[Discussion] Humax software update 29.36.0

Philip TrottPhilip Trott Posts: 1,040Administrator admin
Hi all,

Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software update 29.36.0 in this thread.

Comments

  • Alan3Alan3 Posts: 21Member
    Glad this bug has been fixed. Thanks for the regular improvements.
  • dave3dave3 Posts: 186Member
    Has MM4 issue also been fixed?
  • steve23094steve23094 Posts: 58Member
    edited 6 December 2017, 1:49AM
    Hi all,

    Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software update 29.36.0 in this thread.
    Why don’t you tell your customers if development on the T1000 and T1010 has been abandoned?  Because it’s sure starting to look that way.
  • Hmmmmmm. Sure looks that way. Or are they leaving the older boxes till last. 
  • Hi all,

    Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software update 29.36.0 in this thread.
    Why don’t you tell your customers if development on the T1000 and T1010 has been abandoned?  Because it’s sure starting to look that way.
    We were told by Youview some while ago that these latest updates would support all old Youview boxes and that no-one would be left out.

  • wislonp said:
    Hmmmmmm. Sure looks that way. Or are they leaving the older boxes till last. 
    Could be as it's 'a rolling update'.
  • So how do I find out if the ‘older’ Humax boxes are scheduled for update. It would be very easy for Freeview to tag the older devices as ‘Update coming soon’. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 13,944Member ✭✭✭
    wislonp said:
    So how do I find out if the ‘older’ Humax boxes are scheduled for update. It would be very easy for Freeview to tag the older devices as ‘Update coming soon’. 
    ITYM YouView. But that would be a pre-announcement, and they don’t do those.

    Promises yes, but even those they get hung out to dry over if they don’t happen toot sweet.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 163Member
    Roy said:
    wislonp said:
    So how do I find out if the ‘older’ Humax boxes are scheduled for update. It would be very easy for Freeview to tag the older devices as ‘Update coming soon’. 
    ITYM YouView. But that would be a pre-announcement, and they don’t do those.

    Promises yes, but even those they get hung out to dry over if they don’t happen toot sweet.
    or even take more than 12 months....
  • steve23094steve23094 Posts: 58Member
    Hi all,

    Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software update 29.36.0 in this thread.
    Why don’t you tell your customers if development on the T1000 and T1010 has been abandoned?  Because it’s sure starting to look that way.
    We were told by Youview some while ago that these latest updates would support all old Youview boxes and that no-one would be left out.
    Do you have a link to that statement?  I want to read it to see if YouView are likely to use any wriggle room dependant on it’s wording.
  • jimbjimb Posts: 968Member ✭✭
    Hi all,

    Please feel free to feedback on the latest Humax retail software update 29.36.0 in this thread.
    Why don’t you tell your customers if development on the T1000 and T1010 has been abandoned?  Because it’s sure starting to look that way.
    We were told by Youview some while ago that these latest updates would support all old Youview boxes and that no-one would be left out.
    Do you have a link to that statement?  I want to read it to see if YouView are likely to use any wriggle room dependant on it’s wording.
    The original statement about Next-Gen was:

    "...a new simpler, more streamlined and image-led interface, rendered in HTML 5, will rollout across the UK. Every set top box provided by YouView’s shareholder partners TalkTalk and BT – as well as all original devices bought by retail customers since its launch in 2012 – will be upgraded..."

    but this did not commit to continue to support every box.

    https://www.youview.com/2016/11/23/youview-reveals-next-generation-user-experience/
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,837Member ✭✭✭
    Well said, jimb. But just one slight correction (sorry), YouView have committed to continue to support all devices for the span of their life. No other platform or device does that and so thats a stance to be applauded.
  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,404Member, Champion mod
    Those with T1000 boxes may also be interested to see YouView are explicitly looking for new trialists with T1000 boxes. One would assume that means there must be further software updates planned for T1000 boxes such that it is worth having trialists for them :)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 8,837Member ✭✭✭
    Come now Keith, this is an internet forum and no know gives praise on such. Just moans and groans. But yes, good to know.  :)
  • There's been plenty of 'grumbling' (to put it mildly) by T1000 owners so now they have the opportunity to get testing and help themselves get the improvements they desire. Only problem I see is that some posters haven't seemed to be able to grasp what testing actually entails and the limitations this can bring at times. To all those aforementioned disappointed people, happy testing, the day you have been waiting for has arrived.
    B)
  • Graham5Graham5 Posts: 9Member
    Strange behaviour since this update, I don't know whether it's related or not; everything seemed to be fine, then about a week after this update I had lots of failed recordings on a Friday - I've never had failed recording before, one that instead of lasting 30 minutes lasted 2.5 hours three others just failed to record, with a fourth only recording 2.5 minutes of a 30 minute program, then it proceeded to try and record everything scheduled which of course failed because they were all in the future.

    I've done maintenance 3 reset and followed the failed recording advice on youview, but the failed recordings now happen, not all the time - randomly, after the program has actually recorded and even been watched and at possibly a different time anyway, for example, it successfully recorded coronation street last night at 2100, I watched it and deleted it, and this morning it has decided that coronation street failed to record at 2130 - there wasn't an episode then anyway so it would fail - but were's the scheduled recording come from for 2130, sometimes it says it's failed to record  even at the right time but after it's been recorded successfully and been watched and deleted...really annoying
  • scottscott Posts: 1,787Member ✭✭✭
    edited 28 December 2017, 9:30AM

    @Graham5 Normally if something fails to record it will try to find it again (usually on a +1 channel or something like that). I have found that sometimes if I have something on series record and I watch and delete a programme that is then on again it sometimes tries to record it again.

    I have also had a programme fail to stop recording and ended up recording the next one (failure to send the AR signal I guess).

    That said the frequency and mismatch you have reported seems more like a big fault. I can't see any other reports so if it was an issue I would expect to see quite a lot of reports (especially this time of year). It sounds like an issue with just your setup. I know this doesn't help but we can now try to narrow down your issue expecting it is just your setup with a problem.

  • Alan11Alan11 Posts: 13Member
    I had exactly the same problem with Coronation Street, I recorded and then watched two episodes then deleted and the day after they were back on showing failure to record. Then I recorded Emmerdale and when I went to play back it had recorded okay but next to it was a failure to record for the same programme starting 30 minutes later. I put it down to the EPG planners having a good Christmas.
Sign In or Register to comment.