New forum feedback

145679

Comments

  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    al said:
    Sorry if it's already been mentioned but I noticed that on some old posts, if I had quoted a quoted post, my post quotes the original post, not the post I was quoting. I hope that makes sense. Here's an example:
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7525745/breaking-news-bbc-store-to-close/p2
    At the top of page 2 I was quoting Sarah, not Redchiz.

    I also noticed if an old post doesn't have a category, it's quite hard to find. Adding the category to the post makes it now appear in my discussions.
    Quotes were added to posts to show what they were responding to on the GetSat forum. This issue has been caused by the way GetSat had their threads rather than Vanilla importing things incorrectly. If you were responding to a comment in a thread from a reply, it will default the quote to being from the reply, not the comment as it wasn't possible to directly comment on other threaded comments.

    Unfortunately without going into every single post and either removing or editing the quotes, there's not much we can do about this. If you want to edit your individual posts you can do this through the </> source button and removing the <blockquote class="Quote"> and </blockquote> sections (and all inbetween if you're removing the full quote). 

    Roy said:
    This is the second time I have notified this issue; are Vanilla aware of it, and making any progress on fixing it?
    Vanilla are aware of these issues and they are still being investigated. Roy said:
    @Sarah

    The email copies from the forum used to carry the thread title in their Subject line.

    Just recently, the Subjects have changed to only say 'Re: [YouView Community]'.

    Whether this change was by accident or design, I do not know, but can you please consider putting it back how it was?


    This is not by our doing at all, I raised this with Vanilla on Friday as it randomly happened between 21:18 and 21:32 on Thursday evening. They're investigating it at the moment as it's definitely not something we've changed to cause this to happen and we agree that's it's not ideal. 
    Visionman said:
    I've recently bumped the BT Sport thread but it hasn't been promoted.
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/comment/18991497/#Comment_18991497
    It's not been promoted as it did not have a category when it was imported over. I've changed it to Discussion however you should also be able to change the category of your thread as well in the edit section :) 
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,886Member ✭✭✭
    Hi Al, it already has a category under 'Discussion'. 
  • alal Posts: 1,281Member ✭✭
    Yes, once a category has been added (by Sarah above), new comments look like they will promote the thread and make it searchable.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    Sarah said:
    Roy said:

    The email copies from the forum used to carry the thread title in their Subject line.

    Just recently, the Subjects have changed to only say 'Re: [YouView Community]'.

    Whether this change was by accident or design, I do not know, but can you please consider putting it back how it was?
    This is not by our doing at all, I raised this with Vanilla on Friday as it randomly happened between 21:18 and 21:32 on Thursday evening. They're investigating it at the moment as it's definitely not something we've changed to cause this to happen and we agree that's it's not ideal. 
    Hi @Sarah

    You make it sound like the issue only lasted 14 minutes, but it is still ongoing, even now  :'(
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Roy said:
    Hi @Sarah

    You make it sound like the issue only lasted 14 minutes, but it is still ongoing, even now  :'(
    Apologies for any confusion, I know it's still going on, what I meant was that between your post at 21:18 and your next one at 21:32, something seems to have changed on Vanilla's end to take away the subject line (see below).


    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    Oh dear, on the principle of 'Who used it last?' it looks like my fault :D
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Hi all,

    In reference to the disappearing posts on the BT and Sky Wholesale Arrangements thread, I felt it'd be better to post here rather than cause that thread to go a bit off topic :) 

    Last week we turned on a more vigorous spam filter on the forum as there were quite a few spam posts getting through. The last thing we want, especially over the Christmas break when there's not as many people around, is for some explicit or inappropriate content to make its way onto the forum when there's not as many people around to remove it in a timely fashion. Thankfully Keith has been on the case with some of the recent ones which have popped up when it's out of office hours which we greatly appreciate however ideally these kind of posts shouldn't be able to make their way onto the forum at all. 

    As a result of us turning this new spam filter on, it took some user posts which contained multiple brand names or links into the spam queue. The multiple attempts to re-post the same thing in fairly rapid succession (which is a behaviour related to spammers) caused it to also remove these as well until they were marked as not spam. I have since marked the posts as not spam and removed the many duplicate posts on the thread as well so the users affected shouldn't experience the same issue again. I'm aiming to get through a list of regular users to mark as fully verified so this doesn't happen to quite the same extent this week.

    On the plus side, the filter did pick up some genuine spam which didn't manage to make its way onto the public community so it is working on removing genuine spam as well. 

    In terms of not being able to edit posts on iPhones, this is not something we were aware of being the case so I'll get this looked into today as users should be able to edit posts regardless of what device they are using.

    Thanks! 
    Sarah
  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    @Sarah maybe a few extra champions/mods would have been better. As good as Keith is he's just one person and can't be in every location. Also what about having edit on mobile view like we used to on the get sat forum.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Daniel said:
    @Sarah maybe a few extra champions/mods would have been better. As good as Keith is he's just one person and can't be in every location. Also what about having edit on mobile view like we used to on the get sat forum.
    We're hoping that having a more vigorous spam system will prevent any spam from getting onto the forum in the first place so that users with Moderator role won't need to take the time to remove it.

