Remote problems with my new LG UHD 4K tv

AlphaloganAlphalogan Member Posts: 4
I have just bought an LG UHD 4K tv and am having problems with the BT remote. Everything appears to work except for two things, one, I cannot control the volume and two, whilst I can turn the BT set-up box and tv on at the same time I cannot turn the tv off at the same time and have to turn it off from the tv itself. I have followed BT’s instructions to link the remote and tv, but when I reach the point where the instructions say “check the volume controls” that it fails. Any advice will be appreciated.

Comments

  • AlphaloganAlphalogan Member Posts: 4
    Forgot to mention, other functions such as programmes up or down, or bringing up the guide.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 647 ✭✭
     Go though it again slowly step by step. When you reach the part to press the tv button don't press it once and move on keep it pressed till the tv switches off.
    Obviously you've got to input the relevant code as well...2992.
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • AlphaloganAlphalogan Member Posts: 4
    BT instructions up to 6 followed as required then I tried the volume control and found it did not respond. I then tried other functions and they all responded. I have investigated further and when going through You View settings, Picture and Sound, HDMI sound, which was set at Surround, it states You can connect to a surround sound system using an HDMI cable. Note. This setting will disable volume controls on your remote. To change volume, you’ll need to use your sound system. I am not sure if this is the problem but I am not connected to any other sound system only the tv. 
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 451 ✭✭
    Change that setting back to stereo and try again.

    With the LG tv, did you get a magic remote, and have you installed the box so you can control the box with the TV remote?

    I can turn both on at the same time, but I can't turn both off at the same time. I think this is normal as you may wish the TV to stay on, say to watch a dvd.

    If you have a magic remote, you will find instructions on installing the box here https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7605581/how-to-pair-huawei-talktalk-box-with-an-lg-magic-remote see post 9th January 2020
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    edited 2 July 2021, 8:48AM
    @Stevef_fr8ys @Alphalogan

    At a guess, if you have the magic remote controlling the YouView box, then its volume function will be controlling the volume function on the YouView box, not the TV, as early BT boxes/remotes don’t punch through to the TV volume controls like Huawei boxes/remotes do, and as above, this is fixed for surround sound.

    So switching to stereo on the BT box will give control of the volume, but perhaps not by altering the TV volume, the setting of which will remain the same. This may be OK for you, or maybe not.

    I’ll have a play with the T4000 hooked into our LG GX tomorrow, see what happens.

    I’ve kept the remotes strictly apart so far, because of an utterly infuriating problem if you try to start up by turning the YouView box on; this turns on the TV as it should, but the TV then turns on the GX soundbar on its HDMI setting, which makes it listen on its HDMI input, which is not in use here, and so you get silence with the YouView picture until you set the soundbar back to eARC, either by employing a third remote, the one for the soundbar, or by going into Settings on the TV.

    Either way, it’s a complete faff, and can be avoided by turning the TV on first, at which the soundbar comes on as eARC, and only then the YouView box, at which the soundbar stays on eARC.

    Neither of the two devices in the other two HDMI ports on the TV, a Roku Premiere and a Panasonic UHD player, cause this difficulty, but I can’t see what the YouView box could be doing wrong to cause this.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 451 ✭✭
    @Roy, I have a Yamaha surround system hooked up to my TV via arc and when I turn the box on, using either the magic or YouView remotes, the TV springs to light and for around 10 seconds the sound utilises the TV until the receiver takes over.

    The only time I have an issue is with the Sony Bluray. Occasionally if I turn this on before the TV, the receiver comes on but Arc does not work, so have to manually apply.

    I have my TalkTalk box as my default one so the Magic Remote switches that box on using the white button, so if i use the Humax box I have to use the Humax remote first.

    Installing equipment to the LG box is confusing as I found, and it wasn't until Nick posted in the other thread that it became (a bit) clearer.
  • AlphaloganAlphalogan Member Posts: 4
    Thanks everyone, I must now absorb everything you say and work from there. Will advise how I fare but in the meantime thanks for the advice.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    @Stevef_fr8ys @Alphalogan

    ... BT boxes/remotes don’t punch through to the TV volume controls like Huawei boxes/remotes do... 


    ??? mine do.   :o
    (unless I've misunderstood what you mean) 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    jimb said:
    Roy said:
    @Stevef_fr8ys @Alphalogan

    ... BT boxes/remotes don’t punch through to the TV volume controls like Huawei boxes/remotes do... 


    ??? mine do.   :o
    (unless I've misunderstood what you mean) 
    @jimb

    When a Huawei remote is in box mode, the volume buttons still control the TV volume. This is ‘punch through’.

