[Discussion] BT software update 31.28.0

SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
Hi all, 

Please feel free to discuss the latest BT 31.28.0 software release in this discussion thread.

This is a maintenance update containing a fix for the Failed Recordings issue.

Thanks,
Sarah

«13

Comments

  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Tried to force the update this morning, only able to go from 29.53 to 29.58. Couldn't even get 31.24.
    Could be a while before 31.28 gets fully rolled out.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 July 2018, 11:39AM
    Tim C said:
    Tried to force the update this morning, only able to go from 29.53 to 29.58. Couldn't even get 31.24.
    Could be a while before 31.28 gets fully rolled out.
    Nobody ever really forced an update. All they did was pull in a little sooner an update that would have happened early the next morning anyway.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 July 2018, 11:33AM
    @Sarah, please note that the ‘Rolling out to 31.28.0’ links on the Latest Updates page actually point to the 31.24.0 entry on the Updates page.

    Perhaps because this older 31.24.0 release is actually listed above the later 31.28.0 release.

    Certainly the logic, if any, to the sequence of presentation on this Updates page continues to utterly elude me.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    @Tim C

    I expect that 31.24.0 got dropped in favour of 31.28.0, with the emergency fix for failed recordings in, so you will never get 31.24.0

    But if you box didn’t auto-update to 29.58.0, then something is wrong - assuming you are leaving it in Standby overnight, with a live internet connection - and a soft reset, or even an MM reset, may be beneficial.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Roy said:
    @Sarah, please note that the ‘Rolling out to 31.28.0’ links on the Latest Updates page actually point to the 31.24.0 entry on the Updates page.

    Perhaps because this older 31.24.0 release is actually listed above the later 31.28.0 release.

    Certainly the logic, if any, to the sequence of presentation on this Updates page continues to utterly elude me.
    Hi Roy,

    Thanks for raising this, I've updated the links so they should now work correctly.

    The Software Version column displays the current software version which has been fully rolled out. Whilst rolling out a new version of software, the Software Version column will continue to display the previous fully rolled out software until the newest one has fully rolled out and we then update it and mark it as complete. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • speedyritespeedyrite Posts: 66Member
    Hurrah! Looking forward to a long wait for this to arrive, whilst recordings sporadically continue to "fail to record" on a random basis!

    I've rolled out my own "fix" for dealing with this. It's a sophisticated dual pronged strategy (aka belt & braces). The braces part is using PLEX's Live TV & DVR feature to duplicate all my recordings off an HDHomeRun Connect network tuner. The belt part is to restart the YV box regularly and deal with any failed recordings by scrubbing the "record series" and zapping them in again afresh. Welcome to the 21st 20th century...
  • John C1John C1 Posts: 24Member
    Sarah said:
    The Software Version column displays the current software version which has been fully rolled out. Whilst rolling out a new version of software, the Software Version column will continue to display the previous fully rolled out software until the newest one has fully rolled out and we then update it and mark it as complete.
    I'm a little confused here Sarah, that page is saying that the 31.24.0 update has been fully rolled out to all DTR-2110 retail boxes then, with the new Amazon Video app and mine certainly hasn't as I've been looking for it daily to see if it was coming to retail. Just checked again with a manual update and it is saying it is up to date, 29.58.0.

    I don't think my box has missed the update as it usually stays on the rolling out comment for a couple of weeks and I never saw the rollout even commence for 31.24.0 for the DTR-2110...

    Thanks,
    John C.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 July 2018, 4:12PM
    Sarah said:
    Roy said:
    @Sarah, please note that the ‘Rolling out to 31.28.0’ links on the Latest Updates page actually point to the 31.24.0 entry on the Updates page.

    Perhaps because this older 31.24.0 release is actually listed above the later 31.28.0 release.

    Certainly the logic, if any, to the sequence of presentation on this Updates page continues to utterly elude me.
    Hi Roy,

    Thanks for raising this, I've updated the links so they should now work correctly.

    The Software Version column displays the current software version which has been fully rolled out. Whilst rolling out a new version of software, the Software Version column will continue to display the previous fully rolled out software until the newest one has fully rolled out and we then update it and mark it as complete. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Thanks Sarah. I understand the logic of the Latest Box Versions page (now I have the name right), even if the ‘fully rolled out’ 31.24.0 never actually was.

    It’s the sequencing logic of the Updates page that eludes me.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Roy said:
    Sarah said:
    Roy said:
    @Sarah, please note that the ‘Rolling out to 31.28.0’ links on the Latest Updates page actually point to the 31.24.0 entry on the Updates page.

    Perhaps because this older 31.24.0 release is actually listed above the later 31.28.0 release.

    Certainly the logic, if any, to the sequence of presentation on this Updates page continues to utterly elude me.
    Hi Roy,

    Thanks for raising this, I've updated the links so they should now work correctly.

