Failed recordings again !!!

16781012

Comments

  • AnotherJohnHAnotherJohnH Member Posts: 36
    edited 26 August 2015, 3:39PM
    If your EPG doesn't match the program, and in analogue times you could get a signal from another transmitter (even if it was unwatchable), I'd argue that you have overlapping transmitters.

    What are your signal strength readings on each multiplex?

    select the following channels and post back the S and Q for each one.

    BBC1 (standard def)
    ITV (standard def)
    BBC1 (HD)
    ITV3
    Dave
    Film4

    P.S. while you're there you could see when the box last retuned... might be 24th March.
  • bramblebramble Member Posts: 118
    edited 11 July 2017, 3:57PM
    My problem was caused specifically by scheduled recordings failing to bring the box out of standby. I contacted youview support who were very helpful and, as an ex-trialist, they gave me the number on which to contact Humax.

    I found Humax support also to be most courteous and helpful. They are arranging to exchange my box next week on the date I requested.
  • PPP QQQPPP QQQ Member Posts: 857
    edited 28 March 2013, 3:56PM
    bramble, thanks for posting. I suspect my failed recordings also were due to the box failing to come out of (High Eco) standby.

    I now stick to Low Eco.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    I wanted to record 'The Name of the Rose' a while back.

    I had to put the box in Umberto Eco mode :-)
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 28 March 2013, 11:56PM
    Roy1 said:

    I wanted to record 'The Name of the Rose' a while back.

    I had to put the box in Umberto Eco mode :-)

    Did you have to tweak the graphic equaliser on playback to lose the lisp? ;)
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Roy1 said:

    I wanted to record 'The Name of the Rose' a while back.

    I had to put the box in Umberto Eco mode :-)

    Are you hounding the Baskerville? :-)
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • edited 8 January 2015, 3:53PM
    Roy1 said:

    I wanted to record 'The Name of the Rose' a while back.

    I had to put the box in Umberto Eco mode :-)

    I had to put the box in Umberto Eco mode
    One of your best Roy.
    Smiley
  • Dominic SalterDominic Salter Member Posts: 1
    edited 26 August 2015, 3:39PM
    I have been experiencing the same problem of failed recordings and partial recordings so I thought I would join the party. I have emailed Youview and was advised to retune my Youview box and then reboot it. I didn’t hold up too much hope of this fixing anything but I have just done it and found that my signal strength has increased from 43% to 72%! No idea why it would increase but it would be interesting to see if it solves the issue and if it remains at 72%.
  • AnotherJohnHAnotherJohnH Member Posts: 36
    edited 26 August 2015, 3:39PM

    I have been experiencing the same problem of failed recordings and partial recordings so I thought I would join the party. I have emailed Youview and was advised to retune my Youview box and then reboot it. I didn’t hold up too much hope of this fixing anything but I have just done it and found that my signal strength has increased from 43% to 72%! No idea why it would increase but it would be interesting to see if it solves the issue and if it remains at 72%.

    It's likely your box has tuned into your nearest transmitter (stronger signal).

    Hopefully your box has tuned all mutliplexes to the same transmitter, if not you will get some recording failures.

