Low signal.

Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
I have a huawei dn370t and dn372t running the latest software...
I have noticed recently my signal strength on these boxes is very low, as little as 39% and i can`t get several of the HD channels.
I can plug a BT 2100 youview box into the same ariel and get 100% strength and quality.
I can plug directly into my TV and that gets 100% on its built in freeview.
I can also use a completely different ariel and still only get a very low signal, so i know its not a faulty ariel or its position.
The boxes are also not faulty.

Is this a known issue?, is it software related? 

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭
    Read the Service Alert here.....

    Could this be the issue?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    No, the low signal has been going on for a while, only in the last week have the HD channels gone though, so that could be part of the warning.
    The bt2100 works fine though, so you would think if the warning was part of it, it would affect that box too.

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 July 2018, 4:23PM
    As you have decided the Huawei boxes aren’t faulty, they can’t possibly be  :p

    But certainly, with two boxes doing it, the chances of both having independently faulty hardware seems vanishingly small.

    However, I would suggest a soft reset on each, and perhaps even a Maintenance Mode 4, to see if that has any effect.

    If they really are being starved of signal, though, and the T2100 isn’t, then you might well expect the Huaweis to be more affected by the current hot weather.

    AAMOI, what Signal Quality are you getting on the various boxes, on HD and on SD channels? My rule of thumb is that if this is 100%, you needn’t worry about the Signal Strength too much; but if it is not 100%, even as high as 99%, or lower, then worry a lot.


    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    I know the boxes are not faulty as i have several of them and they all do the same thing.
    All have been reset and re-tuned many times, using every option in the maintenance menu.

    Signal quality is 100% and signal strength is between 99-100% on the BT 21000 box on the same ariel.

    On huawei boxes the signal strength is about 43% on SD channels and around 39% on HD, the signal quality is 100%
    Its exactly the same on each of the huawei boxes.

    On selecting a HD channel the screen remains blank for about a minute, then sometimes the help banner appears, other times the channel comes one, but not often.

    Yes i agree the strength doesn`t really matter if the quality is there, but in this case it does seem to matter as its not strong enough to get the HD channels.

    As i said earlier, the low signal has been showing for several weeks now, but yes the HD channels not appearing has started at the same time as the hot weather, so that could be part of the issue.
    Maybe when the storms hit tonight, they might come back.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    Yep, agree with Roy there, signal strength should always hit the 100% mark, otherwise you have problems. Signal quality is more variably tolerant.
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 607 ✭✭
    edited 1 July 2018, 7:09PM
    Just my observations regarding signal strength & quality.

    I installed a new aerial in my loft and found that whilst i was getting 100% signal quality the signal strength at 45% (OldGen btw) I was missing quite a few channels.
    After playing around with it's location & amplification I was able to push the strength to 65% , remember that OldGen strength calculation was quite different to NextGen's way of doing things and in OldGen signal strength in excess of 90% could cause picture breakup. At this point I was able to get all the channels , including HD ,that I would normally expect.

    Doesn't necessarily help Davey though.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    Context. Always need 100% signal strength. Signal quality is another matter and yep, 45% isn't quite making it.

  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    The quality is definitely not the issue, its the strength that is down for some reason.
    Quality is 100%.
    When the channels actually come on i have no pixels or break up of any kind, its getting them to come on thats the problem.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    OK, there is something wrong with the readings then.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 July 2018, 8:05PM
    redchiz said:
    Context. Always need 100% signal strength. Signal quality is another matter and yep, 45% isn't quite making it.
    🤔

    It's the other way round, @redchiz. Signal quality needs to be be 100% or very near; signal strength can be lower.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    Oops, a very basic reverse, quite right. Bad me, too much beer and football, sorry.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    too much beer and football, sorry.
    You are excused, but no more football for two weeks :D.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    It's coming home ....
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Member, Super User Posts: 862 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 July 2018, 9:37PM
    redchiz said:
    It's coming home ....
      Ah!, would that it were, would that it were.

    John.




    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    Sorry, not into football, all i know is Ronaldo is going home, thats good enough for me.
    Anyway signal quality is 100%, strength is just too low.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    Apologies, back on topic! Have you got multiple transmitters serving your location? Sometimes this can cause issues if your aerial isn't just so, I have found this myself, a high wind and I am suddenly more Sutton Coldfield than Waltham.
  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    I believe i am served by winter hill, yes i know about the fires near there at the moment, but this was happening before all that was going on.
    Again though, why would the BT boxes work 100% if the aerial wasn` just so?

  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,416 ✭✭✭
    Are you a TalkTalk customer? If so then it may be best to get in touch with them. If you are a second-hand Huawei box buyer then I'm not sure what you can do. 
  • Davey23Davey23 Member Posts: 57
    Yes, second hand.
    I was really just hoping someone on here had one of these boxes and could tell me what sort of numbers theirs were getting.

Sign In or Register to comment.