BT software update 32.51.0 / 3.7.8

SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,650 admin
edited 29 October 2020, 6:25PM in Announcements
Hi all, 

Please use this thread to discuss the most recent BT software update 32.51.0 / 3.7.8 for T2100 & T4000 devices.

This is a maintenance update that also includes some notable bug fixes including: 

• Audio drop outs and buffering seen when watching certain live streams via the NOW TV app
• Pressing pause when fast-forwarding would not pause the content
• Clash management wouldn't behave as expected and it wasn't possible to cancel a selected recording or it would cancel the wrong recording
• The user is unable to tune to another IP channel when another IP recording is taking place
• Recordings continue to play for approx. 5 minutes when put into standby during playback of a recording
• The box would get stuck on ‘Setting up TV services’ during first time set up

Please note that this is a phased release so not all boxes will receive it at the same time. 

Thanks,
Sarah
«1

Comments

  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    My T2100 has updated to the new software and, fingers crossed, the Now TV app seems to be very stable when watching both Live and On Demand content. There no longer appears to be any sound dropouts, or buffering. 

    This is great news! Thank you for your help 😀


  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 30 October 2020, 10:43AM
    I’m afraid I have bad news ☹️

    I was watching ‘Divide and Conquer’ on Now TV and the dreaded coloured dots made an re-appearance. I tried to pause and restart the stream but it wouldn’t restart.

    I closed the Now TV app and it appeared that my Youview+ Box didn’t have a Broadband Connection however, there was nothing wrong with my Broadband Connection, it was only the Youview+ Box that had lost it’s connection. Once the Broadband Connection was restored I resumed playback of the programme.

    Fingers crossed it was just a glitch and unrelated to the software update 😀
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    It doesn't happen very often, but our home network goes down for a few minutes when the Plusnet router re-boots itself for no apparent reason. It did it yesterday afternoon.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    jonesh said:
    It doesn't happen very often, but our home network goes down for a few minutes when the Plusnet router re-boots itself for no apparent reason. It did it yesterday afternoon.
    I use a BT Home Hub 6 for my Plusnet Fibre service and it always reboots itself once the System Uptime reaches 14 days, it does so when the Router is next in an idle state.

    However, in this instance this is definitely not the reason why my Youview+ Box lost it’s Broadband Connection.

    I’m just hoping that this was an unrelated glitch as, apart from that, the Now TV app seems to be nice and stable 😀
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    mc2 said:
    jonesh said:
    It doesn't happen very often, but our home network goes down for a few minutes when the Plusnet router re-boots itself for no apparent reason. It did it yesterday afternoon.
    I use a BT Home Hub 6 for my Plusnet Fibre service and it always reboots itself once the System Uptime reaches 14 days, it does so when the Router is next in an idle state.
    Thanks for that. I've always wondered why it did it .
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 30 October 2020, 7:41PM
    Unfortunately I have once again encountered a problem which seems to be because my Youview Box is losing the Broadband Connection while using the Now TV app, this time it was while watching Sky Sports News live.

    The coloured dots appeared and a minute or so later a message appeared saying ‘Unknown Page Error. - Something’s not right.  Give it a moment, or check the internet connection’. There was an option to press ‘Back’ to continue but the Box didn’t respond when pressing the Back button on the remote.

    Then, the Youview Box on screen message briefly appeared at the top of the screen saying ‘Broadband Connection Restored’. The only way for me to continue was to close the app.

    This is not good news ☹️☹️☹️
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    How is your box connected to your router @mc2?
    If it is with PLAs it might be worth trying a cable to see if the problem disappears.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 31 October 2020, 6:29AM
    Hi again. I use Powerline Adapters as it’s not really feasible (or desirable!) for me to permanently hard wire the box however, I will certainly try to temporarily connect my Youview+ Box to my BT Home Hub 6 with an Ethernet Cable at some point over the weekend. In the meantime I did run a Maintenance Mode reset (2nd option, keep recordings) to see if that improves things, I haven’t noticed any further issues since the reset.

    However, it’s probably worth mentioning that all of the Plusnet HD Subscription Channels and online players like BBC iPlayer and ITV hub do seem to work absolutely perfectly with the Powerline Adapters. 