    Quite why this nonsense persists when you have to enter your postcode as part of set-up, the box has a internet connection, and (AFAIK) there is tuning information in the transmitted data beggars belief.
  • Paul B1Paul B1 Member Posts: 17
    edited 3 April 2013, 10:48AM
    A quite easy fix would be, at the point of booking a recording the channel, transmitter and tuner are all booked as well. By that I mean, you book a recording from BBC1 NI HD at 21.00 - the box assigns a tuner to record from that MUX using it's MUX ID. If the box is then on another transmitter, with a different ID at the time of the recording, rather than fail the recording, the second tuner will check if the other MUX is available to it and make the recording. If you are already using that tuner for another recording, it should throw up a message on the other tuner saying it has a recording booked and then take the non recording tuner automatically - if you don't respond. Likewise if it's switched off on one MUX, it should be able to check all available Mulitplexes before failing anything.
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Member Posts: 86
    edited 29 April 2013, 7:57PM
    I've just had my FIRST problem since obtaining my BT Humax box about 4 months ago - a "Failed" Recording!!
    It's a series link that's scheduled to record "Judge Judy", every weekday on ITV2 at 08:40am.
    I've not put my implicit trust in YV yet after reading some of the forum comments, so I duplicate all recordings on an old Panasonic PVR.
    This of course recorded ok as usual - BUT the program wasn't "Judge Judy" it was "The Only Way Is Essex"..
  • CiceroCicero Member Posts: 345
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Member Posts: 86
    edited 29 April 2013, 9:01PM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    Just wondering if a lot of the Failed Recording probs were due to the same thing?
    With the absence of any recording, users would not know what has been missed..
    If the Record was shceduled as linked (e.g: in this case to all Judge Judy;s) when why would TOWIE be included in that same link unless in error by broadcasters / Freeview or whoever program schedules??
  • CiceroCicero Member Posts: 345
    edited 29 April 2013, 9:10PM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    Sort of see what you mean, but doesn't YouView always declare which programme it tried to record and failed, rather than just leaving it absent? I thought YouView had let me down the other night when the BBC4 programme about Israel failed, but apparently it was cancelled due to political pressure.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 30 April 2013, 10:33AM
    The real problem here is the obtuse generic message Youview uses for failed recordings without being more specific. In this case it is not a failed recording at all.
  • CiceroCicero Member Posts: 345
    edited 29 April 2013, 11:09PM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    I do see what you mean exactly now, that the series link you put in for 'Judge Judy' somehow tried to record it on a day when 'TOWIE' was in the time-slot instead. As you said, it seems to be an error in the series link info somewhere. Just out of interest, on the Panasonic were you recording a series link or the same manual time-slot every day? (if series link I would expect my Panasonic to declare a failed recording as well).
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    I totally agree, Gomez. I had a 'failed recording' but this was purely down to a schedule change where the programme was not actually broadcast. A completely different programme replaced it.
    The message needs to read "Not recorded due to schedule change." or something similar. As you so rightly say - this is NOT a "failed recording". I have had no REAL 'failed recordings' at all. I suspect that probably the majority of so-called 'failed recordings' come into this category, purely based on the fairly solid performance I have experienced over the many months I have used YouView.
  • PhoenixPhoenix Member Posts: 14
    edited 30 April 2013, 9:57AM
    I recorded Crimewatch last night. When I came to watch it there was only the last 17 minutes recorded. If the BBC can't get it right then surely we should have the facility to manually record.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    Ed

    assuming that the EPG is updated for programme changes (and it must be, or the box would not have noticed it was being offered a different programme at that time), it should be easy to check if failed recordings were due to schedule changes by simply going and looking in the backward EPG.

    Where I bet it now shows TOWIE where Judge Judy should have been.
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Member Posts: 86
    edited 30 April 2013, 4:10PM
    I've had this pop-up message on screen all week:
    "You may need to retune on 1st May...etc."
    ITV must be "tinkering", in readyness for the changes..

    The good news is that Judge Judy was back today, however, 6 mins 35 seconds in to the show, she went off and was replaced with "Lorraine Kelly" for about 5 minutes, then Judy made a welcome return......
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Member Posts: 86
    edited 30 April 2013, 4:19PM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    Cicero
    The Panny PVR is not that clever to have series links - it's 8 years old, so it just records progs that the users have input: "day of week", "channel" and "time slot".
    Whatever is broadcast at that slot, it records, until you cancel....BTW that's one of the wifes duties :-)
  • Ed SlackbladderEd Slackbladder Member Posts: 86
    edited 30 April 2013, 4:25PM
    Cicero said:

    Not sure I understand your problem. If YouView was scheduled to record 'Judge Judy' but 'TOWIE' was broadcast instead then YouView would mark it as a failed recording. It's the programme that YouView tries to record, not the time slot.

    Roy
    Yes - I did check and the schedule WAS for TOWIE in that usual JJ slot - also confirmed by checking the on-line Freeview TV guide....
    I'm like a "head with a sore bear" until my daily JJ fix (sad indeed!!) haha!
  • willie donaghywillie donaghy Member Posts: 31
    edited 2 May 2013, 8:47AM
    Tracked down this thread for some feedback. I am amazed that all these people have problems of failed recordings and they are not really failed recordings at all and that they are caused by the wrong type of leaves apparently.
    I have failed recordings and for transparency ( that is something that is lacking in this thread) would state here that -
    the youview box was powered and not in standby
    setting was by remote control in the same room, not by mobile app
    no power failures and no restart during the recording ( although that didn't affect my old VHS recorder)
    the digital signal is perfect when I am in the room and I have no reason to believe it diminishes every time I want to record. I have line of sight to transmitter.
    No change in programme schedule, no retune.
    78% free space on hard disk.

    This is a persistent, frequent problem and the only way I can be sure of actually recording anything is to manually press the record button when the programme starts.

    any useful comments or suggestions appreciated so that i can try these before seeking replacement hardware. It would be my perception that this is not a minor problem based on the extent of comment about this here and in other fora.
    I have a Humax set, December 2012 vintage.

