Youview signal

I have got a bt box which I use for subscription channels only because I only can receive 21 Freeview channels because of where I live so I have a separate Freesat box but what is confusing when I check on your youview site it says I can get 93 TV channels from the same address and same transmitter but I thought youview uses the Freeview signal is this right 

Comments

  • SarahSarah Posts: 935Administrator admin
    Hi @flash285
    Can you let us know which transmitter your box is using to pick up channels? 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • flash285flash285 Posts: 2Member
    edited 27 September 2018, 10:13AM
    @Sarah The transmitter is ainstable in Cumbria 
  • SarahSarah Posts: 935Administrator admin
    Hi @flash285
    The checker is basing your details off the transmitter which provides the widest choice of channels and good signal for your postcode. I've checked Digital UK and can see that you should be receiving good signal for the Caldbeck transmitter which can give up to 117 channels and 16 HD channels. Ainstable only has 21 channels and 6 HD channels available so this would be why you are receiving a smaller number of channels to your address. 
    When you retune it should be picking up the transmitter with the best signal and highest number of available channels so we'd suggest trying this a few times to see if it picks up the Caldbeck transmitter instead of the Ainstable one. If this doesn't help, we'd suggest a retune with the aerial not plugged in and then retune again with the aerial plugged in. 
    Let us know how you get on :)
    Thanks,
    Sarah

  • andro101010andro101010 Posts: 18Member
    edited 27 September 2018, 12:36PM
    Not too get overly technical but be aware that Ainstable and Caldbeck are on different alignments: one is horizontal, the other vertical. If you've a directional aerial you will need to turn it 90 degrees to get "the other" transmission. (as well as pointing it in the right direction of course)
  • PuffinPuffin Posts: 54Member
    Is there any way to know exactly which transmitter my loft aerial is pointing to? 

    I currently get 160 freeview and 104 subscription channels from either the Blackhill or Craigkelly transmitter. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,543Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 October 2018, 8:13AM
    You will need a compass, or at least to know which way is North. Get a map of your area, encompassing Glasgow and Edinburgh and their environs, and note the two transmitters and the location of your property.  This will give you a bearing for each transmitter, after which you can go up to your loft and see which bearing your aerial is pointing along.

    You could also use this DigitalUK page, tapping/clicking Change Address and putting in your postcode and house number rather than the Edinburgh Waverley details I used in the example.

    You do not get your subscription channels from either transmitter though; rather, these all come over the internet.
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,223Member ✭✭✭
    You can get the bearing of your transmitters from your postcode using Wolfbane:

  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,543Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 October 2018, 12:15PM
    jonesh said:
    You can get the bearing of your transmitters from your postcode using Wolfbane:

    ...as long as your property was allocated its postcode an unspecified amount of time before the 19 months ago that mine was, and/or Wolfbane has got around to adding it to its database since  :s
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • joneshjonesh Posts: 1,223Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 October 2018, 2:13PM
    Damn. Does that mean that the protractor that I kept from school will be out of date as well :'(?
    Roy said:
    jonesh said:
    You can get the bearing of your transmitters from your postcode using Wolfbane:

    ...as long as your property was allocated its postcode an unspecified amount of time before the 19 months ago that mine was, and/or Wolfbane has got around to adding it to its database since  :s
     You'll need to use the grid reference of your property instead :p.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,543Member ✭✭✭
    edited 7 October 2018, 8:02PM
    jonesh said:
    Damn. Does that mean that the protractor that I kept from school will be out of date as well :'(?
    I fear so, and the pair of compasses from your Helix geometry set aren’t the right sort of compasses either, to go with the new angle you get from Wolfbane  :D
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
Sign In or Register to comment.