BT Launches Streaming Only Option for Freeview channels

redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
This seems to have slipped under the radar. Interesting that internet channels will be recordable for those who crave hoarding content.

https://www.digitaltveurope.com/2022/08/26/bt-launches-streaming-only-option-for-freeview-channels/
«1

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    edited 29 August 2022, 10:10PM
    redchiz said:
    This seems to have slipped under the radar. Interesting that internet channels will be recordable for those who crave hoarding content.

    https://www.digitaltveurope.com/2022/08/26/bt-launches-streaming-only-option-for-freeview-channels/
    @redchiz

    I’m not sure which radar this slipped under;

    was it this one:-
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7606997/bt-tv-box-pro-software-update-4-0-222-0-6-18

    or this one?
    https://community.youview.com/youview/discussion/7606998/bt-tv-box-mini-launch-software-release-4-0-224-0-2-174
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    Ah, didn't realise it was an "Announcement" pertaining to a software update for BT boxes, which would otherwise be of no interest to me. Apologies. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    Ah, didn't realise it was an "Announcement" pertaining to a software update for BT boxes, which would otherwise be of no interest to me. Apologies. 
    😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • DarrenDarren Member, Super User Posts: 639 ✭✭
    edited 30 August 2022, 7:30AM
    Seems this is only for the pro box so far.
    Not for those that that still have the older Youview PVR boxes but I good for people who cant get the all the Freeview channels.
    I cancelled BT TV 6 months ago but would not have got the Freeview IP channels anyway with not having a pro box.
    I happy that I now getting Now direct from them with discounts. 

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    @Darren

    The Pro box and the new Mini…
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 4:41PM
    Being the proud owner of two pro boxes I thought I would give it a go.

    It only works if you have a active BT tv account. 

    Anyone thinking of buying a pro box from e Bay to enjoy youview antenna free be advised it won't work.

    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    @kodikid How have you deduced that? 
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    I tried it on my bedroom tv.
    Everytime you select a program from the TV Guide it just gives you a error code with a message saying we're having trouble locating your bt tv account. 
    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    OK, this is a genuine question btw, how come you get it on one, but not another? 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 5:28PM
    redchiz said:
    OK, this is a genuine question btw, how come you get it on one, but not another? 
    @redchiz

    I didn’t interpret what @kodikid said as that; I think he can get it on neither, just as those of us with a YouView box on BT internet, but not subscribing to BT TV, can’t get the BT-provided channels.

    But a person with two Pro boxes who can get it on one but not the other would be like a person with two YouView boxes and BT TV but not Multiroom, where the same thing applies to the BT-provided channels.

    In effect, this Freeview over the internet is an extension of the BT-provided channels to cover the Freeview ones also.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 5:31PM
    @Roy OK, just not quite clear.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    Just unplug the ariel then set it up again. 

    Without the ariel present you're immediately given the option before you continue of antenna or Internet set up.

    Just choose Internet and set it up.

    On discovering it wouldn't work I just simply put the aerial back in and set it up again. 

    Youview is a free terrestrial service no matter what BT do, but channels over the Internet are the domain of BT and they can and will charge you for this service. 

    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    @kodikid

    Though BT might well argue that they aren’t charging for the Freeview channels over the internet, because they haven’t put their BT TV prices up to cover this.

    There might well be some rumblings from Freeview otherwise.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    Thanks @kodikid. Channels over the Internet are not quite yet in the control of BT, but their EPG is. So I guess this new development gives BT subscribers the option to not have an aerial and access (some) Freeview channels via their EPG, rather than having to resort to the individual players and apps. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 5:31PM
    redchiz said:
    @Rox OK, just not quite clear.
    @redchiz

    Ha Ha.
    I fixed that.
    So, would you like to get your Rox off? 😛
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    Oops!  😉
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    Roy said:
    @kodikid

    Though BT might well argue that they aren’t charging for the Freeview channels over the internet, because they haven’t put their BT TV prices up to cover this.

    There might well be some rumblings from Freeview otherwise.
    Good point, the BBC especially who are obliged and obliging in putting their content out to all platforms may be a bit discomfited to learn that only BT TV subscribers have access to this particular method. 
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    Thanks @kodikid. Channels over the Internet are not quite yet in the control of BT, but their EPG is. So I guess this new development gives BT subscribers the option to not have an aerial and access (some) Freeview channels via their EPG, rather than having to resort to the individual players and apps. 
    @kodikid

    One thing I’m intrigued about, which you can probably test if you can get the BT internet-only EPG, even if you can go no further; does it only include channels otherwise available over Players? Or does it offer some channels that aren’t on Players at all?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 5:43PM
    Aye, this from the original source link:

    "The streaming option will give access to the main Freeview channels from the UK’s public service broadcasters, and a range of other channels, but will not include all the channels currently available over the air on Freeview."

