Won't record BBC1HD

trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM in Archived Posts
Since about the start of May 2015, my YouView Humax T1000 box has ben refusing to record programmes (singly and as a series) from BBC 1 HD.  BBC 1SD is OK as are all other channels.

I have re-tuned the box.  Still won't record
I have done a reset from Settings. still won't record

I am tuned to Beds/Cambs as it has the best signal (70%/100%). Other choices are East Midlands and Yorks/Lincs, both of which are 40/70

Any ideas?
«13456

Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,495Member ✭✭✭
    edited 26 February 2017, 2:39PM
    Hi trophytr5,

    Please post your aerial type (loft/roof etc) and both your signal strength and quality %. 
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,495Member ✭✭✭
    edited 26 February 2017, 2:39PM
    I also wonder if this Freeview multiplex change may have anything to do with it -

    COM8: NEW FREEVIEW MULTIPLEX
    In May, an additional commercial multiplex of channels for viewers with a Freeview HD device, EE TV or YouView box is being rolled out in further locations. Multiplex COM8 currently only carries QVC+1 HD and QVC Beauty HD on channels 111 and 112. There is sufficient capacity for further HD and SD channels.

    COM8 became available during April 2015 in parts of London (Crystal Palace transmitter), the North West (Winter Hill), West Midlands (Sutton Coldfield), Yorkshire (Emley Moor), Central Scotland (Black Hill), Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire (Sandy Heath) and Somerset (Mendip).

    http://www.a516digital.com/2015/05/freeview-channel-updates-may-2015.html
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    Aerial is communal loft (serving 3 flats) with powered booster. 

    Signal strength is 50-55% and quality is 100%. I checked channels 1 (BBC1 SD), 101 (BBC1 HD), 102 (BBC3 HD) 103 (ITV HD) and 107 (BBC News HD) amd they are all about the same
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    Sorry 102 is BBC2 HD, not BBC3 HD
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,495Member ✭✭✭
    edited 26 February 2017, 2:39PM
    Interesting. BBC1 HD is broadcast on Freeview Multiplex PSB3, which also gives you these channels -

    Film4 +1
    BBC2 HD
    ITV     HD
    CH4   HD
    BBC3 HD
    CBBC HD

    http://www.ukfree.tv/transmitters/multiplexes

    Will you test record one of these channels trophy, to see what happens.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Can you watch these HD channels OK, though, or not?

    How, exactly, does it refuse to record them? Does it refuse the record request, and if so with what error code, or does it accept the request and not carry it out, appear to record but produce a blank one, or what?

    Could a new 4G mast have just been switched on in your area, and you will need a filter for this?

    https://at800.tv

    If so, note the comments there about fixing this issue on communal aerials.

    Re the multiplexes in the list that Visionman gave, some of the HD channels you reference are on Com 7 not Com 3, such as BBC News HD and BBC Four HD, and there is one non-HD channel, Film4+1, on Com 3.

    It would be useful to know if your problem is truly related to recording HD, or perhaps related to your reception of Com 3 as Visionman surmises, and a test recording attempt on each of these three channels may help to clarify that.
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • alal Posts: 1,298Member ✭✭
    edited 5 March 2017, 2:28PM
    If BBC2HD is ok I would suggest  a reset and possibly a retune.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    VisionMan - I have sucessfully recorded programmes from BBC2 HD, ITV HD and Ch4 HD (and Ch4+1 HD).

    Roy - Watching BBC1 HD is OK.

    When it fails to record, it just doesn't record them.  I select the programme for recording, it appears in the list in MyView, Scheduled, but nothing happens.  It stays on the list.  I tried recording the same program in HD and SD and the SD one worked and the HD one didn't. 

    I have run the 4G checker and at80 are sending me a filter to se if this solves the problem (I am not convinced!!).  BTW I forgot that when we moved the digital the loft aerial was replaced by an external aerial

    OH DEAR!!!  As I write, just tested recording from BBC1 HD and it is recording it OK!!!  Signal strength is 55%, quality is 100% (the same as before).

    Can someone tell me what are "normal" strength/quality readings and how these might be improved?  The aerial was professionally installed and I watched them check the signal strength at the time.

    So, it is an intermittent problem.

    Dave G
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Posts: 194Member
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.
  • alal Posts: 1,298Member ✭✭
    edited 8 December 2016, 12:01PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Sandy Heath has the HD mux in question on UHF channel 21 so it's most likely that BBC1HD on LCN 101 is from there, as the OP suggests that's the strongest, then I think it's correct. You most likely have a wideband yagi type aerial (all elements the same length) which isn't so hot for Channel 21.