    The Software Version column displays the current software version which has been fully rolled out. Whilst rolling out a new version of software, the Software Version column will continue to display the previous fully rolled out software until the newest one has fully rolled out and we then update it and mark it as complete. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
    Thanks Sarah. I understand the logic of the Latest Box Versions page (now I have the name right), even if the ‘fully rolled out’ 31.24.0 never actually was.

    It’s the sequencing logic of the Updates page that eludes me.
    Ah I see! I don't have any control over the sequencing of the Updates page but it's something I'd like to try investigate more. It'd make more sense for the updates to be in order as it's a bit random at the moment so isn't helpful for users wanting to see the updates in the correct order. If this gets changed at all I'll let you know :) 

    John C1 said:
    Sarah said:
    The Software Version column displays the current software version which has been fully rolled out. Whilst rolling out a new version of software, the Software Version column will continue to display the previous fully rolled out software until the newest one has fully rolled out and we then update it and mark it as complete.
    I'm a little confused here Sarah, that page is saying that the 31.24.0 update has been fully rolled out to all DTR-2110 retail boxes then, with the new Amazon Video app and mine certainly hasn't as I've been looking for it daily to see if it was coming to retail. Just checked again with a manual update and it is saying it is up to date, 29.58.0.

    I don't think my box has missed the update as it usually stays on the rolling out comment for a couple of weeks and I never saw the rollout even commence for 31.24.0 for the DTR-2110...

    Thanks,
    John C.
    I'll check this with our team as I was informed earlier that a large majority of boxes had indeed taken this update and there was only a small number of BT Retail devices on older updates and most seemed to be ones which chose not to update (not plugged into the internet). 

    I updated the software table earlier today as we noticed that the BT Retail part was a little out of date so I confirmed the correct software for those with the team looking after that side of things and updated it. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 24 July 2018, 4:31PM
    Sarah said:
    Roy said:

    It’s the sequencing logic of the Updates page that eludes me.
    Ah I see! I don't have any control over the sequencing of the Updates page but it's something I'd like to try investigate more. It'd make more sense for the updates to be in order as it's a bit random at the moment so isn't helpful for users wanting to see the updates in the correct order. If this gets changed at all I'll let you know :) 

    Thanks @Sarah. Please tell whoever does look after this page that they are letting the side down a bit  :p
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Roy said:
    @Tim C

    I expect that 31.24.0 got dropped in favour of 31.28.0, with the emergency fix for failed recordings in, so you will never get 31.24.0

    But if you box didn’t auto-update to 29.58.0, then something is wrong - assuming you are leaving it in Standby overnight, with a live internet connection - and a soft reset, or even an MM reset, may be beneficial.
    Until today I had updates blocked to protect my OldGen boxes & hadn't updated my T2100 to 29.58 as I didn't like the colour scheme change but felt it necessary to remove the blocking to get my T2100 - I use this mainly - updated to 31.38.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    @Tim C

    OK, ‘self-inflicted wounds’ then, and nothing wrong with the box.

    Which will get 31.28.0 (sic) when its turn comes round, if you leave it unblocked, or unblock it from time to time and try a software update.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • John C1John C1 Posts: 24Member
    Sarah said:
    I'll check this with our team as I was informed earlier that a large majority of boxes had indeed taken this update and there was only a small number of BT Retail devices on older updates and most seemed to be ones which chose not to update (not plugged into the internet). 

    Any news from your team Sarah? Like I've said previously I never saw the rollout to retail even begin and mine has always been connected to the internet and is still on 29.58.0.

    Thanks,
    John C.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    Hi John,

    I double checked this and the boxes are indeed on 29.58.0 rather than 31.24.0 so I apologise for that mistake, I've now updated the software table to show the correct software currently available for the box. Once the update is available for the BT Retail boxes, we'll post on here. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • sgjviewsgjview Posts: 5Member
    As a recent purchaser of a BT retail YouView box to replace an aged PVR that failed all was fine for a while until the recordings started to fail. It appears this is the recently fixed issue which is good news  :) , and not user error ;)

    Is there any estimated timescle for the rollout of the update for BT Retail boxes?
    Specifically the DTR- T2100?

    It is just that as a PVR is fundamentally designed to record, and it is currently randomly failing to do so it is rather frustrating :(
    So knowing a estimate of when the update will be available for BT Retail boxes would be great.

    Thanks


  • jimbjimb Posts: 998Member ✭✭
    sgjview said:
    As a recent purchaser of a BT retail YouView box to replace an aged PVR that failed all was fine for a while until the recordings started to fail. It appears this is the recently fixed issue which is good news  :) , and not user error ;)

    Is there any estimated timescle for the rollout of the update for BT Retail boxes?
    Specifically the DTR- T2100?

    It is just that as a PVR is fundamentally designed to record, and it is currently randomly failing to do so it is rather frustrating :(
    So knowing a estimate of when the update will be available for BT Retail boxes would be great.

    Thanks



    I think on this occasion it's going to be fairly quick.  :)
  • John C1John C1 Posts: 24Member
    It could have been a typo but isn't the DTR-2100 the BT subscriber box? Mine the 2110 is the retail box; or if you are a BT customer who leaves does your 2100 get treated like a retail box?

