You View and PS4 wont connect to Internet since upgrading to BT Fibre

RachelRRachelR Member Posts: 1
Help!  Im at the end of my tether trying to sort out an issue that only started since we switched over to BT Fibre with a BT Smart Hub.  We can get phones/tablets to connect to the internet, but the YouView box is showing error YVM104.  It will go as far as 'connecting to router', then fails at 'connecting to internet'.  I have rebooted both router, YouView box, run diagnostics etc but no joy. I appreicate this is not a play station forum, but I wanted to ask if anyone has any suggestions that could get the You View box connected (firewall? Ports?) that could get the PS working too.
The You View box is connected to the internet via Devolo wifi extender via ethernet cable.  As previously said, no other devices having problems connecting.
Thank you for your time to read,

Comments

  • Steve OliverSteve Oliver Member Posts: 76 ✭✭
    RachelR said:
    Help!  Im at the end of my tether trying to sort out an issue that only started since we switched over to BT Fibre with a BT Smart Hub.  We can get phones/tablets to connect to the internet, but the YouView box is showing error YVM104.  It will go as far as 'connecting to router', then fails at 'connecting to internet'.  I have rebooted both router, YouView box, run diagnostics etc but no joy. I appreicate this is not a play station forum, but I wanted to ask if anyone has any suggestions that could get the You View box connected (firewall? Ports?) that could get the PS working too.
    The You View box is connected to the internet via Devolo wifi extender via ethernet cable.  As previously said, no other devices having problems connecting.
    Thank you for your time to read,

    Hi Rachel, have you plugged anything else into the ethernet port on your wifi extender, to see if that will connect to the internet ok?
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 555 ✭✭
    edited 29 June 2020, 6:12PM
    Hi RachelR,
    Have you tried a maintenance mode software option reset? Hopefully, this will solve your problem. The problem I think is because the Youview boxes are very sensitive to ISP changeovers. Worth trying plus I know you mentioned you had checked everything, but if the Youview still has a problem connecting, try rebooting router again plus repairing the power line adaptors. Hope this info helps! Please let forum know how you get on. John L


    P.s. Maintenance mode details can be found doing search at top of page under help/support search bar.
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 15,787 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 June 2020, 11:03PM
    @RachelR @“John L”

    I don’t hear “PLAs” here, I hear “WiFi Extender”.

    Rachel, I see you are a BT customer, but have you subscribed to BT TV?

    If you have, then your box is trying to pick up multicast, which the Home Hub won’t do over a wireless connection.

    And how are you trying to connect the PS4? WiFi or wired?

    It might well be worth asking your question on the BT YouView Community as well; they know about the Home Hub and about the YouView box, and the PS4, which you were slightly worried about asking about on here, will be right on topic there, as it’s their Hub it’s not connecting through 😛

    But if you can kindly answer my questions above, and try the excellent suggestion from @“Steve Oliver” also, we may be able to give you yet more help here.
    Three cheers for reasoned debate, whether for or against
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 555 ✭✭
    edited 29 June 2020, 11:18PM
    Hi Roy, I use power line adaptors (or pla's) & also WiFi extenders. I treat re-pairing the same with both devices hence why  I mentioned repairing. 

    I have only just last week had to re-pair all pla's and extender on my home network since changing router so everything could work again correctly. I appreciate you are very technical
    Go into more detail, but that is why I suggested the advice, trying to help the lady. 

    Hope RachelR, that you are able to solve your issues. Hope BT can help you if you are paying a subscription to them. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 476 ✭✭
    These 2 units not connecting are probably trying to find the router at 192.168.1.1 whereas the HomeHub will be on 192.168.1.254.
    On both go into the network settings and either set them to automatic or change the default gateway to 192.168.1.254.
    Maybe the wifi extender needs checking as well.
    If you have BT TV Subscription channels then the Youview box will need to be hardwired to the router either by ethernet cable or PLAs rather than any form of wifi connection.

  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 555 ✭✭
    Well summed up Tim C! Excellent advice. Hope RachelR manages to sort problem.
    Technology! John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 15,787 ✭✭✭
    Tim C said:

    If you have BT TV Subscription channels then the Youview box will need to be hardwired to the router either by ethernet cable or PLAs rather than any form of wifi connection.

    As long as the WiFi device supports multicast, it can be used for BT TV with other routers, such as the Netgear Nighthawk I replaced my problematic Home Hub with.

    Even with the BT Home Hub, a pair of such WiFi devices can fool the Hub into thinking it is serving an Ethernet connection, much as a pair of PLAs do.
    Three cheers for reasoned debate, whether for or against
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 476 ✭✭
    Roy said:
    Tim C said:

    If you have BT TV Subscription channels then the Youview box will need to be hardwired to the router either by ethernet cable or PLAs rather than any form of wifi connection.

    As long as the WiFi device supports multicast, it can be used for BT TV with other routers, such as the Netgear Nighthawk I replaced my problematic Home Hub with.

    Even with the BT Home Hub, a pair of such WiFi devices can fool the Hub into thinking it is serving an Ethernet connection, much as a pair of PLAs do.

    Absolutely correct @Roy .
Sign In or Register to comment.