Latest SW messed up HDMI output

John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM in Archived Posts
I would like to have another attempt to report a problem with HDMI connection.
I have had continuous problems with my Humax 'trial' box connected to a Panasonic TX-32LXD60 television. Basically, since the last SW update it has not worked properly on HDMI, I have found it works OK on SCART. I have tried every way of starting the box and it sometimes locks totally and the rest of the time only works on SCART. If one starts it with only an HDMI connection from either turn right off and start, start from reset (long press) or normal start it puts the TV into HDMI mode and displays the HUMAX splash time. At the point it used to go past that point the screen goes blank and then drops back to basic TV mode having lost the HDMI connection. If I connect the SCART cable I can use the Youview box and have thus worked my way through all three HDMI mode settings by setting them, turning off, disconnecting SCART cable and starting again. Nothing changes, HDMI is not usable. Until the last SW change I did not have any problem of this nature since getting the box, last June? What can I do to solve this problem, any way I can go back a SW release? Can Youview staff please address this second attempt to report the problem?
«1

Comments

  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 24 January 2013, 3:26PM
    Trying to bounce this to the top in the hope that I might get a response from a staff member.
  • SW1SW1 Member Posts: 240
    edited 24 January 2013, 3:40PM
    Was it a different problem you had in http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    Which was replied to by some people.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 24 January 2013, 3:45PM
    It is the same problem but I am hoping to get an answer from Youview as to what was done in the last SW release to cause the problem, hence I had another go. I have tried everthing I can think of and which was suggested and the fact that I get the Humax splash screen and that it works on SCART makes me doubt a hardware fault. We had much better support during the trial but they just seem to ignore us now!
  • KeithKeith Member, Super User Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 March 2017, 10:29AM
    Hi John - whilst YouView do monitor the forum and follow the posts, if you want a direct answer you may get more joy if you open a support ticket with them, i.e. go to http://www.youview.com/support/kb/use... and use the contact us button at the top right. That will give you a web form that will open a support ticket and they will then respond via email which should result in a direct response which you can presumably pursue as a dialogue with them as appropriate.

    YouView of course do post on the forum too but the forum is more focused to customer-customer interaction whereas the phone and email support would seem more focused to traditional individual direct support. I've tried to capture this sort of info in the topic on resources and options available for customer support :)
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 24 January 2013, 5:44PM
    Done that thanks, see what happens
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 24 January 2013, 10:06PM
    Did not work, they told me to phone Humax support for what I believe is a Youview problem. The initial Humax bit runs OK until the Youview bits start booting. Classic buck passing?
  • KeithKeith Member, Super User Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭
    edited 4 March 2017, 10:29AM
    Oh dear that is not too helpful :(

    It is no doubt technically correct that the HDMI connection issue will potentially be within the Humax part of the software but changes at that level are nevertheless still distributed within standard YouView updates controlled by YouView and I would thus still expect YouView to be able to act as the facilitator between the customer and Humax in stimulating a solution and feeding back to the customer any progress on the issue. They have helpfully done that for other problems such as the channel loss issue and the long/double boot problem although in those cases the problem was easier to see affecting a wide set of customers whereas so far this appears to be more specifically focused on an interaction with the specific TV model/make (which could make it easier to replicate and hence pin down although on the earlier topic Andy replied to say he has the same TV and it is all working fine).

    Perhaps tomorrow YouView staff monitoring the forum could pick up this issue and see if they can give some feedback, even if only a brief initial acknowledgment they can follow this up or suggestion of something to try.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 24 January 2013, 11:50PM
    That is a perfect summary of what I feel, thanks sincerely. I hope they do pick it up and act because I do not believe I am the only person affected. People now buying them retail in response to the adverts will not necessarily know about this forum and just use SCART when in fact there had been a change for the worse. I am glad I did not pay £299!
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 2:13PM
    Hi John. I'm surprised that you're experiencing this, as we haven't been notified about any changes in the software that actually send the picture via HDMI. I agree with you that it's not likely to be a hardware fault as it was working previously. By the way, the Humax screen is enabled by a different part of the software from the YouView loading screens but they're both from Humax, so the advise from our viewer support team is correct. I'll follow up with Humax to see why this might have happened.

    YouView did add an option to the settings screen to set HDMI resolutions to < 1080p, but the default hasn't changed, and setting 1080p manually should give you exactly the same behaviour as previous software release.

