BT software update 32.47.0 / 3.6.236

SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,651 admin
edited 5 August 2020, 11:48AM in Announcements
Hi all, 

Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT software update 32.47.0 / 3.6.236 for T2xxx & T4000 devices.

This update contains change to the Players & Apps menu and some bug fixes including:
  • An issue where the viewer is unable to cancel in progress split programme recordings
  • An issue where cancelling a recording via the clash management screen failed to cancel the recording and tune to the new channel

Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

Thanks,
Sarah
«1

Comments

  • JayBee1961JayBee1961 Member Posts: 1
    My box started updating at 9:30am and 45 minutes later is still showing the same screen:
    Update available.
    Let's get you updated. Your box will restart when we're finished. 
    0% complete.
    When turned off and back on the same page is still there. I'm considering unplugging it and restarting it. Any advice?

  • StephenStephen Member Posts: 717 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes, power it off and then back on again. If the update progress doesn't move within a few minutes, then something has not worked, and it's safe to restart the box.
  • DabblerDDabblerD Member Posts: 1
    We have a T2110 box that updated yesterday to the current software. However following the update our remote control has slowed/stopped working. I have reset both box and controller (following the guide inc. changing batteries) to no avail. It may be coincidence with the update, but at a lost as to what to do. Any help, or links to forum posts would be helpful.
  • Toddie1982Toddie1982 Member Posts: 1
    Since update my box, when trying to manually update apps, continually comes up with the error message 'unable to update apps'. I am able to manually check for software though.
    I have fully reset and hard reset to. There is no effect.
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 661 ✭✭
    Hi toddie1982,
    Welcome to the forum. This is normal message often received. Yes, it's confusing, but nothing to worry about. Hopefully software team will eventually amend message. John L

    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • AustinAustin Member Posts: 1
    Hi when will it be possible for youtube and Disney plus to be added to youview.Youtube especially is the main concern for most people when it comes to the youview box 
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 410
    Hi
    Its possible now.
    If they do or not is another question 
    The best situation at the moment is to use your youview box in conjunction with a roku box or similar. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • Devon_SaintDevon_Saint Member Posts: 1
    I have a BT T4000 1.0TB UHD youview box that is often in Maintenance Mode when switched on.  No matter which option I select the recordings and schedule are always lost.  It has not been updated to version 32.47.0 / 3.6.236 and is still on  32.47.0 / 3.6.234.  If I search for updates it says I have the most up to date software installed.  I did not purchase the box from BT and they are no longer my broadband supplier.  Can anyone suggest a solution?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,232 ✭✭✭
    I have a BT T4000 1.0TB UHD youview box that is often in Maintenance Mode when switched on.  No matter which option I select the recordings and schedule are always lost.  It has not been updated to version 32.47.0 / 3.6.236 and is still on  32.47.0 / 3.6.234.  If I search for updates it says I have the most up to date software installed.  I did not purchase the box from BT and they are no longer my broadband supplier.  Can anyone suggest a solution?
    Factory Reset it from the Settings Menu. If this does not fix it, you could try pulling the hard drive and looking at it under Linux* with a utility designed to seek out disc faults. 

    If there are any, and the utility cannot repair them, then a new hard disc might get the box going again; just drop it in, hook it up, and let the YouView software do its stuff on partitioning and formatting it.

    But if it isn’t the hard disc, then it’s EOL, for all practical and economic purposes.

    *I’m told it might be possible to look at it in Windows. I am prepared to have my scepticism about that confounded, though, if you try it and Windows can ‘see’ it, let alone fix it.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • PeakMarkPeakMark Member Posts: 1
    We're trying to get our box to update but it never gets past 2%. Is there a download for the update?
  • Tim CTim C Member, Super User Posts: 514 ✭✭
    Ext2Fsd is a Windows driver that can see Linux file systems . Some details of this & others can be found here:-https://www.howtogeek.com/112888/3-ways-to-access-your-linux-partitions-from-windows/

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,232 ✭✭✭
    PeakMark said:
    We're trying to get our box to update but it never gets past 2%. Is there a download for the update?
    No alas.

    What box is this?

