[Discussion] iOS app update 11.0.17

PhilPhil Posts: 974Administrator admin
edited 2 October 2017 in Announcements
Hi all, 

Please feel free to discuss the latest iOS YouView App update 11.0.17 here.
Tagged:
«1

Comments

  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 4 September 2017
    Interesting - my recordings appear as a list of tiles. Where's a grid when you want one? :-)

    But they appeared pretty instantly, and likewise pretty instantly kept pace with a bunch of deletes I did on the box.

    You can even 'play one of your recordings', by tapping it, and then tapping the 'play' icon on the picture on the info page that comes up, though this does, perhaps understandably, only seem to extend to those available on a catchup Player :-)

    Tapping one not on a Player does get you a similar, but passive, info-type page though.

    The Recordings go as far back as you have them - just a long list though, no pagination, and just one level, with no Series collation, so strictly latest-first, programme by programme, so if you have recorded a few Series, they will be thoroughly intermingled.

    Likewise Scheduled; it tells you if the booking is from a Series, but does not collate them, so here strictly ascending date/time sequence.

    I also note tomorrow's Doctor Foster appears twice, once as an Episode and once as a Series, which used to be an infelicity on the box; I can't look at the moment to see if there are likewise two entries in the Schedule on the box or not, but I will look later.

    The Schedule screen is strictly passive-only; tapping a tile just leaves it tapped :-)

    A long-desired upgrade, though, and very welcome!

    Not so sure about this 'YouView Events' app that also popped up when I looked in the App Store, though. I guess I just haven't been invited to any. And any attempt to 'game' it with a random event code crashes it horribly :-)
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • bernard.farrbernard.farr Posts: 8Member
    edited 4 September 2017
    Can't play anything from the app. Info screens only.
  • Adrian FullerAdrian Fuller Posts: 4Member
    edited 25 September 2017
    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,
  • StephenStephen Posts: 630Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 4 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    To use the new MyTV features, you need to be on your home network to communicate directly to your box and re-pair to grant the app the additional access it needs.
    But if you've updated the app while you're out and about, all the old features (e.g. setting recordings) will still work. But the MyTV re-pair button will only appear when you're back home.
    Does that answer your problem or have I not understood properly?
  • stevemstevem Posts: 29Member
    edited 17 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    I have exactly the same problem as Adrian. My device had already been paired with the T2000 retail box and is listed under mobile devices. It is on the same network but going to MyTV it says it cannot connect with error code YVM5010 and now I can't use the app  even to record.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 4 September 2017
    Roy1 said:

    Interesting - my recordings appear as a list of tiles. Where's a grid when you want one? :-)

    But they appeared pretty instantly, and likewise pretty instantly kept pace with a bunch of deletes I did on the box.

    You can even 'play one of your recordings', by tapping it, and then tapping the 'play' icon on the picture on the info page that comes up, though this does, perhaps understandably, only seem to extend to those available on a catchup Player :-)

    Tapping one not on a Player does get you a similar, but passive, info-type page though.

    The Recordings go as far back as you have them - just a long list though, no pagination, and just one level, with no Series collation, so strictly latest-first, programme by programme, so if you have recorded a few Series, they will be thoroughly intermingled.

    Likewise Scheduled; it tells you if the booking is from a Series, but does not collate them, so here strictly ascending date/time sequence.

    I also note tomorrow's Doctor Foster appears twice, once as an Episode and once as a Series, which used to be an infelicity on the box; I can't look at the moment to see if there are likewise two entries in the Schedule on the box or not, but I will look later.

    The Schedule screen is strictly passive-only; tapping a tile just leaves it tapped :-)

    A long-desired upgrade, though, and very welcome!

    Not so sure about this 'YouView Events' app that also popped up when I looked in the App Store, though. I guess I just haven't been invited to any. And any attempt to 'game' it with a random event code crashes it horribly :-)

    Doctor Foster appears only once in Schedule on the box itself,
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 4 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    You need to have completed the re-pairing before you can go to MyTV on it.

    Try starting again.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • stevemstevem Posts: 29Member
    edited 4 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    I understand that, but the problem is that when I try to re-pair, I get the error message.
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 177Member
    edited 4 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    The update looks good so far. Would have like to be able to watch recordings that are not on catch up players as well but at lest this is a start. It range to try's before it would connect to my Youvire G4 box.

