[Discussion] BT software update 28.26.0

13468913

Comments

  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 21 August 2017, 11:51AM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    Retrograde move. 28.26.0 now has changed behaviour when trying to set a recording for a time whilst there are already two recordings set for that time. The previous version used to show you what the two reservations are and options to either cancel one or record the new one if available at a different time. Now it just throws you into the recording pool to delete a recording with no idea which one is clashing or offering an alternative time if available. 
  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 21 August 2017, 11:51AM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    But given the other things we have seen sadly it is no longer a surprise. Hope was lost months ago.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 18 August 2017, 7:22PM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    A Youview has two tuners. Which means your can't record 3 channels at the same time, unless 2 of them are on the same mux. Yours clearly weren't.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 18 August 2017, 7:28PM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    To get around this, just use Search on the main menu bar. It will show you all the broadcast times plus whats available on demand.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 August 2017, 8:20AM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    You have missed the point.

    The previous version had a function that was very useful, that for some reason has been done away with. Why?

    Are you you seriously suggesting the solution, when presented with a clash, is to search all programmes and try and work out which may be the cause of the clash, and then try and work out if the same programme is on at another time, and then set this recording, and if not then delete the recording clash (perhaps just for this one instance) and find the one amongst the poorly laid out recording schedule.

    Do you work for YouView? As I can only believe someone who does would be desperate enough to come up with an excuse like that?
  • andrew1andrew1 Member Posts: 17
    edited 19 August 2017, 8:58AM
    So I gave up on BT and Youview purely due to the software downgrade.  Had they not changed the software I would not have even thought about looking elsewhere.  As it is we now have Sky Q and quite frankly it is a dream.  

    I have a tv schedule list :)  or I can go and look for programs via icons.  I can see what each program is (I shouldn't be so happy but after youview it is great to read a program title in full).  There is a small tv window on the tv guide.  When you flick to what you might watch next it actually plays the program rather than just display a random picture or list.  When you press a button on the remote something happens, you can scroll through the list or icons very quickly and you don't feel like you are waiting for a ZX81 processor to catch up with each key stroke.  To top it all you can record six programs at once.

    So far so good.  I will be back if the dream turns to dust.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 18 August 2017, 9:31PM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    Hi Andy and no, I wasn't suggesting that at all. I don't work for YouView. No I'm not desperate and no I'm not giving any excuses. I was showing you a work around.
    Sorry for trying to help.  
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • DekeDeke Member Posts: 5
    edited 19 August 2017, 5:35AM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    A terrible workaround though isn't it?
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 19 August 2017, 7:54AM

    I appreciate the logic improvements. But - for pity's sake - the whole thing is still swamped by dirty blue smog, whenever playback is started, paused, fast forwarded whatever. Even using Guide it is impossible to follow the current program behind all that blue fog. Who in heaven's name came up with that? When, oh when are we going to be shot of it?.

    Why do manufacturers force this information on us when ever we use the transport keys? I can press the "i" button if I want to see it.
    Also why does the i button not show where I am in a recording or the time, in order to find d out how much longer a recording will last I have to pause it!
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 19 September 2017, 6:05AM
    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.
  • Keith GreeneKeith Greene Member Posts: 3
    edited 19 August 2017, 8:24AM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Same here, despite being able to select 'series' on the requester, the icon shows a single recording, which is what it does.
    There are so many issues identified with this downgrade, one wonders if anyone responsible is prepared or willing to either revert or provide a workable upgrade.
  • GrundersGrunders Member Posts: 131
    edited 21 August 2017, 12:27PM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Nah. That would mean an acknowledgment and admittance of error. That's never going to happen. Businesses and stock markets don't like admittance of - the consequences can be costly.
  • Andy BushAndy Bush Member Posts: 64
    edited 19 August 2017, 8:39AM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Visionman will probably suggest it a hardware problem again!!
  • scottscott Member, Super User Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭
    edited 19 August 2017, 8:59AM
    andrew1 said:

    So I gave up on BT and Youview purely due to the software downgrade.  Had they not changed the software I would not have even thought about looking elsewhere.  As it is we now have Sky Q and quite frankly it is a dream.  

    I have a tv schedule list :)  or I can go and look for programs via icons.  I can see what each program is (I shouldn't be so happy but after youview it is great to read a program title in full).  There is a small tv window on the tv guide.  When you flick to what you might watch next it actually plays the program rather than just display a random picture or list.  When you press a button on the remote something happens, you can scroll through the list or icons very quickly and you don't feel like you are waiting for a ZX81 processor to catch up with each key stroke.  To top it all you can record six programs at once.

    So far so good.  I will be back if the dream turns to dust.

    Each to thier own. I have both Sky q and BTTV and always go to the YouView box first as I hate the massive lists (lists within lists) and horrible TV guide and on Sky the Dolby sound drops in and out. My contract is due in two weeks and I will be dropping Sky unless they give me a VERY good offer.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭
    edited 19 August 2017, 10:20AM
    John C1 said:

    My retail DTR-T2110 has received this update over the last couple of days despite this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions not saying it is in progress.

