[Discussion] BT software update 31.69.0 / 3.5.132

SarahSarah Posts: 935Administrator admin
edited 12 November 2018, 2:59PM in Announcements
Hi everyone,

Please feel free to discuss the latest BT software update for T2100 & T2200 devices in this thread.

This update contains Synopsis in Guide, the ability to launch the Action Panel from failed recordings, quicker playback bar timeout for recordings and clearer programme tiles. 

This update also contains a fix for an issue where audio wasn't playing on radio recordings. Any radio recordings which were previously not playing should now work without any issues once your box has updated. 

Thanks,
Sarah
«1

Comments

  • scottscott Posts: 1,864Member ✭✭✭
    edited 12 November 2018, 2:57PM

    @Sarah you might want to change the title 31.106 to 31.69 :-)

    Still intrigued why BT don't think they can implement the iPlayer restart surely with BBC as a partner this should be a defacto addition???

  • Tim CTim C Posts: 350Member ✭✭
    A couple of useful changes but don't like what's been done to the guide so I'll not be taking this thanks.
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ and all that other OldGen good stuff that was promised to come back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ etc etc.., rather than the unnecessary & unasked for that does get added and serves no useful purpose? Give me optional lists as well :) ."
  • redchizredchiz Posts: 4,735Member ✭✭✭
    Welcome back Sarah, have you got your flak jacket on?   :)
  • dreamtimedreamtime Posts: 178Member
    What!!!!! Still no hide channels. Why is it proving so difficult to bring back?
  • zulu17zulu17 Posts: 896Member ✭✭
    edited 12 November 2018, 9:41PM
    I am a puzzled by the Important Information section of the Youview release notification where it says

    The YouView Terms of Use have been updated.
    I have not read this in recent release notifications for other boxes. Do we know what has changed ?
    I would also expect any changes in the terms of use to apply to all users and if they have changed how are users with other boxes getting notified ?

  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Please excuse me for asking, but is this supposed to be legible?


    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Roy>
    "I am a puzzled by the Important Information section of the Youview release notification where it says. The YouView Terms of Use have been updated.
    I have not read this in recent release notifications for other boxes. Do we know what has changed"

    They are the new EU primacy terms.
  • jimbjimb Posts: 1,041Member ✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Roy>
    "I am a puzzled by the Important Information section of the Youview release notification where it says. The YouView Terms of Use have been updated.
    I have not read this in recent release notifications for other boxes. Do we know what has changed"

    They are the new EU primacy terms.

    Nonsense. That happened on April 23rd for all BT boxes. 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    edited 13 November 2018, 8:34AM
    Visionman said:
    Zulu17>
    "I am a puzzled by the Important Information section of the Youview release notification where it says. The YouView Terms of Use have been updated.
    I have not read this in recent release notifications for other boxes. Do we know what has changed"

    They are the new EU primacy terms.
    Congratulations on breaking the 9,000 barrier, @Visionman

    Oh, and I have corrected your attribution above, for the benefit of @Zulu17.

    And while EU primacy is a thing, I sort of wonder if perhaps you didn’t mean ‘privacy’?
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • Louise MurdochLouise Murdoch Posts: 26Administrator admin
    jimb said:
    Visionman said:
    Roy>
    "I am a puzzled by the Important Information section of the Youview release notification where it says. The YouView Terms of Use have been updated.
    I have not read this in recent release notifications for other boxes. Do we know what has changed"

    They are the new EU primacy terms.

    Nonsense. That happened on April 23rd for all BT boxes. 
    Apologies everyone, in updating the software page the "YouView Terms of Use have been updated" was inadvertently included. The terms of use, as rightly pointed out by @jimb have not been updated.

    As for the formatting, we are currently looking in to why this has happened - and will have a fix asap.

    Thank you for bearing with us (and to @Roy for letting us know about the errors). :)
    Louise.
  • Louise MurdochLouise Murdoch Posts: 26Administrator admin
    Software page should be working on mobile now. Apologies for this!

    Louise.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Louise said:
    Software page should be working on mobile now. Apologies for this!

    Louise.
    Thanks @Louise, that’s better. And will come in handy if I ever find somewhere to install my T2100  :p
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • DeanSDeanS Posts: 3Member
    Hi all,

    i hope you can help. Following the latest software update, the Netflix app on my UHD (G5) Box simply will not load. Not even the Netflix logo comes up. The screen goes black for one second then goes straight back to live tv with the channel number bar showing up. I have reset the box in mainitance mode without deleting recordings. I have checked my cables, internet connection and other on demand apps which all work fine. I believe it’s to do with the recent software update. Has anyone else had the same issue? 

