Nowtv app logging in as unknown account

bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
My BT Youview box T2100 software: 32.51.0 version is when using the Nowtv app is defaulting to an unknown account. I've been working with BT support but they can't see anything wrong. I have BT broadband but not BT tv however, I do have a Nowtv pass.
I've done a factory reset  numerous times but it still defaults to the unknown BT tv account. I can see all their paid for programming and downloaded purchase films. I tried logging them out and can login on mine but once I come out of the app it defaults back to theirs.  Don't know what to do next. ??
Tagged:

Comments

  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,993 ✭✭✭
    Have you selected your YouView box as a nominated device on your main Now TV account? If not, do so.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 November 2020, 5:48PM
    Visionman said:
    Have you selected your YouView box as a nominated device on your main Now TV account? If not, do so.
    How do you do that, @Visionman?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,993 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 November 2020, 6:21PM
    I'm not subscribed atm and so don't remember. But to nominate a device IS on the main account page. If you, being a super user think you can help better then please do so, with no offence from me taken at all.  :)

    We are all here to help.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    It is already there on my Nowtv account. However, the Youview box defaults back to someone else's account. I've just noticed that after a factory reset I can also see their Netflix and BT TV stuff as well. I'm sure the customer would be pleased. Perhaps I should keep quiet??
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,993 ✭✭✭
    No...! Thats a serious security fault that you need to report.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    Exactly and I have raised it with both Nowtv and BT.
    Nowtv couldn't care less and after many hours talking with BT support who just suggested buying a new box I escalated it to BT's CEO. I'm now in contact with one of BT's executive complaints team but the technical team say it's impossible !!   I'll keep trying but not having much luck.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,993 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 November 2020, 7:46PM
    Point of note -

    Then tell them your details then give the third party's. Then they'll believe you.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 November 2020, 11:22AM
    @baker

    My mantra is that software can do anything that the user does not know is impossible. Even if the techies ‘know’ it is. As in this case, where what is happening is clearly ‘impossible’.

    So we have to investigate just where this default account detail is coming from. Cached on the box? That shouldn’t survive the Factory Resets you say you’ve done.

    Were these real, Settings Menus/Factory Reset option resets, or Maintenance Mode Option 5 resets? If so, nothing should survive either of those.

    Or are these details being subsequently re-downloaded from some server, somewhere? Possible, even if this isn’t how we understand NowTV accounts work. But maybe the Queen gets her details downloaded, to save Her Maj the indignity of having to remember one’s password, and they have accidentally hooked you into this?

    Fanciful, perhaps, but the techies should be considering if there are such mechanisms, or similar ones.

    Anyway, you say this account is ‘unknown’, but you can find out something about it, by scrolling right down the NowTV home page and then scrolling right, across the bottom, to My Account, and seeing whose logon name is there.

    Give that to NowTV, so they can see who it is, and this will maybe help them get to the bottom of exactly how this is happening.

    In the meantime, load a free copy of the Fing application onto an Android device that you own*, and see if you recognise every device that is on your WiFi network, to ensure that this has not either been penetrated by outside devices, or has not become tangled up with someone else’s WiFi account.

    And do keep us posted!

    *If you haven’t got an Android device, an iOS device is better than nothing, but Apple restrict what information Fing can access and/or provide you with, so it is not as effective as it is on Android.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 514 ✭✭
    BT and Now tv showing no interest after you brought this issue to their attention means not only can you watch free but also guilt free.
    Enjoy it while it lasts. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    I'm not subscribed atm and so don't remember. But to nominate a device IS on the main account page. If you, being a super user think you can help better then please do so, with no offence from me taken at all.  :)

    We are all here to help.
    Well, as I said earlier:-

    Nope, you just sign in to NowTV on the device you want to start using, and select and start watching a programme.

    i.e. the only way to get a device into the device list in your account is to use it to watch a NowTV programme; you don’t need to set it up in advance, and indeed you can’t set it up in advance. And no device has any primacy in your list of up to six devices.