    Just a heads up if anyone is interested.

    Andy, I am not anywhere I can try to replicate this issue at the moment, but I will look when I can.

    I hope you meant 'Scheduling pool', though either way it is the deep end, with no flotation device :-(

    I don't think Visionman is quite right about 'recording three programmes at once' except that technically, you can be recoding two programmes and watching a third, provided that only two muxes are involved, and then the channel you are watching is being 'recorded' on a rolling two hour buffer; not quite the same as scheduled recordings, which are preserved as such.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 22 August 2017, 9:32PM
    The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling .
    WHY?
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 August 2017, 11:28AM
    Peter S3 said:

    The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling .
    WHY?

    Why indeed.
    https://community.youview.com/youview/topics/reinventing-the-wheel
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,789 admin
    edited 21 August 2017, 12:25PM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Hi all, 

    Can you please let me know which programmes (show name and channel) you set up to series record but did not show up on your scheduled page? 

    Thanks
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 21 August 2017, 12:59PM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Bbc2 hd, university challenge Mondays, mastermind Friday's
    Bbc4 hd, utopia, Tuesdays
    Itv3, rising damp, weekdays
    Having re-entered them as series, university challenge was only single episode. Deleted it to re-enter & The series record appeared all by its self
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,789 admin
    edited 21 August 2017, 2:16PM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    Hi Peter,

    Thanks for this list. To confirm, when you select 'Series Record' for these shows, instead of the Series record icon on the tile, you only get a single episode record icon and it does not select the other episodes in the series to record unless you re-do the series record selection? Also the shows you've set up to series record sporadically disappear from the Scheduled recordings section? 

    For the ones which disappear, do they still record or do they not record at all?

    Thanks
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 21 August 2017, 7:28PM
    Peter S3 said:

    All series recordings disappeared from the Scheduled page overnight. One was recorded yesterday evening, and a single recording added to the schedule last night was in the list this morning, but none of the series. I have just re-entered them.

    I'm not sure what you are referring to by 'tile'. The process I use: highlight program in Guide, press record button, select 'record series' option, press OK.
    The 'feature' whereby series records sporadically disappear from the Scheduled recordings section is extremely undesirable. This appears to happen when the program is not listed for broadcast during the guide period currently active. If I have set a series record, I expect to see this in the list even if the next broadcast is months away. I often go away for weeks, during which time the program may appear in the guide.
    For the record, it was a Monday morning that I discovered that the program being broadcast that evening was not listed in the record schedule.
    Re your final question, the series record scheduled on the Friday recorded, the next one was due to record the following Monday after I discovered they had all disappeared, thus had been reinstated by the time of recording.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 24 August 2017, 11:59PM
    Peter S>
    "The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling ."
    I'm sorry but I have to take issue with that.
    • You had to scroll the list before and this new EPG is no different. 
    • There are 4 main HD terrestrial channels (plus CH5), not 6 (and BARB figures back that up there). 
    •  "I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4"
    • I sorry but that is not correct. One can perfectly well access the bottom on screen 6th channel and land on it with no need to move the cursor again. 
    • "the the list [then] jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4."
    •  This in no way is a barrier to using the EPG as one did before.
    The main feature a lot of users have called for is the return of an EPG wrap-around.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Mike70Mike70 Member Posts: 43 ✭✭
    edited 22 August 2017, 2:54PM
    Visionman said:

    Peter S>
    "The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling ."
    I'm sorry but I have to take issue with that.

    • You had to scroll the list before and this new EPG is no different. 
    • There are 4 main HD terrestrial channels (plus CH5), not 6 (and BARB figures back that up there). 
    •  "I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4"
    • I sorry but that is not correct. One can perfectly well access the bottom on screen 6th channel and land on it with no need to move the cursor again. 
    • "the the list [then] jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4."
    •  This in no way is a barrier to using the EPG as one did before.
    The main feature a lot of users have called for is the return of an EPG wrap-around.
    I think you're missing the point Peter S is trying to make. There are indeed 6 channels on the screen in HD. Beeb 1 & 2 itv, 4, 5 & BBC 4. When the cursor highlights the next to bottom or top, one of those channels move out of view, this did not happen before & is needed very annoying.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 August 2017, 4:18PM
    Visionman said:

    Peter S>
    "The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling ."
    I'm sorry but I have to take issue with that.

    • You had to scroll the list before and this new EPG is no different. 
    • There are 4 main HD terrestrial channels (plus CH5), not 6 (and BARB figures back that up there). 
    •  "I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4"
    • I sorry but that is not correct. One can perfectly well access the bottom on screen 6th channel and land on it with no need to move the cursor again. 
    • "the the list [then] jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4."
    •  This in no way is a barrier to using the EPG as one did before.
    The main feature a lot of users have called for is the return of an EPG wrap-around.
    May I ask why you find it annoying, Mike?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 23 August 2017, 2:20AM
    Visionman said:

    Peter S>
    "The guide layout is very annoying. I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4, if I highlight the top or bottom ch, the the list jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4. I can see no technical or aesthetic reason for this. It's particularly annoying as one can see the main 6 HiDef 'terrestrial' channels at once while scrolling, but if you want to look at or set a BBC1 or BBC4 program to record, you have to then move the list back by scrolling ."
    I'm sorry but I have to take issue with that.

