[Discussion] Humax retail software update 29.106.0

SarahSarah Posts: 869Administrator admin
Hi all, 

Please feel free to discuss the latest Humax retail software update 29.106.0 in this discussion thread.

This is a maintenance update containing some stability improvements and no new features. 

Thanks,
Sarah

Comments

  • zawadizawadi Posts: 4Member
    Good evening, I have an issue with this update.

    I have been seeing a lot of network traffic to a BT IP, I have narrowed the issue down to my youview box.
    I have a DTRT1000, below is a tcpdump showing the traffic.

    09:11:37.887060 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.030430 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.173337 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.316242 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.459581 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.602521 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.745642 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:38.888548 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:39.031690 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
    09:11:39.174587 IP 109.159.247.251.5802 > 234.81.130.251.5802: UDP, length 1328
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,292Member ✭✭✭
    @zawadi

    Is BT your ISP, by any chance? Or failing that, is this DTR-T1000 a BT Retail or Subscription one, as per the Variant shown under Settings/Device not being 80B07000?
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • AnaglyptaAnaglypta Posts: 738Member ✭✭✭
    Hello @zawadi ,
    This thread over on the BT forums may help explain what is happening, but what you are seeing here is a multicast programme stream.

    John.
    "Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity." - George S. Patton
  • zawadizawadi Posts: 4Member
    Thanks for the help, I dont have BT or their TV. I'm on Plusnet and the youview was off Amazon.
    Looks like the program guide update is the cause.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,292Member ✭✭✭
    zawadi said:
    Thanks for the help, I dont have BT or their TV. I'm on Plusnet and the youview was off Amazon.
    Looks like the program guide update is the cause.
    PlusNet is a BT brand.
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • zawadizawadi Posts: 4Member
    So after reading all the threads on all the forums about this, I want to downgrade my youview box! I want the cached EPG please
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,292Member ✭✭✭
    zawadi said:
    So after reading all the threads on all the forums about this, I want to downgrade my youview box! I want the cached EPG please
    Try changing your ISP to one who doesn’t do multicast.

    Or, just possibly, review if this is anything you should give a tuppenny damn about....
    ‘Does television exist for us to watch, or do we exist to watch television?’ - Noah Hawley
  • John29John29 Posts: 20Member
    zawadi said:
    So after reading all the threads on all the forums about this, I want to downgrade my youview box! I want the cached EPG please
    You would need to speak to the retailer on Amazon where you purchased your box, get a refund, then purchase the box with the feature you want.

    I'm not aware of specific box models that cache the EPG and others that don't ds perhaps you could share this info?
Sign In or Register to comment.