[Discussion] BT software update 31.69.0 / 3.5.132

2»

Comments

  • mb1mb1 Posts: 2Member
    There seems to be a fairly horrible bug when the T-2100 is recording two things at once. If I watch the programme, then it catches up with the live programme, I get prompted to press "back" to return.  I would rather it just carried on, like most other PVR boxes, when you eventually reach the live point.

    The reason I mention this is because the box started behaving strangely was pressing "Back".  After this, I could not seem to rewind either the live programme being recorded or pause it.   The on-screen graphics show it is supposedly rewinding, but nothing actually happens - it just carries on playing.

    If you press pause whilst watching the live programme being recorded, the progress bar shows 00:00 and you can't do anything with it.

    Also, could you please have an option to clear the on-screen graphics after XX number of seconds?  Or maybe if you press 'Close' it vanishes?  The ability to remove the graphics would be great when Fast-Forwarding through something like Match Of The Day, where the teams/score is often shown right where the progress bar is!
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Hi,

    You need to start your own thread on this bug, as this thread is about the new synopsis.
  • mb1mb1 Posts: 2Member
    Visionman said:
    Hi,

    You need to start your own thread on this bug, as this thread is about the new synopsis.
    That's not how I read this thread. It didn't do it before the upgrade. 
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    You need to start your own thread as you'll get more replies that way, as the live catch up quirk is a known bug that has nothing to do with this thread.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    mb1 said:
    Visionman said:
    Hi,

    You need to start your own thread on this bug, as this thread is about the new synopsis.
    That's not how I read this thread. It didn't do it before the upgrade. 
    Oh, it did; it’s been doing it since YouView day 1, and even got carried over from OldGen to NextGen (unlike a lot of useful features, which didn’t).

    Maybe you just never noticed it before?
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • skillerskiller Posts: 282Member ✭✭
    Roy said:
    mb1 said:
    Visionman said:
    Hi,

    You need to start your own thread on this bug, as this thread is about the new synopsis.
    That's not how I read this thread. It didn't do it before the upgrade. 
    Oh, it did; it’s been doing it since YouView day 1, and even got carried over from OldGen to NextGen (unlike a lot of useful features, which didn’t).

    Maybe you just never noticed it before?
    I can't say I've ever noticed it. Of course I'm aware of having to press Back if you advance to the end of a currently recording programme, which is an annoyance when it really should just continue with the live broadcast as @mb1 says (a la Sky, for example). But the bug(s) which @mb1 then goes on to describe is/are new to me and I can't reproduce it on my T2000. (Although I don't use my T2100 so much these days.)
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    edited 30 November 2018, 7:43AM
    skiller said:
    Roy said:
    mb1 said:
    Visionman said:
    Hi,

    You need to start your own thread on this bug, as this thread is about the new synopsis.
    That's not how I read this thread. It didn't do it before the upgrade. 
    Oh, it did; it’s been doing it since YouView day 1, and even got carried over from OldGen to NextGen (unlike a lot of useful features, which didn’t).

    Maybe you just never noticed it before?
    I can't say I've ever noticed it. Of course I'm aware of having to press Back if you advance to the end of a currently recording programme, which is an annoyance when it really should just continue with the live broadcast as @mb1 says (a la Sky, for example). But the bug(s) which @mb1 then goes on to describe is/are new to me and I can't reproduce it on my T2000. (Although I don't use my T2100 so much these days.)
    @mb1 might usefully try a soft reset, to see if his box has extra quirks of its own in these circumstances, and which can be flushed away.

    But the original issue - the lack of a seamless switch to live - is acknowledged to be on YouView’s radar, so we might hope for a fix real soon  :p
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • Nick7Nick7 Posts: 88Member
    @Roy "so we might hope for a fix real soon"

    Seriously? 🤔
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Nick7 said:
    @Roy "so we might hope for a fix real soon"

    Seriously? 🤔
    See the smiley  >:)
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • ddbalmoralddbalmoral Posts: 1Member
    I hate the "info" when scrolling through Guide - if i want info i will press info - also that you cant set reminder in guide for something that is on catchup as it takes you straight to the catchup now.
  • MateybassMateybass Posts: 8Member
    I'm going to say it... I like the new synopsis feature. It has been carefully designed so that the box that opens doesn't obscure programme boxes above or below and doesn't change the speed of scrolling up or down through channels. The most useful thing about it though is the ability to see the full title of a programme box where the title has been truncated or just three dots due to shortness of programme. I now don't have to press the info button and back to find out what it is, which means it's now quicker to scroll through what's on.

