BT TV Box Pro Software Update - 4.1.6 / 0.6.242

Shaun FShaun F Administrator Posts: 17 admin
edited 12 December 2022, 3:53PM in Announcements
Hi All,

Please feel free to discuss the BT TV Box Pro Software Update - 4.1.6 / 0.6.242 in this thread.

This is a software release for BT TV Box Pro devices which contains a fix for Hidden Channels in Visual Guide, as well as a number of other maintenance fixes.

Thanks,

Shaun

Comments

  • SchartSchart Member Posts: 6
    Well, it hasn't worked. My visual guide still show hiddens channels. Not that I use it, as it's poor.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,656 ✭✭✭
    Schart said:
    Well, it hasn't worked. My visual guide still shows hidden channels. Not that I use it, as it's poor.
    @Schart

    And you’re sure you have the update?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • SchartSchart Member Posts: 6
    Roy said:
    Schart said:
    Well, it hasn't worked. My visual guide still shows hidden channels. Not that I use it, as it's poor.
    @Schart

    And you’re sure you have the update?
    Ho Roy, yes definitely had the uodate.
  • RohitRohit Administrator Posts: 52 admin
    Hi @Schart

    The fix in this release was to address an issue which @zulu17 also raised here.
    If while watching 233 I use any of the buttons up/down/left/right I get a shadow where the On Now would typically appear on a non hidden channel. eventually it would time out and return to normal viewing.

    Could you please describe the issue you're seeing with hidden channels? Once hidden, they should be removed from the Guide and Visual Guide, but will still be accessible via the channel up/down buttons or by entering the channel numbers directly, and via Search. 

    Thanks,

    Rohit

  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭
    I received this update yesterday and the specific fault has been addressed.
    if you are watching a hidden channel and bring up the visual guide , the visual guide is  now displayed from the first channel ie in my case channel 1.

  • zulu17zulu17 Member, Super User Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭
    Combined with  the release was also  my first sight of the  visual guide with now/next/OnDemand,
    still prefer the old mini guide.
    Anyway now/next/OnDemand  will have the now programme , maybe a next program, maybe between 0 to 3 on demand entries.
    I’ll let you decide how useful and clear the information displayed is


  • IanBIanB Member Posts: 4
    I have had a stuttering/ juddering problem with my picture since getting youview back in September, bt have replaced all my hardware and have sent out an engineer twice, but fault is still not rectified, I along clear it for a while by pausing my tv for maybe 2 or 3 seconds then press play again. The last engineer who was out in November said this is a known fault to youview and will be rectified with the new software update, it hasn't, I still have this fault!
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,656 ✭✭✭
    IanB said:
    I have had a stuttering/ juddering problem with my picture since getting youview back in September, bt have replaced all my hardware and have sent out an engineer twice, but fault is still not rectified, I along clear it for a while by pausing my tv for maybe 2 or 3 seconds then press play again. The last engineer who was out in November said this is a known fault to youview and will be rectified with the new software update, it hasn't, I still have this fault!
    @IanB

    Have you turned on HDMI Frame Rate Matching in the YouView Picture/Resolution Settings page?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 87
    edited 12 January 2023, 10:34PM
    I’ve had the same stuttering problem since I got my box approx 6-7 months ago. With the latest update it seems vastly improved for me. Last couple of days there has been probably one stutter every 10-15 minutes, that I’ve noticed, compared to before the update where it would be constantly stuttering and a brief pause and play would sort it. However, I’m still cautious as it’s only been a couple of days so I need more time to feel confident it’s been improved. One single stutter very infrequently I can cope with albeit not ideal.
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 87
    edited 12 January 2023, 10:32PM
    Frame rate matching setting has no impact on this particular issue. I’ve had frame rate matching enabled the last several months and it made no difference to the stuttering on live TV. The stuttering only happens on live broadcast TV. No other form of playback - apps, recordings, time shifted programmes - has the stutter. Netflix which is mostly 23.976Hz has some judder as frame rate matching is not used by the Netflix app on this box. The stutter on live broadcast and the Netflix judder appear differently. The live stutter is at an irregular but frequent frame rate change whereas the Netflix judder is skipping frames at regular but frequent intervals. The other apps such as Prime and Now appear to use the frame rate matching - no judder on these.
  • IanBIanB Member Posts: 4
    I have tried turning on the HDMI frame rate matching, but this actually makes the condition worse, it is best left off to be honest. The first 2 days after the update all was good and I thought that was it sorted, but it's started again, I agree it's not as bad since the update but I still have to press pause and play again maybe 3 or 4 times a day, very annoying.
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 87
    edited 13 January 2023, 8:59PM
    Yep. Still stuttering badly on live TV. Watching BBC1 and constantly stuttering every second or two. I give up with this box. I’ve had this box several months, several software updates later and still the same issues. If they haven’t fixed it by now they never will, or can’t. 
  • IanBIanB Member Posts: 4
    That's my feelings too, when I contacted bt about it, which I have several times, they pled ignorance to it, didn't know anything about this problem and I thought surely I'm not the only one that has this problem, my problem is, as I think yours is too, I just signed up in September on a 2 year contract!
  • Chips2Chips2 Member Posts: 87
    edited 14 January 2023, 9:28AM
    The issue has been reported on BT forums so it’s definitely not just us. Although I’m a BT customer for broadband I got this box off eBay on the grey market so I’ve got no comeback. I’ll have to write it off as a risk that didn’t pay off. It’s a really good box other than the plentiful bugs.

    Of course the obvious fix for this in the software - for free - is to display the time shifted feed delayed by a couple of seconds by default. The box is always recording the viewed channel anyway. Saves on constantly pressing pause then play whenever you settle on watching a channel. Of course the downside is when channel hoping you’ll have a greater delay on displaying the channel. Make it an option in the menu somewhere not enabled by default. 

    It’s either wait for a fix, put up with the issue (perhaps only use it as recording only box) or bite the bullet and get a Humax Aura which by no means looks perfect but I’ve not read any reports of picture stuttering.

    The other HDMI issue of defaulting to 60Hz over night if the box is in smart standby is still there too - also reported on BT forums. This can be mitigated with low power mode set to always on.
  • jimbjimb Member, Super User Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭
    IanB said:
    That's my feelings too, when I contacted bt about it, which I have several times, they pled ignorance to it, didn't know anything about this problem and I thought surely I'm not the only one that has this problem, my problem is, as I think yours is too, I just signed up in September on a 2 year contract!
    @ianb perhaps this isn't simply a software issue. Not all boxes are affected (mine is OK). Maybe there is a hardware element, so why not ask BT for a new box? 
  • IanBIanB Member Posts: 4
    jimb said:
    IanB said:
    That's my feelings too, when I contacted bt about it, which I have several times, they pled ignorance to it, didn't know anything about this problem and I thought surely I'm not the only one that has this problem, my problem is, as I think yours is too, I just signed up in September on a 2 year contract!
    @ianb perhaps this isn't simply a software issue. Not all boxes are affected (mine is OK). Maybe there is a hardware element, so why not ask BT for a new box? 
    I have had all my hardware replaced by bt, bt tv box pro, broadband hub 2, and all cables, don't get me wrong bt have been great, I've even had the qube engineers out twice, the engineers can see the fault, but can't fix it, I have even bought a new Sony Bravia oled tv, I've got to say things are a lot better with this tv, but still has the fault.
Sign In or Register to comment.