Automatic software update April 2013

1356

Comments

  • IB1IB1 Member Posts: 8
    edited 25 April 2013, 10:08PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    Thanks Roy, but I thought the boxes checked for updates every day in the early hours, so it should be showing today's date - which it is in the device management section, but not in the system info section.

    Ian
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    Ah true, I've lost a day somewhere (don't ask). The above would be possible then, if this was a brand new YV box made before the March update could be used in the base software it was loaded with, and installed by or for red snow on the 22nd/23rd, in an area that the April update hasn't yet reached.

    But if that's not the case, it would be a mystery to me....
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 25 April 2013, 10:45PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    I've had this box since the middle of last year. Early adopter purchased directly from John Lewis and not BT. I do subscribe to BT Vision however and this is being used as a second box as I have to use the BT V+ box for the multicast channels. All other connectivity is fine and I can search/use on-demand players etc.

    Does that version seem far behind or is that the version I should have before getting the April update? It's the 23-Apr date thing that is either wrong or misleading.
  • IB1IB1 Member Posts: 8
    edited 25 April 2013, 11:03PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    Yes its odd Roy. The box is only a couple of weeks old but I did a successful update when I installed the box so it already had the March update. Hmm.
  • IB1IB1 Member Posts: 8
    edited 25 April 2013, 11:03PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    red snow - the 10.6.0 software is the March update.

    We (and a few others) seem to have had this version re-installed again on the 23rd. Hopefully it will sort itself out soon.
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 25 April 2013, 11:13PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    Ah ok, sounds good to me ....... new version soon then hopefully.

    Cheers.
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    FWIW I had a problem with the last update. I now realise that it was probably because I did a massive upload of some of my data to the cloud, and that was happening the very night the update tried to come through. The end result was that over about 3 weeks, the Software Checked and Updated fields incremented each day, but the levels stayed the same - the old levels. The other weird thing was that the Manufacturer Software Level field was blank - nothing there at all.
    I didn't want to risk losing all my recorded programmes, so I watched the lot over 3-4 weeks, and then did a Maintenance Mode reset. (I carefully took piccies with my mobile of all that I had scheduled to record, to make it easier to reset it all)
    Anyway, the next night it installed the update successfully, after failing to do so for 3-4 weeks.
    I am not saying that you have the same problem - but others may have - the signs are that each night the Software Checked/Updated fields update to the present day, but no update gets installed. If you see this pattern, then perhaps you have what I had. And that may also be accompanied by a blank Manufacturer Software field.
    I THINK what happened was that the first night it tried to do an update but my router was overloaded uploading all my files. That somehow caused the update to fail - possibly when it just started, and somehow left the system with settings that it couldn't deal with (may have been the Manufacturer Software field) Once this had happened, it happily started the following night (and every subsequent night), updated the software checked/updated dates, and then hit the same problem so didn't complete.
    Once I reset the system, it all went through like clockwork.
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Member Posts: 367
    edited 11 December 2016, 10:58AM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    Same here, Old version seems to have downloaded, maybe that is why I can't force the new software to download and it's telling me I'm up to date..
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 26 April 2013, 8:57AM

    FWIW I had a problem with the last update. I now realise that it was probably because I did a massive upload of some of my data to the cloud, and that was happening the very night the update tried to come through. The end result was that over about 3 weeks, the Software Checked and Updated fields incremented each day, but the levels stayed the same - the old levels. The other weird thing was that the Manufacturer Software Level field was blank - nothing there at all.
    I didn't want to risk losing all my recorded programmes, so I watched the lot over 3-4 weeks, and then did a Maintenance Mode reset. (I carefully took piccies with my mobile of all that I had scheduled to record, to make it easier to reset it all)
    Anyway, the next night it installed the update successfully, after failing to do so for 3-4 weeks.
    I am not saying that you have the same problem - but others may have - the signs are that each night the Software Checked/Updated fields update to the present day, but no update gets installed. If you see this pattern, then perhaps you have what I had. And that may also be accompanied by a blank Manufacturer Software field.
    I THINK what happened was that the first night it tried to do an update but my router was overloaded uploading all my files. That somehow caused the update to fail - possibly when it just started, and somehow left the system with settings that it couldn't deal with (may have been the Manufacturer Software field) Once this had happened, it happily started the following night (and every subsequent night), updated the software checked/updated dates, and then hit the same problem so didn't complete.
    Once I reset the system, it all went through like clockwork.