    Having more Champions is an idea we're open to however having more moderators around still does not guarantee that spam will be taken off the forum quickly and to confirm, this is not an expectation we have of Champions of the community.

    We turned on the spam filter and have been monitoring it and checking the spam queue to see how well it works. Now we know exactly how the system works, we are prepared so that it won't pick up non-spamming users again as they will be fully verified. Champions are not able to stop users posts from being eaten up by the spam filter. We want to be able to monitor what does and what doesn't get marked as spam and be aware of users who are spamming so that we can ban the accounts and monitor the IP locations of the offending accounts. Maybe once we've had this filter on for a bit longer we'll be happy to allow others to manage this for when we're not around however whilst it's still quite fresh, we want to be a bit more hands on with the system.

    We don't expect users to be up at all hours of the day removing spam as soon as it appears on the community (a lot of spam appears at odd times of day due to time differences), this is why we've implemented an automatic system which picks up on the spam before we even know it's there. This way we can go through the spam filter when we're back in the office and pick out anything which is genuine spam, confirm on the system that it is indeed spam and then ban the user so they can't repost on that account again. The same goes for making sure that posts which are not spam are marked as such and get fully verified as a result. 

    Mobile editing will be looked into along with the iPhone editing mentioned previously :)

    Thanks!
    Sarah
  • AshAsh Posts: 253Member
    thanks @Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    edited 18 December 2017, 2:58PM
    Thanks @Sarah

    I found  quite a few duplicates of my posts in that thread, which I have reduced to dots, so if you could clean those out, it would be appreciated.

    I do have issues with how the authorisation filter was working, though, which you may not have realised from your end.

    When it says the posting is waiting authorisation, it does not remove it, or leave it as posted but visible only to the poster, or any of the other things it might do, but instead leaves it as the draft it was before the posting attempt.

    So if you miss the little message, or think nothing has happened in reality, you naturally press Post Comment again (or at least, I do) which we now know is storing up a bunch of copies.

    Further, unless you go in and remove the draft, which is cumbersome, it is there to be included in whatever posting you make next (though not always visibly) which is why my posting to Daniel about NowTV also appeared several times under my posting about the lack of mobile editing.

    I do think Vanilla ought to handle this step better, and prevent even the possibility of such multiple and double-subject posts.

    Lithium has a 'post flood' detector; if you think a posting hasn't gone, although it has, and so you try to post it again, Lithium will spot the identical duplicate, not post it, and warn you accordingly. Vanilla could usefully do the same, I think.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    edited 21 December 2017, 4:44PM
    @Roy I'll see if they have a better way of doing this in a more user friendly way although we may not get much of a response until January now. 

    [edit] Just to update on the email notifications subject line issue, I've just been informed that the fix has been deployed so notifications should be coming through with the thread name in the subject rather than a blank subject line :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • jimbjimb Posts: 995Member ✭✭
    @Roy I presume we're using Vanilla Cloud.
    Wikipedia says that this was first released in July 2010.
    I'm kind of baffled that you and others appear to be debugging it.
     :o 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    jimb said:
    @Roy I presume we're using Vanilla Cloud.
    Wikipedia says that this was first released in July 2010.
    I'm kind of baffled that you and others appear to be debugging it.
     :o 
    Perhaps it hasn’t had the same level of scrutiny that we naturally give to the YouView code  :p
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    When you insert a link on a laptop, the ‘http://‘ is preselected, so if you don’t want it, you just paste your link, and it goes away.

    On the iPad, though, it is not preselected, so it has to be manually deleted when pasting a link that has its own copy of this prefix.

    Can it please be preselected on the iPad also, or failing that, not be present at all, to remove this annoyance?

    And, if it is to be present, shouldn’t it anyway be ‘https://‘ by default these days?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    edited 27 December 2017, 8:59AM

    Picking a posting I wish to Quote on this iPad, when it is some way back in the thread, does not move the focus to the resulting entry; instead it stays on the Quote button I just pushed.

    I think it ought to move the focus.

    At best, I have to scroll down to find my quote and establish the required focus manually; at worst, I think nothing has happened and press Quote again, resulting in one or more duplicates, which I don’t see until I eventually realise what is happening, and I do scroll down to reestablish the focus  :'(
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    A Happy New Year to all!

    And the forum software seems so mad keen to get on with 2018 that all the most recent prior postings now say simply December 2017, with no day, be it 31st or 1st, and no time either, for those postings that would still show one if this had been an in-year midnight rollover.

    I don’t want NotSat back at all, but is there no limit to the ways in which this forum is broken?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    edited 2 January 2018, 3:14PM
    Roy said:
    A Happy New Year to all!

    And the forum software seems so mad keen to get on with 2018 that all the most recent prior postings now say simply December 2017, with no day, be it 31st or 1st, and no time either, for those postings that would still show one if this had been an in-year midnight rollover.

    I don’t want NotSat back at all, but is there no limit to the ways in which this forum is broken?
    Happy New Year!

