Scheduled recordings have disappeared

135

Comments

  • yorkie59yorkie59 Posts: 7Member
    Got the same problem with my bt youview uhd box no scheduled recordings showing for the last week done resets and swtching on and off still the same,about time bt got this sorted it's been going on for a while.
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 443Member ✭✭
    yorkie59 said:
    Got the same problem with my bt youview uhd box no scheduled recordings showing for the last week done resets and swtching on and off still the same,about time bt got this sorted it's been going on for a while.
    BT not to blame for this I'm afraid. The ball is in Youview's court on this one.
  • GoodbyeGoodbye Posts: 336Time out
    BT not to blame, dont often see that in a sentence 🤣
  • BigCol74BigCol74 Posts: 8Member
    edited 5 August 2019, 9:42AM
    Morning all.. @Sarah and @Louise Murdoch any news on  the update as this has been going on for over a month now.  Have done a factory reset (keep all recording) my scheduled recordings page last 12-24 hour before disappearing and saying you have no scheduled recordings.  Not only is it annoying  having to go through  189 freeview channels and 88 subscription channels on the EPG to see what  you have scheduled it is time consuming.  Please fix as a matter of urgency.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    @taffies83 Welcome to the forum and thanks for providing the information about your box. We don't currently have any mitigations to get this working unfortunately. Our teams are working hard to get to the root cause of this issue at the moment. As it seems to be affecting a variety of box models, it's proving a little more complex than usual to get to the bottom of what's causing this to happen. I'll post updates in this thread when we have more information to share on the progress.

    @yorkie59 Can you please let us know which YouView box model you are using along with the software version it's running on? These can be found by pressing Help and then Info on your remote or alternatively you can find this info in Settings under Device Information and Software Information.

    @BigCol74 We don't have any new updates to share on this at the moment. When we have something to share we will post it on here. I appreciate that it's a frustrating user experience and our team are working hard to try and resolve this issue asap. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • TalmanTalman Posts: 4Member
    My scheduled recordings have now returned! I have not actually done anything they have just appeared! Have Youview solved the issue? 
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    Talman said:
    My scheduled recordings have now returned! I have not actually done anything they have just appeared! Have Youview solved the issue? 
    Hi @Talman
    We have not fixed this issue yet, when we do, the fix will go out in a software release. We did find that some users get their scheduled recordings back however it is still possible that they'll disappear again since the issue has not been fixed yet. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 152Member
    T4000 BT subscription box. Component software 3.6.108 (0513e3) and Manufacturer software 32.32.0
    Recordings were in my scheduled list late last night but just now are gone. Within the epg my programmes are still marked with the Record symbol. 
    Next scheduled recording is at 5am so not attempting a fix to see if the programme does actually record.
    Dipping in and out. More out than in :D
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 152Member
    Further to the above, I scheduled a recording earlier which didn't appear in the Scheduled list but did have the red record icon in the epg. That programme recorded correctly. The Scheduled Recordings list is still empty.
    Dipping in and out. More out than in :D
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    It might help YV dev team if we could report what the program was that that you were attempting to add to the scheduled list. My suspicion is that the list is actually being updated correctly since the new items record but that the list can’t be rendered on screen in the normal manner possibly because the list contains invalid characters.  I’m guessing the list is actually xml but the addition of a new entry is somehow turning that into something the software can’t display. Without knowing the underlying code and it’s behaviour this is just guesswork of course. 

    Wilf
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    Thanks for the information @robotman, it's good to hear that the recordings went through successfully. 
    We're progressing well with the investigation so I'll post an update once I have a bit more information to share.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Craig2Craig2 Posts: 7Member
    I am also suffering from the scheduled recordings list having vanished on both a dtr 2100 and a dtr 4000 box (using Talktalk TV). Its actually becoming a pain as I cant delete series links and I have ended up not being able to record some live sports due to 2 other recordings happening in the background that I wasn't aware of.

    Acknowledging that you have not identified the cause yet and with the issue being around for at least a month, can I suggest rolling back the software please? This would allow you to identify the issue at your own leisure and not disrupt the user experience. 
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    Rolling back is only viable if you know which version of the software introduced the problem. Bear in
    mind that new versions of software may have had other code which is essential moving forward so rolling back could derail future plans. 
    Its easy for us to assume that the most recent maintenance release caused this problem but without confirmation from YV themselves it’s not safe to make that assumption. 

