No pictures in the recordings list/library

JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
Until a few weeks ago all my recorded programmes had a little picture.  My old recordings still do, but any new recordings just have a little blank window.  Any idea why?
I have tried restarting the box but it makes no difference. 
«13

Comments

  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Hi @JohnJ

    Welcome to the community :) 

    Can you please let us know your YouView box model?

    Do all of your new recordings lack a picture on the tile? It'd be helpful to have some examples so we can give it a test on our end as well. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    Hi Sarah,

    Thank you for replying.  I confirm that all my recent recordings lack a picture on the tile.  All recordings prior to April 25th have a picture on the tile, except for a single recording from back on 26 December 2017 which has also "lost" its picture.

    My Youview box is a Humax DTR T1000 and I have copied the following information from "Settings" in case it helps diagnosis:
    Component software: 3.2.92 (abd446)
    Manufacturer software: 28.35.0
    Platform configuration: 3844
    ISP configuration: 1116

    Thank you again,
    JohnJ
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Hi @JohnJ

    Thanks for this info! It's quite unusual for all tiles not to be showing so it sounds like it's a more localised issue with your box or set up. 

    Can you let us know how your box is connected to the internet (Ethernet to router or Powerline Adapters) and if you're using any different remotes other than the one provided.

    Have these blank tiles ever had an image? For example, did they have an image and it's now disappeared?

    It is sometimes the case that we are not provided with an image for a programme however it is a bit strange that it's affecting all of your recordings since a certain date. If you have any recordings which are due to air later on today or run on a daily basis, please let me know the programme names so I can set them to record and test on my end. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    Hello again,

    My Humax box is connected to the internet via an ethernet cable to a Powerline Adapter and then an ethernet cable from another Powerline Adapter to the router.  This arrangement is because the TV set and the Humax box are not close to a telephone socket.  The telephone socket is BT's "main" socket. 

    The blank tiles which relate to recently recorded programmes have never had an image.  But the recording from back on 26 December 2017 did initially have an image, although I cannot remember when the image went blank.

    I have only one recording set up for later today, as follows:
    Giro d'Italia Highlights at 19:00 on Quest (channel 37).

    In case you go home before reading this I have two recordings set up for tomorrow (Thursday), as follows:
    The World's Most Extraordinary Homes at 20:00 on BBC2 HD (channel 102)
    and Ambulance at 21:00 on BBC1 HD (channel 101)

    Thanks again,
    JohnJ

  • apuk2004apuk2004 Posts: 9Member
    Same issue for me too!

    Black thumbnails on ALL recordings after 23rd April.

    I am using a DTRT4000 using 29.58.0 software.
  • apuk2004apuk2004 Posts: 9Member
    See attached for examples.. thanks
  • davseedavsee Posts: 51Member
    edited 10 May 2018, 5:13PM
    I have this problem too. This is obviously NOT a localised issue with the box or set up as suggested by Sarah as we all have different boxes/setups but have the same effects from the same date. The lack of tile pictures also mean that recent recordings do not show up in the mini menu when pressing blue Youview button then right to MyTV.
    My box details:
    Ex-Talktalk box (no longer on subscription)
    Huawei DN372T.01.02.P
    Software 72.44.211

  • scotty16scotty16 Posts: 6Member

    Sorry, I was composing my information, before I read all the updates from yesterday, so I might be repeating what others have said.

    Hi all

    I've had a YouView box for several years. I have several pages of recordings, pre-next gen, which are blank and a few, such as Laurel & Hardy recorded from Talking Pictures which are also blank (I guess the channel do not have the rights to the stills).

    My remote was becoming tired so on the 4th of April I acquired a new remote off Ebay for £6.99. I tried to get the exact model as my original (URC179250-02R00), the advert said it was, but when it arrived I noticed a few differences and that the model was a URC179250-01R00. The buttons that had changed :-


     "Sub/Del" button says "Delete Sub".
     "Picture of an up arrow/AD" says "Shift Audio".
     "Search" says "My View" - And goes straight to "My View" which I liked.


    From day one I found, if I used the "My View" button, new recordings had a blank tile. For the first few weeks if I got to "My View" using the long way (Youview button then select My View) the blank tile would suddenly become a picture, so this wasn't a problem but then this stopped and I was getting blank tiles all ways. In the last few weeks all the new tiles are blank. I tried going back to the original remote but after a couple with pictures they are all blank again.

    Now I'm not saying it was the remote that caused the problem, I'm just reporting what happened. It may be just a coincidence. If you told me the a remote could cause this problem like this I would laugh.