    Darren
  • Adrian FullerAdrian Fuller Posts: 4Member
    edited 4 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    Stevem, that is exactely what is happening, how can we be expected to re-pair when all we get is the error message. and when attempting to reconnect with the youview box it states "Your youview box cannot be found", yet befoe the update everything was in order,now we can only view the programme information.
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,670Member ✭✭
    edited 24 September 2017
    Where's the android version?
  • alal Posts: 1,233Member ✭✭
    edited 5 September 2017
    Daniel4 said:

    Where's the android version?

    I think the Android app was ahead of IOS in this case.
  • alal Posts: 1,233Member ✭✭
    edited 5 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    I didn't get the OK message on the youview box so removed all mobile devices in the settings menu. There were about 10 instances of my Android phone for some reason. After that, I could connect with an IOS device.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 421Administrator admin
    edited 5 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    Hi guys, 

    If you're not able to re-pair your device, can you let me know what iOS version you're currently running?

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 5 September 2017
    Daniel4 said:

    Where's the android version?

    My Android app is 10.1.12 and does not have these new features. Nor is there a later version I can download.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • StephenStephen Posts: 630Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 5 September 2017
    Daniel4 said:

    Where's the android version?

    The v11 Android app update is currently in the final stages of testing, shouldn't be too long, unforeseen consequences notwithstanding.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 5 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    My iPad Pro paired OK yesterday, up to date on iOS 10.3.3, but alerted by al's report above, I checked my devices list on the box, and found the iPad Pro on there, on the YouView app, three times, though everything else was as expected, and only there the once.

    (It was also there a further time on the BT TV app, though that is as expected also).

    As I had no idea which YouView app pairing was actually operative, I disconnected all three. This, as expected, made the iPad require pairing again, and this went OK.

    Though maybe it doesn't matter which is which, and I could have just deleted any two, and been OK? Though I was lairy that one or more might have been an 'old pairing', without the new features, if there is such a thing?

    But it looks like there may be some issue with duplicated devices, on both platforms. And even though the number of devices we can pair is effectively unlimited now, I think it should be only once per box/device/app combination.

    Another comment I would make is that there does not seem to be any logic to the sequence of the list of paired devices; it isn't alphabetical, and it isn't chronological.

    I vote for alphabetical.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • speedyritespeedyrite Posts: 42Member
    edited 5 September 2017
    Sorry to be a bit picky, but my iOS app (as updated yesterday) reports "Version 11.0.17.12"
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 212Member
    edited 8 September 2017
    Will this update work with CurrentGen boxes?

    I have a G4 & a G5 both on CurrentGen , using the Youview app for the G4 & the BT TV app for the G5.

    When I updated the BT TV app it lost the paring & now just gives me an AG106 error when trying to re-pair. Fortunately the current TalkTalk app does work with CurrentGen - I guess because one of their boxes won't be getting the update - so gets me out of a hole.

    Trying the BT TV app on my trial G3 running NextGen it pairs easily so it seems a CurrentGen/NextGen issue.
  • stevemstevem Posts: 29Member
    edited 5 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    This is weird. I tried again this morning on 3 iOS devices, two running iOS 10.3.3 and one running 9.3.5 and all of them paired instantly. One of them I had disconnected from Mobile Devices but not the other two.

    Unlike the old system, NextGen doesn't tell me if there was a software update last night which may explain what happened.
  • StephenStephen Posts: 630Member ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 6 September 2017
    Tim C said:

    Will this update work with CurrentGen boxes?

    I have a G4 & a G5 both on CurrentGen , using the Youview app for the G4 & the BT TV app for the G5.

    When I updated the BT TV app it lost the paring & now just gives me an AG106 error when trying to re-pair. Fortunately the current TalkTalk app does work with CurrentGen - I guess because one of their boxes won't be getting the update - so gets me out of a hole.

    Trying the BT TV app on my trial G3 running NextGen it pairs easily so it seems a CurrentGen/NextGen issue.

    Long story short ... yes.

    So there are three pairing eras 1) "Code" pairing 2) "LAN" pairing and 3) "Cloud" pairing. "Cloud" pairing is required to grant access to your MyTV metadata for this app update.

    The Old-Gen box UI and middleware supports 1 and 2, the Next-Gen box UI and middleware now supports 2 and 3. Our latest app generation (v11) supports 2 and 3 (the previous generation, v10, only 2). The MyTV tab offers to update your pairing from 2 to 3, but keeps your 2 pairing on update. If it detects your box doesn't support 3, the MyTV tab will tell you it's coming soon, on the assumption you'll update your box soon (obviously not if you're blocking it).

