MyView and On Demand remote control codes

PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM in Archived Posts
Hi. This topic won't be interesting to everyone, but the following NEC protocol remote control key codes might be useful to anyone who wants to programme these functions into a universal remote for use with a Humax YouView box.

0x000812ED On Demand
0x00089867 MyView

There's a tool which claims to convert NEC codes to "pronto" codes which can be sent to Logitech - from comments I've read on their forum. I'd be grateful if someone can try and let me know.

http://www.monmailbox.com/~raph//irhe...

The TalkTalk protocol is more complex, but I'll publish the full "lirc" configuration files that we use for TalkTalk and Humax boxes in the next day or two in case they're useful to anyone building their own remote control system using a PC or Raspberry Pi.

For the avoidance of doubt, these are specific IR codes for keys and not related to the 3 or 4 digit manufacturer codes that you enter into the YouView remote for controlling your TV.

Let me know if you have any comments or suggestions.
Piers
«13

Comments

  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 3:58PM
    After converting to the Pronto code, I've followed the instructions at http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony... for adding the Pronto code to the harmony remote, and it seems to have accepted it, but I'm not at home at the moment, so I can't try it out. Will have a go later on this evening if I can though.
  • Russell BrownRussell Brown Posts: 2Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 5:01PM
    Ooooo... I'm playing with a Raspberry and IR today.

    Any chance of the Humax lirc config files like... errr. now? :)
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    @James. Thanks for trying this. I had to the give my harmony back to it's owner before I had a chance use it, but I've got another one coming.

    @Russell . Here's an unofficial link the humax lirc config. We'll publish to somewhere on YouView servers or github soon.

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1J...

    Some of the timings are captured and the repeat timing has been added manually but it seems to work.
  • parneyparney Posts: 89Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 6:20PM
    I converted both codes, followed the directions in James Smith's post and added as custom buttons on my Logitech Harmony 650 but they didnt work :( Anyone got them working? I suspect I've done something wrong....
  • Russell BrownRussell Brown Posts: 2Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 7:00PM
    Thanks Piers. Helpful as ever.
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    That's disappointing, parney. I'm going to be a bit out of the loop until my harmony remote arrives, and it's hard to know where it's gone wrong. There are some tools that can analyse the output of an IR remote in terms of 0s and 1s (pulses and spaces as they're known), and lirc has a utility called "mode2" that shows what has been received on a PC but you'll need an IR receiver.

    http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Ca...

    I've got one made by SMK that I use with with the raspberry pi. I hope that someone will post a working solution before you have to resort to that!
  • gomezgomez Posts: 2,073Member ✭✭
    edited 25 February 2013, 7:31PM
    Just tried it with my 555 and the MyView code does not work (or I have done something wrong converting it and add it to the device as per the instructions).
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    No good here either. However, I have no idea at what stage it went wrong, and I don't think I have the right kit to debug. Will try again from scratch later if I get chance.
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    Russell - a couple of useful links. This weekend I set up a raspberry pi + gpio lirc + IR led + amote on a tablet, to control YouView, TV, HDMI switcher and amp. Still a few rough edges but allowed me to retire a couple of remote controls.

    http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/vie...
    http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/vie...

    Amote screenshot :
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Floppy said:

    No good here either. However, I have no idea at what stage it went wrong, and I don't think I have the right kit to debug. Will try again from scratch later if I get chance.

    Thanks. I'll let you know what happens with my remote later in the week . The fact that I can generate these codes successfully, might allow me to teach the logitech remote directly and upload the pronto codes.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 7:56PM
    I just tried to regenerate the Pronto code, and realised that it also generates as a 16 bit code, so I'm going to give that a go.
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    The pronto generator gives different output depending on whether you have a space between the address and the command code. Might be worth trying with a space if you didn't have previously.

    e.g. "0008 9867"
  • gomezgomez Posts: 2,073Member ✭✭
    edited 25 February 2013, 8:19PM
    Just tried it with the space and still not working for me.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 8:35PM
    I tried just the last 6 digits in the 16-bit format, but still no luck.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 9:11PM
    This is the display on the Harmony site that I get when loading in the code converted without the space. Make sense to anyone?

  • parneyparney Posts: 89Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 9:11PM
    Floppy said:

    This is the display on the Harmony site that I get when loading in the code converted without the space. Make sense to anyone?