    I've also noticed a couple of other symptoms :-

    The "ribbon" under MyTv option, showing the latest recordings tile, is no longer being updated. The front/leading one is dated 12th April (Still Game) though it does have a picture. It only changes if I delete a pre 25th April recordings off the "ribbon" which is then replaced with another, pre 25th April, recording.

    On my iPhone 5s app "MyTv", recordings have not been updated since 25th April. Also numerous recently deleted recordings are still listed with all the details and a picture tile though they are from pre 25th April. The "Schedule" is up to date though.

    The details of my box are :-

     Huawei
     Model DN370T.02.04P
     Variant 001

     Last check for update 9th May
     Last check players & apps 3rd may
     Component software 3.2.108 (o020f4)
     Manufacturers software 70.44.212
     Platform configuration 3849
     ISP configuration 9

    It is connected with an ethernet cable directly to a Sky braodband box.

    If it would help get to the bottom of the problem I'm willing to post my box (and the new remote) to you as long as you try to use only non-destructive tests, so my recordings are not deleted.


  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    edited 10 May 2018, 11:45AM
    I have the vague memory that someone with a Harmony remote found differences in YouView behaviour if they used the MyTV button, almost as if there was YouView housekeeping that only happened if you went via the blue ‘y’ button. Or maybe more than ‘almost’.

    So I wonder if it is not so much the remote per se, as the way you were using it, @scotty16

    Though we now have to hypothesise a mechanism whereby going straight to MyTV causes permanent changes, rather than just temporary ones, e.g. that some flag is getting set for each blank tile that doesn’t just say ‘There is no image available at the moment’ but rather ‘There will never be an image, so don’t bother ever looking for one again’.

    If you unhook a YouView box from the internet, all the tiles start going blank, so we know these are only temporarily cached images, which refresh every so often from a central store in the YouView cloud, rather than being kept on the box as long as the recording is. That might suggest there is an optimisation to avoid trying over and over for non-existent images, one which I am suggesting may have got erroneously set here.

    I wonder if a Maintenance Mode refresh, 2 or 4, would bring them back? Possibly, possibly not.

    @Sarah, possible avenues to explore here and report back to us on?


    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,406Member, Champion mod
    edited 10 May 2018, 12:58PM
    Roy said:
    I have the vague memory that someone with a Harmony remote found differences in YouView behaviour if they used the MyTV button, almost as if there was YouView housekeeping that only happened if you went via the blue ‘y’ button. Or maybe more than ‘almost’.

    So I wonder if it is not so much the remote per se, as the way you were using it, @scotty16
    That is correct. In a previous topic on blank tiles (reference topic for item 58 in the consolidated list of bugs and faults) I listed the scenarios in which I tend to get blank tiles.

    The conclusion there was that my case 1 blank tiles that then fill in next time the box is turned on were an artefact of using the harmony remote direct to recordings code. It would appear the main menu bar step is what is in effective prompting/triggering the box to fetch/update the references for the images. Using the direct remote code means the main menu bar step is missed and thus only 'happens' for me each time I bring the box out of standby (when I am forced to have the main menu come up and then quickly dismiss it since I do not want it at that time in general).

    So it would seem the code to 'acquire' the images associated with the recordings is triggered via the main menu rather than MyTV which is faulty logic and manifests in the problem I see.
  • scotty16scotty16 Posts: 6Member

    Thank you Roy & Keith. I'll try maintenance mode 2 &/or 4 this weekend (since I need to record my scheduled since the instructions I found says that it will be wiped).

    I do wonder if I've had two problems. The first where the picture comes on if you go the long way and then second, with permanent loss of picture, which has started to occur post the 24th of April. Several people have reported this date. 

  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    JohnJ said:
    I have only one recording set up for later today, as follows:
    Giro d'Italia Highlights at 19:00 on Quest (channel 37).

    In case you go home before reading this I have two recordings set up for tomorrow (Thursday), as follows:
    The World's Most Extraordinary Homes at 20:00 on BBC2 HD (channel 102)
    and Ambulance at 21:00 on BBC1 HD (channel 101)

    Hi @JohnJ ;
    I set these to record, I can see that I have a picture tile for Giro d'italia from last night, do you have a picture as well or is it blank?

    davsee said:
    I have this problem too. This is obviously NOT a localised issue with the box or set up as suggested by Sarah as we all have different boxes/setups but the have the same effects from the same date. The lack of tile pictures also mean that recent recordings do not show up in the mini menu when pressing blue Youview button then right to MyTV.
    My box details:
    Ex-Talktalk box (no longer on subscription)
    Huawei DN372T.01.02.P
    Software 72.44.211

    Hi @davsee
    I suggested that it might be a localised issue as we're not aware of other users reporting this so far on the forum, social or through our contact centre, which, considering it's been going on for 2 weeks, is quite unusual. It's helpful to have these extra reports as it helps us look into it further although as mentioned by Keith, there can be factors such as the remote control which can seem to cause the the tile pictures to not load. 

