ITV Hub issue on Sony Android TV's - 16 Dec 2016

SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited 9 July 2017, 6:27PM in Support
Hi all,

We've seen an issue with ITV Hub on Sony Android TV's where the player won't load. The issue has been resolved but may take 24 hours to apply the fix to your TV. 

If you want to use the ITV Hub now, then we recommend clearing the data and cache, which should resolve the issue:
  1. Press Home
  2. Scroll down to Settings
  3. In the TV section scroll right to Apps
  4. Go to System Apps
  5. Hold the right button to scroll all the way to the end and Select YVServiceHost APK
  6. Select Clear Cache and press OK
  7. Then Select Clear Data and press OK
If that doesn't work then you'll need to reboot your TV to apply the fix. Press & hold the standby button on your remote for 8 seconds and the TV will reboot itself.

Comments

  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,043 ✭✭
    edited 12 March 2017, 3:03PM
    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭
    edited 26 February 2017, 2:39PM
    Its safe to say the menus on this TV are very complicated. Though I can confirm the ITV Player is functioning within normal parameters
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,546 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Funky new NextGen job, Sanj, or just funky new NextGen job title? :-)
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • tracy2tracy2 Member Posts: 1
    edited 20 December 2016, 2:52PM
    Hi. New to this site after googling my i player problems. Tried clearing the data and cache and everything's good. Thank you very much
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 December 2016, 12:06AM
    Roy1 said:

    Funky new NextGen job, Sanj, or just funky new NextGen job title? :-)

    Both. :)
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 21 December 2016, 7:57PM
    zulu17 said:

    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...

    Hi Zulu, this only affected the Sony TV version of this player.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 21 December 2016, 7:57PM
    Roy1 said:

    Funky new NextGen job, Sanj, or just funky new NextGen job title? :-)

    Yep, a bit of both :) I worked a lot on the support site among other things, so have some funky new responsibilities. It's why I hadn't been so present on the forum but I'm looking to dive back into the community now that is live. Oh and Roy I did see your feedback about the Maintenance Mode article. Thanks for your input. I'm going to look into that next week before the Christmas break.
  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,043 ✭✭
    edited 17 December 2016, 8:45PM
    zulu17 said:

    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...

    fine ... ... thanks for confirming
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,546 ✭✭✭
    edited 18 December 2016, 7:34PM
    Roy1 said:

    Funky new NextGen job, Sanj, or just funky new NextGen job title? :-)

    Cheers Sanj, good for you!

    And while you have the bonnet up, have a look at :-

    https://community.youview.com/youview...

    and see if that can be made less ambiguous :-)
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • Auday KhalafAuday Khalaf Member Posts: 1
    edited 20 December 2016, 2:15AM
    zulu17 said:

    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...

    I tried the steps to fix the issue with Itv player but still get same error!
  • Emma MattholieEmma Mattholie Member Posts: 1
    edited 20 December 2016, 2:55PM
    Same here!
  • Martin McfaddenMartin Mcfadden Member Posts: 1
    edited 21 December 2016, 4:33AM
    Hi sanj thank you so much, followed the steps and worked first time, thank you
  • Lee MacdonaldLee Macdonald Member Posts: 2
    edited 12 March 2017, 3:02PM
    zulu17 said:

    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...

    Not sure where to put this comment but I had this problem "an error has occurred" during catch up TV but could not fix it until I tried the above and now works a treat, thank you
  • Lee MacdonaldLee Macdonald Member Posts: 2
    edited 12 March 2017, 3:02PM
    zulu17 said:

    Is it likely that there were any ITV Hub issues affecting Youview boxes. I notice that a (single user) reported the ITV Hub disappearing and other ITV irregularities yesterday evening which they appeared to clear by maintenance mode

    https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-B...

    image
Sign In or Register to comment.