Automatic software update April 2013

1235

Comments

  • Damien RevellDamien Revell Member Posts: 8
    edited 8 May 2013, 9:57AM
    Any news on talktalk boxes ?
  • SamdyGraySamdyGray Member Posts: 4
    edited 9 March 2017, 11:54PM
    I've got the same issue as a few others have posted. BT Humax box. No update received and the box reports it last updated on 23 April. When manually searching for the update it tells me I am up to date.

    Manufacturer software 10.6.0
    Component software 1.3.4
    Platform 332
    ISP 27

    Hasn't the roll-out completed? I've tried turning the box off at the mains and restarting but it's still not triggering the update.
  • MunsMuns Member Posts: 12
    edited 26 February 2014, 3:04PM
    I'm in the same boat as SamdyGray. Same as my post before.
  • drhowellsdrhowells Member Posts: 634 ✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 5:21PM
    SamdyGray said:

    I've got the same issue as a few others have posted. BT Humax box. No update received and the box reports it last updated on 23 April. When manually searching for the update it tells me I am up to date.

    Manufacturer software 10.6.0
    Component software 1.3.4
    Platform 332
    ISP 27

    Hasn't the roll-out completed? I've tried turning the box off at the mains and restarting but it's still not triggering the update.

    The post, a few up, explains that there is a problem with some getting the update and they are working on it. Just a case of waiting i'm afraid.
  • SamdyGraySamdyGray Member Posts: 4
    edited 8 May 2013, 1:39PM
    SamdyGray said:

    I've got the same issue as a few others have posted. BT Humax box. No update received and the box reports it last updated on 23 April. When manually searching for the update it tells me I am up to date.

    Manufacturer software 10.6.0
    Component software 1.3.4
    Platform 332
    ISP 27

    Hasn't the roll-out completed? I've tried turning the box off at the mains and restarting but it's still not triggering the update.

    Thanks, I did see it, but thought it related to that poster where the software version no. changed but the update apparently didn't happen, which is a slightly different issue to min.
  • ant davanzoant davanzo Member Posts: 9
    edited 9 March 2017, 11:54PM
    I would be careful with this update. As I have posted, mine has updated the software BUT not updated the rest. Sadly this update has bricked my other youview box I have from BT. My box found the update when I searched manually, it downloaded the update reset and started to install then froze and stayed like this. I left it for a few hrs then turned it off. Upon restarting the box I found that it never got past the please wait screen. i reset the box, tried maintenance re install but nothing has worked. I have to now wait 15 days for a BT engineer to come out and tell me the box is not working!
  • drhowellsdrhowells Member Posts: 634 ✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 5:21PM

    I would be careful with this update. As I have posted, mine has updated the software BUT not updated the rest. Sadly this update has bricked my other youview box I have from BT. My box found the update when I searched manually, it downloaded the update reset and started to install then froze and stayed like this. I left it for a few hrs then turned it off. Upon restarting the box I found that it never got past the please wait screen. i reset the box, tried maintenance re install but nothing has worked. I have to now wait 15 days for a BT engineer to come out and tell me the box is not working!

    No reason to be careful with this update. As far as I know, you are the only person who has reported this issue on the forum. Problems sometimes happen, and I am sorry it happened to you, but the majority of users seem to upgrade with no issue.
  • ant davanzoant davanzo Member Posts: 9
    edited 8 May 2013, 1:53PM

    I would be careful with this update. As I have posted, mine has updated the software BUT not updated the rest. Sadly this update has bricked my other youview box I have from BT. My box found the update when I searched manually, it downloaded the update reset and started to install then froze and stayed like this. I left it for a few hrs then turned it off. Upon restarting the box I found that it never got past the please wait screen. i reset the box, tried maintenance re install but nothing has worked. I have to now wait 15 days for a BT engineer to come out and tell me the box is not working!