    This has been the case for all threads which are from previous years however for consistency, this has now been changed by Vanilla to the same format for as 2018 posts :) 

    The issues you've raised regarding the iPad have also been passed onto Vanilla so I'll update once I have some info for you. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    edited 2 January 2018, 3:45PM
    Also to update, all users should be able to edit their posts on mobile devices. Similarly to desktop versions, you just need to tap the downward chevron in the top right corner of the thread or post to bring up the edit option :) 

    Sarah


  • DanielDaniel Posts: 1,859Member ✭✭
    Much better than having to goto desktop view first on my mobile. I'm glad that's been done. New year better features.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    Sarah said:
    Roy said:
    A Happy New Year to all!

    And the forum software seems so mad keen to get on with 2018 that all the most recent prior postings now say simply December 2017, with no day, be it 31st or 1st, and no time either, for those postings that would still show one if this had been an in-year midnight rollover.

    I don’t want NotSat back at all, but is there no limit to the ways in which this forum is broken?
    Happy New Year!

    This has been the case for all threads which are from previous years however for consistency, this has now been changed by Vanilla to the same format for as 2018 posts :) 

    The issues you've raised regarding the iPad have also been passed onto Vanilla so I'll update once I have some info for you. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Thanks for getting this fixed, Sarah

    i had no great quarrel with 2016 postings just showing the year, but this is the first time for us that the previous year has been only a day or two ago  :p
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • StompaStompa Posts: 38Member
    edited 5 January 2018, 6:06PM
    Roy said:
    Also note the mess the text on the tiles is in on this iPad, where they take on a different aspect ratio from the satisfactory presentation you see on a PC.


     The text on the tiles is a mess on my PC too.
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 737Member ✭✭✭
    Stompa said:
    Roy said:
    Also note the mess the text on the tiles is in on this iPad, where they take on a different aspect ratio from the satisfactory presentation you see on a PC.


     The text on the tiles is a mess on my PC too.
    @Stompa
    I suspect because you have a zoom factor set on your browser. In Google Chrome even setting the zoom to 110% causes this issue!

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • StompaStompa Posts: 38Member
    Anaglypta said:
    Stompa said:
    Roy said:
    Also note the mess the text on the tiles is in on this iPad, where they take on a different aspect ratio from the satisfactory presentation you see on a PC.


     The text on the tiles is a mess on my PC too.
    @Stompa
    I suspect because you have a zoom factor set on your browser. In Google Chrome even setting the zoom to 110% causes this issue!

    John.
    You're right, you do get this issue at 110%. Sadly though I get it at 100% too!

  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Stompa said:
    Anaglypta said:
    Stompa said:
    Roy said:
    Also note the mess the text on the tiles is in on this iPad, where they take on a different aspect ratio from the satisfactory presentation you see on a PC.


     The text on the tiles is a mess on my PC too.
    @Stompa
    I suspect because you have a zoom factor set on your browser. In Google Chrome even setting the zoom to 110% causes this issue!

    John.
    You're right, you do get this issue at 110%. Sadly though I get it at 100% too!

    That's odd, I've tried this on a few browsers on my large monitor and smaller laptop screen at 100% and 110% and haven't found this issue with the tiles. I've found that text does start overlapping when zoomed in on the smaller screen at 125% and 175% for the larger monitor, both in Chrome. It might be helpful to know the screen size/resolution of the monitor/laptop screen you are using as I feel this is a factor. The monitor I use is 1920x1080 whilst the laptop is 1366x768 which is the default but the highest for the laptop size. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • alal Posts: 1,281Member ✭✭
    edited 9 January 2018, 3:19PM
    If you take the chrome window out of maximum and drag the right border to the point where the categories and popular tags boxes disappear (where chrome starts to think you are using a mobile device), then the tile text will start to overlap. Is this the same problem?

  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Roy said:
    Picking a posting I wish to Quote on this iPad, when it is some way back in the thread, does not move the focus to the resulting entry; instead it stays on the Quote button I just pushed.

    I think it ought to move the focus.

    At best, I have to scroll down to find my quote and establish the required focus manually; at worst, I think nothing has happened and press Quote again, resulting in one or more duplicates, which I don’t see until I eventually realise what is happening, and I do scroll down to reestablish the focus  :'(
    Hi Roy,
    Vanilla have tried replicating this and have so far been unsuccessful after testing it on an iPad, iPhone and an iPad emulator. Can you confirm if it's safari you're using on your iPad when this happens or another browser? Does the same thing happen in all browsers you use? Can you also let us know the iPad model you are using as well?
    Thanks!
    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    edited 10 January 2018, 4:43PM
    Yes, Safari.

    It does not happen all the time - but I just scrolled up to this posting of yours, pressed Quote, and provoked the issue.

    I tried it with Chrome, the other browser on this iPad, and could not provoke it; but when I then went back to Safari, I couldn’t provoke it again there either.

    So whatever it is, it seems to be very sensitive to the state of the thread and/or my last action within it  :(

    This iPad is an iPad Pro 64k, 4G, with the Model field in General/About toggling between A1674 and MLQ42B/A
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    @Sarah - please note heavy edits in my posting above from its initial incarnation.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Thanks @Roy, I'll get back to them now and update asap! 
Sign In or Register to comment.