seires record problem

DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
edited 13 June 2018, 7:08AM in Support
Twice now I have set a show to series record on the Universal TV HD and it asks me to record series or record episode. I click on record series and it only shoes up as recording the episode and the next again week I have to set the recording again to the show. I like to sometimes set a series record incase im not in or a show im watching on another channel overlaps the show on Universal Channel I want to watch. One of the shows im trying to series record is Private Eyes.
Im not sure if this is a problem with Youview or Universal TV its self.

Darren

Comments

  • SarahSarah Posts: 785Administrator admin
    Hi Darren, 

    I can let our Content team know about this and they can take a look at the SCRIDS in case they're not linking correctly. 

    I've had a look at Private Eyes in the guide but it looks like it's being broadcast at different times during the day. Can you let me know the date and broadcast time of the episodes which haven't been linking so we know which ones to look at?

    If there's other programmes which the same issue is happening with, please also provide the programme name, date and broadcast for those as well.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • zulu17zulu17 Posts: 877Member ✭✭
    Well if I look at Universal UK own website and their schedules there appear to be a problem.
    http://www.universaltv.co.uk/schedule/day/today

    it seems to me that their website is advertising two sets of programs being on at the same time.
    If YouView are getting that same information I am not surprised there are issues. 

    Example

     
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    edited 13 June 2018, 2:58PM
    Thanks both for your replies. It’s mainly 9pm on a Monday that I’m trying to series record Private Eyes.
    It Looks like it maybe a Universal TV problem then.

    Darren
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,042Member ✭✭✭
    Darren said:
    Thanks both for your replies. It’s mainly 9pm on a Monday that I’m trying to series record Private Eyes.
    It Looks like it maybe a Universal TV problem then.

    Darren
    And the YouView box certainly ought to cope with it migrating an hour or two earlier....
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    edited 13 June 2018, 9:15PM
    It would appear that 5USA has also started doing the same with Rookie Blue on a Wednesday at 9pm and that it will let me select series record but only shows that the current episodeis being recorded.
    Anyone know what could be going on. I going away for a long weekend away in a few weeks and it’s like I don’t know if I can now trust setting series for some shows.

    Darren
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,042Member ✭✭✭
    Darren said:
    It would appear that 5USA has also started doing the same with Rookie Blue on a Wednesday at 9pm and that it will let me select series record but only shows that the current episodeis being recorded.
    Anyone know what could be going on. I going away for a long weekend away in a few weeks and it’s like I don’t know if I can now trust setting series for some shows.

    Darren
    The YouView box only ever shows the next recording up, even if there will be more than one within the horizon of the EPG.

    If you look on the mobile App though, MyTV, Scheduled, you can see what is scheduled right up to that horizon, and it will tell you if you have a Series Scheduled or just an individual programme.

    Of course, being able to trust the Series setting does not necessarily mean you can also trust the box to obey it, with the current ongoing Failed Recordings issue  :'(
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    edited 14 June 2018, 4:48PM
    I have looked on the mobile app on My TV and it only shows Private Eyes on Universal TV and Rookie Blue on 5USA as only the next episode to be recorded. Yet on the Youview box it lets you select series record then it don’t show up as set as series record.

    Darren
  • zulu17zulu17 Posts: 877Member ✭✭
    If a series record has been successfully requested I would expect you to see in the Youview box EPG the series record  recording R symbol as opposed to the single R symbol.  Plus I believe in the mobile app for each  programme scheduled to be recorded it will either say Series Scheduled or Episode Scheduled. So in your case  @Darren are you seeing the words Series Scheduled or Episode Scheduled for the programmes that you are opting to  series record.

    (As an aside I believe that as soon as you select the record button on the remote you set a recording up  for that single  programme episode  ,the next screen  which gives the Record series or Record episode option allows you to change the option to a series recording.)
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    edited 14 June 2018, 11:39PM
    Episode scheduled it says in the mobile app even though I have selected both shows Private Eyes and Rookie Blue to series record.

    Darren
  • SarahSarah Posts: 785Administrator admin
    Darren said:
    Thanks both for your replies. It’s mainly 9pm on a Monday that I’m trying to series record Private Eyes.
    It Looks like it maybe a Universal TV problem then.

    Darren
    Hi Darren,

    I've just checked Universal's own guide on their website and can see that it says Private Eyes is on at 8pm rather than 9pm, is this correct or is your guide showing Private Eyes as being on at 9pm on Mondays? I can see the episodes on Fridays are on at 9pm. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    Hi Sarah it show private Eyes at 9pm on a Monday some weeks and 8pm other weeks it says 9pm. Next week it says 8pm and came up for me to select series record but it don’t show as series record has been set on the EPG. 
    Rookie Blue on 5USA at 9pm on a Wednesday is now another one I’m having problems with setting a series record.

    Darren
  • SarahSarah Posts: 785Administrator admin
    Thanks for confirming @Darren. Can you let me know if the schedule you see on the YV EPG mirrors what is advertised on the Universal TV guide for the next couple of days?

    I'll update here when I hear back from the Content team.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • SarahSarah Posts: 785Administrator admin
    Hi @Darren

    Can you try setting some other series recordings and letting us know if you encounter the same issue? 

    I've checked with the Content team and can see that the scrids are the same for each of the Monday evening episodes for Private Eyes so they should be linking. As they are not linking and you've found another series record isn't working, it could indicate a device defect rather than it being information from Universal/5USA being incorrect. 

    I've tested what you were experiencing on the app with the same programme on 5USA and mine got added to my scheduled recordings as a 'series scheduled' within about 5 minutes. I also tested it on the box I have here by setting it as a series record in the EPG and this worked as intended and it has the correct symbol on the programme. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 239Member ✭✭
    Thanks for your replies Sarah. Yes the EPG on the Youview box it’s the same as what is advertised on the Universal TV guide. I have tried setting a series record for The Simpson’s at 6pm on Channel 4HD and that seems to have set fine. Also Our Girl 9pm and a Tuesday seems to be also working with series record. The Tennis on BBC 2 HD all this week from 2pm-6pm has also set for series record fine. However Ackley Bridge in Channel 4 Tuesday at 8pm also don’t seem to show as series record set just episode scheduled. Seems like series record is working for some programmers but not others.
    Its a BT Youview T2100 that I’m using by the way.

    Darren

  • SarahSarah Posts: 785Administrator admin
    Hi @Darren

    We've tested this with our boxes here (same model) and they are all series linking correctly both through the app and the box. 

    As all seems fine from our end and the scrids also appear to be linked correctly, it may be an issue with your box. Due to this, we would recommend that you get in touch with BT and they will be able to assist you further. 

    Let us know how you get on.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
Sign In or Register to comment.