The Great BT Takeover Bid?

jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
edited 24 September 2017, 8:07PM in Discussion
My BT zapper box has been updated to Next-Gen.
I'm a TalkTalk TV subscriber.

The box no longer has access to the TalkTalk player.
More TV is not present on the main menu screen.
The TalkTalk Player doesn't show in the list of Players & Apps.
The BT Player button on the remote control no longer opens the TalkTalk Player.

And none of the IP channels are showing in the EPG.

I have a problem with this post as I cannot remember for sure if the TalkTalk Player was available on this box before the software update (we never used it on this box) but I'm pretty sure it was.

There's potentially a much bigger issue.
I suspect that not many TalkTalk users will be using the BT zapper, but I think many more will be using BT branded boxes such as the DTR- T2110 (boxes with record capabilities).
If there's a Next-Gen rollout to these boxes and they behave in the same way as my zapper box all hell will break loose.

I hope I've got this all wrong.
(There may be something going on as this is not registered as our main box.)
But it looks like no TalkTalk customers are going to be able to watch their boost channels or "Rent and own all the latest blockbusters" if they're using the BT zapper box.
«1

Comments

  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,037 ✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 10:52AM
    So what isp configuration is showing on your zapper box and is this a different number to that on your other box ?
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,952 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 11:10AM
    You can only designate one box as your TT box and only receive TT TVs services on it.
    The thing I'm scratching my head over is you should still see the IP channels in the EPG. Is it all the channels you can't see, jimb? 

    Edit - You should also see the TT Player. As Zulu17 above, whats your ISP config?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 10 April 2017, 10:33PM
    There's no isp configuration showing, just a blank space.

    EPG channels jump from 258 to 600.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 7:57PM
    It's worth pointing out that this is quite an unusual situation.
    This is a "genuine" BT box - not retail.
    (Acquired from a well known auction site.)
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,952 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 11:44AM
    Its the zero IP Config thats the problem. And your the second TT user I've spoken to thats put a BT box (his a T2000) on a TT line that showed zero IP Config. 
    https://community.talktalk.co.uk/t5/TalkTalk-TV/HUMAX-T2000/m-p/2018374#U2018374
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 10 April 2017, 10:33PM
    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 1:35PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    I first of all get:
    "Checking for the latest software"
    And then:
    "We can't update your software"

    (Which sounds a bit like my initial problem with getting the new software when I was getting "Download failed" etc)
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:15PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hmm, your box may benefit from the soft reboot I mentioned above. If you press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself. 

    Then try the manual software update again.
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:24PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Exactly the same as mine which is a brand new retail T2000
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:30PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hi fre55die, 

    Are you having this issue trying to update to Next Gen or have you updated but now have a blank ISP config?
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:34PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Yes I've tried that (several times) Sanj.
    I've also just done a factory reset.
    When it came to the "checking for new updates" point it said it was unable to do this, so I hit skip and the reset completed.
    But still no isp configuration.
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:43PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hi Sanj The box stuck at 60% when first plugged in so I left it and it updated to NEXTGEN 27.46.0 overnight. I didn't delve in to it too much the previous evening so I'm not sure if it originally had an ISP config setting. The one thing that I notice is that it doesn't ask for postcode etc after factory reset.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:50PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Thanks fre55die, I've just been reading your thread on the TalkTalk forum. So to confirm,
    • Your ISP config is also blank?
    • And you're also using a T2000 with a TalkTalk line.
    • And you have a TalkTalk TV package.
    • Tried a reboot, manual update and factory reset and still don't have an ISP config therefore no TalkTalk channels or player
    Have I got these details right?
  • Oliver FarnellOliver Farnell Member Posts: 7
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:36AM
    I had the same problems this morning, I'm using a Humax DTRT2000 box and my broadband provider is talk talk.
    everything has changed in the menu section, I usually watch a lot of on demand tv but the option isn't even there anymore?
    whats going on?
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:55PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hi Sanj That's right, I've also restarted AND pin reset the router and tried it with another router. It shows up as a MAC address on the router, but TT can't find it on their system.
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 2:56PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Oh and I've also tried the various maintenance reset options.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:07PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Thanks fre55die, I appreciate the extra details. That's really useful.

    Can you let us know the software versions your box is on also please?