    That's what i get, makes no sense to me though!
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    Ah, that image corresponds to 000080F8 according to header which isn't correct.

    Here's the output that we should have: (pulse = carrier). The bit/byte order is getting mixed up, and I think we want 32-bit. The first 16bits are 0x0008 (Humax address code), and the last 16 bits are the command we want (0x98 0x67 - the last 2 bytes are actually the bitwise inverse of each other, and for all commands those 2 bytes add up to 0xFF - that's just the way the NEC protocol works in this mode and it adds reliability)

    pulse 9000
    space 4400
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 1650
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 1650
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 1650
    pulse 550
    space 1650
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 500
    pulse 600
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 1650
    pulse 600
    space 1650
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 550
    pulse 550
    space 1650
    pulse 600
    space 1650
    pulse 550
    space 1700
    pulse 550
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 9:38PM
    I thought it might be something like that, thanks for confirming. I'll try varying the byte ordering and see if I can get it to generate right.
  • parneyparney Posts: 89Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 9:52PM
    I tried a different tool to convert the NEC protocol code to pronto code and ended up with the same output.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:23PM
    I'm not having any luck with byte ordering, but there is a sort of intermediate format on the Harmony site that looks like:

    F948DP2307S1176P0228S0228P0228S0228P0228S0228

    This is showing the pulses and spaces in hex, so I should be able to take Piers' listing above, convert it to this, and paste it in by hand halfway through the process. Not exactly foolproof, but might work. Here goes...
  • CiceroCicero Posts: 345Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:48PM
    Hi Piers.

    I certainly see what you mean when you introduced this thread with:-
    "Hi. This topic won't be interesting to everyone"
    lol!
  • gomezgomez Posts: 2,073Member ✭✭
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:23PM
    Floppy said:

    I'm not having any luck with byte ordering, but there is a sort of intermediate format on the Harmony site that looks like:

    F948DP2307S1176P0228S0228P0228S0228P0228S0228

    This is showing the pulses and spaces in hex, so I should be able to take Piers' listing above, convert it to this, and paste it in by hand halfway through the process. Not exactly foolproof, but might work. Here goes...

    Well volunteered that man!
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:40PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    AND IT ONLY BLOODY WORKS! Piers, you are a God among men.

    To summarise:

    1) Log in at http://members.harmonyremote.com/

    2) Go to http://members.harmonyremote.com/Easy.... Select your device, then click "Manual" and enter the following text in the box at the bottom - this is a wrong Pronto code, but we need to put something in:

    0000 006D 0022 0002 0155 00AA 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 05ED 0155 0055 0015 0E47

    3) In the next form, delete what's there and paste the following text. Click "Next".

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    4) Name the command "MyView" and save.

    5) Go to your installed Harmony remote software, and "MyView" will now be in the command list for the Youview box.

    6) Celebrate!
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    You just beat me to it, but I think I've found the problem with the original approach:

    http://nobbin.net/2012/12/08/converti...

    Converting the lirc code for MyView to Yamaha protocol first and ignoring the last byte as it's inverted automatically means that (I think) you need to input this in the convertor:

    0004 19

    Apologies for not noticing this earlier. Good luck!
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    Brilliant! Thanks for your patience.
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:41PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    Thankyou for pasting the actual sequence we needed to generate, that was the key :)
  • FloppyFloppy Posts: 17Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:42PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    I'm quite sure this can be done more easily, but hopefully this approach will help some people.
  • parneyparney Posts: 89Member
    edited 25 February 2013, 10:43PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    Woooohoooo Nice work James! Got my Harmony up and running now too. I wonder what's going wrong with the conversion process? I guess thats for another day though.
  • PiersPiers Posts: 561Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Floppy said:

    OK, I've generated the string that I think gives the right output:

    F948DP2328S1130P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0672P0226S0672P0258S01F4P0258S01F4P0258S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S0226P0226S0226P0226S0672P0258S0672P0226S06A4P0226

    If you paste that in the final dialog on the Harmony site, you get what looks like the right sequence. I'm trying to program my remote now to see if it works.

    The only bad news is that I've just found a small problem when repeatedly pressing OK after that MyView key, and jumping into and out of the series stack at the top of the list - instead of returning to the main list, it dispels the MyView page and takes you back to where you were before. .e.g Live TV. I'll file a bug report.
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.