    Wilf
  • Craig2Craig2 Posts: 7Member
    WilfH, I am not assuming that the most recent maintenance release caused this problem as I have not kept tabs on which software my box has been running over the last month. I am also not making assumptions, just a suggestion directly to Youview themselves. I am sure they will be best placed to decide and trial it first in house. 

    Rolling back may derail the future plans, but that is speculation. It may also not derail plans or it may delay plans. Who knows.....but I still feel it is a valid suggestion and worthy of a response from Youview. 
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 152Member
    WilfH said:
    It might help YV dev team if we could report what the program was that that you were attempting to add to the scheduled list. My suspicion is that the list is actually being updated correctly since the new items record but that the list can’t be rendered on screen in the normal manner possibly because the list contains invalid characters.  I’m guessing the list is actually xml but the addition of a new entry is somehow turning that into something the software can’t display. Without knowing the underlying code and it’s behaviour this is just guesswork of course. 

    Wilf
    My list disappeared of it's own free will and not while I was adding anything. All of the scheduled recordings just vanished.
    Dipping in and out. More out than in :D
  • Tim CTim C Posts: 443Member ✭✭
    This so reminds me of April 2018 when recordings suddenly started to fail on Humax units highlighting a small flaw in the base code. I said then that someone somewhere (server related?) made a change that exposed that flaw and this strikes me as very similar.
    Again we'll never know exactly what happened or who did it!
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    robotman said:
    WilfH said:
    It might help YV dev team if we could report what the program was that that you were attempting to add to the scheduled list. My suspicion is that the list is actually being updated correctly since the new items record but that the list can’t be rendered on screen in the normal manner possibly because the list contains invalid characters.  I’m guessing the list is actually xml but the addition of a new entry is somehow turning that into something the software can’t display. Without knowing the underlying code and it’s behaviour this is just guesswork of course. 

    Wilf
    My list disappeared of it's own free will and not while I was adding anything. All of the scheduled recordings just vanished.
    I can say with certainty that it did not disappear of its own free will. It disappeared because of a coding error somewhere Which was exposed by another event be that user initiated or by another part of the code. Understanding how the code behaves is key to understanding and Diagnosing the problem. I’ve been diagnosing bugs in software for a very long time. The key is determining exactly what  happens to expose the flaw then tracing through the code to identify the shortcomings in the code. Computers can only do what they’re told. The problem is that sometimes we unwittingly and in good faith tell them to do things which they simply can’t do and they can only react in whatever way their programming allows which sometimes has undesired consequences. This is one such occasion. 

    Wilf. 
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 152Member
    WilfH said:
    robotman said:
    WilfH said:
    It might help YV dev team if we could report what the program was that that you were attempting to add to the scheduled list. My suspicion is that the list is actually being updated correctly since the new items record but that the list can’t be rendered on screen in the normal manner possibly because the list contains invalid characters.  I’m guessing the list is actually xml but the addition of a new entry is somehow turning that into something the software can’t display. Without knowing the underlying code and it’s behaviour this is just guesswork of course. 

    Wilf
    My list disappeared of it's own free will and not while I was adding anything. All of the scheduled recordings just vanished.
    I can say with certainty that it did not disappear of its own free will. It disappeared because of a coding error somewhere Which was exposed by another event be that user initiated or by another part of the code. Understanding how the code behaves is key to understanding and Diagnosing the problem. I’ve been diagnosing bugs in software for a very long time. The key is determining exactly what  happens to expose the flaw then tracing through the code to identify the shortcomings in the code. Computers can only do what they’re told. The problem is that sometimes we unwittingly and in good faith tell them to do things which they simply can’t do and they can only react in whatever way their programming allows which sometimes has undesired consequences. This is one such occasion. 

    Wilf. 
    The last thing I did was check my scheduled recordings, exited, then put the box into standby mode for the night. Beyond that I can't explain what I personally did differently from any other night.
    I also recall the previous instance of failed recordings, fortunately in this instance (fingers crossed) the recordings are still working ok, they still appear as set for recording within the epg.
    Dipping in and out. More out than in :D
  • TalmanTalman Posts: 4Member
    An update my scheduled recordings reappeared on the 7th of August and as of today are still showing!