    WD
  • PhoenixPhoenix Member Posts: 14
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    My experience with Crimewatch on Monday was the last straw. I have thrown my YV box down the rubbish shut in our block of flats. Luckily it was a trial box so I am not out of pocket.

    The box has never managed to record even 1 program in its entirety. I find that YV don't seem to give a toss about their users. People have begged for padding or manual recording but YV have continued with their blinkered approach that AR is perfect. Well goodbye YV and all the stress that has come with it.

    I have not been very vociferous about it in the past because I have seen how people who complain about YV have been treated.

    I am therefore out of here too. I wish I could say it has been a pleasurable experience.
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 2 December 2016, 7:27PM
    Phoenix said:

    My experience with Crimewatch on Monday was the last straw. I have thrown my YV box down the rubbish shut in our block of flats. Luckily it was a trial box so I am not out of pocket.

    The box has never managed to record even 1 program in its entirety. I find that YV don't seem to give a toss about their users. People have begged for padding or manual recording but YV have continued with their blinkered approach that AR is perfect. Well goodbye YV and all the stress that has come with it.

    I have not been very vociferous about it in the past because I have seen how people who complain about YV have been treated.

    I am therefore out of here too. I wish I could say it has been a pleasurable experience.

    Sorry to hear that, Phoenix. I would have paid the postage to have it. We must be recording different programmes, as I have had no instances of clipped recordings, or not recording the start. As this is a trigger supplied by the broadcaster, it is not really YV's fault, but I agree padding - or manual recording would be some people's option.
  • sam1sam1 Member Posts: 1,182 ✭✭
    edited 25 September 2013, 9:47AM
    Ideally I think you're supposed to take electronic stuff to a recycling centre.
  • MrBMrB Member Posts: 55
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    There are a couple of issues with this thread which mean that YouView are very unlikely to gain any more insights into the issue(s) let alone fix them, although I understand they have fixed some issues related to it recently:

    1) The original problem is the actual box error on the Recordings screen of "FAILED" or "RECORDING FAILED".
    Many others are using it to report clipped or other issues with recordings, and there are other threads for those specific issues.

    2) Ppl have asked several times for failure reports to include some details about the machine and the environment.
    These are mostly ignored and ppl just continue to whinge with very little supporting info.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 2 May 2013, 8:47AM

    Tracked down this thread for some feedback. I am amazed that all these people have problems of failed recordings and they are not really failed recordings at all and that they are caused by the wrong type of leaves apparently.
    I have failed recordings and for transparency ( that is something that is lacking in this thread) would state here that -
    the youview box was powered and not in standby
    setting was by remote control in the same room, not by mobile app
    no power failures and no restart during the recording ( although that didn't affect my old VHS recorder)
    the digital signal is perfect when I am in the room and I have no reason to believe it diminishes every time I want to record. I have line of sight to transmitter.
    No change in programme schedule, no retune.
    78% free space on hard disk.

    This is a persistent, frequent problem and the only way I can be sure of actually recording anything is to manually press the record button when the programme starts.

    any useful comments or suggestions appreciated so that i can try these before seeking replacement hardware. It would be my perception that this is not a minor problem based on the extent of comment about this here and in other fora.
    I have a Humax set, December 2012 vintage.

    WD

    In that case I would suspect duplicate channels.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Phoenix said:

    My experience with Crimewatch on Monday was the last straw. I have thrown my YV box down the rubbish shut in our block of flats. Luckily it was a trial box so I am not out of pocket.

    The box has never managed to record even 1 program in its entirety. I find that YV don't seem to give a toss about their users. People have begged for padding or manual recording but YV have continued with their blinkered approach that AR is perfect. Well goodbye YV and all the stress that has come with it.

    I have not been very vociferous about it in the past because I have seen how people who complain about YV have been treated.

    I am therefore out of here too. I wish I could say it has been a pleasurable experience.

    I think it might arise from the ashes (or should that be Aisha's)? :-)
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • sam1sam1 Member Posts: 1,182 ✭✭
    edited 25 September 2013, 9:47AM
    The big issue with this thread for me is that in spite of all the reports from users, recordings still fail inexplicably or start too late or end too early.

    It's not the user's fault, and it's not the user's responsibility to help Youview "gain insight" into its box, or carefully distinguish between the different ways in which recordings fail, etc. The end result for the user is frustration, regardless of how it's caused.

    Whinging is fully justified. The remedy is for the bugs to be fixed, not for users to be reprimanded for failing to structure their complaints correctly. Come to that, if Youview wants detailed explanations they could set a good example by providing an error code instead of a flipping triangle when their box fails yet again to do what it was supposedly built to do.
Sign In or Register to comment.