    Try a soft reset; touch the On/Standby button for just over 8 seconds, until the box power cycles itself,

    If you are lucky, you will then be able to do the update.

    If you are very lucky, it will do the update for itself on the way back from the power cycle.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    edited 26 August 2020, 8:50PM
    I seem to have problem where the multiplex which contains BBC News HD complains of a low quality signal on all channels in the multiplex - so I get the on screen warning popping up every few minutes  - yet the image and sound reception is fine on all multiplex channels.  This is in the East Midlands. Running the signal test on the t2100 does report low signal quality signal under 10% on this one multiplex but still a good picture is received 100% perfect on all channels in the multiplex. The connected TV tuner has 100% signal quality on the same aerial socket for the same channel but both the TV and t2100 report the same signal strength. Like I say perfect reception but annoying pop up warning of low signal quality coming up repeatedly (which is the only issue I have) when I watch BBC News HD, and other channels in the same multiplex. This only started very recently so wonder if it is a software update issue? I’ve tried retuning and a soft reboot but it’s made no difference.  The box is about to get replaced as it’s so annoying to have warning window pop up every few minutes so last resort here really. I’m out of contract for BT TV so no chance of a free swap out with BT.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    Chips2 said:
    I seem to have problem where the multiplex which contains BBC News HD complains of a low quality signal on all channels in the multiplex - so I get the on screen warning popping up every few minutes  - yet the image and sound reception is fine on all multiplex channels.  This is in the East Midlands. Running the signal test on the t2100 does report low signal quality signal under 10% on this one multiplex but still a good picture is received 100% perfect on all channels in the multiplex. The connected TV tuner has 100% signal quality on the same aerial socket for the same channel but both the TV and t2100 report the same signal strength. Like I say perfect reception but annoying pop up warning of low signal quality coming up repeatedly (which is the only issue I have) when I watch BBC News HD, and other channels in the same multiplex. This only started very recently so wonder if it is a software update issue? I’ve tried retuning and a soft reboot but it’s made no difference.  The box is about to get replaced as it’s so annoying to have warning window pop up every few minutes so last resort here really. I’m out of contract for BT TV so no chance of a free swap out with BT.
    Hi, this is my first post on here so Hi to everyone! I actually joined the forum looking for support as I have encountered the very same issue on my T2100, albeit affecting a different MUX (BBC B from Winter Hill which carries the HD versions of the main PSB channels.

    On my T2100 all channels on this MUX have a wildly fluctuating, very low Signal Strength and a very, very low Signal Quality which eventually reaches 0%, resulting in the same on screen message that you have encountered yet the on screen picture appears perfect.  However, when I watch the same MUX B channels through the Tuner on my Freeview Play TV (which is connected by the RF OUT from my T2100) the Signal Strength is at least 92% and the Signal Quality is always 100%. All other MUXES, both through my T2100 and TV Tuner have excellent Signal Strength and 100% Signal Quality.

    I’ve also tried retuning and tried a software update/reset but the problem persists, this is a relatively recent development ☹️
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,232 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 August 2020, 6:30PM
    Both:-

    Go to https://www.freeview.co.uk/ scroll down to Check Freeview at my home, enter your postcode and house number, and press Check.

    Then, on the page of results, scroll right down to Detailed View, and choose that.

    Are any of the Alternative Transmitters on the same sort of bearing and Aerial Group as Winter Hill (@mc2) or whatever your Most Likely Transmitter is (@Chips2)?

    Because the YouView box, with its seriously mutant algorithm for transmitter selection, has quite likely fastened on one of these, for some advantage is perceives in using that rather than the powerful one; and what you see is the result.

    I suggest getting a variable aerial signal attenuator, a few quid on Amazon, putting it in your aerial chain, and experimenting to find the best amount of attenuation.