    55% Signal strength is great for most receivers (Especially when quality is 100%). But the youview boxes require a strong signal. I added a booster to mine. 65% should be ok but you'll have to make sure it doesn't over power your other channels.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    This is getting really weird!!!

    Having said that the program was recording (The Housing Enforcers 0915-1000), it was. BUT IT DIDN'T STOP.  When I checked at 1045, it was still recording. 

    I started watching, then fast forwarded to the end of that programme and found it had also recorded Homes Under the Hammer (scheduled 1000-1100).  I then fast forwarded to the end of the recording. I got the "End of Recording" message and when I clicked OK, found that it has stopped recording.

    Perhaps the box is not receiving or mis-reading start/stop signals?

    Starting another test at 1100
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    The 1100 recording started and ended on schedule!!
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    A recording at 1300 failed to started. Programme stayed in Scheduled list
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Posts: 194Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    Hi trophy5,

    Did you read my post from this morning? You don't seem to have made any comments about it.

    Chris.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 28 May 2015, 7:12PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Chris, I have restored the hidden channels, and in the 800 range there are only 800 BBC1 Yorks/Lincs (35%/60%0 and 801 E. Mids (40%/50%).

    Can you explain what a "variable attenuator" is, what is does, where I would get one, how much should I expect to pay and how I would use it to receive only the Sandy Heath signal?  And what does ITV Anglia HD have to do with it? 

    Al, it does indeed look like all the aerials elements are the same length. This may not be "so hot" but there is nothing I can do about it.  It's a shared aerial provided by the landlord.  The aerial is fitted with a booster and I realised that I said it was loft aerial when it is external pole mounted. The booster is in the loft where it is dry and power is available

    Should I consider fitting a second booster on my aerial outlet?
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 28 May 2015, 7:13PM

    Hi trophy5,

    Did you read my post from this morning? You don't seem to have made any comments about it.

    Chris.

    I have now responded
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Posts: 194Member
    edited 18 December 2016, 10:33AM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Hi trophy5,

    Here's a link to variable attenuators
    https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=variable+attenuator+tv&espvd=2&biw=1366&bih=643&so...
    It the link doesn't work, just Google "variable attenuator"

    They are not very expensive. You place it between the aerial lead plug and the YouView box. Adjust it so that you only receive from the strongest transmitter (in your case, Sandy Heath). Then perform a retune.
    The reason I said ITV HD Anglia, is because your required BBC1 HD is on the same multiplex (MUX) as ITV HD Anglia (UHF channel 21).

    I have to disagree with one of the replies you've received - A wideband aerial will have different size elements. A single band aerial will tend to have similar size elements.

    Best regards,

    Chris.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 28 May 2015, 7:55PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    As far as I am concerned the aerial (wide band, single band, yagi whatever) is academic because I can't do anything about it. 

    It belongs to the landlord, was only installed at the time of the digital switch over and sits about 10 feet above the top of  my living room window and I live on the second floor!  So I have to work with what I have.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,495Member ✭✭✭
    edited 22 December 2016, 12:06AM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    I agree you cannot do anything about the aerial, but this is definitely down to your signal/ set up/ reception area, not the box. Chris' suggestion is really worth a go, to try to solve the issue your having.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 8:39AM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Agreed; insert it in your aerial chain, dial it up to max, and see if you can suppress those channels in the 800 range.

    YouView boxes do not do well when torn between two competing transmitters; to be torn between three is a first magnitude clusterfix.

    Equalled only by the way your landlord has been taken in by the aerial installer who fitted a non-directional aerial in an area crying out for a narrowly focussed one.

    As an exercise, since you can see your aerial on the roof, go outside and see how it compares, both in terms of its elements and its direction, with your neighbours' aerials.
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    Thank you to everybody for your replies.

    My plan of action is to fit the filter which at800 are sending me. 

    If that doesn't solve the problem, then I'll get hold of variable attenuator and try that.

    I am going on holiday shortly and will set up the YouView box to record while I am away, recording from BBC1SD rather than HD for the duration.  I also have a Humax 9200 recorder so I can split recording across both boxes.

    Given that I have only a 32" TV, HD is not essential to me. I hardly notice the difference. It's just frustrating when something doesn't record and I have to fall back to iPlayer and it's clones (can't skip through the adverts!). 
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 28 May 2015, 8:32PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    From my vantage point, the aerials I can see on surrounding houses consist of a number of horizontal elements, backed with a small vertical element.  The aerials on our blocks are like the photo and appear larger than the other "domestic" onesimage
  • alal Posts: 1,298Member ✭✭
    edited 8 December 2016, 12:01PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    In comparison to a log periodic aerial (flat gain across the spectrum), a yagi's elements are pretty much the same length throughout. I mentioned this to get an idea of your system, not to tell you to tear it down.

