[Discussion] BT software update 29.27.0

1356789

Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 October 2017, 12:55AM
    SteveK>
    "My DTRT-1000 running 27.50 does not have this issue.  YouView boxes pre Next Gen did not have this specific buffer while recording issue.   Several posters have tried explaining this but you stubbornly shout them down by saying it's just an old issue.  It is NOT the same as the minor issue of stuttering when at the back end of the buffer.  This is a front end of buffer malfunction when the buffer is full AND a recording is underway"

    Please start your own thread re buffer full issues. You'll get more replies that way. This thread is about the long awaited BT edit channels feature. Plus some extras.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭
    edited 21 October 2017, 11:28PM
    Has anyone noticed an increase in loading speed to and for BT Player access? And its flip page menus?
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    Wait months for updates to bring back tiny features and they can't even get that right. Probably take another 7 months to fix the player update bug now..
  • NewfyNewfy Member Posts: 55
    Having preserved my 'Hidden Channels' list from days of yore, I was not adversely impacted by 28.26 losing 'Channel Edit' - now i find that 29.27 has 'unhidden' the Legion of Dross and stepping thru channels rather than using the EPG is now extremely tedious.

    Talk about YV Giveth & YV taketh away !

    ..... and when will 'jump to specific recording start time' be reinstated   .....the flag waving and euphoria displayed when they add back a feature we had eons ago is quite amusing ...
  • Steve KSteve K Member Posts: 295
    Visionman said:
    SteveK>
     . . 
    Please start your own thread re buffer full issues. You'll get more replies that way. This thread is about the long awaited BT edit channels feature. Plus some extras.
    No it is not.  This thread is actually about 29.27 which amongst other things was said to fix bugs.  But it hasn't fixed this one so it is correct to list it here.

    But if it means you won't seek to bury it  . . . .
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    Not that I'm in a rush(what's another 6 months?) for another buggy update, but why is the update "rolled" out and not just made available to everyone at same time? 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭
    Nick7 said:
    Not that I'm in a rush(what's another 6 months?) for another buggy update, but why is the update "rolled" out and not just made available to everyone at same time? 
    The relevant server is water-cooled, but there is a limit to how fast the water can flow without the rubber pipe coming off the tap  >:)
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    Roy said:
    Nick7 said:
    Not that I'm in a rush(what's another 6 months?) for another buggy update, but why is the update "rolled" out and not just made available to everyone at same time? 
    The relevant server is water-cooled, but there is a limit to how fast the water can flow without the rubber pipe coming off the tap  >:) 


    I believe you!
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭
    edited 23 October 2017, 2:44AM
    Steve K said:
    Visionman said:
    SteveK>
     . . 
    Please start your own thread re buffer full issues. You'll get more replies that way. This thread is about the long awaited BT edit channels feature. Plus some extras.
    No it is not.  This thread is actually about 29.27 which amongst other things was said to fix bugs.  But it hasn't fixed this one so it is correct to list it here.

    But if it means you won't seek to bury it  . . . .
    Not at all, as it needs to be highlighted.
    As I explained further up, this update was not designed to fix the way you use your box. In fact you are one of only three users I've seen who choose to run their box the way you do.
    There are buffer full issues and they are being looked into. So yes, start your own thread as it will highlight them, rather than your comments being buried in this new release thread.
    I'm interested to see how many respond, as I'm sure are you.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • DarrenDarren Member, Super User Posts: 460 ✭✭
    I take it the old T1000 boxes are no longer being supported for new updates. I manly use the T2100 for Freeview as well as BT TV but I do have the old BT branded T1000 in another room that I use only as a Freeview PVR and for the free catch up players. The old T1000 BT branded box that's over 3 years old still works but not always 100% once in a while.

    Darren
  • dss03dss03 Unconfirmed, Member Posts: 2
    mitchtv said:
    HDMI Switching Issues

    Hi my DTRT-2100 updated to the new software yesterday evening but an issue I've noticed is powering on the youview before the update my Sony TV would happily switch over to the HDMI input ready for me to watch youview and would switch back again when puting the youview box back into standby now it doesn't has any changes been made to HDMI switching control with this update I now have to select the correct TV HDMI input manually :(    
    Yes, since the update, the YouView box no longer does HDMI auto switching.  Sloppy rubbish.  Why not check your updates before you release them.
  • dss03dss03 Unconfirmed, Member Posts: 2
    redchiz said:
    WilfH said:
    Been trying to do a manual update since 0800 this morning -T2100.  Still says the software is up to date at 28.26.0. Not had any problems doing a manual update previously. Anyone else had this?
    Yes, many times, all updates are rolled out over a period of time, it’s obviously not your turn yet and you have been lucky in the past.
    YouView have stopped rollout of October 2017 update at ~10% due to bugs, including failure of HDMI auto switching.  They are working on a fix. I know because I just phoned them.
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    dss03 said:
    redchiz said:
    WilfH said:
    Been trying to do a manual update since 0800 this morning -T2100.  Still says the software is up to date at 28.26.0. Not had any problems doing a manual update previously. Anyone else had this?
    Yes, many times, all updates are rolled out over a period of time, it’s obviously not your turn yet and you have been lucky in the past.
    YouView have stopped rollout of October 2017 update at ~10% due to bugs, including failure of HDMI auto switching.  They are working on a fix. I know because I just phoned them.
    Makes sense. Thank god I missed out on that one..
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭
    edited 26 October 2017, 8:13PM
    My box auto switches. And its a Sony YouView, which can be a bit dodgy at times. But no, no problems with this update. 
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • My box also auto switches connected to a Panasonic tv.