    Hi Dr, still need to be careful. Just because I may be the only one that has reported it here does not mean it may be a wider issue. There is a portion of people with youview that would not even go near a forum to post their issue.
    But I hear what you are saying.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    We're monitoring very closely and so are BT, and I agree with drhowells that there are almost no reports of problems.

    The rollout is still happening as it was delayed slightly while we investigated the "software versions in settings not matching the april update" problem. (The one that ant is experiencing, which we'll fix soon after the rollout is finished)

    Ant - it sounds like there may have been a problem with your BT box before the update, or a very rare problem during the update.

    SamdyGray - you should get the update in the near future as part of the main BT rollout.
  • MunsMuns Member Posts: 12
    edited 26 February 2014, 3:04PM
    Piers2 said:

    We're monitoring very closely and so are BT, and I agree with drhowells that there are almost no reports of problems.

    The rollout is still happening as it was delayed slightly while we investigated the "software versions in settings not matching the april update" problem. (The one that ant is experiencing, which we'll fix soon after the rollout is finished)

    Ant - it sounds like there may have been a problem with your BT box before the update, or a very rare problem during the update.

    SamdyGray - you should get the update in the near future as part of the main BT rollout.

    Thanks, Piers. Informative as usual :)
  • SamdyGraySamdyGray Member Posts: 4
    edited 8 May 2013, 2:41PM
    Piers2 said:

    We're monitoring very closely and so are BT, and I agree with drhowells that there are almost no reports of problems.

    The rollout is still happening as it was delayed slightly while we investigated the "software versions in settings not matching the april update" problem. (The one that ant is experiencing, which we'll fix soon after the rollout is finished)

    Ant - it sounds like there may have been a problem with your BT box before the update, or a very rare problem during the update.

    SamdyGray - you should get the update in the near future as part of the main BT rollout.

    Thanks for the confirmation, Piers.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    Potential problem with the update.

    Since the update installed, I seem to have had an increased incidence of the backwards EPG and programme details either failing to download or taking a very long time to populate. A couple of other users also seem to be suffering similar problems - see http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    Could this be down to the box failing to connect or a problem with the YouView servers?
  • Matt FMatt F Member Posts: 204
    edited 8 May 2013, 9:51PM
    Lbear1 said:

    Potential problem with the update.

    Since the update installed, I seem to have had an increased incidence of the backwards EPG and programme details either failing to download or taking a very long time to populate. A couple of other users also seem to be suffering similar problems - see http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    Could this be down to the box failing to connect or a problem with the YouView servers?

    I have noticed them taking longer too.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,591 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Lbear1 said:

    Potential problem with the update.

    Since the update installed, I seem to have had an increased incidence of the backwards EPG and programme details either failing to download or taking a very long time to populate. A couple of other users also seem to be suffering similar problems - see http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    Could this be down to the box failing to connect or a problem with the YouView servers?

    As fast as ever for me
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    Hi Peter. Mine was the same until I did a reset using the front circular button (press and hold for a few seconds until it reboots). That seemed to fix it.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 9 May 2013, 11:31AM
    Lbear1 said:

    Potential problem with the update.

    Since the update installed, I seem to have had an increased incidence of the backwards EPG and programme details either failing to download or taking a very long time to populate. A couple of other users also seem to be suffering similar problems - see http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    Could this be down to the box failing to connect or a problem with the YouView servers?

    Piers has made it clear on another thread that this problem is currently down to problems with one of their servers.
    http://community.youview.com/youview/...
  • John Smith1John Smith1 Member Posts: 20
    edited 9 May 2013, 5:01PM
    I haven't checked in here for a while and it seems this updated last night. The stuck fast forward bug has been very trying. The sound fix is welcome too.

    Since it's not on the list of fixes I still seem to have an occasional problem with no display or sound when I try to turn the box on during a scheduled recording from high eco standby.

