failures and this was after manually updating the software. So what does that tell me?
Sign In or Register to comment.