Jump to Time in (Long) recordings ....

2»

Comments

  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 140Member
    edited 10 August 2019, 3:01PM
    Visionman said:
    robotman said:
    The negativity is clearly because it's nowhere near as user friendly as the Old Gen version. It's not what people have been asking for since Next Gen arrived. The people testing these things are bound to have voiced their concerns, how could they not when they saw what was on offer, and were either ignored OR the testers somehow believed this was a good implementation of what was once a useful function.

    Stating complete your complete speculation as fact is a dangerous game my friend. You forgot to state the term 'in my opinion'.
    Maybe reading again what I wrote in it's proper context would help you out? I meant what I said and how I said it. How could it be anyone else's opinion but mine, I wrote it  :D How thick would anyone need to be to not understand that much on an internet forum?  :) 
    "My friend"? Hardly, I don't know anything about you. I'm just a fellow forum user like everyone else here, and like everyone else I'm entitled to post what I like whether you agree with it or not. If we all came on here salivating over some new function or other how would the folk that really matter learn where they may just be going wrong. It's called "feedback" ;)
    I suppose I'll get a ban soon for stepping out of line like a few others before me  :D :D 
    Living in a land where time is a percentage, not minutes or hours...........
  • NicholasNicholas Posts: 3Member
    Maybe trialist feedback wasn't important to Youview on this occasion.
    Perhaps they only needed 2 days of trialist usage to assess stability of the update before a public release. 
  • Tim CTim C ✭✭ Posts: 436Member ✭✭
    I'm inclined to agree with most of what @robotman has written on this topic.
    The negativity is because this is a very poor substitute for what we had in OldGen and I suspect that maybe the trialists felt that this was the best that was on offer at this point in time.
    In the days when I was designing & developing systems i would have given one of my  programmers no more than a couple of days to get this feature working using in my day languages such as Cobol, Basic+, C++ or Fortran etc. With the adoption of HTML5 which Youview at the launch of NextGen hailed as being a coding set that allowed for rapid development of new features one would expect speedier development than in the old fashioned languages I used. Experience over the past couple of years tells us that was an inaccurate statement.
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Tim C said:
    In the days when I was designing & developing systems i would have given one of my  programmers no more than a couple of days to get this feature working

    Really? 
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Meanwhile - reaction on the BT forum...

    EnormousBouncyEuropeanpolecat-size_restrictedgif

    But why? 
  • Tim CTim C ✭✭ Posts: 436Member ✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Meanwhile - reaction on the BT forum...

    EnormousBouncyEuropeanpolecat-size_restrictedgif

    But why? 

    Maybe because there's nothing for BT units yet and no official announcement?
  • Tim CTim C ✭✭ Posts: 436Member ✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Tim C said:
    In the days when I was designing & developing systems i would have given one of my  programmers no more than a couple of days to get this feature working

    Really? 
    Yes really.
    When you think about it there's already the function to skip 1 minute at a time so the jumping ability is there. So what's so difficult about accepting a numeric figure of 1 to the program length & then actioning the already present jump facility by the input number of minutes.
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Hi Tim,
    Without being as critical, I'm also curious as to why % was used and not minutes.
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    Visionman said:
    Hi Tim,
    Without being as critical, I'm also curious as to why % was used and not minutes.
    We all know that these features which we’d all love to see reappear worked on ‘old-gen’ but have not appeared on ‘Next-Gen’. Given that on the face of it only the UI is effectively changed to HTML5 but the underlying interface to the hardware is essentially the same as it always was for currently supported boxes I’m inclined to think that there is limited support in HTML5 to the underlying render engine api’s to make this work the way we would prefer. Put bluntly, I doubt we’ll see any of these features back until this rumoured new box appears next year and even then the features won’t be rolled back to older hardware. 

    Wilf
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    edited 11 August 2019, 6:13PM
    Theres a user on another forum talking about another platform whos not happy. Hes going ballistic that Sky Q doesn't yet have HDR. He said to 'to do' HDR 'is easy' and the only reason it hasn't appeared yet is because Sky are 'incompetent'.

    Don'tcha just love social media?  :#  
  • KeithKeith mod Posts: 2,429Member, Champion mod
    edited 11 August 2019, 6:38PM
    My initial negative thoughts were:
    • there are no visual cues that this feature exists, e.g. marks on the playback time line at 10% intervals that might hint to a user one could jump to them
    • given such lack of visibility of the feature surely only the smallest percentage of users will discover it and even less use it
    • whilst I'm all for steady smaller improvements (and have been suggesting such for years) this is really the minimum one perhaps could have done to provide such a feature, and that only comes after the 'old-gen jump to any minute you like' feature was lost over 2.5 years ago

    My initial positive thoughts about this development were:
    • better this than nothing to help people (in the know or who ask) jump through recordings in larger increments
    • if we can see small developments like this more often, give feedback, and hopefully see further iterations of such features and/or other small improvements then that is no bad thing

    So whilst I'm not overly impressed with this particular implementation, I'm happy to see something that moves the system forward a bit and that can be useful.