    Just to be sure, have you tried changing the resolution as described here: ?

    http://www.youview.com/support/kb/i-c...
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 25 January 2013, 12:36PM
    I did work my way through the 3 options. I did this by going to SCART, setting one, powering back to 'orange', and powering up after I had set the TV to normal RF and also to HDMI. I wanted to see if it would do the automatic changeover. I actually tried just about every combination of powering up I could think of including doing a reset and powering the box off.
    I have also just put my TalkTalk Yiuview box on the Panasonic and it works OK, this box does not have the option to change HDMI settings.
    When I put the Humax on the TV where the TalkTalk one was it said wrong video format. I have got to get a SCART cable out of my heap and experiment there but wife is using the TV at present!
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 27 January 2013, 8:55AM
    Still hoping this is being progressed, particularly as there are now other similar reports.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 2 February 2013, 10:49AM
    I would like to ask if anything is being done about this problem. Others are reporting what seems to be the same problem under different headings, blue screen etc. The impression is that it is being ignored.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 6 February 2013, 6:15PM
    It is being ignored, I have had an email telling me to phone Humax and they might give me a new box. The problem seems quite widespread and I dont think it is a coincidence that the new software release marked the start of the problem. It has been put in the too difficult hole? I dont want a new box with the same problem and all my recordings lost.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 3:05PM
    Sorry to hear of your troubles, but you are doing a bit of a dis-service by scaremongering, I haven't seen any evidence at all that this problem is "widespread."

    Dare I ask whether you have tested on a different TV? Or even just with a different HDMI cable?
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 6 February 2013, 6:27PM
    I am surprised you think that. There are many references to 'blue screen', why do I lose HDMI, I have been forced to use SCART. It is not confined to me.

    Obviously I have tried many things. I have used it on a different TV where it works, I have changed the HDMI cable which makes no difference, I have tried the different HDMI settings, I have tried start up order and I have used my TalkTalk Youview box on the TV and that works OK. I conclude it is a compatability fault introduced at the last SW change when user HDMI format control was introduced.

    Not scaremongering.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 10:48PM
    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 3:05PM
    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 1:57PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    I'd agree were it not for the Huawei box comparator.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 6 February 2013, 7:23PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    The what now?
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 1:57PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    He tried the TalkTalk Huawei box and it works, so it's not the TV?
  • SW1SW1 Member Posts: 240
    edited 6 February 2013, 7:29PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    Indeed, has John actually had a replacement box yet? You will lose all your recordings which is very annoying, but do take the chance now to get a replacement while it is under warranty and you have the option.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 6 February 2013, 8:43PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    Indeed I should change it whilst in warranty but I dont believe it is faulty. It is too much of a coincidence that SW is changed in HDMI handling and it fails.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 6 February 2013, 8:43PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    Correct
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 6 February 2013, 8:56PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    All that shows is that the Huawei box and the Panny TV speak the same dialect of HDMI. The Humax box works on many other makes of TV including the OP's other TV. Same deal.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 6 February 2013, 8:56PM
    gomez said:

    Presumably Panasonic are also being chased as to what *they* are doing about their shaky handshaking?

    Indeed, as did the Humax until they changed the software.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 3:05PM
    Have you tried a full factory reset?
  • SW1SW1 Member Posts: 240
    edited 8 February 2013, 5:00PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    Did you fully read the threads I created on HDMI issues? I too believe fundamentally the issues I had were software related, something has become set incorrectly/corrupted in the software or firmware of the T1000. You can either repeatedly bang your head against the Youview wall, and become increasingly frustrated. Or take the hit of getting the box replaced. My HDMI problems went away when with the replacement box, I truly do expect to be here again in about 3 months time with similar issues once the software has once again become faulty. :(
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 8 February 2013, 5:59PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    I have read so much I am not sure if I missed anything! As you note, believing it is a software issue has given me a sore head. I have just returned a warrenty form for a new box so hope that works. I asked if the hardware had changed in that area but he did not really know. The last thing I did before ringing Humax was to do a total software reload and box reset, no change.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 8 February 2013, 9:40PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    If it is a software problem then how does changing the hardware fix it? Does not compute.
  • John WebbJohn Webb Member Posts: 83
    edited 8 February 2013, 10:36PM
    redchiz said:

    Well, from what you have said there, it looks like it may just be that your Humax box has developed a fault.

    Obviously but I have got to bow to their superior, if inconsistent, opinion. Anyhow, it is just possible that on the day new sw appeared it failed!
Sign In or Register to comment.