    As for Youview postponing any further update, and there are folk on here much cleverer than me who may know different, but I'd love to know why as I for one am having no issues with it. Someone better tell them to update this page https://support.youview.com/youview-box/software-updates/latest-software-versions if it is being delayed.   

  • ukstevesuksteves Member Posts: 11
    Nick7 said:
    dss03 said:
    redchiz said:
    WilfH said:
    Been trying to do a manual update since 0800 this morning -T2100.  Still says the software is up to date at 28.26.0. Not had any problems doing a manual update previously. Anyone else had this?
    Yes, many times, all updates are rolled out over a period of time, it’s obviously not your turn yet and you have been lucky in the past.
    YouView have stopped rollout of October 2017 update at ~10% due to bugs, including failure of HDMI auto switching.  They are working on a fix. I know because I just phoned them.
    Makes sense. Thank god I missed out on that one..
    Mine updated this afternoon, so it's not been cancelled yet.
  • That's the reason I added some sarcasm to my post above. Of course the update is proceeding as planned. Why would they stop it when it's obviously been tested and passed as working. I, like many others, am having zero issues with it. It's an unfortunate side of internet fora where trolls attach themselves to a subject and pop up to spread mistruths and falsehoods. 
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,167 ✭✭✭
    Ah, irony is often hard to spot on forums. Unlike dismissal of the views of others.
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    Robert said:
    That's the reason I added some sarcasm to my post above. Of course the update is proceeding as planned. Why would they stop it when it's obviously been tested and passed as working. I, like many others, am having zero issues with it. It's an unfortunate side of internet fora where trolls attach themselves to a subject and pop up to spread mistruths and falsehoods. 
    So is there no issue when you try to update the players/apps? It doesn't affect everyone then?
  • I have no reason to press the app/player update button as any new ones will appear automatically BUT it's only the actual message which is the 'bug'. As Youview have confirmed, if there are indeed any app/player updates they will still take effect. That part of the box functionality is not broken. The 'bug' is only with the actual onscreen message itself.
  • mitchtvmitchtv Member Posts: 3
    Thanks dss03 for the additional info you also noticing HDMI not auto switching like it did before since the most recent software rollout, fingers crossed they sort it with some bug fixes, the update seems to have generally improved some things it seems to operate a little quicker when moving between menu's it's just frustrating it's also introduced other quirks
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 11 ✭✭
    edited 29 October 2017, 12:57AM
    As this update continues to roll out I think it would be a good idea for anyone experiencing the handshake issue to get in touch with the development team and pass on the make and model numbers of your TVs as it would seem it's only a problem with some, but not all, tv models/makes. I'm having no issues with my Panasonic tv.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 October 2017, 8:28AM
    Robert said:
    As this update continues to roll out I think it would be a good idea for anyone experiencing the handshake issue to get in touch with the development team and pass on the make and model numbers of your TVs as it would seem it's only a problem with some, but not all, tv models/makes. I'm having no issues with my Panasonic tv.
    HDMI 1? Pannys have a special non-CEC technique for identifying activity on HDMI 1. 

    Try a different HDMI input, and see if CEC from the YouView box works on that.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 11 ✭✭
    edited 29 October 2017, 9:15AM
    It's HDMI 3 @Roy but I've just tried it in the other 3 HDMI ports and they all work the same. The tv is a Panasonic DX750B (2016 model).

    ****UPDATE**** The boss (the missus) has just informed me that CEC doesn't always work as there have been times it hasn't worked when she has turned on the box. Whether that's the tv or the box at fault I couldn't say.
  • Nick7Nick7 Member Posts: 88
    The edit channel feature just removes them from the guide, you can still select them to watch. Absolutely pointless update..!
  • I seem to remember them stating that full functionality would be restored over a number of updates. Please don't shoot the messenger as I agree it's a bit half-baked as it stands at present.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 October 2017, 10:34AM
    Robert said:
    I seem to remember them stating that full functionality would be restored over a number of updates. Please don't shoot the messenger as I agree it's a bit half-baked as it stands at present.
    Indeed. But half a loaf - or even just a nubby end - is better than no bread  :p
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • Roy said:
    Robert said:
    I seem to remember them stating that full functionality would be restored over a number of updates. Please don't shoot the messenger as I agree it's a bit half-baked as it stands at present.
    Indeed. But half a loaf - or even just a nubby end - is better than no bread  :p
    How very true. In all honesty it doesn't really affect me as almost all my tv viewing is either off the players/apps or recordings. About the only live tv I watch is sports or news. I would tend to use the guide for my channel hopping rather than going up and down through the channels or I'd type in the numbers of the channels I watch most. As with any other aspect of software changes it always comes down to each individuals own particular habits and preferences when using their tv/box etc.
  • NewfyNewfy Member Posts: 55
    If we are quoting old adages - how about -

    "If a Job is worth doing, its worth doing well .... "
  • StompaStompa Member Posts: 38
    dss03 said:
    YouView have stopped rollout of October 2017 update at ~10% due to bugs, including failure of HDMI auto switching.  They are working on a fix. I know because I just phoned them.
    Hmmm, I've not had the latest update, but have always found auto switching to be a bit flaky with earlier versions (even with old gen). It would work most of the time, but not always.

Sign In or Register to comment.