    When a Humax remote is in box mode, the volume controls only control the YouView box volume (which only anyway varies on stereo), and you have to switch the remote to TV mode to control the TV volume.

    As I understand it, anyway. Though I have never had a Huawei box myself, and perhaps someone will tell me that later BT remotes now do punch through?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    edited 30 June 2021, 3:17PM
    @Stevef_fr8ys

    My Yamaha YSP2500 soundbar used to mostly come on as ARC when CEC from the TV switched it on, but sometimes it didn’t.

    I never did establish any pattern to this.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    jimb said:
    Roy said:

    ... BT boxes/remotes don’t punch through to the TV volume controls like Huawei boxes/remotes do... 


    ??? mine do.   :o
    (unless I've misunderstood what you mean) 
    @jimb

    When a Humax remote is in box mode, the volume controls only control the YouView box volume (which only anyway varies on stereo), and you have to switch the remote to TV mode to control the TV volume.

    @Roy we're talking about BT remotes not Humax ones.   :o

    We use BT remotes that look like this:


    This is with four different types of BT box and also a T2000.
    The remotes are all set to control Samsung TVs.
    The top left button turns the TV on, the top middle button turns the box on.
    The volume controls on the remotes control the TV's volume.
    This is quite clear because the TV displays the volume changes on the left of the screen and not across the top of the screen.

    We do not "have to switch the remote to TV mode to control the TV volume."
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    @jimb

    Thanks. I think I have one of these somewhere, but we couldn’t get on with it, so we use our old curvy remote.

    So I can see it is more useful than the old approach, especially now Surround Mode means you can’t alter the YouView volume anyway; but if you had your box in stereo, how would you alter the volume on the box with this remote?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    @jimb

    Thanks. I think I have one of these somewhere, but we couldn’t get on with it, so we use our old curvy remote.

    So I can see it is more useful than the old approach, especially now Surround Mode means you can’t alter the YouView volume anyway; but if you had your box in stereo, how would you alter the volume on the box with this remote?
    There are a few red herrings there Roy. 

    The reality is that the vast majority of YouView users (i.e BT and TalkTalk customers) who have set up their remotes to control their TVs (to turn them on and off and to control the TV's volume) do this very simply without any problems (in the way that I described).
    You've chosen to use a Humax remote and this has led you to make a statement that BT remotes work differently from TalkTalk ones, and this I believe is not correct. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    @jimb

    A bit you snipped when quoting me above was was “ As I understand it, anyway. Though I have never had a Huawei box myself, and perhaps someone will tell me that later BT remotes now do punch through?”

    As you have now indeed done, for which thank you!
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Rob PRob P Member Posts: 91
    Roy said:
    @jimb

    Thanks. I think I have one of these somewhere, but we couldn’t get on with it, so we use our old curvy remote.

    So I can see it is more useful than the old approach, especially now Surround Mode means you can’t alter the YouView volume anyway; but if you had your box in stereo, how would you alter the volume on the box with this remote?
    I think you can reset the remote back to controlling the Youview box volume, also I have a vague recollection of being able to override TV control temporarily by holding the AD button or something like that.

    Personally, I'm not sure why anyone would want to alter the volume on the box? I appreciate people have different requirements, but in my head, ideally you would ensure the box is outputting maximum volume and leave it there; otherwise, if output is anything less and your TV is set louder to compensate, when you switch to another source your TV is too loud. (As it stands even 100% volume on the Youview box is slightly quieter than other sources for me.) 

    I have both remotes and find the BT one preferable as I always want the remote to operate the TV volume and the Humax one requires constant switching to do so.

    Genuinely interested to know whether there are popular cases for altering the box volume though. Can only think of cases where connected to external AV equipment but again you would want that equipment to control the volume would you not, for the same reasons as above?
  • Stevef_fr8ysStevef_fr8ys Member, Super User Posts: 451 ✭✭
    .
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭
    edited 2 July 2021, 9:03AM
    @Rob P

    We must ask YouView why there is a volume control on YouView boxes, as I agree with everything you say about this.

    Likely YouView do too, with the sound maxed out for surround, though I always thought that that limitation was to overcome some intractable, or “too difficult” issue with varying the level for surround.

    Certainly, none of the other devices connected to my TVs seem to need a volume control. The only thing I can think of is that there might be a need for a one-time adjustment if a device is significantly louder or quieter than its fellows, but most TVs can level these things up anyway, these days, if not so much in the past.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭
    @Rob P   I think being able to control the box volume would be useful for people who are not able to sync their remote to their TV. (Unable to find a code that works etc. )
    For them it would be useful to be able to use just one remote to change channels etc and control the volume. 
Sign In or Register to comment.