    I might be completely confused or wrong about this :-)
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    edited 29 July 2018, 9:25PM
    John C1 said:
    It could have been a typo but isn't the DTR-2100 the BT subscriber box? Mine the 2110 is the retail box; or if you are a BT customer who leaves does your 2100 get treated like a retail box?

    I might be completely confused or wrong about this :-)
    Yep - 00 the BT subscriber box, 10 the BT Retail version.

    But leave BT TV, and for day-to-day usage an 00 box becomes a BT Retail box; but as far as updates are concerned, it is forever a ‘BT Subscriber’ box, and on the published schedule for the relevant 00.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • sgjviewsgjview Posts: 5Member
    Oops!

    I have DTR-2110, sorry for any confusion caused.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    sgjview said:
    Oops!

    I have DTR-2110, sorry for any confusion caused.
    So nothing for you at the minute then  :'(

    One massive source of confusion here is that YouView seem to fight shy of the S-word ‘Subscription’, and ‘BT’ on its own is used for these boxes as distinct from ‘BT Retail’.

    When most people would probably think that ‘BT’ referred to the superset of all boxes from BT, and not just the Subscription ones.

    Note that I say Subscription, not Subscriber, as quite apart from those owned by ex-subscribers, there are more than a good few owned by never-were-subscribers  :p


    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • aimer66aimer66 Posts: 1Member
    Hi there, I have a BT youview box DTRT2100 which has manufacture software version 29.58.0. When I try and update the software it tells me I am already on the latest software. Is it possible to be “missed” in a software rollout? My box is always left in standby and connected.

    Thanks.
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 332Member ✭✭
    Don't worry , mine's not picked it up yet either.
    It will come when your turn is due and it seems impossible to "force" it by a manual update unfortunately.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    aimer66 said:
    Hi there, I have a BT youview box DTRT2100 which has manufacture software version 29.58.0. When I try and update the software it tells me I am already on the latest software. Is it possible to be “missed” in a software rollout? My box is always left in standby and connected.

    Thanks.
    Hi @aimer66

    We previously paused the roll out of 31.24.0 to bring out 31.28.0 as this included a fix for a failed recording issue which was affecting a lot of users. Due to this, some users are still on 29.58.0 however, these boxes will update straight to 31.28.0 during the roll out of this version of software. It should update itself over night once it's been made available for your box :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭
    aimer66 said:
    Hi there, I have a BT youview box DTRT2100 which has manufacture software version 29.58.0. When I try and update the software it tells me I am already on the latest software. Is it possible to be “missed” in a software rollout? My box is always left in standby and connected.

    Thanks.
    Hi @aimer66 and welcome to the forum!

    There was a software release 31.24.0, which was pulled before everybody got it, in favour of 31.28.0 with the ‘missed recordings’ emergency fix.

    You are in the situation where you never got 31.24.0, so you are still on 29.58.0, waiting for 31.28.0, as are many other users, and there is no need to worry about being missed, as long as this page still says 31.28.0 is rolling out (ignoring what it says it is rolling out from!)

    I agree the message about you having the latest software, when you clearly don’t, could be better worded; it actually means you have the latest software so far released to your box, which is not quite the same thing.

    I wonder what better wording could be used though, that would not cause more issues than what it says now. Me, I might just add ‘available to you’ at the end of the message....

    You might think, though, that an ‘emergency release’ would be arriving rather more quickly for everybody than 31.28.0 seems to be doing though; and if so, I might well agree with you.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • jbscojbsco Posts: 8Member
    Will the bt uhd box get discover and mytv mylist? At the moment I’m on this software and they aren’t there
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,297Member ✭✭✭


    This question has been recently raised by respected member @jimb, but alas, to total silence from YouView  :'(
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • jbscojbsco Posts: 8Member
    That’s a shame not for me
  • georgeogeorgeo Posts: 3Member
    Anyone else with 31.28.0 experience no audio when resuming from standby? I often have to put box back into and out of standby before I hear any sound. This seems to be a new behaviour.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 875Administrator admin
    georgeo said:
    Anyone else with 31.28.0 experience no audio when resuming from standby? I often have to put box back into and out of standby before I hear any sound. This seems to be a new behaviour.
    Hi @georgeo
    Can you let us know your standby settings, box model and TV model you are using? If you're not sure on the box model, it can usually be found on the back of the box or by pressing Help and then Info on your remote. 
    It'd also be helpful to know if you're using any surround sound equipment. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah

  • georgeogeorgeo Posts: 3Member
    Sarah said:
    georgeo said:
    Anyone else with 31.28.0 experience no audio when resuming from standby? I often have to put box back into and out of standby before I hear any sound. This seems to be a new behaviour.
    Hi @georgeo
    Can you let us know your standby settings, box model and TV model you are using? If you're not sure on the box model, it can usually be found on the back of the box or by pressing Help and then Info on your remote. 
    It'd also be helpful to know if you're using any surround sound equipment. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah

    Okay, will check tonight and report back. Thanks
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.