Picture quality with the new stb pro

xmanxman Member Posts: 4
Hi all
I have recently joined BT and acquired their new stb pro box with the vip package. 
My problem seems to be mainly with the freeview channels in so much that the colour saturation and contrast of the images is not as vivid as the the freeview images seen via my Sony tv tuner and not as sharp either.
Took great care with the setup using the right cables and tv settings.
Has anyone else experienced this?

Comments

  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 699 ✭✭
    The box you refer to only came on to the market recently and then only for BT's most expensive package, 
    Bearing that in mind few contributors to this site would have had much (if any) actual hands on experience of this particular box.
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,884 ✭✭✭
    xman said:
    Hi all
    I have recently joined BT and acquired their new stb pro box with the vip package. 
    My problem seems to be mainly with the freeview channels in so much that the colour saturation and contrast of the images is not as vivid as the the freeview images seen via my Sony tv tuner and not as sharp either.
    Took great care with the setup using the right cables and tv settings.
    Has anyone else experienced this?
    @xman

    As @kodikid says, we haven’t much experience on this box, the free ones not having been sent out yet 😛

    But the usual cause of this issue, which we have seen on our lesser boxes, is that if you set up the TV to have certain settings, this may not automatically propagate to be the settings for the HDMI inputs; and even setting one HDMI input up a certain way may not propagate to the other HDMI inputs.

    So have you set up the picture settings for the HDMI input the YouView box is on, specifically, or checked that these are the settings you want for it, even if they have been propagated?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • xmanxman Member Posts: 4
    Hi
    Thanks for your reply. 
    Yes all settings were set the same regardless of input but I have been adjusting the input for this box and have retrieved a lot of the colour saturation.
    Didn't have this issue with the old plusnet youview box tho, in fact quite the opposite 
  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,074 ✭✭
    edited 16 August 2021, 9:31PM
    Hi @xman you may wish to join & post on the BT Community. One active thread there is:
    (or you can start your own thread if you wish)
    One observation your previous Plusnet supplied Youview box would only have been a HD rather than a 4K box.



  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,884 ✭✭✭
    @zulu17 @xman

    My T4000 gives nothing away to my T2000 in terms of saturation and vibrancy,

    I did think the upscaling on the T4000 slightly inferior to that which my Samsung JS9000 TV could do, and so used to run it at HD. But now there is 4K content to watch, I run it at 4K these days, and HD does look pretty much OK.

    But I have found a lot of streaming 4K HDR a bit dull and lifeless compared with HD; the Wimbledon tennis was a case in point.

    A Sony rep pointed out that they back off the basic signal level to give HDR more ‘pop’, something I have likened to having a car that will cruise all day at 70, but if you want the odd boost to 80, you have to accept that you can only cruise at 60.

    But all given the lie by Planet Earth II on UHD BluRay, where the colours are as vibrant as you could want, and the HDR still ‘pops’. Something to do with the contrasting bandwidth, perhaps, between that and streaming services.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • xmanxman Member Posts: 4
    Bit of an update. 
    I simply could not get the new pro box to give me the vibrant pictures on freeview when compared to the Sony tv freeview pictures. 
    Contacted bt and they sent me a T4000 to play with and compare.
    This I have done and found the T4000 freeview pictures now equals the Sony freeview channels for colour saturation and impact.
    So Bt, seems they need to do some work on the new box

  • xmanxman Member Posts: 4
    Ps
    I was grateful for the support from bt and the chance to do a direct comparison of the boxes.
    In every other aspect the new box is big step up from the T4000 just wish the freeview channels were as good

  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 699 ✭✭
    edited 3 September 2021, 7:10AM
    How is it a big step up when it fails at it's primary purpose?
    Also believe poor quality sound is an issue to some. 
    Looks like the early subscribers are doing the field testing. 

    In the long held youview tradition of going off topic I believe said box is now available on all BT tv packages. 
    Ignore this if you disagree. 
  • robotmanrobotman Member Posts: 198
    edited 8 September 2021, 3:01PM
    kodikid said:
    How is it a big step up when it fails at it's primary purpose?
    Also believe poor quality sound is an issue to some. 
    Looks like the early subscribers are doing the field testing. 

    In the long held youview tradition of going off topic I believe said box is now available on all BT tv packages
    That is correct.
    Staying on topic, I for one am impressed with both picture and sound quality although I'm on a much higher software version than that listed on these very pages. I'm not sure why that is, but upon installation the box did an automatic update. I'd need to check what it is when I'm at home at the start of the week but I do know it isn't the launch software or the 'latest' as listed on the Youview Support pages.
    I THINK it may be 0.4.172 / 4.0.130

    *EDIT* it is 0.4.172 / 4.0.130
    "Flash, Flash, I love you, but we only have 14 hours to save the Earth"
Sign In or Register to comment.