Automatic software update April 2013

TanjaTanja Posts: 251Member
edited 19 September 2017, 6:06AM in Announcements
New software for the YouView Humax box is now available for Retail and BT customers. This will be a phased roll out over 2 weeks, so some boxes will receive this software sooner than others. For more information for your BT YouView box please visit: www.bt.com/help/YouView

The software will be available on Talk Talk Huawei YouView boxes shortly afterwards. For more information, please visit: http://help2.talktalk.co.uk/

This software introduces a number of enhancements and new features:
• An enhancement to searching for programmes that are on now and next; Search Suggestions will return results matching the exact search term used.
• Channel Filters in the Guide; Choose from a range of filters in the Guide and apply these to easily get to the type of viewing that interests you.

This software also fixes a number of issues reported by our viewers:
• Subtitles appearing ahead of time during playback of recorded programmes.
• The Fast-forward/Rewind/Skip buttons getting stuck during Live TV and recorded programmes.
• "Sorry that's not working” is displayed when attempting to set a recording through the Guide.
• Audio crackling on Live TV and On Demand programmes.
• A black screen is displayed when exiting the CBeebies Tubes Game by pressing the yellow button.
• Network error or loss of connectivity whilst seeking within an On Demand programme causes the box to become unresponsive.
• Loading a Player from the On Demand section can result in a YVM-105 error message and the Player fails to load.
• Connecting your YouView box to your mobile device fails because no code is displayed.
• A small number of images not appearing in search results.
You can check if you have the latest version by pressing the YouView button on your remote control, navigate to Settings > System Information > Software Versions.

For those boxes that have already received the update you will see the following:
Manufacturer Software: 12.7.0
Component Software: 1.4.10
Platform configuration: 450
ISP Configuration: (varies by ISP)



If your box displays different software versions, please be patient, this is a phased roll out so your box may not have received the update yet.
«13456

Comments

  • Rick DekkerRick Dekker Posts: 10Member
    edited 30 April 2013, 1:33PM
    That's a great update that addresses some of the big issues. Thanks for the hard work much appreciated.
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Posts: 795Member
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    Great, Tanja! Really pleased that the skip button fix is included - will make life with the commercial channels SO much better.

    Will look forward to getting it, and playing with the other features when it arrives.

    Thanks team!
  • parneyparney Posts: 89Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 11:13AM
    NIce work YouView! My wife will be particularly pleased the fast forward button is fixed :)
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,334Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    Checked manually, found it available, and installed it.

    A heavy session on skip and FF revealed only impeccable behaviour. SWMBO will be very happy with that!

    I'll uprate YouView as promised.

    Keep up the good work - next big thing for me is the ability to filter out all those Now TV films I don't subscribe to, so I can see what I could actually choose to watch....
    Off travelling for a while... internet patchy to non-existent....
  • CiceroCicero Posts: 345Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 11:32AM
    Agreed, nice. The guide filters are particularly appreciated.
  • stuart621stuart621 Posts: 616Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 12:26PM
    Great. Look forward to trying this out later.
  • PhoenixPhoenix Posts: 14Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 12:35PM
    Just installing it manually now
  • PhoenixPhoenix Posts: 14Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 12:44PM
    Just finished installing all seems to be OK
  • redchizredchiz Posts: 4,979Member ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 2:05PM
    All good here too, gave the FF/RW/SKIP buttons a good seeing to and it seems fixed, hurrah! Keep up the good work, many thanks.
  • ScuttlebroomScuttlebroom Posts: 279Member
    edited 13 November 2013, 9:01AM
    Thanks Tanja for the head sup on the new software!

    Just thought I would let everyone know that when using the filters on the Guide, you do not have to press the blue button to apply the filter, as OK will work too!

    All looking good so far, will hopefully see the FW skip resolved next time I watch a recording, probably tomorrow now.

    Cheers to all the hard working YouViewers in YouView Towers for making this box better and better!
  • KeyKey Posts: 14Member
    edited 21 September 2013, 12:42PM
    Thank you for fixing the Subtitles and FW/RW/Skip issues. Though, no speed increase to boot-up times, is this still being worked on or is the current speed as good as its going to get?
  • KeyKey Posts: 14Member
    edited 21 September 2013, 12:42PM
    Oh and thank you for fixing the Subtitles and FW/RW/Skip issues.
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Posts: 86Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 4:05PM
    Not had a chance to try out the update yet - but the wife will be very happy about that skip problem having been fixed - thanks to all involved!
  • roger1roger1 Posts: 69Member
    edited 25 October 2014, 11:23AM
    I note that the filters provided differ from the picture provided to the press.
    As a non BT person I get 8, with Film 4 only available under All.

    The press have a picture of an additional 2, Sports and Films, perhaps these will appear later.

    http://recombu.com/digital/news/youvi...
  • damonq2damonq2 Posts: 30Member
    edited 17 February 2017, 12:01PM
    Just done a manual update to the latest version of the software (Humax retail box) and I see with some excitement that, following a complete re-tune, in addition to how many aerial channels I have it now says "Internet channels".

