MyTV Preview Unavailable

VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭
edited 1 October 2018, 8:53AM in Support
"Unable to load. Please wait a moment and try again. YVM503."
All tiles are blank yet the recordings play fine.
The box is connected and all the Players play fine. On a Retail T2000. A problem which I haven't come across before. Its not really a problem, just one I thought I should report.
I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,550 ✭✭✭
    edited 1 October 2018, 9:22AM
    @Visionman

    The thumbnails are frequently refetched from the cloud instead of being stored on the box, a practice I have long deprecated, and one which no-one in YouView has ever given any explanation or justification for, as far as I know.

    However, they are just cosmetic, a little bit of NextGen ‘chrome’ that is prone to frequent misfires, in whole or in part, while the box does at least keep and display a placeholder for each recording you have, which, as you have found, lets you access the recording.

    As described, thankfully, by the text, just like OldGen did, except that it is not as well displayed, NextGen rather relying on the rather unreliable thumbnail images.

    But cobblers’ children, physician heal thyself, etc., etc., and what advice would we give a new poster in this situation?

    So: have you worked through the steps here?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭
    Sorry to say this but I know how it works Roy. Perhaps more than you. Perhaps.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,550 ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Sorry to say this but I know how it works Roy. Perhaps more than you. Perhaps.
     :D 
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,706 admin
    Hi @Visionman

    There is an issue which we're currently investigating and monitoring which sounds like the one you're reporting here. Is this the first time you've seen this error? If it continues, it'd be useful to know roughly how often you see it and if any reboots help with the issue.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭
    Just reporting back all thumbnail images are now back to normal.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • TinkTink Member Posts: 2
    Hi all, I am having the same problem. I have rebooted all, but still no luck... Any help greatly appreciated 😊
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,550 ✭✭✭
    Tink said:
    Hi all, I am having the same problem. I have rebooted all, but still no luck... Any help greatly appreciated 😊
    Can you access the BBC iPlayer?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • TinkTink Member Posts: 2
    Roy said:
    Tink said:
    Hi all, I am having the same problem. I have rebooted all, but still no luck... Any help greatly appreciated 😊
    Can you access the BBC iPlayer?
    Yes I can, I can also see what should be there on sheduled, just blank squares on recordings and preview. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,550 ✭✭✭
    edited 25 January 2019, 9:42AM
    The box fetches the thumbnails every time it wants to display them, unless it has very recently fetched them; so the symptoms you describe probably means that the box erroneously thinks it has done that, when it hasn’t.

    For the longer term, YouView might like to start scanning the odd thumbnail, to see if it is the expected multicolour item or just uniform black, and reissuing its refreshes if it finds reality contradicting its imagined status.

    Shorter term, giving the software a jolt may fix things, so try a Maintenance Mode reset, initially Option 2 and then if that completes OK, an Option 4.

    Both options preserve all your recordings, and your schedules will eventually come back from the cloud, though you will have to retune after the resets.

    Opion 2 refreshes your running software from a stored copy on the box, while Option 4 refreshes it from YouView’s servers; I always like to use Option 4 if I can, as it seems more of a deep clean than Option 2, but an Option 2 first will more reliably set you up for an Option 4.

    Especially if you have connection problems (though that does not seem to be the case here) that might, initially, prevent Option 4 from running without a prior Option 2.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
Sign In or Register to comment.