    Not sure if this information is of any use to Youview, but I would update you in case it is. 
  • robotmanrobotman Posts: 152Member
    Similar update @Talman I know it won't help anyone get to the bottom of this particular issue but my recording schedule has returned tonight.
    Dipping in and out. More out than in :D
  • AndyB5AndyB5 Posts: 1Member
    Hi,
    All of my scheduled recordings disappeared yesterday on my T4000 Box. The EPG is still showing future recordings, and so far they are taking place. My T4000 is only used for IP channels as I also have Freesat.
    Scheduled recordings are also still showing in the BT TV app, and they are updating. So far I have tried the following:
    A soft rest
    A factory reset (keep recordings)
    'Unrecording' a programme in the EPG and adding it again
    Adding both a one off recording and a Series Link
    Adding a recording via the BT TV app

    This hasn't made any difference, nothing is appearing in Scheduled Recordings on the STB.
    Component Software is 3.6.108 (0513e3)
    Manufacturer Software 32.32.0
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin

    Hi everyone, 

    Thanks for your patience whilst we've been investigating this issue. 

    We believe we have found the cause of the empty scheduled recordings issue and have implemented a fix. A recent change in the UI meant that instead of handling the occasional ‘invalid’ scheduled recording served up by the lower level software, the UI was rejecting the whole list of scheduled recordings and failing to display them. We have increased the robustness of the UI to handling these type of errors, and will now flag them as a ‘scheduling problem’ in the scheduled recordings screen. 

    We’re currently trialling the fix and will highlight it in the release information when it is rolled out. 

    Thanks again for the information everyone has provided whilst we looked into this, it's been very helpful :) I'll post in here with links to the announcement threads for the updates once they are live.

    Thanks,

    Sarah


  • BigCol74BigCol74 Posts: 8Member
    @Sara not happy your fix has only worked for 48 hours my scheduled recordings have disappeared again.  Please Look at your UI again. :s
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    BigCol74 said:
    @Sara not happy your fix has only worked for 48 hours my scheduled recordings have disappeared again.  Please Look at your UI again. :s
    Hi @BigCol74

    We haven't made a software release for this issue yet so until we do this, it is possible for users to still encounter this problem.

    As above, we feel we've found a fix for this and this is being trialled at the moment to ensure that it does resolve this issue before we deploy it in a software release. Once we have the software update ready to go, we will get a software update post done and link it within this thread to let people know. 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    Hi all, 
    A fix for this issue has been put into the latest release for T2000 devices:  https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7605373/humax-retail-software-update-32-32-10-3-6-124
    I'll post again once we have this in other models.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • BigCol74BigCol74 Posts: 8Member
    Sarah said:
    Hi all, 
    A fix for this issue has been put into the latest release for T2000 devices:  https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7605373/humax-retail-software-update-32-32-10-3-6-124
    I'll post again once we have this in other models.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
    When for the Huwai box (I know I have spelled it wrong) lol.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,357Administrator admin
    BigCol74 said:
    Sarah said:
    Hi all, 
    A fix for this issue has been put into the latest release for T2000 devices:  https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7605373/humax-retail-software-update-32-32-10-3-6-124
    I'll post again once we have this in other models.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
    When for the Huwai box (I know I have spelled it wrong) lol.
    Hi @BigCol74
    We don't have any software release dates for the TalkTalk or BT boxes at the moment but will post back on here when we have some information to share.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • I have the same problem with my scheduled programmes disappearing. As soon as I set up ‘series record’ it will put it in there but once the next episode has recorded, it then disappears again and has to be set up again. I have a Humax DTRT2100 box. Software 3.6.48.
    This has been an issue since the beginning of August. 
  • patmospatmos Posts: 3Member
    edited 3 September 2019, 9:36AM
    I have the same problem that others have. It started several weeks ago. I did a factory reset about 5 times. After the reset my ‘scheduled recordings’ showed for a day, a hour, a few minutes etc and then disappeared. The ‘scheduled recordings’ in MyTV indicated I had no scheduled recordings notwithstanding I had and that they recorded as scheduled.

     Twice I went on holiday. When I came back, on both occasions, my ‘scheduled recordings’ had reappeared. That did not last long and again they disappeared with MyTV indicating I had no scheduled recordings notwithstanding I had and that they recorded as scheduled.

    TalkTalk sent me a new TV Box. Unfortunately it has made no difference. The exact same issue exists. I have done a factory reset on the new TV Box twice with no resolution. Surely this must be a software issue. All my software is up to date. I hope TalkTalk will come up with a solution.
  • nu5nu5 Posts: 1Member
    Same problem with my TalkTalk YouView box have factory reset no recording show on  my schedule and when they do appear states fail to record. All software up to date and box is DN372T.01.02.P
    component software 3.6 82(f4645f)
    manufacturer software 72.48.72.
    sometimes the red record button doesn’t even do a thing for single one off recording while watching the program . Very frustrating as new box same issue as the old one. Tried all the fixes people have suggested but with no success.
Sign In or Register to comment.