    I needed to add a follow on recording to the schedule so I had to decide to scrap the current recording and reset via the power button.
  • Richard HardakerRichard Hardaker Member Posts: 18
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM
    I have a bt supplied humax box. No auto update as of 8th may so I did a manual check. This did an update and a reboot. My version shows updated on 8th may but still 10.6.0, 1.3.4, 332, 28. I still have ff issue. Any thoughts on when I will get the latest update?
    Thanks,
    Richard
  • DADA Member Posts: 142
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM

    I have a bt supplied humax box. No auto update as of 8th may so I did a manual check. This did an update and a reboot. My version shows updated on 8th may but still 10.6.0, 1.3.4, 332, 28. I still have ff issue. Any thoughts on when I will get the latest update?
    Thanks,
    Richard

    I have a retail (trial) box and still don't have the update. Usually I receive it within the first week. Would love to get it ASAP to fix the annoying crackling audio.
  • RosemaryRosemary Member Posts: 3
    edited 11 May 2013, 10:22PM
    Keith1 said:

    Hi Michael - To clear the problem with the display on the front of Humax boxes going blank after the update the box just needs a power cycle, i.e. put it in to standby, turn it off at the back for 20 seconds and then turn it back on (or touch the blue circle for about 8 seconds to achieve the same effect).

    Touching the blue button worked! Thanks!
  • DavidBDavidB Member Posts: 69
    edited 28 February 2017, 9:53AM
    In early April, I received? the update, but the version remained unchanged at 10.6.0 etc

    Middle of April I again received the update and this time it was for real, the version was updated to 12.7.0, 1.4.10, 450 etc. and this was for real (it now indicated that I had 0 IP channels etc.).

    On the 9th May another "update" was sent, but no changes to the versions were made.

    I am on a BT provided Humax box.

    Are we due for another update, or is this just another glitch.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 9 March 2017, 11:54PM
    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.
  • DADA Member Posts: 142
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    Thanks Piers. I still get the crackling audio bug and the sticking skip buttons though.

    Also my software versions don't exactly match the above. They are:

    Manufacturer Software: 12.7.0
    Component Software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP Configuration: 1

    Is this correct?
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    It's not correct - a small number of boxes got stuck on the old version. We're going to fix that soon with another update that will just force ones like yours to update, but if you have a retail box and really want the latest software right now, you can use maintenance mode and select "Internet / USB Recovery, keep recordings". You'll have to scan for channels again, schedule new programmes and series to record and change any settings back to the way that you like them of course.

    http://videos.youview.com/support/mai...
  • DADA Member Posts: 142
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    Ah, good to know. It's a trial box but I think I'll wait for the auto force update. Thanks for the update as ever Piers.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    No problem. It should be sorted in a couple of weeks, now that we understand what went wrong.
  • PeteBPeteB Member Posts: 80 ✭✭
    edited 15 May 2013, 11:12AM
    I only received my BT branded Youview box yesterday and don't have the new software yet. My box is showing

    Manufacturer software 12.7.0
    Component software 1.3.4
    Platform 332
    ISP 28

    However, I tried forcing a software update. The box went off, found something, installed it and then restarted but it's still showing the same info. I tried fully powering down and leaving for 2 mins but when it came on again, nothing has changed. I suppose I'll just have to wait and see what happens.

    On opening the packaging my YV box came in, I was a bit surprised to find the remote batteries were loose inside a bag and not shrinked-wrapped together as is usual with consumer electronics products these days. The wrapper the remote was in also looked as though it may have been previously opened. I hope I haven't been sent a refurbished unit.
  • Richard HardakerRichard Hardaker Member Posts: 18
    edited 15 May 2013, 9:22PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    Any comments on my issue? (see 2 posts previous).
    Thanks,
    .Richard
  • drhowellsdrhowells Member Posts: 634 ✭✭
    edited 20 December 2016, 5:21PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    See Piers comment above.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Piers2 said:

    Hi David. In late April you got the recent software update for Humax boxes. The other 2 changes in April and May were just BT specific configuration changes which happen from time to time.

    The software update for BT boxes is not complete. It's taking longer than expected due to a minor problem with the software manager that we've now fixed. After a few more days of testing we should be resuming.
Sign In or Register to comment.