    BT's latest app only supports 3.

    In addition, I imagine we will remove support for "LAN" pairing from the app and Next-Gen at some point in the future, but not imminently.
  • Adrian FullerAdrian Fuller Posts: 4Member
    edited 5 September 2017

    Sorry to be a bit picky, but my iOS app (as updated yesterday) reports "Version 11.0.17.12"

    you are running the same version as I am. and I'm stil unable to pair up with youview box as it tells me it cannot find it, obviously its not the mobile device as it worked before it was updated.
  • Adrian FullerAdrian Fuller Posts: 4Member
    edited 5 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    Well theres a result, went into settings, mobile devices and disconnected all devices then it allowed me to repair up to youview box.
  • DJHB1980DJHB1980 Posts: 113Member
    edited 6 September 2017
    If only us Sony Bravia Android TV owners
    with YouView built in had recording enabled
    we could join in the fun!!

    If not for having all catch-up variants it would be absolutely rubbish.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 September 2017
    I found a new pairing glitch, or oddity.

    If your YouView box is in Standby when you try to pair it with the latest app, the app finds the box, and asks you to press OK on the remote to confirm the pairing. This, unsurprisingly perhaps, does not work :-)

    It does not even work if you subsequently switch the YouView box on, as the pairing confirmation is not waiting for you.

    The workarounds are easy - don't try pairing to a box in Standby, or if you do, repeat the process after you have switched it on - but it would be better if the app asked you to switch the box On, if it found it, but in Standby.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • John C2John C2 Posts: 7Member
    edited 6 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    New update doesn't work for me on my iPhone with version 9 software . App asks me to press "ok" on my BT you view box but it doesn't pair and eventually tells me to check my internet connection,. It all worked before the update and indeed still works on my wife's iPhone using the old Youview app. Any help for me?
  • John C2John C2 Posts: 7Member
    edited 6 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    New update doesn't work for me on my iPhone with version 9 software . App asks me to press "ok" on my BT you view box but it doesn't pair and eventually tells me to check my internet connection,. It all worked before the update and indeed still works on my wife's iPhone using the old Youview app. Any help for me?
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 September 2017

    have noted after updating the mobile iphone app, my device is shown in the settings but the app cannot find the youview box, box, informs me i can only use it if i have a youview+ box, even though my box can record programmes,

    iOS9 should be fine.

    And you see the app report that it has found the YouView box and connected to it?

    The OK should then be in response to a message that should appear on your TV screen from the YouView box, inviting you to confirm the pairing.

    Do you see this message?

    What version of the YouView software are you running, on what box?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
  • alal Posts: 1,233Member ✭✭
    edited 6 September 2017
    Roy1 said:

    I found a new pairing glitch, or oddity.

    If your YouView box is in Standby when you try to pair it with the latest app, the app finds the box, and asks you to press OK on the remote to confirm the pairing. This, unsurprisingly perhaps, does not work :-)

    It does not even work if you subsequently switch the YouView box on, as the pairing confirmation is not waiting for you.

    The workarounds are easy - don't try pairing to a box in Standby, or if you do, repeat the process after you have switched it on - but it would be better if the app asked you to switch the box On, if it found it, but in Standby.

    I think this must be what happened to me above. Obviously installing the app away from the box isn't a good choice.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 12,962Member ✭✭✭
    edited 6 September 2017
    Roy1 said:

    I found a new pairing glitch, or oddity.

    If your YouView box is in Standby when you try to pair it with the latest app, the app finds the box, and asks you to press OK on the remote to confirm the pairing. This, unsurprisingly perhaps, does not work :-)

    It does not even work if you subsequently switch the YouView box on, as the pairing confirmation is not waiting for you.

    The workarounds are easy - don't try pairing to a box in Standby, or if you do, repeat the process after you have switched it on - but it would be better if the app asked you to switch the box On, if it found it, but in Standby.

    You can install it anywhere.

    And I am pleased to see that it still supports non-YouView use, by allowing you to skip the pairing, for those who either haven't got, or aren't near, a YouView box.

    It's trying to pair it, when you are not in front of your box, with it switched on and your TV displaying the YouView screen that isn't the good choice.

    And the behaviour of the app, and the instructions on it, could usefully make this clearer.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ - William Morris
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.