[Discussion] BT software update 27.44.0

2456

Comments

  • SanjSanj Posts: 1,644Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 12:41PM
    jimb said:

    One of my boxes has been updated.

    For some reason it wasn't updating properly, so I did a maintenance reset and it all happened.
    This of course then went through the full setup process.
    Interestingly when it gets to the channel tuning stage it plays a BT promo video to stop you getting bored.
    (I think it's the one featured here: Get ready for your brand-new BT TV experience  )

    Another example of how Next-Gen can be customised by the isp.

    Thanks for clarifying. I've passed this on to our Test Team. 
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 12:44PM
    jimb said:

    One of my boxes has been updated.

    For some reason it wasn't updating properly, so I did a maintenance reset and it all happened.
    This of course then went through the full setup process.
    Interestingly when it gets to the channel tuning stage it plays a BT promo video to stop you getting bored.
    (I think it's the one featured here: Get ready for your brand-new BT TV experience  )

    Another example of how Next-Gen can be customised by the isp.

    As mentioned in another thread, there is now no isp configuration showing, but I have no idea if that was the case before the update.
  • JoeJoe Posts: 2,001Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 12:44PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Fancy! That's different to retail. Though I'm quite happy with retail look
  • scottscott Posts: 1,981Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 12:52PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    That BT logo is very distracting ;-)
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:07PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    I'm surprised that they haven't slipped it in here.
    It's "in yer face" on the main menu and the EPG.
  • JoeJoe Posts: 2,001Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:09PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    *quiet whisper* Where is the BT logo?
  • JoeJoe Posts: 2,001Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:10PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Ah I see, I knew it!
  • SanjSanj Posts: 1,644Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:33PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Hi jimb / VM

    The time bar on the BT skin is pink. A bit clearer to see here:

    image

    But the time bar on the YouView Retail Skin is blue. VM do you have a BT line connected to that T2000 by any chance?
  • JoeJoe Posts: 2,001Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:35PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Ah I see the blue isn't as garish as the first picture. The same as retail apart from the iplayer magenta timeline
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:46PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Yes Sanj, I have a retail T2000 and a BT T2100 connected to a BT line and they both have the same skin/s.

    The time bar is my most used feature on YouView, as in the main I don't watch live TV, I instead record everything, to watch at a time of my choosing.
    The new time bar is a top notch feature, as it even shows on Live TV when the programme started, how far into you are from the time you started watching it (and therefore in the buffer) and how far there is to go (though this is just an indication as there is no time stamp showing on the moving play bar).
    And on part watched recordings it will restart from the last point you stopped it and give you a one-stop-shop option of re-watching from the beginning.

    I'm also looking forward to the re-introduction of the time-jump feature on recordings as well, so you can start watching a recording from any time you want, irrespective of if you have watched it or not. All in all, I'm very happy with it and am looking forward to the further improvements you'll be bringing to it.
    Sorry for the long response. :)
  • Kev3Kev3 Posts: 1Member
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:49PM
    jimb said:

    One of my boxes has been updated.

    For some reason it wasn't updating properly, so I did a maintenance reset and it all happened.
    This of course then went through the full setup process.
    Interestingly when it gets to the channel tuning stage it plays a BT promo video to stop you getting bored.
    (I think it's the one featured here: Get ready for your brand-new BT TV experience  )

    Another example of how Next-Gen can be customised by the isp.

    I checked for the updated yesterday but nothing came up, tried a maintenance mode factory reset and still nothing but it appeared an hour later after an maintenance mode internet reset.
  • StephenStephen Posts: 667Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:51PM
    jimb said:

    One of my boxes has been updated.

    For some reason it wasn't updating properly, so I did a maintenance reset and it all happened.
    This of course then went through the full setup process.
    Interestingly when it gets to the channel tuning stage it plays a BT promo video to stop you getting bored.
    (I think it's the one featured here: Get ready for your brand-new BT TV experience  )

    Another example of how Next-Gen can be customised by the isp.

    For the avoidance of doubt and the benefit of others reading this thread, there's no updating method which is 'stronger' or any more updatey than the others. Jumping into maintenance mode and wiping your box won't force the update; they're released in batches, so when the time comes the update is yours, via any method.
  • stormystormy Posts: 1,020Member ✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:40PM
    Ursa said:

    To give them more time to fix the awful Recording list .....

    Are they actually fixing it?
  • SanjSanj Posts: 1,644Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:52PM
    Visionman said:

    Thanks for confirming you've got it, jimb. I don't think this version of YouView is going to get anywhere near the level of attention or forum complaints as its cousin, the T2000s.