    • You had to scroll the list before and this new EPG is no different. 
    • There are 4 main HD terrestrial channels (plus CH5), not 6 (and BARB figures back that up there). 
    •  "I can see 6 channels at a time, but can only 'highlight' or select the center 4"
    • I sorry but that is not correct. One can perfectly well access the bottom on screen 6th channel and land on it with no need to move the cursor again. 
    • "the the list [then] jumps up or down so the highlighted one is in the middle 4."
    •  This in no way is a barrier to using the EPG as one did before.
    The main feature a lot of users have called for is the return of an EPG wrap-around.
    Whilst the 'annoying' way the guide now behaves is not a barrier to using the EPG as such, it unnecessarily degrades ease of use. I mainly watch BBC 1, 2, & 4, ITV, Ch 4 & Ch5. Thus I tend to navigate horisontally viewing all 6, if I want to record a BBC1 or BBC4 program, after scheduling the record, I then have to navigate 5 ch up or down to get the 6 HD channels on the screen, before I can continue to navigate horisontally. Not a huge imposition but offends my engineer's perspective. It does not need to be like this, there is no good reason it is like this, just poor design. This forum's function is to provide feedback on the software, nit picking of about whether BBC 4 is main terrestrial channel or not is irrelevant. 
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 23 August 2017, 6:00AM
    Sorry Peter, but I disagree. You had to scroll up or down before NextGen and the scrolling behavior is exactly the same as it was before in Original Gen and behaves in exactly the same way as it was before, except the EPG on screen flicks one channel up or one down when one hits the top or bottom. 
    It is not a barrier to using the EPG as one did before. You may not like the aesthetics of it, but in reality it is exactly the same as before.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Peter S3Peter S3 Member Posts: 22
    edited 22 August 2017, 9:58PM
    Visionman said:

    Sorry Peter, but I disagree. You had to scroll up or down before NextGen and the scrolling behavior is exactly the same as it was before in Original Gen and behaves in exactly the same way as it was before, except the EPG on screen flicks one channel up or one down when one hits the top or bottom. 
    It is not a barrier to using the EPG as one did before. You may not like the aesthetics of it, but in reality it is exactly the same as before.

    the fact that it flicks up or down one channel is the point. It did not do this previously, and I do not like it. As I said before this is a forum for commenting on the software, that is my opinion. It's not the worst feature which a toss up between not being able to delete channels from the guide & covering the lower 1/4 of the screen with pointless blue **** at the slightest provocation (believe it or not I have a PVR to watch TV programs, not to look at pointless graphics). 
    Do you like it flicking up & down? If so please explain why it is an improvement. I do not understand why you are so defensive of the software, or did you have a hand in designing it. I for one do not like it.
    html5 may be a technically superior product, but on this occasion the implementation leaves a lot to be desired. I selected this product based on it's functionality at the time of purchase, the manufacturer has chosen to downgrade the product and inflicted it on me without warning.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 August 2017, 10:05PM
    Visionman said:

    Sorry Peter, but I disagree. You had to scroll up or down before NextGen and the scrolling behavior is exactly the same as it was before in Original Gen and behaves in exactly the same way as it was before, except the EPG on screen flicks one channel up or one down when one hits the top or bottom. 
    It is not a barrier to using the EPG as one did before. You may not like the aesthetics of it, but in reality it is exactly the same as before.

    I didn't say the EPG was superior, Peter. I said it was the same. And thats my opinion.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • WayneWayne Member Posts: 82
    edited 22 August 2017, 11:05PM
    Visionman said:

    Sorry Peter, but I disagree. You had to scroll up or down before NextGen and the scrolling behavior is exactly the same as it was before in Original Gen and behaves in exactly the same way as it was before, except the EPG on screen flicks one channel up or one down when one hits the top or bottom. 
    It is not a barrier to using the EPG as one did before. You may not like the aesthetics of it, but in reality it is exactly the same as before.

    Peter, significantly more people here agree with you than not. Says it all really.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭
    edited 23 August 2017, 12:11AM
    Visionman said:

    Sorry Peter, but I disagree. You had to scroll up or down before NextGen and the scrolling behavior is exactly the same as it was before in Original Gen and behaves in exactly the same way as it was before, except the EPG on screen flicks one channel up or one down when one hits the top or bottom. 
    It is not a barrier to using the EPG as one did before. You may not like the aesthetics of it, but in reality it is exactly the same as before.

    When you reach the top or bottom of the list, the next channel appears on the screen. That would seem to be an improvement on the previous behaviour of the guide.
Sign In or Register to comment.