Problem watching live football on BT sport and Sky main event.

MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
Hello,
I am facing the following problem with watching live football on BT Sport and Sky sport main event, the problem is that the picture keeps freezing for about 30 seconds then goes black and the following error code appears on the screen ipc6023, then after about 1 min the picure comes back on for 30 seconds then the problem starts again. Have spoke with BT and they have replaced the home hub and have reset everything at their  end but I am still facing the problem, 
any help would be great.
thanks 
Matthew





Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    edited 8 September 2018, 8:35PM
    An IPC6023 error means you have a bad connection to/with the box. Speed and/or other equipment functioning normally is irrelevant in this circumstance. How is your box connected and have you performed a reboot? 
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi I have done a reboot, and the box is connected to power line addpaters, am using BT home hub 6 router.
    hope this helps
    thanks
    matthew
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi
    Do you think the YouView box has had it, also sometimes when I switch the youview box on from standby the picture on the screen is completely pink. Have replaced the HDMI cable but still get the problem, but this problem only happens sometimes and without any warning, have done a soft reboot. If swicth the youview box off at the back of the box and back on the problem is gone till the next time. I have DTR 2100 box from BT.
    the box is running the latest software.
    any help would be great.
    thanks
    Matthew

     
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    Try this -

    Turn the YouView box off. Unplug it from the internet (pull the ethernet cable out) then turn it back on.
    Pull the powerlines from the chain, plug them into a double wall socket and re-pair them. Put them back into your chain and reconnect the ethernet connection to the box. Now reboot the box again. What happens now?
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,451Member ✭✭✭
    edited 9 September 2018, 7:25AM
    If what Visionman suggests does not fix it - as these steps will have a considerable bearing on the IPC6023, likely originating from the PLAs which BT deprecate in this usage, but which you ought to be able nonetheless to get to work - but possibly not on the pink screens, also try a Maintenance Mode reset.

    Choose the instructions for the T2100, as they vary from box to box. I recommend you start with an Option 2, and if all comes back OK with the box Connected, to follow this up with an option 4.
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Visionman,
    A big thank you for your help, I followed your instructions, and the problems are gone with the internet channels, have not watched any football yet since I followed your instructions but have watch other sport on BT sport 1 and Sky Sport main event, and the problem did not appear, have watched other internet channels like moves24 and the problem did not appear, will let you know about the football on BT sport 1 and Sky sport main event.
    Thanks again
    matthew
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Roy,
    thanks for getting back to me, have followed your instructions about fixing the pink screen I sometimes I get, so far the problem has not come back.
    Thanks again Roy
    matthew
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Vistionman
    I am watching the football on Sky Sport main event the picture was great for about 15 mins then the problem has started again the picture freezes and  the picture goes off the screen, this problem is happens about every 30 seconds, the other internet are fine, 
    Any more help would be great.
    thanks
    Matthew



  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Vistionman
    the error code that flash’s up on the screen is ipc6023.
    any help would be great
    thanks
    matthew
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    Its probably your powerlines.
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Visionman,
    I got power lines replaced but this did not fix the problem, so tonight I phoned BT and got though to there BT vision tv tech support, I was told to switch the powerline addper off at the wall that had the my BT home hub router plug into, and then told to switch the youbox off at the back of the box then switch the powerline addper off that had my youview box plug in, was told to wait 10 seconds then switch the poweline addper that had my router plugged in and wait for the BT home hub to fully boot up, then told to switch the youview box on at the back of the box then switch the powerline addper back on while I was doing this BT was running tests on the line and I was told they had found a network problem on the line and they fixed it, tried BT sport 1 and SKy sport main event and the problem had gone.

    Thanks
    Matthew
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    Thanks for getting back and glad you got fixed.  :)
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Vistionman
    sorry the problem was fixed for 24hours then the problem was back but BT cannot still fix the problem, I have done all that BT have told me to do but still have the problem.
    any help would be great.
    thanks
    matthew
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    For test purposes only, can you try a hard wired connection? Which if works would point to the powerlines as the problem?
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi vistionman
    thanks for getting back to me, i cannot hard wired connection as I don’t have a long lead need to use powerlines, 
    do you think if I changed the powerlines to other model this you help, 
    please let me know
    thanks 
    matthew
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,021Member ✭✭✭
    No, because it may be your homes electrical wiring that the powerines connect to that may be the problem. Have you contacted BT again? Because they can view every single device on your network and see their performance.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,451Member ✭✭✭
    MATTHEW said:
    Hi vistionman
    thanks for getting back to me, i cannot hard wired connection as I don’t have a long lead
    thanks 
    matthew
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B001TH7GVO/ref=olp_twister_child?ie=UTF8&mv_size_name=2
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi vistionman
    thanks for getting back to me, have spoke to BT again and they have done all the checks and BT tell me no problems found, this problem is happening also on Moves24 channel and other internet channels I get from BT, the other channels we get on youview are fine, have changed the HDMI cable to other slot on the TV, can watch live football on BT sport and Sky sport main event for about 58mins without any problems then the problems start about every 5 mins to the end of the game, do you think the Ariel that plugs into the back of the box needs replacing. 
    Please can you let me know.
    any help would be great.
    thanks 
    Matthew
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,451Member ✭✭✭
    The aerial (sic) is not involved in the delivery of the internet channels.

    If you get a full complement of SD and HD channels OK (or as many as your local transmitter supplies, at least) - as per your “the other channels we get from YouView are fine” - then there is nothing wrong with the aerial.

    It will be a lot cheaper, and much more effective, if you spring the £8 or so for the long Ethernet cable I referenced above, and tried that, at least temporarily, instead of the PLAs which, like Visionman, I also think lie at the heart of your problems, as they are probably not man enough to support the multicast that BT are using for their internet channels, including the ones you report issues with. Hopefully 50 feet will be enough?




    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Ok thanks Roy 
    will get the lead and let you know.
    thanks 
    matthew
  • MATTHEWMATTHEW Posts: 189Member
    Hi Roy,
    Update on the problems, have replaced the powerline Adaptors abnd have spoke to BT again about the problem and this time BT told me that the problem was with the wifi coming into my home they did a speed test and found the following problem the signal for BT TV was only 2.1 and should be 5G, so BT have boosted the signal up to 5G and so far the problem has not come back have watch 2 football games on BT sport and no problem so far.
    Thanks for your help.
    will keep you updated
    Matthew
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,451Member ✭✭✭
    edited 30 September 2018, 12:34PM
    Hi @Matthew ;

    You don’t say 2.1 what, and 5G is a mobile network standard, not a broadband speed, so if I were you, I’d go back to BT and ask them what they really said.

    And why they apparently gave you a thorough end to end test, but missed that speed issue.

    Assuming those figures are in Mbps (I’m currently getting 105 down/84 up) though, they aren’t very special - no wonder fast-moving sports programmes are buffering.

    I suggest you get a copy of the Ookla Speed Test (the one I got those figures from is running on my iPad, but you can get it for Android or PC), run it, and let us know what values you are really getting.
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
Sign In or Register to comment.