    I’d say that overall the Now TV app does seem more stable than it was previously, The good news is that I haven’t noticed any sound dropouts at all but for some reason it definitely seems to be losing the Broadband Connection.

    I’ll keep you updated 😀




  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    Hi again. So I decided to leave the Now TV live stream of Sky Sports News running while I went out for a good few hours this afternoon (which was for at least 3 hours).

    I’m happy to say that when I got home the channel was still playing happily, with no error messages on screen.

    This was while the Youview+ Box was still connected with Powerline Adapters. 

    Perhaps the Maintenance Mode reset (Option 2) that I ran last night may have cleared up any issues following the Software Update to 32.51.0 / 3.7.8

    Anyway, it’s all looking good 😀
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    Good to hear.
    Strange devices, Youview boxes.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 2 November 2020, 8:47AM
    Unfortunately I’m having problems again.

    I was just watching Sky Sports News when the dots appeared on screen. The app was totally unresponsive so I had to press ‘close’ on the remote.

    It seems like the Box had, once again, lost it’s Broadband Connection but worse still the only way I could get the box to work at all was to completely power down the box and restart.

    I suppose I could try connecting the box by Ethernet but given the Now TV app history of stability problems I can’t help but think it’s still the App that’s at fault and not the Powerline Adapters ☹️

    Edit: I have now connected the Youview+ box by Ethernet so let’s see if that makes any difference!
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    So I connected my Youview+ Box by Ethernet and once again I opened up Sky Sports News and left it running while I went out, it was probably for around 2 hours.

    When I got home there was an error message on screen, ‘Oops, something’s gone wrong’.

    I think I can say that it appears that there’s still problems with this app.  In fairness it does seem ‘somewhat’ more stable now but then again I previously found the app to be virtually unusable, so that’s not saying much really!

    Back to the old Now TV Smart Box 👎👎👎



  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    :'(
    It was worth a try.
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    jonesh said:
    :'(
    It was worth a try.

    Don’t get me wrong, the Now TV app definitely seems more stable than it was.

    And it wouldn’t be so bad if when the ‘Dots’ appeared you merely had to press ‘Back’ and then restart the stream but the problem is that on 2 occasions the Youview+ Box seemed to lose it’s broadband connection, in fact after completely closing the Now TV app even the Plusnet Subscription Channels didn’t work and the only way I was able to restore the Broadband Connection was to completely power down the Box.

    I guess we should be grateful that the Now TV app genuinely does seem to have improved, but just not totally improved! 😀



  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    I think that there would have been other reports of the issue if it was related to this update.
    Are you persevering with the app on your T2100?
  • mb1mb1 Member Posts: 19
    After the update, the box seemed to move an out-of-area ITV from channel 851 to 3. So I now have two ITVs on Channel 3 in the EPG. This has also broken the Channel Up button, so I can't go to Channel 4 from ITV (so from 3 to 4). Only directly entering 4 gets around it. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    mb1 said:
    After the update, the box seemed to move an out-of-area ITV from channel 851 to 3. So I now have two ITVs on Channel 3 in the EPG. This has also broken the Channel Up button, so I can't go to Channel 4 from ITV (so from 3 to 4). Only directly entering 4 gets around it. 
    That’s not the update, that’s the channel rearrangements that Freeview are currently carrying out.

    While the YouView boxes are remarkably good at tracking these, the collateral is the temporary high numbers like 851 that pop up; and there are some changes even the YouView boxes cannot track.

    The simple solution is a retune, which will fix all these anomalies.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 4 November 2020, 10:05AM
    jonesh said:
    I think that there would have been other reports of the issue if it was related to this update.
    Are you persevering with the app on your T2100?
    I’ll stick with the Youview app for now.  I’ve ordered an HDMI Switch so I can have my Now TV Smart box permanently connected to my TV (I’ve ran out of HDMI sockets you see).

    I suppose it could just be a fault with my box, I guess I won’t know until more reports come in from other users about the update. 

    I’ve only seen one other user who has received the update over on the BT forum and they said it was working just fine while watching Live Sky Sports. 