    For anyone experiencing this issue, please let us know your box model number along with the software version you are running. It'd also be helpful to know what remote you are using and your general box set up so we know of any other things you are using such as powerline adapters so we can look into it further. The more information we have, the better! 
    If you're only missing some tile images, please let us know the programme, channel and air time/date. 

    I've got quite a few recordings on my T4000 box since the 25th April and am currently missing no tile images, these are on BBC One, Channel4 HD, Quest and ITV3. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • davseedavsee Posts: 51Member
    Hi Sarah - to add more info for you: my box is connected directly to fibre modem via network cable. The remote is the original one supplied. Nothing has been changed in my set up that might have prompted this problem. I have tried the usual switch off then on again to reset things but still I get blank tiles.
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    Hi Sarah, 
    Giro d'Italia did record last evening but there is no picture on the tile. You will have seen the other comments today which indicate that the issue is not isolated to my setup. 25th April seems to be a date affecting others too. Was there a software update on or around that date? 
    Is there any reset that I can perform which will retain all my recordings? 
    Thanks, 
    JohnJ


  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,212Member ✭✭✭
    edited 10 May 2018, 7:56PM
    scotty16 said:

    Thank you Roy & Keith. I'll try maintenance mode 2 &/or 4 this weekend (since I need to record my scheduled since the instructions I found says that it will be wiped).

    I do wonder if I've had two problems. The first where the picture comes on if you go the long way and then second, with permanent loss of picture, which has started to occur post the 24th of April. Several people have reported this date. 

    Hi @scotty16

    @Daniel reports that after an MM, the schedule is rebuilt from the cloud.

    Though I have never tried this for myself, I find his information generally reliable.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,406Member, Champion mod
    edited 10 May 2018, 8:18PM
    Roy said:

    @Daniel reports that after an MM, the schedule is rebuilt from the cloud.
    I can confirm the scheduled recordings list is recovered from the cloud after an MM reset. From my experience the scheduled recordings do not all reappear at once. When I have done this a few have tended to appear quickly and the rest within 15-30 minutes. So as long as you do not have anything set to recording within 30 minutes it is usually safe to perform the MM and then sit back and relax and marvel at the settings returning complete and in time for the next recording :)
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    edited 11 May 2018, 10:37AM
    Hi all,

    Thanks for the information so far.  

    I've had a chat with the team and have been requested to get some more detail from those experiencing this issue, can you please let me know:
    • How you are accessing MyTV - what buttons are you pressing to get into MyTV e.g if you have a dedicated MyTV button, have you tried both using this dedicated button and going to MyTV via the menu and had the same issue?
    • Are there any images on tiles in other areas of the UI - app/player tile pictures, scheduled recordings, channel tiles in the menu, Discover & Watch list. If any of these are missing please let us know which areas are affected. 
    • After doing a maintenance mode reset (option 2), do any of the tiles reappear? If so do they all appear or is there just a selection missing?
    • If you use the app, do the image tiles of recordings show there or not?
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • scotty16scotty16 Posts: 6Member
    Thank you once again Roy & Keith. At the moment I'm not getting access to the TV till quite late, but I will try a reset this weekend. 
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    Hi Sarah,

    First in answer to your questions:
    - I have the same issue (blank tiles for recordings since 25 April) both when I access MyTV from the button and via the menu.
    - There are images on the tiles in the scheduled recordings list, the players & apps ribbon and the channel ribbon. The MYTV ribbon shows only pictures for programmes recorded before 25 April.  I have many recordings since then but they do not appear in the MyTV ribbon (even when I scroll right and left) - only in the recordings list. Where I have recorded a series the MyTV ribbon shows the last episode before 25 April even though there are later episodes (which appear as blank tiles when I select the series from the recordings page).
    - I have never tried a maintenance mode reset and I wasn't aware that it existed until I became involved in this thread. I am nervous about trying a maintenance mode reset in case I lose all my recordings. Can you guarantee that they will be retained?

    One more observation is that my box is finding pictures on the tiles for all the programmes on the scheduled page but no pictures for the same programmes after they have been recorded. 

    Finally... .. You didn't answer my question about whether there was a software update on or around 25 April.