    It's quite well known that channel 21 is at a frequency that can often come in at lower power than the others (on yagis) and as the youview likes strong signals and as your other channels appear ok then I doubt the variable attenuator will fix your particular issue - but stranger things have happened. Adding one would have the same effect as reducing the gain on the amplifier (Perhaps you could temporarily try that?)

    Do you know if your neighbours get a good BBC1HD signal? Can you try your youview at theirs?

    If not you could try adding a booster to get 21 to a decent strength. After that your options become (a) Use a non youview pvr and (b) don't record the HD channels.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 5 March 2017, 2:28PM
    One of the programs that failed to record yesterday and was showing up in the Scheduled list is now showing in the Recordings list as FAILED. 

    Is there a way of diagnosing the cause of the failure, e.g. error code somewhere?
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 29 May 2015, 9:22AM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Not recording BBC1 HD seems the most simplest and most sensible way to go.  My TV schedule for next week for BBC1 has Saturday Kitchen Live, Antiques Roadsow, Jonathon Strange and The Syndicate. 

    Having only SD on these would no great loss.
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Posts: 194Member
    edited 18 December 2016, 10:33AM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    Message to al.

    trophytr5 doesn't have a problem with weak signal on channel 21 (Sandy Heath), therefore further RF amplification is going to be of no help at all. In any case, 100% signal quality is the most important issue. This is more important than signal strength.

    The OP's most likely problem is the additional reception of two weaker (unwanted) transmitters (Waltham and Belmont). The idea of using a TEMPORARY variable attenuator, whilst performing a retune, is so that ONLY Sandy Heath signals are received by trophytr5's YouView box. Believe me, I DO KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT!

    The most likely cause of most PVRs not recording properly (getting confused), is due to the PVR being able to receive from more than one region.

    Chris.
  • alal Posts: 1,298Member ✭✭
    edited 8 December 2016, 12:01PM

    Hi,

    Judging by your first message, it appears you're receiving from 3 transmitters, Sandy Heath (Beds), Waltham (East Mids) and Belmont (Lincs).
    Check to see if you have any channels lurking in the 800s, and see if BBC1 HD is in there, and if it is recordable.
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to perform a manual tune with a YouView box. However, as you say that Sandy Heath gives a considerably stronger signal than the others, you could buy a variable attenuator and adjust it to only receive the strongest signal (ITV Anglia HD) then perform a retune.
    This will ensure that only Sandy Heath transmitter will be received by your YouView box.
    YouView boxes get upset when they receive from more than 1 transmitter.
    After a retune, the variable attenuator can be removed.

    Hope this helps,

    Chris.

    This is not a competition; we are all here to offer help to the OP. What he chooses to do with the info is up to him. As you know what you are talking about then he should follow your advice. Unless it doesn't work for him.
  • alal Posts: 1,298Member ✭✭
    edited 8 December 2016, 12:01PM
    trophytr5 said:

    One of the programs that failed to record yesterday and was showing up in the Scheduled list is now showing in the Recordings list as FAILED. 

    Is there a way of diagnosing the cause of the failure, e.g. error code somewhere?

    Unfortunately not. I would have thought this omission would be in Keith's Consolidated list of improvements and feature requests but I can't seem to find it so perhaps it isn't there.
  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,429Member, Champion mod
    edited 21 December 2016, 11:30PM
    trophytr5 said:

    One of the programs that failed to record yesterday and was showing up in the Scheduled list is now showing in the Recordings list as FAILED. 

    Is there a way of diagnosing the cause of the failure, e.g. error code somewhere?

    Hi Al - item 13 in the list may be close to what you were looking for, i.e. more information status and error message for the recordings list.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Posts: 159Member
    edited 4 March 2017, 1:36PM
    Tested recording everything from about 1300 to 1700 yesterday on BBC1HD and BBC2HD (same MUX?).  All the BBC2s worked, 2 of the BBC1s worked, 1 BBC1 failed, 1 disappeared completely and 1 now appears in the "scheduled" for Monday!!!!

    A friend has a aerial booster he can lend me, so I'm going to try that - as per als suggestion

    Interestingly, tried hiding BBC1 HD (to prevent myself from scheduling programmes that are going to fail) and when I tried to record a program from BBC1 SD, it asked me if I wanted to record the HD version.  Seems a little nonsensical. Understandable, but nonsensical!!
Sign In or Register to comment.