    Now if we could just have a facility like on the app where you can select one channel and view all the day's programmes in a list to make it easier to see what's on that channel later, rather than scrolling forward in time.
  • redchizredchiz Posts: 4,734Member ✭✭✭
    Careful now, the torches will soon be coming ....
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Pre-public reaction to this change was mixed. Some liked it, most didn't. Both of which are understandable. But whats surprised me is this change has re-prompted many calls for a return for the days of OldGen's EPG with many calling it 'perfect' when it actually wasn't. Because that had its faults too.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Pre-public reaction to this change was mixed. Some liked it, most didn't. Both of which are understandable. But whats surprised me is this change has re-prompted many calls for a return for the days of OldGen's EPG with many calling it 'perfect' when it actually wasn't. Because that had its faults too.
    For those nostalgic for the mini TV, All4, which has been having a torrid time of it over the last few days, has kindly re-implemented it for us, albeit that it seems to be unintended.

    This is how the All4 app has been starting up lately on our 4K Samsung TV. (YouView is not involved with this, though the evening we had when the ads got stuck over and over, affected the All4 app on the TV, the YouView box, and even this iPad):


    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • VisionmanVisionman Posts: 9,085Member ✭✭✭
    Oh c'mon man, wheres the elephant?
  • Nick7Nick7 Posts: 88Member
    @Roy, get some lid on that trunking.. 😉
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    Nick7 said:
    @Roy, get some lid on that trunking.. 😉
    Don’t worry, it’s still a work in progress; only the TV is currently wired up  :p

    @Visionman

    Elmer works upstairs; Monty guards the remotes in the lounge. He was in that picture I posted, but very hard to see; here he is more prominently:-




    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • Nick7Nick7 Posts: 88Member
    Just had update 31.108.0 on my T4000.

    I love It. Thanks! 
  • mahjx001mahjx001 Posts: 1Member
    I wish there was a way to turn off the synopsis as it overlaps the next programme so you can’t see it, very irritating 
  • DaveGrohlDaveGrohl Posts: 79Member
    Well I've just spotted that the horrendous 8 sec banner timeout has been reduced to 4 secs at last whilst watching a recording. Yaaay I thought, there must've been an update, finally something's been done about it.

    Someone has obv taken 5 mins out of their very busy day to alter the timeout length, thank you. My question now is why only for recordings? Why not live TV as well? And more importantly why not make it user adjustable?

    Youview really are the most bizarre organisation.
  • RoyRoy Posts: 14,535Member ✭✭✭
    DaveGrohl said:
    Well I've just spotted that the horrendous 8 sec banner timeout has been reduced to 4 secs at last whilst watching a recording. Yaaay I thought, there must've been an update, finally something's been done about it.

    Someone has obv taken 5 mins out of their very busy day to alter the timeout length, thank you. My question now is why only for recordings? Why not live TV as well? And more importantly why not make it user adjustable?

    Youview really are the most bizarre organisation.
    You can perhaps see why some of us rush to press our faces up against the window of anybody who shows any likelihood of producing a rival to YouView.

    And always Visionman, or someone of that ilk, punctures our balloon; and always, so far, they have been right to do so.

    Not that I particularly want anything to come along and eclipse YouView; just something to shake them out of their complacency, and rekindle the pioneering spirit of the 2012 launch, but with the zeitgeist of 2019.

    Or sooner or later, they are going to play Blockbuster to some upstart equivalent of Netflix....
    “Where’s ‘Jump to Time’ then? And all that other OldGen good stuff we were promised back, including the proper ‘Hide Channels’ and so on?” (Excerpt from ‘One Billboard Outside YouView Towers’, not coming soon to a box near you)
  • John LJohn L Posts: 100Member
    . . . "the dreaded dark banner"  . . . coming to a Youview box near you! Don't adjust you tv set. Correction! It's already a "feature". Just waiting for an on/off switch! John L 
  • Chris A.Chris A. Posts: 66Member
    oh no. I've noticed that the failed recordings are back. Three times in the last week. Anyone else, or just me?
  • SarahSarah Posts: 935Administrator admin
    Chris A. said:
    oh no. I've noticed that the failed recordings are back. Three times in the last week. Anyone else, or just me?
    Hi Chris,

    Can you please let me know which programmes failed to record? It'd also be useful to know the time and channel (including if it's HD or SD) it was broadcast on so we could have a check.

    Thanks,
    Sarah
2»
Sign In or Register to comment.