    Thanks 
    JohnJ 
  • KeithKeith Posts: 2,406Member, Champion mod
    JohnJ said:

    Finally... .. You didn't answer my question about whether there was a software update on or around 25 April.
    Hi @JohnJ - to review whether there has been a software update around a given date that may be relevant to you you could check the info in the consolidated list of updates and changes :)
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Hi @JohnJ

    The Maintenance Mode reset number 2 keeps your recordings, number 3 and number 5 delete your recordings so as long as you avoid these, your recordings will still be there. You may need to re-do some scheduled recordings so it's worth noting down what's in your schedule before doing the MM2. Some other settings may also be reset with this maintenance mode. 

    If you use the app, can you let me know if the tile images are missing there as well on the Bookings and MyTV section of the app.(I just edited this into my previous post).

    Apologies for missing this before. The last update for Humax Retail T1000 boxes was on the 8th May so it doesn't seem to be linked to a particular update at the moment, especially as this seems to be occurring across Humax, BT and TalkTalk boxes however we are exploring all possibilities. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    Hi again Sarah 

    OK. I will take a deep breath and try a maintenance mode reset. I have some other more pressing things this morning so I won't report back until later.

    I do have the app installed on my phone but have only ever used it to set a scheduled recording when away from home. So today is the first time I have looked at the MyTV section of the app.  I have some interesting observations. 
    - The scheduled programmes list matches the schedules list on my box/TV exactly and there are pictures on all the tiles. 
    - The recordings list has pictures on all the tiles BUT it lists only recordings made before 25 April.  AND it includes recordings which I have watched, deleted from my box and which (as expected) are not included in the recordings list on my Youview box.
    - The bookings list in the app is quite short and it does have pictures on the tiles.

    Thanks 
    JohnJ 
  • Steve PowellSteve Powell Posts: 45Member
    I’ve had the same problem with my DTRT2110 since it updated to 29.58.0 whenever that was. Which reminds me, before the big update, we used to be able to see when the last software update occurred, and now we can’t. We can only see the date when it was last checked, which is useless information. It’s checked every day.

    I’ve done a maintenance mode reset 2 this morning and it has fixed the problem, albeit with significant inconvenience reapplying settings and hiding most of the channels, and redoing some scheduled series recordings which had disappeared.
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    edited 11 May 2018, 1:57PM
    Hi @Sarah,

    Not without a lot of trepidation I have performed a Maintenance Mode reset number 2 (MM2) and HEY PRESTO everything now appears as I would expect it.

    All my recordings (including those after 25 April) have pictures on their tiles - including series where previously the episodes before 25 April had a picture and the episodes after didn't.  I wrote down my scheduled recordings expecting to have to set them up again, but they have also been restored during the MM2.

    I have also needed to update all the settings and reconfigure the app to re-connect with my box.  And I can report that the MyTV section in the app now matches the Humax box.  The recordings post 25 April have appeared in the app and the watched/deleted recordings have disappeared from the app.

    So everything now looks hunkydory.  I can't think what happened, or what I might have done, on or around 25 April, but now I know what to do if anything like this happens again.

    Thank you for bearing with me over the past 48 hours and for your advice.

    Cheers
    JohnJ
  • SarahSarah Posts: 838Administrator admin
    Thanks for letting us know that this helped resolve the problem for you @JohnJ, we're glad to hear that this has worked! 

    If anyone else has this issue and is able to do a MM2, please give this a try and report back to let us know if it also works for you or not.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • f1charlief1charlie Posts: 15Member
    edited 12 May 2018, 1:08PM
    On my  BT DTR-T1000 I was having lock-up problems so performed an MM2 reset.  Previously I had pictures on all recording icons bar a few very old ones, but now I have none!  Even recordings made after MM2 have no pictures.  Scheduled recordings do have pictures. Also My TV on the main menu says that it is empty!?
  • davseedavsee Posts: 51Member
    I set my box to do an MM2 and I'm happy to report that all my tile pictures have reappeared now. However the schedule did not transfer over even though all my recording were safe. Now I have to reset all the hidden channels and reset my preferences. A bit of a pain but at least it should all be ok after it's done.
    So we now know how to correct this problem but it does not explain why a number of us suffered the same thing from the same date (25/4). Sarah - I'd really like to know why please?
    David
  • davseedavsee Posts: 51Member
    edited 11 May 2018, 10:55PM
    PS - I never knew that MyTV was on the app. Thanks for that guys it looks very good.
  • f1charlief1charlie Posts: 15Member
    edited 12 May 2018, 1:08PM
    My box is no longer detected by the YV app :/ 
  • JohnJJohnJ Posts: 8Member
    f1charlie,
    That's because you did an MM reset.
    Go to 'Settings' in the app and disconnect from your YouView box. Then connect to your box as though it is the first time.
    JohnJ 
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.