Hannington Com7 Problems

rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM in Archived Posts
Have been attempting to resolve this issue, but no solution yet.

My Panasonic TV is able to receive all channels, and I get 10/10 for almost all multiplexes. However, my TalkTalk Youview box is unable to receive COM7, so BBC4HD/BBCNewsHD.

The aerial is new, and the TV is connected to the same one and cable comes from the Youview box into the TV, so I know the signal is being broadcast and that I can get it as the TV picture is perfect and never breaks up.

My guess is that the box is faulty, so tried another TalkTalk box, same issue.

If I speak to TalkTalk, or Youview support they say signal is poor and check for maintenance on your transmitter.

There seems to be a few people on the TalkTalk forums with similar problems, I've contacted Arqiva to see if they are aware. Also seen similar on some Humax none Youview boxes.

Be interested to know if anyone has seen something similar, or aware of anything I can maybe try.

Thanks.
«13

Comments

  • alal Member, Super User Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭
    edited 5 March 2017, 2:28PM
    COM7 and 8 usually have a lower signal strength than the others and Youview boxes tend to like a strong signal. Talk talk probably mean "poor for our boxes".

    You could try a signal booster/amplifier but you might want to check the signal strength and quality on all muxes before and after adding.
  • rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
    edited 10 September 2015, 3:08PM
    When I do get the signal its the same strength as all the other Multiplexes. Its as though the Youview box just cant see it, the TV has no issues what so ever. Perfect signal , no picture break up.

    When the signal does drop its completely 0%, not just break but nothing at all. A rescan then means these channels disappear from the guide. But TV continues to work perfect.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,455 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    IIRC, there are competing transmitters around Hannington, and YouView boxes are notorious for plumping for the wrong one.

    So put your details in at :-

    http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/coveragech...

    and see what it returns.

    This is a situation that may or may not be relieved when YouView finally get round to implementing the Cultural Learnings of trophytr5 For Make Benefit Glorious Software of YouViewstan.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
    edited 10 September 2015, 9:00PM
    Roy1 said:

    IIRC, there are competing transmitters around Hannington, and YouView boxes are notorious for plumping for the wrong one.

    So put your details in at :-

    http://www.digitaluk.co.uk/coveragech...

    and see what it returns.

    This is a situation that may or may not be relieved when YouView finally get round to implementing the Cultural Learnings of trophytr5 For Make Benefit Glorious Software of YouViewstan.

    Thanks, look at this site a few times, info below;

    Looking at this site, COM7 on Hannington is ch32 and green. Crystal Palace COM7 is ch33, and amber.

    COM8 is ch34 on Hannington and COM8 on Crystal Palace is ch35.

    So there near each other, but com8 works ok on Youview, and is the weakest of all the signals I receive, COM7 is in fact one of the strongest....

    I guess my question, why is the TV perfect and the Youview box not? Theres been a couple occasions where the Youview box wants to know what area location I am, but not often.

    I'm starting to think that these boxes aren't all that great and I either go without, or jump ship to another platform.
  • mike fiddlermike fiddler Member Posts: 75
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:36AM
    Hi

    I have the exact same problem with COM7 channels on my BT Youview box (the newer G4 model).  It flared up again recently.

    When I tuned into BBC News HD, I got an error message saying the signal strength was too low.  If I ignored that and left it, after a moment the picture appeared and the channel played perfectly. Signal strength was showing at around 70%.

    I did a rescan the other day, and totally lost the COM7 channels altogether.

    My old BT Youview box picks up COM7 with no problems, as do the two TVs in the house.

    I have rescanned with and without attentuators, but no joy.  

    I live less than two miles from Hannington transmitter, and when I scan I am offered the choice of South or Berks and North Hampshire regions.  I have tried selecting both of these, with no success.

    So looking above I am guessing theres no answer at present?  A quick google shows other forums with people in the same boat....

    cheers
  • rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
    edited 24 September 2015, 9:04AM
    As you say there are a few people around with similar issues.

    I've managed to finally get through to TalkTalk that this isn't a one off issue, and it seems that a TalkTalk employee has a similar issue so there now looking into the problem.