    Hmmmm, that is interesting. I guess if the update check is done at around 0100 then you might be on to something there. I sync my NAS to cloud storage and there may have been quite a lot of traffic over the last few days at that time.

    I've also been playing with my network. Thanks to BT, I now have lots of extra cables! Infinity Modem > BT HH3 > Netgear R6300 (have to do this as BT Vision INSISTS on being connected to a HH)!
  • NickNick Member Posts: 594
    edited 9 March 2015, 6:43AM

    FWIW I had a problem with the last update. I now realise that it was probably because I did a massive upload of some of my data to the cloud, and that was happening the very night the update tried to come through. The end result was that over about 3 weeks, the Software Checked and Updated fields incremented each day, but the levels stayed the same - the old levels. The other weird thing was that the Manufacturer Software Level field was blank - nothing there at all.
    I didn't want to risk losing all my recorded programmes, so I watched the lot over 3-4 weeks, and then did a Maintenance Mode reset. (I carefully took piccies with my mobile of all that I had scheduled to record, to make it easier to reset it all)
    Anyway, the next night it installed the update successfully, after failing to do so for 3-4 weeks.
    I am not saying that you have the same problem - but others may have - the signs are that each night the Software Checked/Updated fields update to the present day, but no update gets installed. If you see this pattern, then perhaps you have what I had. And that may also be accompanied by a blank Manufacturer Software field.
    I THINK what happened was that the first night it tried to do an update but my router was overloaded uploading all my files. That somehow caused the update to fail - possibly when it just started, and somehow left the system with settings that it couldn't deal with (may have been the Manufacturer Software field) Once this had happened, it happily started the following night (and every subsequent night), updated the software checked/updated dates, and then hit the same problem so didn't complete.
    Once I reset the system, it all went through like clockwork.

    red snow - I've just added a new ideas topic this morning asking about staging the auto updates by downloading the file(s) overnight and then prompting the user about installing them or not. I would welcome any comments or ideas you would have as there seems to be a common problem with an overnight update that is inflexible and that clashes with network traffic/power outages/etc.

    http://community.youview.com/youview/...
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 September 2017, 6:05AM
    I have the same and very confused.

    The image show update of 16th April (not 26th) and software version is different to the version on my box which say updated today (26th April) but says version 10.6.0 so am very confused.
  • Tom1Tom1 Member Posts: 36
    edited 27 April 2013, 10:43AM
    Following a maintenance reset tonight due to recent crashing and locking up issues (fingers crossed this time!) I now have the update when I wasn't getting it on request or overnight.

    It's almost like the update part of the software was broken. I also noticed that the 'last checked' date wouldn't change to the current date when doing a manual check. I thought something was odd as I've always had the updates straight away before.

    Anyway, thanks for the update. Just one question...has anyone noticed a change to the guide aspect ratio? It was fine before but now it doesn't fit exactly in 16:9 on my Samsung TV. The only ratio setting that displays it correctly is 'Just Scan'.
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 September 2017, 6:05AM
    So now I go and try a manual update and it says my software up to date, and shows update date of 26th April, but shows software version 10.6.0 and the FF skip problem still there, so obviously not updated. I wonder if it is now stuck thinking it is up to date but not, so will not receive the automatic OTA attempt?
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    Hi Andy, You should get the new software by the end of next week. It's not available to all boxes yet.
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 September 2017, 6:05AM
    What confuses me is that it went through an upgrade cycle, appearing to download, and did a full restart, and it says "Last updated 26 April 2013
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    That is strange Andy. It's possible that only the ISP config was updated. Are you with BT or TalkTalk? Or it could be that a problem was detected while trying to update and it reverted you back to the previous version - if this is the case, you should still get the update next week.
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 September 2017, 6:05AM
    OK thanks forthe swift response, the full screen says

    Last updated 26 April 1013

    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27
  • Ben Gorman1Ben Gorman1 Member Posts: 13
    edited 27 April 2013, 9:53AM
    Disappointed with the latest update. Within 1 hour of updating, the box froze and I had to turn if off with the switch on the back. Now this morning, I selected a recording to play and it froze. I hope a new update is scheduled in the next week or two to fix these bugs.
  • IB1IB1 Member Posts: 8
    edited 8 November 2013, 9:38PM
    Hi Andy / Piers.

