BT YouView box remote intermittent - 50% of button presses randomly aren't responded to

Also posted here: https://community.bt.com/t5/YouView-from-BT/BT-YouView-box-remote-intermittent-50-of-button-presses-randomly/td-p/1966133

I have to post on both forums (sorry) because I believe it could either be a hardware problem with the BT YouView box or the YouView software running on it, as suggested below.

The problem:

I have a BT YouView box and recently, it has become intermittently responsive to the remote control button key presses.

I have owned the box for 18 months. I would expect the box to still be reliable after this period of time.

I have already:

- factory reset the box

- reset the remote. The remote blue led always lights up when any key is pressed so I think the remote would be functioning.

- Changed the remote batteries for new ones.

- Tried another remote of the same model, this remote 4 months old from new.

- checked for software updates - it tells me it checked today - Sunday 1 September 2019.

 

I observed that, on turning the box on in the morning, it responds well to the remote, I'd even say is working normal.

However, with the box on throughout the day, towards the evening, it becomes intermittently unresponsive as described above. I suspect this could be either a thermal issue whereby the temperature of the box internals is impacting its ability to receive the remote's signals. Or that there is a software bug/regression in the most recent update, which includes a problem, like a memory leak, that manifests only if the box has been on for some time. Though having turned off and turned on the box, the problem prevails.

Comments

  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,346Administrator admin
    Hi @therobyouknow
    Welcome to the forum :) 
    It'd be useful for us to know your YouView box model and the software it's running on, you can find this by pressing help and then info on your remote control. We saw that someone from BT reached out to you on Twitter, were they able to assist you at all? 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Good morning Sarah.

    Device Information:

    Manufacturer: Humax
    Model: DTRT2110
    Variant: 84B08530
    Serial Number: +077328+1749003713
    Identifier: 0000DB-DTRT2110-077d6d99

    Software Information:

    Last Checked for update 02 Sep 2019
    Last Checked for players & apps 02 Sep 2019
    Component software 3.6.48 (b02cd1)
    Manufacturer software 32.23.50
    Platform configuration 4591 (e1cafa85)
    ISP configuration 2402022


    Remote control:

    RC3124705/04B
    3139 238 30584
    Item Code: 077143
    CP03 11737 | 005523

    I looked for the twitter reply, but could not see it, sorry. Could you send me the permalink, please.

    Thank you.


  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,346Administrator admin
    Thanks for this info @therobyouknow. Here's the link to the tweet BT replied with. 
    Have you made any changes to your TV/box set up (new TV or cables, TV stand etc)? 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Hello Sarah,
    I have responded to the tweet by DM as requested. This is what I said:

    "We are not a customer with BT but instead had bought the BT YouView box outright last year from John Lewis to use with TalkTalk."

    Therefore, we still need help regarding the box, please. If it's a software problem, I would think YouView would need to assist. If it's hardware I would think BT would need to assist as it is their branded product. I would need guidance on which one. But for now, as you can see from the beginning of this post, I have posted on BT's forum as well.
  • GoodbyeGoodbye Posts: 336Time out
    John Lewis give a two year guarantee on the BT youview box.
    You obvious cause of action is to return the box as faulty. 
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,346Administrator admin
    Hello Sarah,
    I have responded to the tweet by DM as requested. This is what I said:

    "We are not a customer with BT but instead had bought the BT YouView box outright last year from John Lewis to use with TalkTalk."

    Therefore, we still need help regarding the box, please. If it's a software problem, I would think YouView would need to assist. If it's hardware I would think BT would need to assist as it is their branded product. I would need guidance on which one. But for now, as you can see from the beginning of this post, I have posted on BT's forum as well.
    Hi,
    We usually suggest maintenance mode resets on the box when it's acting up like this however as you've tried a full factory reset already and that didn't help, it's likely that there's something internally which is causing the box to act up unless there's some external factors which are causing this issue. Do you have a Plasma TV? Does your YouView box have plenty of space to ventilate with nothing on top of it?
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • RHardakerRHardaker Posts: 14Member
    Interesting you mention a Plasma TV Sarah. I've been putting up with a similar issue with my remote (reasonably frequently seems to need 2 presses - I've just got used to it). I have 2 other boxes that are fine but when using the remotes from those to the box with the issue I still have the issue so I was assuming a slight box fault. Mine are all DTR2100's. Is there a known issue around a Plasma TV?
    Thanks,
    .Richard
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    Hi Richard,

    There is a known issue where Infrared from Plasma TVs affects the performance of the remote with the DTR2100 boxes.  I and others have responded about this issue a number of times in the past.  Simple answer put a bit of grey cloth in front of the sensor at the right most end of the set top box and this significantly eases the problem.

    Sounds daft but true!!