    I'd be intersted to know if Youview have looked into the issue, as even the BBC admit some people have this issue and that its a manufactureer issue that a software update will resolve.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/faqs/loss_bbchd_channels
  • mike fiddlermike fiddler Member Posts: 75
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Thanks for your note....I am following up on the BT forums also.  That BBC link is interesting, not sure my BT box has a manual scan option tho.


    cheers
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,455 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 8:40AM

    Thanks for your note....I am following up on the BT forums also.  That BBC link is interesting, not sure my BT box has a manual scan option tho.


    cheers

    There is no manual scan as such, but if a mux you want to skip is near the beginning or the end of the scan, some people have advocated starting with no aerial, and then quickly plugging it in when you are past that mux. And/or pulling it out again when you get near the end,

    Thus the consequence of YouView's very simple tuning, when it does not work, is something extremely complicated.

    KISS demands IJW :-(
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 28 September 2015, 5:52PM
    Same issue here with the new plusnet yv box - with my LG Smart TV and the old BT YV box I can view the missing COM 7 channels (https://community.youview.com/youview/topics/since-last-software-update-september-2015-all-com-7-cha...)
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 28 September 2015, 5:52PM
    FYI - I have tweeted Youview asking for them to comment: https://twitter.com/ricke17/status/648420066481053696
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:36AM
    Hi Mike & rsocon, 

    We're not aware of any known issue in the software that might be causing this issue with the COM7 mux, but we're looking into it. Can you both let us know:
    • Box make & model:
    • Software versions:
    • Postcode (please send to [email protected] we encourage you not to post your personal information on the forum):
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:36AM
    Hi rsocon -  Do you also have a link to the thread on the TalkTalk forum you mentioned in your OP?
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 21 December 2016, 7:56PM

    Hi

    I have the exact same problem with COM7 channels on my BT Youview box (the newer G4 model).  It flared up again recently.

    When I tuned into BBC News HD, I got an error message saying the signal strength was too low.  If I ignored that and left it, after a moment the picture appeared and the channel played perfectly. Signal strength was showing at around 70%.

    I did a rescan the other day, and totally lost the COM7 channels altogether.

    My old BT Youview box picks up COM7 with no problems, as do the two TVs in the house.

    I have rescanned with and without attentuators, but no joy.  

    I live less than two miles from Hannington transmitter, and when I scan I am offered the choice of South or Berks and North Hampshire regions.  I have tried selecting both of these, with no success.

    So looking above I am guessing theres no answer at present?  A quick google shows other forums with people in the same boat....

    cheers

    Hi Mike - What is the model number of your old BT YouView box?
  • rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
    edited 28 September 2015, 7:48PM
    http://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/TalkTalk-TV-all-other/COM-7-Issue/m-p/1756605#M79037

    This is where I have a tread open, there are also many similar others. The last comment from TalkTalk indicates they are seeing this issue also.
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 28 September 2015, 7:48PM
    rsocon said:

    http://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/TalkTalk-TV-all-other/COM-7-Issue/m-p/1756605#M79037

    This is where I have a tread open, there are also many similar others. The last comment from TalkTalk indicates they are seeing this issue also.

    I seem to be the only one affected over at Plusnet in terms of open threads on the matter (https://community.plus.net/forum/inde...) Or maybe I'm more vigilant than others, I am an HD snob lol.
  • Alan7Alan7 Member Posts: 10
    edited 16 March 2016, 8:48PM
    Hi all

    I have 2 Youview boxes in my setup, and I receive COM7 perfectly on the TV, the Humax T4000 (and the previous T1000), but NOT on the Huawei DN372. I've tried all combinations of aerial configuration, but cannot change the end result.

    Signal Strength on the Humax is around 79-80% and Quality 100% - the Huawei signal strength is notably lower, but still reasonable at 60-62% with 100% quality. Seems the Huawei has less sensitive tuners on board.

    My local transmitter is also Hannington, and I did manage to tune in COM7 on the DN372 a couple of months ago, but the retune when ITV4 was moved put paid to that and am now back to square one.