    So any suggested solution to any NowTV problem which involves setting up a device or devices in advance, or granting any particular device primacy,  won’t work, and some other solution needs to be found.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 9,993 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 November 2020, 12:56AM
    Then I'll leave the floor to you.... :cold_sweat:
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 November 2020, 10:46AM
    Visionman said:
    Then I'll leave the floor to you.... :cold_sweat:
    We should also note that any suggested solution that involves doing exactly and precisely what NowTV say you should do in the situation may not work either 😛
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 November 2020, 9:37AM
    @baker

    While my conscious mind was getting some well-deserved shuteye, my subconscious was still mulling this over, and presents me with a really off-the-wall suggestion this morning.

    How about if, instead of getting a pristine and virgin NowTV app, you have somehow been sent a test one, with account details embedded in it? So every time you start the app, it comes up logged in to that user?

    I don’t know how that could happen, but I can see that if it did happen, it would behave as you describe.

    Though I don’t know if it could survive an Option 4 Maintenance Mode reset, let alone an Option 5 one. @Sarah, what does it take to force all the apps to be reloaded?
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    I've done both menu factory reset and done a manual maintenance factory reset with the same result. I found the user's login identification (thanks Roy) and sent it to BT. It appears to be their BT TV account. BT are investigating and sending me a new box incase my software has been corrupted. Not sure yet if the box is the problem or as Roy says it's being provided by a BT TV server thinking my box is somebody else's. I'll update when the new box arrives.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭
    baker said:
    I've done both menu factory reset and done a manual maintenance factory reset with the same result. I found the user's login identification (thanks Roy) and sent it to BT. It appears to be their BT TV account. BT are investigating and sending me a new box incase my software has been corrupted. Not sure yet if the box is the problem or as Roy says it's being provided by a BT TV server thinking my box is somebody else's. I'll update when the new box arrives.
    Aha! Then I would guess BT have mechanisms for sending ‘special’ versions of the NowTV app to certain of their users, and your box is erroneously classed as one of them.

    So even after an Option 4 or an Option 5, it would just send you the same special copy again.

    If it’s based on the box Id, this will cease with the new box; so let’s hope it’s based on that, rather than your BT Account number, or the same thing will happen again.
    Supporting YouView on Sony TVs is like nailing jelly to a herd of cats
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    Yes, could be I guess Roy. I hope the new box will solve the problem. Must be a logical reason why I can see someone else's BT TV stuff including BT Sport's, Netflix and Nowtv.  Not sure why all other apps work ok though.
    ps: I'm wired directly to the BT hub and no unusual connections showing on my WiFi/broadband. 
  • A new box won't solve it, you've got a line or account problem.

    As you've noted, Netflix, NowTV and BT TV are all showing someone else's subscription. These get auto logged on any box you plug into your broadband in because of the billing tie-ins between BT and these services. There's no 'special' app, it's just a 'helpful' feature of those services.

    First up, check your phone number - dial your mobile from your landline, does it match the number you expect? If no, try calling the number you were expecting (or is on your bills), you might well find yourself talking to one of your neighbours if the wires have been crossed by a careless engineer.

    If it's not that straightforward, then BT have done something special with your account and somehow linked your broadband details with someone else's. The advice above to provide BT with and IDs you can recover from the apps should help them untangle it - I believe there's some IDs in the BT app help section that they would recognise.
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    Just tested line and it checks out okay, its showing the correct number if I ring my mobile from the landline. Also okay when I call landline from my mobile. So if the box doesn't fix the issue then it probably is an account issue.
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    Brand new box arrived and on setup the same issue persists. Connecting to another BT TV customers account. So must be an account problem.  BT still investigating!
  • bakerbaker Member Posts: 8
    BT contacted me. Looks like the technical team have now resolved to issue. Somehow my broadband account identifier got linked to another customer as advised previously in this forum. It was removed once before but automatically reverted back. Hopefully that has been sorted now and all is working as expected. Thanks to everyone who helped get to the bottom of this. 
Sign In or Register to comment.