  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 801Member ✭✭✭
    edited 28 November 2016, 10:55AM
    damonq2 said:

    Just done a manual update to the latest version of the software (Humax retail box) and I see with some excitement that, following a complete re-tune, in addition to how many aerial channels I have it now says "Internet channels".

    You don't need to retune to see that. Just go into settings TV Signal and Quality and OK on Number of Channels
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • damonq2damonq2 Posts: 30Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 4:59PM
    damonq2 said:

    Just done a manual update to the latest version of the software (Humax retail box) and I see with some excitement that, following a complete re-tune, in addition to how many aerial channels I have it now says "Internet channels".

    Even better. Hadn't spotted that, as I went straight from update to re-tune.
  • Gerry2Gerry2 Posts: 17Member
    edited 24 September 2015, 7:24AM
    For some strange reason my Humax box under "Software Update" and "Software Versions" shows that the Software was last UPDATED on 23 April 2013.
    However the box is still showing the old March 10.6.0 software.
  • David DrizenDavid Drizen Posts: 183Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 5:41PM
    damonq2 said:

    Just done a manual update to the latest version of the software (Humax retail box) and I see with some excitement that, following a complete re-tune, in addition to how many aerial channels I have it now says "Internet channels".

    Looks like there getting ready for BT sport
  • tjtj Posts: 25Member
    edited 29 August 2013, 6:25PM
    Thanks for all hard work will have a look to see if all works later.
  • David DrizenDavid Drizen Posts: 183Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 6:25PM
    Gerry2 said:

    For some strange reason my Humax box under "Software Update" and "Software Versions" shows that the Software was last UPDATED on 23 April 2013.
    However the box is still showing the old March 10.6.0 software.

    It will because it checks it at 2am the update did not come out till about 10am
  • damonq2damonq2 Posts: 30Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 6:29PM
    I also note that port 8080 is now open (could have been as a result of this software update).

    Despite other posts talking about port 8081 being open http://community.youview.com/youview/... I've never seen an open port on my box... until now.
  • mike fiddlermike fiddler Posts: 75Member
    edited 24 September 2015, 7:24AM
    Gerry2 said:

    For some strange reason my Humax box under "Software Update" and "Software Versions" shows that the Software was last UPDATED on 23 April 2013.
    However the box is still showing the old March 10.6.0 software.

    Likewise, mine says it updated today but shows the old version.
  • CiceroCicero Posts: 345Member
    edited 23 April 2013, 10:52PM
    Gerry2 said:

    For some strange reason my Humax box under "Software Update" and "Software Versions" shows that the Software was last UPDATED on 23 April 2013.
    However the box is still showing the old March 10.6.0 software.

    If you select 'Device Management', 'Software Update', 'Get Update', it will load the latest version if you are scheduled for it under the staggered rollout.
  • Paul B1Paul B1 Posts: 17Member
    edited 24 April 2013, 8:01AM
    Hate to have to report this, but my box stuck on ff last night again. Only once, but if did still happen. Mrs wasn't happy to see the outcome of Broadchurch unfold at high speed. Box has the update.
  • Paul B1Paul B1 Posts: 17Member
    edited 24 April 2013, 8:01AM
    Hate to have to report this, but my box stuck on ff last night again. Only once, but if did still happen. Mrs wasn't happy to see the outcome of Broadchurch unfold at high speed. Box has the update.
  • Paul B1Paul B1 Posts: 17Member
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    Hate to have to report this, but my box stuck on ff last night again. Only once, but if did still happen. Mrs wasn't happy to see the outcome of Broadchurch unfold at high speed. Box has the update.
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Posts: 367Member
    edited 26 February 2017, 12:20PM
    When I first tried to update the box took about 2 seconds to do some sort of download and then restarted the box says software up to date even though it is still on the old version. Trial Humax box..

    Edit..
    Could it be something to do with me being with AOL, same as Talk Talk ?
  • gomezgomez Posts: 2,073Member ✭✭
    edited 24 April 2013, 8:57AM
    Paul B1 said:

    Hate to have to report this, but my box stuck on ff last night again. Only once, but if did still happen. Mrs wasn't happy to see the outcome of Broadchurch unfold at high speed. Box has the update.

    Not only your FF key sticking as you have posted the same thing thrice in quick succession. Do you have a heavy finger? ;)
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Posts: 367Member
    edited 26 February 2017, 12:20PM
    Sorry for posting this twice..

    Box has died after attempting the new software download.
    When booting up it only gets as far as the Humax screen and after a few seconds goes to a black screen and becomes unresponsive ..

    If I leave it in the black screen it goes to maintenance mode after a while, tried all forms of recovery but nothing happens..

    After about five attempts to reset the box to the factory setting it worked but lost all my recordings... And still not got the new software...
Sign In or Register to comment.