    In my case, it seems to be an issue with the Huawei box software. I was hoping the latest update would sort it, but no.......

     Heyho - thankfully, the DN372 is only used as a backup Freeview recorder.............
  • mike fiddlermike fiddler Member Posts: 75
    edited 29 September 2015, 10:30AM
    Sanj, will do, its sort of reassuring to hear I am not alone...
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 29 September 2015, 10:30AM

    Sanj, will do, its sort of reassuring to hear I am not alone...

    Just hope this can be resolved!
  • Steve PowellSteve Powell Member Posts: 52 ✭✭
    edited 10 October 2015, 1:53PM
    I have the same problem in that my TV receives all multiplexes perfectly and with full signal strength, and yet COM7 disappeared some months ago from YouView. It came back briefly, but disappeared again. There is a thread over on the Humax forums about it, so it's not just a Youview thing: https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/hdr-2... Although it seems likely to be a signal strength issue, it may be at the transmitter end, because a number of people regained and then subsequently lost COM7 again at the same times. It seems also likely that Humax tuners are not very sensitive, since people seem to be able to receive COM7 fine on their TVs, with the same aerial cabling. There has never been any admission of known problems or engineering works that I've seen.
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 10 October 2015, 1:53PM

    I have the same problem in that my TV receives all multiplexes perfectly and with full signal strength, and yet COM7 disappeared some months ago from YouView. It came back briefly, but disappeared again. There is a thread over on the Humax forums about it, so it's not just a Youview thing: https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/hdr-2... Although it seems likely to be a signal strength issue, it may be at the transmitter end, because a number of people regained and then subsequently lost COM7 again at the same times. It seems also likely that Humax tuners are not very sensitive, since people seem to be able to receive COM7 fine on their TVs, with the same aerial cabling. There has never been any admission of known problems or engineering works that I've seen.

    Without rattling on about my own issues (same as yours), I have an open fault with my ISP (Plusnet) re this. The last time my ticket was updated, the agent suggested that youview were aware of this and a software release would be issued (no date given) to resolve this.
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 14 October 2015, 5:07PM
    Well, I seem to have had a software update done on the 13th October and have just done a retune and ALL my COM7 7 channel's have returned (am with plusnet) - have others noticed this has been fixed?
  • Steve PowellSteve Powell Member Posts: 52 ✭✭
    edited 14 October 2015, 5:13PM
    Yes - exactly the same here. Automatic software update overnight, and COM7 is back, with 75% strength and 100% quality. Coincidence, or something fixed in the software?
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 14 October 2015, 5:05PM

    Yes - exactly the same here. Automatic software update overnight, and COM7 is back, with 75% strength and 100% quality. Coincidence, or something fixed in the software?

    I know my open fault re. this issue with plusnet suggested that the problem was potentially on youviews side - noticed the s/w update and retuned and all well - hope it remains like this though.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 3:05PM
    Curious, I haven't seen anything posted on here about a Plusnet software update? Glad that it seems to be fixed though!
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 14 October 2015, 5:26PM
    redchiz said:

    Curious, I haven't seen anything posted on here about a Plusnet software update? Glad that it seems to be fixed though!

    me neither
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 December 2016, 12:06AM
    redchiz said:

    Curious, I haven't seen anything posted on here about a Plusnet software update? Glad that it seems to be fixed though!

    Perhaps they aren't in the (RF) loop.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • rsoconrsocon Member Posts: 8
    edited 14 October 2015, 7:53PM
    My TalkTalk box also has the channels back, no software update on mine however.
  • Ricardo LMRicardo LM Member Posts: 59
    edited 14 October 2015, 7:53PM
    hmmmm, so bizarre!
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,282 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 3:05PM
    Perhaps this is a transmitter change? As the problem was widely reported.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 1:57PM
    Visionman said:

    Perhaps this is a transmitter change? As the problem was widely reported.

    Nah, just blame YouView/Plusnet/TalkTalk/Greece/Migrants....  Smiley
Sign In or Register to comment.