    We'll need a little time to look into this for you guys but I will get back to when I know more.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:06PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    @jimb - We'll be looking into this but just wanted to fill in some blanks here:

    Can you confirm the box is successfully connected to the internet. If you could try player an on demand programme to be 100% sure. (sounds daft I know, not doubting you, just need to know)
    Can you also confirm the software versions the box is on?
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:10PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hi Sanj as I said 27.46.0 The I player etc all work perfectly.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:18PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    I have 27.44.0 and 3.1.144(264e3a).
    Platform 3258.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:19PM

    I had the same problems this morning, I'm using a Humax DTRT2000 box and my broadband provider is talk talk.
    everything has changed in the menu section, I usually watch a lot of on demand tv but the option isn't even there anymore?
    whats going on?

    Hi Oliver, 

    Sorry to hear you're also having this issue. Since jimb raised it here we have been looking into it. When you say everything has changed on the menu screen, it sounds like you've updated to Next Gen and looks like this: 

    image


    Can i just clarify what your experience is? If you could fill in the blanks:
    • Box: T2000
    • ISP: TalkTalk
    • Software Versions:
    • Is your ISP config blank:
    • Is the More TV section in the main menu missing:
    • Is the TalkTalk player from the Players & Apps sections missing:
    • Have you tried rebooting the box and router:
    • Can you confirm the box is connected to the router (test an on demand player to be sure, it's a successful connection):
    • Have you tried a Maintenance Mode reset:
    Sorry for the long list of questions, but the more information we have the better. 
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:20PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    And the answer to the daft question is yes - iPlayer is fine :-)
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:21PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    I still think this is a cunning plan by BT ;-)
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:22PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Cheers guys,

    @fre55die - do you mind telling us the component software and platform software too?

    @jimb - thanks for the details. Can i just double check you've tried playing an on demand programme and can confirm a successful internet connection.
  • Oliver FarnellOliver Farnell Member Posts: 7
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:27PM

    I had the same problems this morning, I'm using a Humax DTRT2000 box and my broadband provider is talk talk.
    everything has changed in the menu section, I usually watch a lot of on demand tv but the option isn't even there anymore?
    whats going on?

    Box- DTRT2000
    ISP- Talk talk
    Software-(component 3.1.148)   maufactuer (27.46.0)
    isp config-2002011
    more tv menu is present but the discover one is missing(the one I use the most)
    ive tried rebooting and its all connected.
    I hvent done a maintenance mode reset
  • fre55diefre55die Member Posts: 164
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:32PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    Hi Sanj  Component 3.1.148 (b4bd2e) Platform confab.3258
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:34PM

    I had the same problems this morning, I'm using a Humax DTRT2000 box and my broadband provider is talk talk.
    everything has changed in the menu section, I usually watch a lot of on demand tv but the option isn't even there anymore?
    whats going on?

    Hi Oliver, 

    Thanks for the speeding reply. The issue on this thread is that the TalkTalk services are missing from the menu and guide. These seem to be here for you but it sounds like Discover is what you're looking for. 

    The discover section isn't available in this version of YouView. It is a feature that we are looking to re-introduce in a future software update. 

    Can I just confirm, you can access your TalkTalk services on the box?
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:34PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    I think the pressure's getting to you Sanj - too much multitasking.
    (Just kidding.)
    As I said 15 minutes ago iPlayer is fine.
  • SanjSanj Member Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:38PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    So you did. The manage view I use (different to the normal forum view) doesn't pick up the new comments. I got up to you saying: I have 27.44.0 and 3.1.144(264e3a).
    Platform 3258.

    Must remember to refresh it!
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 March 2017, 3:46PM
    Sanj said:

    Hey jimb, 

    The fact that there is no ISP configuration is most likely why you don't have any TalkTalk related content available right now (as eluded to by VM too, thanks for the link VM)

    We'd recommend manually updating the software to get the correct ISP config:

    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update software
    If the ISP config has been picked up it should perform a short download.

    To be thorough , please also update the players & apps:
    1. Select Settings
    2. Go to the Information & Reset area and select Software information
    3. Select Update players & apps
    You may need to reboot your box for the changes to take affect. Just press and hold the standby button on your box for 8 seconds and it will reboot itself.

    Let us know how you get on.
    My fault for splitting the answers up.
Sign In or Register to comment.