    Which will be large enough to make the YouView box ignore the weak signal it is currently preferring, but not so large that it mutes the signal from the transmitter that every device, apart from the YouView box, will tune to without a second thought.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    Thanks Roy for the help and suggestion. I don’t think it’s picking the wrong transmitter as I receive all the channels and have absolutely no picture break-up, pixelation or any sound or vision issues whatsoever. And after a retune it gives me the correct TV region.  All I have is the warning pop window on one multiplex popping up every few minutes on what is otherwise perfect visual reception.  Strangely all the TVs in the house and the t2100 receive exactly the same signal strength for BBC HD, yet the BT box has this annoying window pop-up problem. You’d think if the box had reception problems, or picked the wrong transmitter, I’d see the problem visually in reception. Like the other poster said never had this issue until recently so although it’s probably only coincidental maybe it could be one of the recent software updates. Thought it was worth enquiring.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    It's unlikely to be a software update issue.
    You didn't say what your Signal Strength readings are, but if you have tuning issues and your signal strength is high, it's worth trying an attenuator.
    The Signal Quality reading isn't a true measure of signal quality. It's a measure of how well the tuner is able to decode the channel that it is tuned to.
    The annoying message is telling you that your Signal Quality is low before the picture becomes unwatchable. There would be little point in it appearing after the event :) .
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    edited 29 August 2020, 10:17AM
    The signal strength is 93%.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    Hi again, and many thanks for all the helpful advice.

    Similar to Chips2 it seems (to me at least) unlikely that I’m receiving the BBC B Mux from the wrong Transmitter.

    I can actually receive 2 Main Transmitters at my location which are Winter Hill and Moel Y Parc, and the Storeton Winter Hill Relay. If I was receiving Moel Y Parc rather than Winter Hill then I assume BBC One HD and ITV HD would be the Wales variants rather than BBC One North West and ITV Granada, which they definitely are not.

    Also, I’m guessing that it’s unlikely that I’m receiving the BBC B Mux from the Storeton Relay as the TV Aerial would have to be Vertically Polarised as opposed to Horizontal that is required for Winter Hill and Moel Y Parc, it’s definitely Horizontally Polarised.

    I will definitely try an Attenuator and then I’ll report back so many thanks for all the advice. Regards, M.
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    Hi mc2. What are your signal strength and quality reading on your problem channel?
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    edited 29 August 2020, 12:58PM
    I’ve been doing a bit of troubleshooting changing coaxial cables, tried three different cables, but it didn’t make a difference. I noticed signal quality was going up and down on the bt box which of course is causing the warning message to pop up albeit the picture is perfect. One thing I did notice is the position of the coaxial cable behind the tv cabinet makes a big difference on the bt box - no difference whatsoever to the signal quality reading on the connected TV - so now I’m starting to wonder if it’s a local interference issue that the bt box just can’t handle but the TV can?  I have got several devices and household electrical items nearby. The signal quality now is 100% solid, no warning window. If I move the coaxial cable it’s starts to fluctuate again.  Then moving it back into this ‘known good position’ it’s 100% solid signal quality again. Doesn’t appear to be a connection issue as the TV tuner is perfect, as are all other multiplexes on the bt box. I’m considering getting a 4-shield coaxial cable to minimise interference to see if it helps.
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 661 ✭✭
    edited 29 August 2020, 2:16PM
    Hi chips2,
    Have you also experimented with your HDMI cables, settings on other equipment also including the Youview picture settings? Try changing from 1080p down to 1080i. See if this might make a difference/improvement? 

    Just to add, I've just upgraded to a new cinema receiver with HDMI inputs. All most previous problems have gone! Now rerouted all HDMI cables via amp instead of TV hdmi sockets. Signal quality is now 100%, only drops slightly if I adjust one of my devices from 1080i to 1080p only on com7/8 channels occasionally. So my theory is that the problem with TV's hdmi socket circuit board shielding/overloading interference if too many devices are all running on 1080p? Just glad my old amp broke down recently and I have upgraded! Be interested to know how you get on chips2. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    Wow. It’s sorted it. 100% signal quality and doesn’t budge. And the coaxial can be in any position. If I switch back to 1080p it’s fluctuating again, then back again to 1080i it’s stable 100% quality. Brilliant! Thanks John. Much appreciated for your help. Definitely the problem. I might try a different hdmi cable now to see if that helps, but worst case I can use 1080i.
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 661 ✭✭
    Hi chips2,
    Really glad I was able to give you a clue and help. Hope you are able to improve your problem. As mentioned, I get the impression that the quality of shielding on TV's own hdmi circuit board could be part of inference factor. We tried 3 TV's in the home : all Samsung giving same inference problem on signal fluctuations until you either change the hdmi picture setting or better still reroute hdmi to a cinema amp. Maybe you could also do this with some soundbars? Worth checking. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    edited 29 August 2020, 3:16PM
    Changed the hdmi cable connected to the BT box from something that was admittedly cheap to one I had in storage which seems better quality - much thicker cable and connectors look of higher quality. Gold coloured but probably not a factor. Anyway, changed it back to 1080p on the bt box and still a solid 100% signal quality. So after all that down to interference from a cheap hdmi cable. Thanks again John. And others that made suggestions.
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    Well spotted @John L .
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 661 ✭✭
    jonesh said:
    Well spotted @John L .

