BBC Red Button stopped working on DTR-T1000

joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭
The BBC Red Button service has stopped working on our DTR-T1000.
Has anyone got one of these machines with the Red Button still working?

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 15,905 ✭✭✭
    @jonesh

    Sorry I can’t check this. My T1000 is in its box in the loft, along with the T2100 and the other T2000. All I have out is one T2000 and the T4000 😢
    These tests for COVID-19 get right up my nose.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭
    Thanks for the reply @Roy.
    I'm wondering if it's another T1000 obsolescence thing.
    Perhaps @Sarah could throw some light on the issue.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,857 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 July 2020, 10:09PM
    .
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,576 admin
    edited 21 July 2020, 11:29AM
    Hi @jonesh
    Can you please confirm if your box is connected to the internet? It'd also be good to know if you mean that the icon is missing (expected unless BBC have scheduled a red button trigger) or if the red button function is not responding when pressed. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭
    Hi @Sarah
    The box is connected to the internet. iPlayer works fine.
    The icon is missing and the box doesn't respond when I press the red button.
    The connected red button service was working. I used it quite recently.
    The BBC "Press OK to re-start Programme" function doesn't work, either. I haven't used it much, but I'm pretty sure that it used to work.
    I've done an eight second reset and Update Players and Apps.
    I could try a Maintenance Mode reset, but I have been reluctant to do so because I don't want to tempt fate :).
    Thanks
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,576 admin
    Thanks @jonesh. We have raised this with the BBC so will get back to you when we have any updates :) No need to do any Maintenance Mode updates for now! 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭
    Thanks @Sarah.
    I have no way of knowing if the Red Button service has stopped working on all T1000s, or just ours. Presumably they are becoming quite rare.
  • over40justover40just Member Posts: 1
    My red button stopped working about two weeks ago. Have done all the resets and nothing has worked. Any update on this?
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,576 admin
    edited 22 July 2020, 5:44PM
    Hiya, 
    We've been looking into this and can see issues with Red Button on 1st Generation YouView devices starting from the 9th July. We have raised this with the BBC to investigate. 
    We'll let you know if there's any updates :)
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭
    edited 3 August 2020, 9:55PM
    The BBC Red Button service works on our T1000 now @Sarah :).
    The Watch current programme from the start feature works via the red button.
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,576 admin
    Thanks for letting us know @jonesh.

    BBC released a CRB update to fix the issue for Gen 1 devices yesterday. We've checked the data on our end this morning and can see that this has worked so there should no longer be any issues with launching on these devices :) 

    Thanks,
    Sarah
Sign In or Register to comment.