    Also so if it is an issue with the software will YouView be rectifying this soon with a fix? 

    I do do not own a smart TV and use the box to it’s full potential. Just glad I have my amazon stick as a back up until the amazon prime app EVENTUALLY comes onto the G5 box. 

    Though I believe a newer box will be realised before then! 

    Sorry for the rant and thanks in advance. 

    Dean :)
  • Nick7Nick7 Posts: 88Member
    edited 13 November 2018, 7:21PM
    @DeanS I have the same box.  Just checked, Netflix working OK. Agree though, BT software is a total farce. Machines seem to have different features according to which you have..

    I. E. why is this update only available for the 2100 and not the 4000? Thanks 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Nick7 said:
    @DeanS I have the same box.  Just checked, Netflix working OK. Agree though, BT software is a total farce. Machines seem to have different features according to which you have..

    I. E. why is this update only available for the 2100 and not the 4000? Thanks 
    Because the hardware is different, and because the T4000 needs software support for UHD, not just the HD of the T2100. Only the zapper version of each box that has one, like the T2110, can march in lockstep with the given recording model.
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    If they keep to timetable it should be here within three weeks. If they keep to timetable.  :)
  • DarrenDarren Posts: 261Member ✭✭
    There is still no iplayer restart thing that the retail box that my sister has. Where instead of pressing the red button then restarting the current BBC programme. You can restart the programme you are watching on the BBC channel with just one press of the Youview remote.


    Darren
  • Mike10Mike10 Posts: 40Member
    What a disappointment! We lost so much with the Nextgen “upgrade” & were promised so much in return. Where is it & why is it ALL taking so long? We were told that this new platform was much more malleable & able to have changes made quickly, instead of waiting months. What have we got, a system where changes hardly ever happen & when they do, they are trivial. Where are the original features?
  • KasabuguKasabugu Posts: 1Member

    Hate the change to the guide "Programme Synopsis in the Guide" makes scrolling through programs to see whats on a very unplesant ecperience! Dont usually use these forums but this really pis**s me off!
  • DB70DB70 Posts: 1Member
    I agree Kasabugu - This should have come with a 'disable' option
  • gfsellersgfsellers Posts: 1Member
    I agree about the synopsis box in the guide. It is absolutely terrible and stops you smoothly navigating through the channels with the page down option. How anyone thought that was a good idea and how it got through UAT is beyond me. I would really like an option to disable it.
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    I also agree there should be a toggle on/off for the Synopsis in Guide, and perhaps a few others as well....
  • redchizredchiz Posts: 4,735Member ✭✭✭
    If it was a feature which was commonly available across other devices I would agree more.
  • Nick7Nick7 Posts: 88Member
    Dodged a bullet on my 4000, it doesn't have this feature. And with the speed that BT works it never will! Yesssss! 

    For once in my life I am winning! I feel sorry for you boys! 
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Nick7 said:
    Dodged a bullet on my 4000, it doesn't have this feature.
    If the left one don’t get you, then the right one will.....  :p
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Nick7>
    "Dodged a bullet on my 4000, it doesn't have this feature. And with the speed that BT works it never will! Yesssss! 
    For once in my life I am winning! I feel sorry for you boys!"

    This update was for T2100s & T2200s only. So as Roy said, if they don't get you now they'll get you later. Though the quicker playback bar timeout for recordings is a positive bonus.
  • SJMSJM Posts: 1Member
    Other than backing out this update, how can I turn off the guide synopsis? 
    If I want to find out more about a program I can use the info button, now the synopsis hides the program/s that come after. Really annoying!!!!
  • John LJohn L Posts: 100Member
    Totally agree SJM. Unfortunately this is one "feature" that we are all patiently awaiting for it to be an option(!). "Where is the off switch?". John L
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    SJM said:
    Other than backing out this update, how can I turn off the guide synopsis? 
    If I want to find out more about a program I can use the info button, now the synopsis hides the program/s that come after. Really annoying!!!!
    You can’t back out a YouView update, and you can’t turn off the guide synopsis.

    You are a helpless plaything doomed to follow the whims and fancies of the powers that be at YouView Towers  :p
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Unfortunately there are hardly any 'On / Off' settings in YouView, even though they have been called for for years.
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.