    Thank you. Just had a breakthrough recently after upgrading cinema amp. John L

    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 24
    edited 29 August 2020, 4:52PM
    Yes and you saved me a purchase on a pvr change to a Manhattan, on top of any money I would have wasted on attenuators and higher dB shielded coaxial cable. Plus I didn’t realise poorly shielded hdmi cables could cause an interference problem so something learned too. Still rock solid with hdmi cable change - fixed to 100% signal quality.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 29 August 2020, 9:58PM
    Chips2 said:
    Hi mc2. What are your signal strength and quality reading on your problem channel?
    The Signal Strength on channels on the BBC B MUX is very erattic, they start at around 50% and then reduce to below 10% and then increase back to around 50%. When I check the Signal Quality when I first tune to a BBC B Mux channel starts at 100% and then gradually reduces to 0% which as you know prompts the ‘No Signal’ message.

    The HDMI Cable fix that worked for you sounds very interesting, it’s Sod’s law that I don’t have another HDMI cable to try but I’ll certainly get hold of one and see if it fixes the problem.

    Regards, M
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,232 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 August 2020, 10:22PM
    Chips2 said:
    Yes and you saved me a purchase on a pvr change to a Manhattan, on top of any money I would have wasted on attenuators and higher dB shielded coaxial cable. Plus I didn’t realise poorly shielded hdmi cables could cause an interference problem so something learned too. Still rock solid with hdmi cable change - fixed to 100% signal quality.
    @Chips2 @John L

    Good spot, John! 

    Yes it all makes sense; a poorly shielded HDMI cable interfering with what was coming down the (also poorly shielded?) coax cable, and at a frequency which happened to hit that one Mux. Which responded by reporting a low Signal Quality; it was trying to tell us something 😢

    And 1080i being only half as demanding as 1080p, the cable could maybe cope, or maybe still be emitting, but at a different frequency that didn’t hit that same Mux, and possibly not any Mux.

    Thinking about it, we’ve suggested separating cables from one another in the past and it’s been effective; but it’s not come up recently, until now.

    @Chips2, it’s possible that money on better shielded coax wouldn’t have been wasted, as that would have been an alternative fix; but better to fix it with the better HDMI cable for the future. Though keep in mind that your coax may still be vulnerable, though nothing is affecting it at the moment.

    The attenuator would have been a waste of £3 here though, given this wasn’t a competing transmitters problem 🙁

    And on the same cable-separating issue, @John L, have you considered that maybe it was the act of moving the HDMI cables from the TV, where they were probably run close together, to the cinema amp where they are better spaced out and well away from the coax to the TV, that has brought about the improvements you see?

    And, as you conjecture, you can certainly do it with soundbars, as my Yamaha soundbar provides 3 HDMI inputs that don’t have to go anywhere near any of my coax cables. 

    Plus, you briefly led me to wonder why I wasn’t getting any issues with my Samsung TV, with 4 HDMI inputs, all filled, and coax coming in; and then I realised its probably because they all come, nicely spaced, into a One Connect box; and there’s only a single cable going up to the TV from that.

    Which is an advantage of One Connect that I hadn’t appreciated before, though I have always liked that all the connection are on this accessible box, instead of being up behind the TV on the wall.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
Sign In or Register to comment.