Automatic software update April 2013

2456

Comments

  • TechnogranTechnogran Member Posts: 152
    edited 26 February 2017, 12:20PM
    Old Welsh Dragon, it does seem to take an age whenever you have to reset the box, I have worried every time that users would think that the box has crashed etc. It does keep rebooting during any of these processes, and it requires a certain amount of patience. (I go and make a cup of tea!)
    Do try again, and before you do so, check all connections are firmly in place at the back.
    Good luck!
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Member Posts: 367
    edited 11 December 2016, 10:58AM

    Old Welsh Dragon, it does seem to take an age whenever you have to reset the box, I have worried every time that users would think that the box has crashed etc. It does keep rebooting during any of these processes, and it requires a certain amount of patience. (I go and make a cup of tea!)
    Do try again, and before you do so, check all connections are firmly in place at the back.
    Good luck!

    Thanks, the box has reset but I had to do it through the lose recordings method.
    I'll just have to keep trying the software update.
    Must say though, I have never had a problem with updates before...
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Paul B1 said:

    Hate to have to report this, but my box stuck on ff last night again. Only once, but if did still happen. Mrs wasn't happy to see the outcome of Broadchurch unfold at high speed. Box has the update.

    It shows 12.7.0, as in Tanja's picture at the top?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • TanjaTanja Member Posts: 251
    edited 5 November 2015, 10:34AM

    Sorry for posting this twice..

    Box has died after attempting the new software download.
    When booting up it only gets as far as the Humax screen and after a few seconds goes to a black screen and becomes unresponsive ..

    If I leave it in the black screen it goes to maintenance mode after a while, tried all forms of recovery but nothing happens..

    After about five attempts to reset the box to the factory setting it worked but lost all my recordings... And still not got the new software...

    Hi Old Welsh Dragon, we are sorry to hear you are having this issue. Could you please call our Viewer Support team so we can look into this with you?
    You can find our contact details here: http://www.youview.com/support/kb/use...
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 24 April 2013, 12:36PM

    When I first tried to update the box took about 2 seconds to do some sort of download and then restarted the box says software up to date even though it is still on the old version. Trial Humax box..

    Edit..
    Could it be something to do with me being with AOL, same as Talk Talk ?

    No, just that your box's ID has not be authorised to get the update yet. These usually happen about 3.30 a.m. when the box checks each night. The 2 seconds activity you saw was the box checking to see if an update for your box was available and the message indicates that.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 24 April 2013, 12:40PM

    Old Welsh Dragon, it does seem to take an age whenever you have to reset the box, I have worried every time that users would think that the box has crashed etc. It does keep rebooting during any of these processes, and it requires a certain amount of patience. (I go and make a cup of tea!)
    Do try again, and before you do so, check all connections are firmly in place at the back.
    Good luck!

    Wait a couple of days, your box ID is likely not in a sequence that has been authorised to download the update as yet. It should update during the 3.30 a.m. check overnight but the tranches of box IDs seem to be added during the day so it is worthwhile doing a quick check in the early evening..
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 28 February 2017, 2:05PM
    Can you clarify something and amend your main post if necessary.

    There is a bit of a contradiction in the post about which box(es) this update affects. It initially seems to apply only to Humax boxes and indeed some of the early installs by TalkTalk used these. However, they mainly use Huawei so this would only seem to apply to a sub-group of TT customers.

    Can you clarify if the update applies to both Humax and Huawei boxes or only to Humax so that those TT customers with Huawei boxes are warned it does not apply to them?
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    Hi Peter - "Talk Talk YouView boxes" are currently made by Huawei but supplied and branded by TalkTalk. These boxes are not part of the initial update, and we haven't had a date yet from TalkTalk for their roll-out.

    But any TalkTalk ISP customers who are using Humax retail boxes (or even BT Humax boxes) will get the update over the next 2 weeks.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 12:57PM
    Lbear1 said:

    Can you clarify something and amend your main post if necessary.

    There is a bit of a contradiction in the post about which box(es) this update affects. It initially seems to apply only to Humax boxes and indeed some of the early installs by TalkTalk used these. However, they mainly use Huawei so this would only seem to apply to a sub-group of TT customers.

    Can you clarify if the update applies to both Humax and Huawei boxes or only to Humax so that those TT customers with Huawei boxes are warned it does not apply to them?

    Did you get a Humax box from TalkTalk? I thought they only used these when they were doing their internal trials.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 24 April 2013, 2:46PM
    Lbear1 said:

    Can you clarify something and amend your main post if necessary.