    I think there have been quite a few people with this problem. My box did an "update" after the software roll out started on the 23rd April but to the old version (10.6.0). Thinking my box was somehow broken (only two weeks old - and yes it already had the March upgrade installed) I did a system reset as i did not have many recordings on it. This didn't help, so I then tried a maintenance reset and that did the trick - it kept all the recordings too.

    Ian
  • woodsmanukwoodsmanuk Member Posts: 34
    edited 27 April 2013, 10:43AM
    Tom1 said:

    Following a maintenance reset tonight due to recent crashing and locking up issues (fingers crossed this time!) I now have the update when I wasn't getting it on request or overnight.

    It's almost like the update part of the software was broken. I also noticed that the 'last checked' date wouldn't change to the current date when doing a manual check. I thought something was odd as I've always had the updates straight away before.

    Anyway, thanks for the update. Just one question...has anyone noticed a change to the guide aspect ratio? It was fine before but now it doesn't fit exactly in 16:9 on my Samsung TV. The only ratio setting that displays it correctly is 'Just Scan'.

    Hi Tom, just to confirm the aspect glitch in the guide. I changed my tv settings to force 16:9 rather than auto as it has been since getting the YV box.
  • NickNick Member Posts: 594
    edited 9 March 2015, 6:43AM
    FYI: I've just created a new ideas thread asking for the ability to download any future software updates for installing via the USB slot. Your votes/comments would be welcome!
    http://community.youview.com/youview/...
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 2:05PM
    Nick, there is no need to spam the forums about this, I have just come at your latest thread from three different directions.
  • NickNick Member Posts: 594
    edited 9 March 2015, 6:43AM
    redchiz said:

    Nick, there is no need to spam the forums about this, I have just come at your latest thread from three different directions.

    Sorry rechiz, didn't mean to spam anyone! Apologies to all :)
  • David Smith2David Smith2 Member Posts: 3
    edited 18 September 2014, 11:33AM
    Hi - since the April update the aspect ratio on some of the channels, most notably the HD ones, has gone a bit wonky with everything looking a little stretched. Has anyone else had this problem
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Member Posts: 367
    edited 26 February 2017, 12:20PM
    Finally got the update today.. All seems well, nice job Youview
  • NickNick Member Posts: 594
    edited 9 March 2015, 6:43AM

    Finally got the update today.. All seems well, nice job Youview

    Just got ours today (retail box) as well. Thanks YV, keep 'em coming!
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Member Posts: 367
    edited 11 December 2016, 10:58AM

    Finally got the update today.. All seems well, nice job Youview

    Not noticed any bugs yet...

    Be nice when the number of internet channels go up from zero .. Wonder what the plans are..
  • John7John7 Member Posts: 57
    edited 30 April 2013, 7:10AM
    Checked this morning and update received and applied automatically overnight (humax retail box). Did a re-scan of channels (habit) and all seems fine (if a little sluggish to respond to the remote). Not tried the FF skip button yet or any of the on-demand players.

    Not sure about the implementation of 'filters' to the guide. Would have preferred the ability to create custom filters or change the channel order so have reverted to 'hiding' channels.
  • mike fiddlermike fiddler Member Posts: 75
    edited 24 September 2015, 7:24AM
    I'm a BT Vision customer, and the update was available last night. Seems to have applied ok, not sure about the point of the filters in the guide, but each to their own I guess.

    cheers
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    Waited for the automatic update and it arrived overnight today. Great!

    I will now enjoy skipping through the ads .... LOL!
Sign In or Register to comment.