Problem with ITV hub

AlsatianAlsatian Posts: 6Member
Please be gentle with me as I am new to youview and this forum!

I am having a problem with the itv hub on my youview box, whereby it will find the programmes but when I press play, the video fails to play and an error message appears. 

The itv hub is version v1.31.20+188 and the youview box is a Huawei dn370t.02.04.p with software versions: component software 3.3.156(d1228a) - manufacturers software 70.45.159 - platform configuration 4129 and isp configuration 21108. 

Interestingly I have a similar youview box upstairs, with the same software versions and the same itv hub version and that plays OK! 

The box with the problem is connected to the Internet, as I have tried other catch up apps (eg BBC iplayer) and they work fine. I have also tried a soft reset of the box and signing out and back in of the itv hub. 

Any help would be much appreciated. 

Comments

• RoyRoy Posts: 14,528Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 August 2018, 1:01PM
    Greetings @Alsatian and welcome to the Community!
    An excellent set of background information - I wish everyone would do this on a first posting - lacking only what the exact error message was.

But that may not matter overmuch.

Dumb stuff: I presume you do have itv tuned on your box, and are not in Scotland where you would need to use the STV player instead? Though if you were, your house would have to be leaning over the border at a crazy angle  :p

Smart stuff: The trick is probably that you need to empty the app cache, which you can do separately on the Sony YouView TVs, but not on the boxes, AFAIK, if a soft reset doesn’t do this.

A Maintenance Mode Reset might do it though; a bit more drastic than a soft reset, so be forewarned by reading the instructions there.

I recommend Option 2 in the first instance, which is the gentlest MM, and does, all-importantly, at least keep your recordings.

Do let us know how you get on!