    There is a bit of a contradiction in the post about which box(es) this update affects. It initially seems to apply only to Humax boxes and indeed some of the early installs by TalkTalk used these. However, they mainly use Huawei so this would only seem to apply to a sub-group of TT customers.

    Can you clarify if the update applies to both Humax and Huawei boxes or only to Humax so that those TT customers with Huawei boxes are warned it does not apply to them?

    No but I believe they issued Humax boxes early on when they did not have enough supplies of Huaweis. One their support site they give the operating instructions for both.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 24 April 2013, 2:49PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi Peter - "Talk Talk YouView boxes" are currently made by Huawei but supplied and branded by TalkTalk. These boxes are not part of the initial update, and we haven't had a date yet from TalkTalk for their roll-out.

    But any TalkTalk ISP customers who are using Humax retail boxes (or even BT Humax boxes) will get the update over the next 2 weeks.

    Hi Piers

    That is how I read it but there are two interpretations which perhaps you could make clearer?

    Second, I clicked on the link you give to TalkTalk but that only leads to their generic help page with some not easy to follow links to get the information on the update (I tried and got nowhere). Anything more specific?
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Lbear1 said:

    Can you clarify something and amend your main post if necessary.

    There is a bit of a contradiction in the post about which box(es) this update affects. It initially seems to apply only to Humax boxes and indeed some of the early installs by TalkTalk used these. However, they mainly use Huawei so this would only seem to apply to a sub-group of TT customers.

    Can you clarify if the update applies to both Humax and Huawei boxes or only to Humax so that those TT customers with Huawei boxes are warned it does not apply to them?

    It was for internal trials only (if at all). I'm sure they do have some Humax boxes on the network, but the software on those boxes doesn't yet support TalkTalk Live TV boosts, so it's not suitable for most TalkTalk TV customers.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi Peter - "Talk Talk YouView boxes" are currently made by Huawei but supplied and branded by TalkTalk. These boxes are not part of the initial update, and we haven't had a date yet from TalkTalk for their roll-out.

    But any TalkTalk ISP customers who are using Humax retail boxes (or even BT Humax boxes) will get the update over the next 2 weeks.

    I've just edited to add the word Huawei.

    The link to TalkTalk website is the one we've been asked to use, so I can't change that. Their OCEs might know more nearer the time:

    http://www.talktalkmembers.com/forums...
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 2:05PM
    Their OCEs might know more nearer the time
    Ha, I wouldn't count on it, the OCEs are usually the last to know! free smilies
  • tracestraces Member Posts: 199
    edited 24 November 2016, 7:25PM
    This device is getting better and better.

    Thanks YouView.
  • edited 8 January 2015, 3:53PM
    redchiz said:

    Their OCEs might know more nearer the time
    Ha, I wouldn't count on it, the OCEs are usually the last to know! free smiliesThis is not a funny comment, it's the demonstrable reality.
    And TalkTalk's failure to engage with their forum contributors is probably why there are far fewer posts on the Plus TV forum than there used to be.
    Smiley
  • NickNick Member Posts: 594
    edited 9 March 2015, 6:43AM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi Peter - "Talk Talk YouView boxes" are currently made by Huawei but supplied and branded by TalkTalk. These boxes are not part of the initial update, and we haven't had a date yet from TalkTalk for their roll-out.

    But any TalkTalk ISP customers who are using Humax retail boxes (or even BT Humax boxes) will get the update over the next 2 weeks.

    Thought there was a reason why our Humax retail box hasn't found the update yet! Always a bridesmaid never a bride... :)
  • Old Welsh DragonOld Welsh Dragon Member Posts: 367
    edited 11 December 2016, 10:58AM

    Sorry for posting this twice..

    Box has died after attempting the new software download.
    When booting up it only gets as far as the Humax screen and after a few seconds goes to a black screen and becomes unresponsive ..

    If I leave it in the black screen it goes to maintenance mode after a while, tried all forms of recovery but nothing happens..

    After about five attempts to reset the box to the factory setting it worked but lost all my recordings... And still not got the new software...

    Thanks for the reply Tanja. The box is up and running now. I had to do a reset in maintenance mode.
    I tried all maintenance mode settings to try to bring the box back to life more than once with out success at first. I left the box unplugged from the mains for 10mins or so then done a factory reset lose recordings, and it sorted it.