    Thanks VM, we're glad you enjoy this feature and thanks for the additional feedback too :)
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    It's very good to be able to report that with my little zapper now running Next-Gen the loading time of the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub etc) is very significantly faster. Also the speed of response when you're in these apps, and the actual time taken for a programme to start are much improved.
    Also my favourite resource - iPlayer live restart via the red button - kicks in nice and quickly.

    (OMG I'm starting to sound like Visionman.)
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,197Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 8:05PM
    jimb said:

    It's very good to be able to report that with my little zapper now running Next-Gen the loading time of the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub etc) is very significantly faster. Also the speed of response when you're in these apps, and the actual time taken for a programme to start are much improved.
    Also my favourite resource - iPlayer live restart via the red button - kicks in nice and quickly.

    (OMG I'm starting to sound like Visionman.)

    Nobody said the promises of 'faster response' were not fulfilled :-)

    Those of 'faster development' not so much :-(
    Where do all those characters that you type in search boxes and which never appear go to?
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 9:20PM
    jimb said:

    It's very good to be able to report that with my little zapper now running Next-Gen the loading time of the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub etc) is very significantly faster. Also the speed of response when you're in these apps, and the actual time taken for a programme to start are much improved.
    Also my favourite resource - iPlayer live restart via the red button - kicks in nice and quickly.

    (OMG I'm starting to sound like Visionman.)

    LOL.
    So what happened and how did you get it? And I wonder if fre55die got sorted?
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 11:21PM
    jimb said:

    It's very good to be able to report that with my little zapper now running Next-Gen the loading time of the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub etc) is very significantly faster. Also the speed of response when you're in these apps, and the actual time taken for a programme to start are much improved.
    Also my favourite resource - iPlayer live restart via the red button - kicks in nice and quickly.

    (OMG I'm starting to sound like Visionman.)

    ? How did I get what?
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 11:55PM
    jimb said:

    It's very good to be able to report that with my little zapper now running Next-Gen the loading time of the players (iPlayer, ITV Hub etc) is very significantly faster. Also the speed of response when you're in these apps, and the actual time taken for a programme to start are much improved.
    Also my favourite resource - iPlayer live restart via the red button - kicks in nice and quickly.

    (OMG I'm starting to sound like Visionman.)

    Sorry, jimb, for a moment there I thought your problem had been sorted.
  • northernnorthern Posts: 241Member
    edited 3 March 2017, 1:37PM
    scott said:

    @Sanj the BT release states the software version :-

    The software variant will be : 27.46.0

    Who is correct?

    @jimb I could be wrong but I believe the 'Action Panel' is where it let you choose a HD option etc when you were asking to do recordings etc.

    Mine says 27.46.0 and has stopped working
  • northernnorthern Posts: 241Member
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:36AM
    Sanj
    My retail box shows Manufacturer software 27.46.0
  • SanjSanj Posts: 1,644Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 3 March 2017, 1:41PM
    northern said:

    Sanj
    My retail box shows Manufacturer software 27.46.0

    Hi northern - sorry to hear that, we have a discussion thread for 27.46.0, let's pick it up there.
  • Tim JoyceTim Joyce Posts: 2Member
    edited 11 March 2017, 9:01AM
    Ursa said:

    To give them more time to fix the awful Recording list .....

    I agree the recording list is horrible.  It was way way better before in a list format.   I want to roll back to the old software version
  • Tim JoyceTim Joyce Posts: 2Member
    edited 11 March 2017, 9:02AM
    Ursa said:

    To give them more time to fix the awful Recording list .....

    Does anybody know how to roll back the software?
  • RoyRoy Posts: 15,197Member ✭✭✭
    edited 11 March 2017, 11:59AM
    Ursa said:

    To give them more time to fix the awful Recording list .....

    It cannot be done, alas.

    But why are you posting about recording in a thread dedicated to a BT release that has not yet gone out to recording boxes?
    Where do all those characters that you type in search boxes and which never appear go to?
  • Jonathan HackettJonathan Hackett Posts: 2Member
    edited 19 March 2017, 10:46PM
    Will this update be available for subscription-free T2200 boxes?
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 12 March 2017, 5:04PM

    Will this update be available for subscription-free T2200 boxes?

    No. This 44 update is for BT non-recording boxes only.
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,106Member ✭✭✭
    edited 12 March 2017, 5:18PM

    Will this update be available for subscription-free T2200 boxes?

    The DBT2200 is the BT non-recording box.
    Which will update with or without a subscription.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 12 March 2017, 5:25PM

    Will this update be available for subscription-free T2200 boxes?

    Hi jimb, my apologies, this update is for BT TV customers only. I have no idea about sub free boxes on a BT line though.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,422Member ✭✭✭
    edited 12 March 2017, 7:25PM

    Will this update be available for subscription-free T2200 boxes?

    I'm confused now. Because you've got it, but your on a TT line. IP config zero.
Sign In or Register to comment.