Sound disappears when you change channels from SD to HD channel

124»

Comments

  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    Lost sound this morning.  That's twice out of five mornings since I've had the replacement box.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    I lost sound yesterday morning at around 0800. I also had a poor signal, along with a load of other people (reportedly).
    On 17th September I had loss of sound and, at that time, the box also reported "no signal"
    A thought is that my loss of sound might be linked to the Humax box's inability to complete a channel change due to a weak or lost signal, or it being confused by signals from multiple transmitters and that this might be related to my problem in 2015 with being unable to record HD channels
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/6664553/wont-record-bbc1hd#latest
    Humax's position seems to be that, until I try another TV, they cannot provide any further assistance.  But it is definitely the Humax box which is failing. The TV carries on working OK while the T2000 remains with no sound

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭
    trophytr5 said:
    Lost sound again this morning.
    That's two mornings out the five since I had the replacement box
    EDIT Sorry for double post ENDEDIT
    Reduce this posting to a single full stop, PM Sarah, and it will be gone  B)
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭
    edited 3 November 2017, 10:55AM
    trophytr5 said:

    Humax's position seems to be that, until I try another TV, they cannot provide any further assistance.  But it is definitely the Humax box which is failing. The TV carries on working OK while the T2000 remains with no sound

    Ask Humax by what mechanism a TV as culprit here could conceivably cause you to lose sound from the RCA (phono) connections from the YouView box to an audio amp as well.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭

    Roy, I have asked that question of Humax (I think, although not in so many words) and have not had a response

     “Sorry, I don't have a second TV.  So, unless I can borrow one from somewhere, I won't be able to test that.  As the problem occurs only intermittently (longest period without the problem occurring is currently 14 days), it's not a case of borowing a TV for a day or so.

     Even if the problem is CAUSED by a conflict between the TV and the Humax box, the problem lies in the failure of the Humax box to RESOLVE that conflict. After the problem occurs, the TV works normally while the Humax box doesn't

     Perhaps Humax would like to lend me one for a few weeks so they can sort out THEIR problem??”


  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    I am ashamed to say that I have found that the LG TV's software was NOT up to date.  In my defense I would like to say that I tried the "Update Software" item on the TV's menu and it said it was up to date, but when I checked the LG website there was a later version for my model 

    This has now been applied by a USB stick.

    Anyone want to take bets on what the effect is on the problem?

    According to my records, there have been failures on 14 days out of 59 on which I have run the test correctly. 
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    Update
    After applying the LG firmware changes, the Humax box behaved itself for a while (while I was on holiday) but before long it went back to its old habits of losing sound.
    It has done it when there have and have not been new channels added.
    It has done it when there have and have not been software updates.
    Humax have offered to exchange the box again, but so far we haven't been able to agree when.
    Their position, which I can understand, is that until I can test it with another TV and show that it isn't the TV that is the problem, there is little they can do.
    My position is that, even it is the TV that is TRIGGERING the problem, it is the Humax box that is failing to satisfactorily deal with the problem.

    One thought I have had is that I could try using a connection other than the HDMI port (SCART, component) to connect the TV and the Humax and see if it still happens. This might prevent a re-occurence, but doesn't solve the problem. If it happens with a different connection, it would definitely point to the Humax.

    Thougts anyone?
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭
    It won't (shouldn't) happen via SCART, though obviously would downgrade the PQ somewhat.
    Does your TV have an HDMI ARC (audio return channel) port? If so I'd try that.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    I suspected that changing to SCART or RCA would not trigger the failure. Thanks for confirming that.
    LG TV from 2011. No HDMI ARC as far as I can see.
    Aiming to call/visit second hand/TV repair shops locally to see if I can pick up a small used TV with HDMI
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭
    What version HDMI are you using,trophy? And have you tried different ones?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    ? What version of the cable?  The one that came with the Humax.

    And yes, I tried various cables including one horrendously expensive one which made no difference and was returned,
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    edited 14 January 2018, 8:48PM
    Update - Still having the problem. Recently went 20 off/on cycles without a problem.  But it re-occured after that.
    Also, but probably not related, lost sound after some jump back/rewind/fast forward.  Had this one before but not reproducible
    And, one some programs, when I pause the recording, I don't get the banner at the bottom of the screen telling me how far the recording is through.
    The box is being exchanged, AGAIN, tomorrow
  • You'll have to wait for an update to fix the banner problem you're having. It's a known issue.
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    Robert said:
    You'll have to wait for an update to fix the banner problem you're having. It's a known issue.
    In some ways, I'd rather they didn't fix it or fixed it so that there isn't a banner at all.  No banner helps with pausing to read subtitles (e.g. McMafia)
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    Update - Received a second replacement box on15th January and all was good until 2 Feb when it failed again.

    Then, this morning, 8 Feb, I had accidently left it tuned to CH107 overnight and when I changed to CH1 this morning, it lost sound! 
    Restared and it did it again!!
    Restarted and it did it again!!! 
    Restarted and it was OK.

    So the problem doesn't appear to be triggered by a change from SD to HD, just a channel change.  I've also tried changing channels as soon as the box is switched on and also when I have left it to settle and I've had failures in both cases.

    John Lewis are suggesting that, in view of how long this has been going on and my efforts to resolve the problem,  they might consider taking back the Humax and replacing it with an alternative (Panasonic?) plus something to provide the stuff that YouView has that FreeView doesn't (FireStick?)
  • trophytr5trophytr5 Member Posts: 163 ✭✭
    Update - Still doing it.

    After a spell with no problems, the box lost sound 5 times in one week at the end of April and once so far in May.
    Latest suggestion from Humax support is to replace the DTR-T2000 for an FVP-5000T. On the plus side, an extra tuner.  Downside - more money, Freeview not YouView.  I'm going to start a new topic to get advice on this
Sign In or Register to comment.