    So disgruntlement also from those whose services are not available? 


  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 5:59PM
    Pick, Quest red and Legend are there but not sure if they belong to a particular player. 

    Bizarrely at the moment is certainly quality over quantity as nearly all the offerings are in HD (including BBC news)

    If you didn't have an antenna it's certainly watchable if you could get it with all the usual suspects present. 

     At the mo BT are offering it's entertainment package with now entertainment and Netflix for £9 with a 24 month subscription.

    Personally not tempted but it's a bloody good offer.
    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,293 ✭✭✭
    Can I provide some clarity here?

    To get the provided Freeview channels over the internet one needs a BT TV account. So, no account, no channels. 
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 9:40PM
    One needs a BT account   🤣

    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • Rob PRob P Member Posts: 111 ✭✭
    I have neither a Pro box nor a BT subscription, but I do have a question. Does anyone know, is there a technical reason why your choice is Antenna OR Internet? It seems like opting for Internet delivery would be a last-resort option given you lose (a) channels and (b) two concurrent recordings (I understand you can record x2 internet channels or x4 antenna concurrently)

    But also I understand that in Antenna mode, or on the older BT boxes, some of the BT channels are still delivered via internet and can be recorded alongside the standard Freeview channels over the air.

    In my head a hybrid/best of both option would be to take over the air channels where available and fallback to internet delivery for those additional HD versions or where the reception is poor.
  • kodikidkodikid Member Posts: 1,046 ✭✭
    I think it's more to do with the general trend away from terrestrial tv.

    Plus it makes BT tv more attractive to those without a aerial or can't get a good signal. 

    I know when I set it up it was clearly one or the other, it could be having the option of allowing both is byond the pro's capability at the moment. 

    At the moment switching from aerial to Internet is only possible when you originally set up the box and not as a personal preference where you can hop from one to another. 

    Deacon Blue hit from October 88
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    edited 22 September 2022, 10:14PM
    kodikid said:
    One needs a BT account   🤣

    @kodikid

    I thought you were right earlier when you said BT TV account, and @Visionman was right when he said it, even if he was a bit late to the party.

    But I don’t think a BT account, without BT TV, is enough?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    kodikid said:
    I think it's more to do with the general trend away from terrestrial tv.

    Plus it makes BT tv more attractive to those without a aerial or can't get a good signal. 

    I know when I set it up it was clearly one or the other, it could be having the option of allowing both is byond the pro's capability at the moment. 

    At the moment switching from aerial to Internet is only possible when you originally set up the box and not as a personal preference where you can hop from one to another. 

    @RobP

    The problem with having the Freeview channels both over an aerial and over the internet is that you would need two sets of numbers, and the HD versions/channel strength rules for working with one set of numbers would be a nightmare to program and maintain.

    @kodikid

    I believe @Stephen told us that it’s possible to go between Aerial and Internet mode with a Maintenance Mode 2, so the box can maintain and preserve the one when you switch to the other; but YouView and BT aren’t publicising this because it brings up a few odd corner cases which we old hands could take in our stride, but which ordinary users might balk at, and get confused by.

    (Much like the rules for when you can and can’t record two programmes and watch a third on the pre-Pro boxes, a Mux thing that YouView don’t go into lest it makes people’s brains hurt).
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,293 ✭✭✭
    Roy's correct. You need a BT TV account to view any internet channel over BT's network. The shift from Freeview to the internet is a move all providers have planned for some number of years. 🙂
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭
    Visionman said:
    Roy's correct. You need a BT TV account to view any internet channel over BT's network. The shift from Freeview to the internet is a move all providers have planned for some number of years. 🙂
    I am sure it is. But not until the airwaves are completely given over to mobile data. Which is not really relevant to the current half-arsed attempt that BT seem to be implementing at the moment.
  • VisionmanVisionman Member, Super User Posts: 10,293 ✭✭✭
    redchiz said:
    Visionman said:
    Roy's correct. You need a BT TV account to view any internet channel over BT's network. The shift from Freeview to the internet is a move all providers have planned for some number of years. 🙂
    I am sure it is. But not until the airwaves are completely given over to mobile data. Which is not really relevant to the current half-arsed attempt that BT seem to be implementing at the moment.

    I take your point, but it's a start.
    I'm now happy with the disagree icon, because its gone.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,528 ✭✭✭
    edited 24 September 2022, 8:53AM

    Given how when TV went digital, people with purely analogue TVs were given a digibox, can we expect that the last holdouts against internet TV will be given free broadband?

    And that such broadband, fast enough to make TV over the internet practical, will by then be available everywhere that terrestrial TV is currently available?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
Sign In or Register to comment.