MISSING CHANNELS

MBISHOPMBISHOP Member Posts: 5
Having spent three days on trying to get channels back it’s just not working. I’m on a Sony Bravia Tv. I’ve done a full retune/scan of channels but they are still not there. I’ve checked transmitter and it’s fine and all the connections/inputs etc. 
Before they disappeared we had a couple of weeks of broken up picture on The certain Channels that have disappeared too, they would finally break up and say you’re not connected to the internet. ! It’s the 5star, quest channels and a lot more that are missing.  Getting so confused. Anyone got any top tips. I will call You View tomorrow if this doesn’t work. 
Tagged:

Comments

  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 657 ✭✭
    edited 4 October 2020, 1:03PM
    Hi mbishop,
    Welcome to the forum. Which channels are you currently missing? There are several factors: your aerial signal, transmitter may have engineering work, etc. Can you provide a bit more information. What signal strength/quality readings are you obtaining?Hopefully someone on the forum can help you further. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • MBISHOPMBISHOP Member Posts: 5
    Thank you John.... 
    Missing 12 16 17 19,  20 to 23,  25 to 27,  29 to 32, 34 to 64, 66 to 73 and 75 up to 99, if there is a 99.............. !! Good quality signal strengths... I tested aerial it said good.     So basically missing all of it...  Nothing has happened except wild and windy weather but its always like that here...
    Hope someone can shed some light as we are mystified M

  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 657 ✭✭
    Hi mbishop,
    Welcome back. If your signal is strong, the problem is either in your setup or with weather interference, if there is no problems with transmitter. Worth also checking cable condition/ connections, often overlooked.  Have you got a spare TV to check for channels? When you do a retune, best tip is to retune unplugging aerial, scan for channels (will find nil - to clear channel memory on TV) replug and do another retune. Worth a try.

    Another thought. Do you use an aerial booster amp? If you do, I would test without just to see if you can obtain more channels. The reason why I mention this is because there could be a fault in amp, which may block some channels, if not all channels.  Good luck/ let forum know how you get on. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 October 2020, 5:50PM
    MBISHOP said:
    Thank you John.... 
    Missing 12 16 17 19,  20 to 23,  25 to 27,  29 to 32, 34 to 64, 66 to 73 and 75 up to 99, if there is a 99.............. !! Good quality signal strengths... I tested aerial it said good.     So basically missing all of it...  Nothing has happened except wild and windy weather but its always like that here...
    Hope someone can shed some light as we are mystified M
    Signal Strength and Signal Quality are different things. It is possible to have a strong signal with poor quality.
    What readings do you get on your TV for Signal Strength and Signal Quality?
  • LukеLukе Member Posts: 49
    MBISHOP said:
    Missing 12 16 17 19,  20 to 23,  25 to 27,  29 to 32, 34 to 64, 66 to 73 and 75 up to 99
    Are you receiving 11 OK?
    MBISHOP said:
    Missing 12 16 17 19,  20 to 23,  25 to 27,  29 to 32, 34 to 64, 66 to 73 and 75 up to 99
    As 13 is OK, presumably you are not in Wales?

    MBISHOP said:
    Good quality signal strengths... I tested aerial it said good.  
    Were those reading taken using the Youview box?
    The youview box can only give readings on channels tuned into.
    If you used the Youview box to check then it is just stating the reception for one of the chanels that you already know that you can receive.  It can't give an opinion on a channel that you are not tuned into.
    MBISHOP said:
       So basically missing all of it...
    The channels that you list as missing are all from the 3 main commercial frequencies. For many transmitters these are transmitted at less strength than the public sector broadcasting (PSB) frequencies.  If your aerial's capacity is weakened then those channels associated with the commercial frequencies will break up, or go missing, before the public sector broadcasting (PSB) frequencies.

    To check if is your aerial, or the leads attached, or their joins, or an amp, or an unusual hardware issue, you could compare your reception with your aerial to reception from nearby homes.
    Lockdowns permitting, if you use a communal aerial then first check with the others that use the same aerial that they are not also having the same issue.  After that check with nearby homes whether they are also having issues.







  • MBISHOPMBISHOP Member Posts: 5
    Thanks... No not in Wales we are on The Wrekin transmittor in Telford.. 
    No box its a 13 months old Sony Tv with YOu View in it...
    Ah thank you for that clarification signal strength and quality are different things.. I need to check those again then..
    Its our own aeriel and its in the loft... I wonder if something up there has nibbled something !!! Heard mice or something a couple of weeks ago... Thank you very much...
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,111 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 October 2020, 8:54PM
    MBISHOP said:
    Thank you John.... 
    Missing 12 16 17 19,  20 to 23,  25 to 27,  29 to 32, 34 to 64, 66 to 73 and 75 up to 99, if there is a 99.............. !! Good quality signal strengths... I tested aerial it said good.     So basically missing all of it...  Nothing has happened except wild and windy weather but its always like that here...
    Hope someone can shed some light as we are mystified M

    @MBISHOP

    Amplifying @Luke’s  observations above, those are pretty exactly the channels you lose if you tune to a Freeview Lite transmitter instead of a Full one.

    You need to consult a local aerial fitter to see if there are multiple reports of this in your local area, or if it is largely isolated to you; maybe your aerial, if the mice have been tap-dancing on it or someone has disturbed it looking for them, has lost its intended alignment, and this needs correcting. And certainly, (s)he will know which Freeview Lite transmitter is likely to be the culprit, and how to avoid it.

    @John L has wondered if you have an aerial booster; besides the things he mentions, these can amplify a Freeview Lite transmitter to the point where it is preferred to the intended Full one. And so, apparently paradoxically, reducing the boost level or even adding an attenuator can bring back the lost channels by pushing the Freeview Lite signals down into the mush, and allowing the TV to fasten back onto the Full transmitter signal.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
  • MBISHOPMBISHOP Member Posts: 5
    Thank you Roy.... MAkes sense I think..   On to it today...Your reply is much appreciated  
  • John LJohn L Member, Super User Posts: 657 ✭✭
    MBISHOP said:
    Thank you Roy.... MAkes sense I think..   On to it today...Your reply is much appreciated  
    Hi Mbshop,
    Glad Jonesh, Luke & myself also could be of help. We are also Users on the forum.
    Hope you solve your problem. If you need more advice, I'm sure someone can help. John L
    Can't wait for the day when Youview get rid of the dreaded darkened banner when using fast forward/rewind recordings. 
  • MBISHOPMBISHOP Member Posts: 5
    So very strangely, all the channels are back !!! What was all that about ?  Thank you all for your help  
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,111 ✭✭✭
    MBISHOP said:
    So very strangely, all the channels are back !!! What was all that about ?  Thank you all for your help  
    Probably an atmospheric effect. 

    In which case, your TV’s grasp of the Full transmitter may be a bit shaky, and the problem could reappear as the weather changes.

    So possibly still worth a chat with a local aerial specialist.
    These tests for COVID-19 might get right up my nose, if only I could get one
Sign In or Register to comment.