    Now I'm sure there was a list around here somewhere with many other suggestions of things that could be done - over to you Stephen :)

  • RoyRoy ✭✭✭ Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    I think you meant jump, Roy.  :D
    Still think that, now you have seen it?  B)
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • jimbjimb ✭✭✭ Posts: 1,127Member ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    Still think that, now you have seen it?  B)

    Very nice to see you dipping a toe in the water @Roy
     <3 
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    edited 11 August 2019, 8:09PM
    Roy said:
    Visionman said:
    I think you meant jump, Roy.  :D
    Still think that, now you have seen it?  B)
    No I don't. But at least its a move in the right direction, hopefully...
    Nice to see both you and Keith again btw.  :)


  • RoyRoy ✭✭✭ Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Roy said:
    Visionman said:
    I think you meant jump, Roy.  :D
    Still think that, now you have seen it?  B)
    No I don't. But at least its a move in the right direction, hopefully...
    Nice to see both you and Keith again btw.  :)


    Thanks @jimb, and thanks @Visionman

    But that was just a little piece of unfinished business; so now it’s finished, and as nothing else has changed in the way I hoped it might, I’m cloaking again......
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Keith said:
    I'm not overly impressed with this particular implementation


    @Keith, lets hope we get some answers to the questions that have been posed.
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 140Member
    Visionman said:
    Theres a user on another forum talking about another platform whos not happy. Hes going ballistic that Sky Q doesn't yet have HDR. He said to 'to do' HDR 'is easy' and the only reason it hasn't appeared yet is because Sky are 'incompetent'.

    Don'tcha just love social media?  :#  
    That particular guy is infamous for posting rubbish which is evident from the way others think of him on Digitalspy.
    Living in a land where time is a percentage, not minutes or hours...........
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 140Member
    See you on the NowTV forum @Roy where your help has been useful to a good number of fellow users 😀
    Living in a land where time is a percentage, not minutes or hours...........
  • RoyRoy ✭✭✭ Posts: 15,208Member ✭✭✭
    robotman said:
    I suppose I'll get a ban soon for stepping out of line like a few others before me  :D :D 
    If people got banned just for disagreeing with @Visionman, there would be precious few left here  :p

    But reasoned debate is very healthy; and though it pains me to look the ‘Jump to Time’ gift horse in the mouth, it does look as if its fetlocks are a bit spavined.

    But to get banned, you need to have broken an NDA, or the Community Guidelines, or to be an egregious troll.

    Though as the policy on the latter seems to have changed recently, it is possible that the first two are now considered differently also.
    This is not the YouView that I knew  :'(
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys ✭✭ Posts: 170Member ✭✭
    I certainly hope they listen, unlike when the "exploding guide" was foisted upon us.
    I still hate this, but I'm told that the majority now like it. Got used to it I suspect.
  • Tim CTim C ✭✭ Posts: 436Member ✭✭
    I certainly hope they listen, unlike when the "exploding guide" was foisted upon us.
    I still hate this, but I'm told that the majority now like it. Got used to it I suspect.
    I'm certainly not one of the , I suspect, non-existent "majority". I tend to use the phone apps as they don't have this feature, which like you I hate.
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    Its certainly not very good. If not also a hindrance to using the Guide. I'd get rid as well.
  • jimbjimb ✭✭✭ Posts: 1,127Member ✭✭✭
    I've just tried using Jump to Time with a recording of a radio programme (a Proms concert). 
    It's not perfect, but it does make navigating through a radio recording at least a viable possibility. 
    (For those of you who haven't tried this, YouView's "fast forward" and "rewind" buttons don't work for radio recordings  >:). Using the skip buttons to find the second part of a concert used to be a nightmare.) 
  • VisionmanVisionman ✭✭✭ Posts: 9,509Member ✭✭✭
    I've never used a YouView to listen to the radio. Though I know it previously had a lot of problems from posts on here.
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 140Member
    jimb said:
    I've just tried using Jump to Time with a recording of a radio programme (a Proms concert). 
    It's not perfect, but it does make navigating through a radio recording at least a viable possibility. 
    (For those of you who haven't tried this, YouView's "fast forward" and "rewind" buttons don't work for radio recordings  >:). Using the skip buttons to find the second part of a concert used to be a nightmare.) 
    I've always found Freesat (Humax HDR-1100S) to be a much better proposition for recording radio. FFW/REW/SKIP all work smoothly on the platform.
    Living in a land where time is a percentage, not minutes or hours...........
  • John LJohn L Posts: 255Member
    The "jump to time" function is a long awaited improvement feature, but I agree with others, nowhere as good as the original OldGen Youview software. The original design Worked & everyone was happy! You know the old saying: "if it an't broke - leave it well alone!" If only the Software designers could look at the original design + also look at the programming code that built the original keystrokes that worked the functions. Rewriting software may take time & effort, sometimes fixing a problem/bug can take longer, but why not go back to the original design programming & introduce this into the current software? Maybe the Next Gen software is running out of space for reprogramming features missing? Has anyone else thought on these lines? John L
  • John LJohn L Posts: 255Member
    edited 19 August 2019, 9:16AM
    robotman said:
    jimb said:
    I've just tried using Jump to Time with a recording of a radio programme (a Proms concert). 
    It's not perfect, but it does make navigating through a radio recording at least a viable possibility. 
    (For those of you who haven't tried this, YouView's "fast forward" and "rewind" buttons don't work for radio recordings  >:). Using the skip buttons to find the second part of a concert used to be a nightmare.) 
    I've always found Freesat (Humax HDR-1100S) to be a much better proposition for recording radio. FFW/REW/SKIP all work smoothly on the platform.


    I too agree with you Robotman. My Freesat 1100S works well with radio. May not be perfect, but is a lot easier to control fast fwd/rwd. I tried today with a Youview radio recording that was still on my Hard Drive & I have to say it was not user friendly! I was trying to fwd to a piece of music that I wanted to copy onto DVD, as I am still clearing down my Youview drive from sometime back & trying to get there was an effort. I noticed that the slider seemed to be slightly static at times when trying to shift along. We got there in the end. John L
  • John LJohn L Posts: 255Member
    Just to add this was on a BT2100, still not with the "1-10 jump to time" feature(yet), not like the T2000 that has the new feature recently released. John L
Sign In or Register to comment.