“This recording has ended press back to dismiss” - Why?

dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
edited 24 September 2017, 8:07PM in Feedback
When play back of a recording has finished why did the designer decide to force the users  to press “back"?

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 9:04AM
    What did you want to press? Where did you want that to go?
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
    edited 4 August 2017, 8:29AM

    Where - is a good point - if there are multiple episodes recorded then after watching one the system should return you to the  episode page   -  If not then back to the main MYTV page - (just like the previous version did)

    What did I want to press - if there's no option then I don't want to press anything -  just automatically take us to the page that the designer / programmer has predetermined we should be sent to.  

  • DanielDaniel Member, Super User Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭
    edited 24 September 2017, 8:07PM
    I personally think that it would be a great page to have a delete recording option.
  • dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
    edited 4 August 2017, 8:29AM

    Daniel - that's what 'm getting at - options:- 

    Press 1 -  to delete 

    Press back - to return

    In each case it would take you back to where you came from - i.e. either the episode page or MYTV page. 


  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 2:02PM
    This is a good comment.
    And to quote Keith -

    "YouView recently introduced some changes to MyTV and have indicated there will be further improvements for this back journey in due course." 
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 2:38PM
    dave3 said:

    Daniel - that's what 'm getting at - options:- 

    Press 1 -  to delete 

    Press back - to return

    In each case it would take you back to where you came from - i.e. either the episode page or MYTV page. 


    Press 1 for delete?

    What's wrong with Del, the designated button for this purpose? :-(
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 2:41PM
    dave3 said:

    Daniel - that's what 'm getting at - options:- 

    Press 1 -  to delete 

    Press back - to return

    In each case it would take you back to where you came from - i.e. either the episode page or MYTV page. 


    He wants a choice.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
    edited 24 September 2017, 8:07PM
    Press delete would be the better option. It's up to the coders -  sometimes delete button is associated with subtitle
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 4:46PM
    dave3 said:

    Daniel - that's what 'm getting at - options:- 

    Press 1 -  to delete 

    Press back - to return

    In each case it would take you back to where you came from - i.e. either the episode page or MYTV page. 


    I know he does. But why not write:-

    "Daniel - that's what 'm getting at - options:-

    Press DEL - to delete

    Press BACK - to return"

    ?
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 5:08PM
    dave3 said:

    Press delete would be the better option. It's up to the coders -  sometimes delete button is associated with subtitle

    If you press the Del/Sub button when a programme is running, you get subtitles.

    If you press it when the programme is stopped, you get delete (or the option to).

    I don't like overloaded buttons, especially not the one that Deletes.

    But I do think that this one should be the only one that Deletes,
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • DanielDaniel Member, Super User Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 May 2017, 5:11PM
    dave3 said:

    Press delete would be the better option. It's up to the coders -  sometimes delete button is associated with subtitle

    I have to say I agree. Not as many are as technical minded as some on this forum and having extra buttons for deleting a recording leaves things open for more removal of recordings by accident in my opinion.
  • Yasha NokeYasha Noke Member Posts: 317
    edited 29 May 2017, 7:41PM
    If when the recording ends it goes straight back to the programme tile on the recordings page without any further manual intervention then there is already the option to delete it.  For those that do not want to delete it immediately that would put the next option closer without having to make an extra click on 'back'.
  • dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
    edited 4 August 2017, 8:29AM

    Yasha - yes - but the trick is that after play-back (of a recording)  it should take you  back to where you came from - i.e. the episode page or the main MYTV page - just like the old version did.

    I also wish youview would revert to using recording and play-back

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    edited 30 May 2017, 8:55AM
    dave3 said:

    Yasha - yes - but the trick is that after play-back (of a recording)  it should take you  back to where you came from - i.e. the episode page or the main MYTV page - just like the old version did.

    I also wish youview would revert to using recording and play-back

    I don't understand that last sentence - what do you mean?
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • dave3dave3 Member Posts: 186
    edited 4 August 2017, 8:29AM

    Roy - no probs - I'm use to not being understood - It's me not you

    I was suggesting the following logic should be adopted

                               Recording is when the m/c is recording

                               Play-back is when you are watching a recording

    Currently if you were to report a problem - e.g. after recording has ended the machine goes blank for 3 seconds  - that would ambiguous - did you mean after recording a programme or after watching a recording?   

    However if the two terms were adopted:-  "recording has ended" and "play-back has ended", then there would be a distinction between the two scenarios.


    Cheers 


  • Yasha NokeYasha Noke Member Posts: 317
    edited 30 May 2017, 9:31PM
    dave3 said:

    Roy - no probs - I'm use to not being understood - It's me not you

    I was suggesting the following logic should be adopted

                               Recording is when the m/c is recording

                               Play-back is when you are watching a recording

    Currently if you were to report a problem - e.g. after recording has ended the machine goes blank for 3 seconds  - that would ambiguous - did you mean after recording a programme or after watching a recording?   

    However if the two terms were adopted:-  "recording has ended" and "play-back has ended", then there would be a distinction between the two scenarios.


    Cheers 


    My first thought was  - "why the extra pop-up?".
    My next thought was the same as yours i.e. puzzlement as to why the extra pop-up was talking about a recording ending when it was a playback of a recorded programme that had ended.
    My third thought was that perhaps I was out of touch with colloquialisms, but as I could not see the point of the message appearing I pressed "BACK to dismiss" what I still view as a superfluous pop-up. 
Sign In or Register to comment.