    I’ve also seen a post from someone who mentioned that since the update their Now TV Catch Up seems to be working fine too however, the update isn’t to address the problems Catch Up but rather only the Live TV buffering/sound dropouts. They’re still investigating the Catch Up issues.

    Time will tell I guess, but it’s definitely got better 😀

  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,650 admin
    edited 4 November 2020, 3:30PM
    Hi @mc2

    Can you let us know what error you see in the main menu tabs and when tuning to a Plusnet subscription channel when it gets into the state you've described?

    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    edited 4 November 2020, 3:41PM
    Sarah said:
    Hi @mc2

    Can you let us know what error you see in the main menu tabs and when tuning to a Plusnet subscription channel when it gets into the state you've described?

    Thanks,
    Sarah

    On the main menu it said that the Guide Preview was not available and to check that the box was connected to the internet.  When I tuned to a Subscription Channel it said the channel was unavailable.

    Once I’d fully powered down the box and it had restarted the Guide Preview was working but I think I might have had to press ‘OK’ for the Subscription channels to become available.



  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,650 admin
    Hi @mc2
    Are you getting any IPC or YVM error codes when this happens? 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • mc2mc2 Member Posts: 30
    Sarah said:
    Hi @mc2
    Are you getting any IPC or YVM error codes when this happens? 
    Thanks,
    Sarah

    I don’t recall getting any IPC errors. I think I did get a YVM error on the Subscription Channels but I can’t recall what it was, sorry. 

    If it happens again I’ll definitely write down the codes and post back.

  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    mc2 said:
    jonesh said:
    I think that there would have been other reports of the issue if it was related to this update.
    Are you persevering with the app on your T2100?
    I’ll stick with the Youview app for now.  I’ve ordered an HDMI Switch so I can have my Now TV Smart box permanently connected to my TV (I’ve ran out of HDMI sockets you see).

    I suppose it could just be a fault with my box, I guess I won’t know until more reports come in from other users about the update. 

    I’ve only seen one other user who has received the update over on the BT forum and they said it was working just fine while watching Live Sky Sports. 

    I’ve also seen a post from someone who mentioned that since the update their Now TV Catch Up seems to be working fine too however, the update isn’t to address the problems Catch Up but rather only the Live TV buffering/sound dropouts. They’re still investigating the Catch Up issues.

    Time will tell I guess, but it’s definitely got better 😀
    It would be interesting to know how the app behaves over time.
    Broadband can be adversely affected by rain.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭
    jonesh said:
    Broadband can be adversely affected by rain.
    Yes, copper, if/when the underground infrastructure suffers water ingress.

    But not selectively.
    ‘Impossible’ problems solved, courtesy of Sherlock Holmes and What’sOn
  • joneshjonesh Member, Super User Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    jonesh said:
    Broadband can be adversely affected by rain.
    Yes, copper, if/when the underground infrastructure suffers water ingress.

    But not selectively.
    It's selective if the water ingress is into the overhead cable from the pole to the house, as ours was.
  • deedee36deedee36 Member Posts: 74
    What about the t2110 boxes?
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,650 admin
    deedee36 said:
    What about the t2110 boxes?
    Hi @deedee36
    The retail and Plusnet versions of these boxes will receive this update once the rollout to the mentioned BT devices is complete. We'll update our software table here once it's complete. 
    Thanks,
    Sarah
  • Q11Q11 Member Posts: 2
    Can you "Update On Demand Players" in Settings without the box updating its firmware at the same time? 

    We hate the post-2017 user interface, and have successfully limited ethernet access to keep the trad one on most of our boxes. 

    It would be handy to occasionally use it for Netflix etc, so would we be able to get the apps on our DTR-T 2100 without spoiling things?


  • deedee36deedee36 Member Posts: 74
    Will this update fix the constant buffering while watching box sets?? 
  • SarahSarah Administrator Posts: 1,650 admin
    deedee36 said:
    Will this update fix the constant buffering while watching box sets?? 
    Hi @deedee36
    The NowTV fix is just for the audio issues and buffering on live streams. We are still investigating an issue with the video buffering/stalling on On Demand content on NowTV.
    Thanks,
    Sarah
Sign In or Register to comment.