    Wilf
  • groover22groover22 Posts: 7Member
    As above, have a Panasonic plasma, using the YouView box with it equals lots of unresponsive button presses from the remote. Put the YouView box in another room with an LCD tv and all is ok again.
  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,346Administrator admin
    @DavidSheard We've come across a few cases in the past where the plasma can affect how well the remote signal reaches the box. Most users in these instances find that moving the box further from the TV helps quite significantly with the issue. For example, if you have a TV stand, move the YouView box to the bottom shelf so that it's further away from the TV. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • @Sarah the TV is not a plasma TV.

    The BT YouView box has plenty of ventilation - above (20cm) and at rear.

    The problem has only just started in the last month.

    Here is a share of photos showing the setup, the box being unresponsive to remote button presses and proof that the remote is always sending a signal with each button by recording the infrared LED emissions shown up by the phone camera.

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=16aSzdR-a0s8mtkXORWAXnDOpLCstbM_z

    I have tried my own same YouView box in the same position of setup and get the same issues.

    As you will see from the pictures and video, I have tried the remote close enough to the box.

    Unless there is some physical environmental issue in this setup (shown by the photos) e.g. a mysterious infrared source or interference then I can only guess that it is regression introduced into a recent software update.

    The problem is very specific - the box does not respond, intermittently, to remote control button presses. The video footage shows that Infrared is being sent. 2 remotes and a 2nd box have been tried and the same problem is seen in those. Regarding the other box tried, this had been plugged in to the internet at my home (since it was bought earlier this year), so it would have received the same software update. 

    Pressing buttons several times seems to eventually work with the box some of the time. However this is clearly unacceptable, not least because this makes it impossible to enter channel numbers. If it is a software problem, I would suspect that the priority of the infrared handling process has been changed, for example, such that it is missing some incoming signals from the remote. Or it could be something else.

    The box seems to be better in the mornings, after being on low power standby overnight. That suggests it might be a thermal issue, whereby the box is cooler in the mornings because it hasn't been on for long. It could be a failing hardware component. However, given that I am seeing this on my newer box, bought earlier this year, so newer than the original problematic box, bought early 2018, I am concerned. On that basis, the thought og taking it back to John Lewis to get a replacement doesn't give me encouragement that this would solve the issue. Moreover, to have a hardware fault, if it is that,  develop so soon is not acceptable. We should expect better value for money in a device that should last more much longer. Also, there is an environmental impact on hardware having such limited life.

    There could also be a bug in the software, which together with a thermal issue, is causing this problem, at a guess.


  • SarahSarah Posts: 1,346Administrator admin
    Hi @therobyouknow
    Can you please let us know the TV model you are using? 
    It sounds a little strange but we are aware that there can occasionally be interference from LED lightbulbs, are you using these bulbs in the lights in the room with the TV?
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Hi @Sarah I don't have the model yet but I can find out. Are you asking this because you have a list of TVs that cause problems for the YouView box and want to see if mine is in that list?

    No, I am not using LED lightbulbs in the room with the YouView box, nor anywhere in the house.

    The setup I've had has been as it is since beginning of last year, 2018 as already mentioned. The problem had only just started about a month ago, again as mentioned.

    Also as mentioned, the problem is intermittent, it comes and goes and tends to happen after the box has been on for a while - i.e. into the evening.

    However, we haven't noticed this problem for a while now, maybe because the box hasn't been on for so long. We'd like to think the problem had gone away. But even so find that somewhat troubling with the concern it may come back.


  • Me2Me2 Posts: 1Member
    Just to say that I'm having exactly the same problem. I tried a different remote and a factory reset too. Not currently with BT either. I can navigate from the box but not from the remote. When using the remote there is a often a lag, it is unresponsive or repeats the button press for a prolonged period i.e "111". This continues even if remote batteries are removed.
  • steviejaysteviejay Posts: 33Member
    WilfH said:
    Hi Richard,

    There is a known issue where Infrared from Plasma TVs affects the performance of the remote with the DTR2100 boxes.  I and others have responded about this issue a number of times in the past.  Simple answer put a bit of grey cloth in front of the sensor at the right most end of the set top box and this significantly eases the problem.

    Sounds daft but true!!

    Wilf
    Can you quantify 'grey cloth' please? I assume this attenuates reception, thus filtering out the background 'noise'

    Would anything like Scotch/3M Magic Tape be effective?
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    Yo’re absolutely right insofar as this does attenuate the infrared noise so to speak. I suspect anything which translucent but not totally clear will work. I just happened to have a piece of grey cloth available which worked for me. 

    Wilf
  • steviejaysteviejay Posts: 33Member
    WilfH said:
    Yo’re absolutely right insofar as this does attenuate the infrared noise so to speak. I suspect anything which translucent but not totally clear will work. I just happened to have a piece of grey cloth available which worked for me. 

    Wilf
    Well, I went ahead with the Magic Tape and initial impressions are positive :)
  • WilfHWilfH Posts: 38Member
    Excellent!!

    Wilf
Sign In or Register to comment.