    I will just have to wait for the update to happen..
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 12:57PM
    redchiz said:

    Their OCEs might know more nearer the time
    Ha, I wouldn't count on it, the OCEs are usually the last to know! free smiliesIn fairness to the TT OCEs, I generally think they do a great job in sometimes trying circumstances. They are not specialists in any given field, though, unlike our good friend Piers on here for example, so they are never likely to be up-to-speed with developments on the TV front in the same way. Having said that, TalkTalk are notoriously poor at informing customers and don't seem much better at disseminating information amongst their own staff.
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 9 March 2017, 11:54PM
    Can I ask please, does the Youview update get pushed in a phased approach? I tried updating several times last night but no updates were found. I suspect it is, how long does it take on average to reach everyone? Any way to force it?

    I'm certainly not on the version in the screen grab above and IIRC it is 10.2 or 10.26 perhaps.

    Thank you - mark
  • drhowellsdrhowells Member Posts: 634 ✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 5:21PM
    red snow said:

    Can I ask please, does the Youview update get pushed in a phased approach? I tried updating several times last night but no updates were found. I suspect it is, how long does it take on average to reach everyone? Any way to force it?

    I'm certainly not on the version in the screen grab above and IIRC it is 10.2 or 10.26 perhaps.

    Thank you - mark

    Hi, the first paragraph at the top of the page does say it is a 2 week phased roll out.
  • redchizredchiz Member, Super User Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭
    edited 28 February 2017, 2:05PM
    Hey Mark, this gets asked every time. The schedule seems to vary, you can't force it if it is not available in your area and it will reach you when it reaches you, within the timescale originally announced.
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 25 April 2013, 2:34PM
    Thank you for your response folks, I'll sit tight and wait.

    I'm very interested in the "internet channels" list in the re-tuning. I'm longing for BT to open up the IPTV/Multicast "extra channels" to Youview as I currently have to use the Vision+ box. Just hope you are then not bound to the homehub3 as I am now with the V+ box!
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    red snow said:

    Can I ask please, does the Youview update get pushed in a phased approach? I tried updating several times last night but no updates were found. I suspect it is, how long does it take on average to reach everyone? Any way to force it?

    I'm certainly not on the version in the screen grab above and IIRC it is 10.2 or 10.26 perhaps.

    Thank you - mark

    So the average is one week, assuming an equal spread of boxes across the country.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • majonesmajones Member Posts: 79
    edited 17 June 2015, 3:16PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi Peter - "Talk Talk YouView boxes" are currently made by Huawei but supplied and branded by TalkTalk. These boxes are not part of the initial update, and we haven't had a date yet from TalkTalk for their roll-out.

    But any TalkTalk ISP customers who are using Humax retail boxes (or even BT Humax boxes) will get the update over the next 2 weeks.

    It is a worry that YouView needs TalkTalk to agree to an update of their box. The Reciva internet radio business was undermined big-time by manufacturers/distributors not agreeing to firmware updates. I hope that YouView have control of this issue, and the final say.
  • sam1sam1 Member Posts: 1,182 ✭✭
    edited 25 April 2013, 6:53PM
    damonq2 said:

    Just done a manual update to the latest version of the software (Humax retail box) and I see with some excitement that, following a complete re-tune, in addition to how many aerial channels I have it now says "Internet channels".

    I retuned after the update. Before the retune had completed, the box unexpectedly rebooted. When it was up again, I was able to restart the retune and this time it completed. However, I found my broadband connection was down - no internet connection with any device, including laptop connected by ethernet.

    After rebooting the router, all was well again. I mention it here because I don't know what triggered this. I wonder if anyone else has seen anything similar.
  • red snowred snow Member Posts: 11
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?
  • CeejayCeejay Member Posts: 178 ✭✭
    edited 16 June 2013, 2:15PM
    This isn't good - my wife has suffered three box crashes in the two evenings since I loaded this update. I tried a maintenance reset last night but it has crashed to a black screen again this evening. It had been relatively stable with the previous release.

    It appears to be when she starts to watch a recording just after a recording has started in the background.
  • IB1IB1 Member Posts: 8
    edited 25 April 2013, 9:50PM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    I have exactly the same issue.

    It looks like an update happened on the 23rd but to the wrong (older) version of the firmware.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    red snow said:

    I just checked my box, seems a little odd in it's software versions screen. It says:

    Last Updated: 23 Apr 2013
    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP configuration: 27

    Now I read this as the box did get an update 2 days ago but the versions are nowhere near the versions shown above. Any ideas please?

    'Last Updated' here is a misnomer for 'Last Checked for Update'. A confusion that YouView could usefully address by changing how they describe this date.
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
Sign In or Register to comment.