Automatic software update May 2013

2

Comments

  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 7 December 2016, 7:38AM
    Axolotl said:

    Can someone explain what the display "Software last updated" date means?

    It obviusly doesn't mean the software has been updated, as I have a BT Humax box and it currently says "Software last updated 21 May 2013", and it also used to say 5 May 2013, but the version details are still 10.6.0, and 1,3,4 so I haven't received the May update yet. (Better hurry up BT or it won't be there before the inevitable June update).

    I assume it may be the last time the box checked for an update? If that is the case, why doesn't it say so, to avoid confusion?

    'Can't say exactly what, but something changed on dd mmm yyyy.'

    And now there are four sorts of boxes; BT Subscription and Retail, TT Subscription, and 'classic' Retail.

    I'm going to have to seriously update my cut and paste buffer for replying to insufficiently detailed queries on here :-(
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 22 May 2013, 5:47PM
    Lbear1 said:

    Once again an update announcement includes "This will be a phased roll out over the next few weeks" without giving details of the timetabling criteria.

    So yet again we are going to have the YouView equivalent of the kids in the back of the car asking "are we there yet?" as users check, find their box is still on the previous version and think something is wrong.

    I realize that some boxes like the BT Humax boxes have problems but having the roll-out criteria to check that your box should have been updated according to the schedule would actually identify those problems earlier.

    Piers,

    You rather make the point of my suggestion over the past couple of updates that the boiler plate notification you are currently using is very bad in terms of customer relations. This announcement above states:

    "This will be a phased roll out over the next few weeks, so some boxes will receive this software sooner than others"

    The April announcement stated:

    "This will be a phased roll out over 2 weeks, so some boxes will receive this software sooner than others"

    Spot the difference - in my neck of the woods "the next few weeks" is a longer time scale than "2 weeks". Why not add the information we appear to have to drag out of YouView and simply include in the May announcement something like:

    "Retail Humax boxes should download this at the next overnight automatic update. BT boxes have a longer roll-out timetable but will be able to download it as soon as possible"

    For the larger updates like the April one, why not be more open and explain the roll-out schedule?. You clearly use either the serial number or identifier as the gatekeeper. So something like "Retail boxes with serial (identifier) numbers ending in x will get the update first followed by the rest in numerical order. BT boxes will roll out from serial numbers ending in Y in numerical order and may take longer to receive the update" You could even put the schedule on a separate page and link to it.

    That way retail box owners who have not had the update by, say, this weekend might start to get worried sooner than the date implied by "next few weeks" and BT owners can be sanguine. Similarly we would not have had the scenario I described in my original comment after the April update.

    If that is too difficult, how about simply adding an announcement after the retail and BT phases have been completed to alert owners if their box has not updated then, they can try a manual update or investigate any connection problems that have prevented the automatic one?
  • Damien RevellDamien Revell Member Posts: 8
    edited 22 May 2013, 5:45PM
    What about talk talk boxes ?
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 22 May 2013, 5:45PM
    Pink screen is usually an HDMI handshaking problem which Rachel's suggestion should cure.
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 22 May 2013, 5:51PM
    Simon12 said:

    @Peter This may well be true, however there are some of us on the Huawei/TT side of the fence who look on with envious eyes. Realize this is a patch on a patch release for Humax, but two updates in two months??....... When TT/Huawei get nothing...Think yourselves lucky .....

    (For those who know I left, well yes, to badly paraphrase Arnie, I am back.
    Took more of a sabbatical than a permanent leave of absence, to see if manners improved. Seems they have.
    As can be seen on another thread Roy is even quoting Latin, so its got all cosmopolitan here lol)

    @ Simon, I think it is you who might consider yourself lucky that you have a box which does not appear to need monthly software updates, some of which are there to correct bugs introduced by earlier ones!
  • Lbear1Lbear1 Member Posts: 741
    edited 22 May 2013, 6:00PM

    Rachel,

    would this update

    "To prevent boxes freezing occasionally when attempting to record two
    programmes broadcast on different multiplexes containing a large number of
    channels"

    be some explanation of the problems some have found on this thread

    http://community.youview.com/youview/...

    as it would shed light on the problem I've had trying to record both Pick TV & Channel 5+1 at the same time.

    Rachel - an observation.

    A large number of channels on a mux suggests some have very low bit rates. One of the typical scenarios where the Humaxes (used to?) stall was on changing channels using the up/down rocker and zapping past either BBC Parliament or BBC3 and BBC4/CBBC and Cbeebies when they are off air and displaying a MHEG slide.

    All of those have low broadcast bit rates. Any chance this and lloyd's problem being related?
  • DADA Member Posts: 142
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM
    Hurrah, my box finally updated overnight (it missed the April update).

    Just as an FYI to YouView staff, I'm now experiencing the no display after updating bug. I actually prefer it this way so I'll save the manual reboot until something else goes wrong.
  • CiceroCicero Member Posts: 345
    edited 22 May 2013, 7:46PM
    I get 'pink screen' periodically, it doesn't seem to be related to updates, just random. But Rachel's suggestion of turning off the box and the TV and waiting a minute may be overkill. As I said, I find that just turning off the box with the remote and then immediately turning it on again will remedy.
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 22 February 2017, 5:07PM
    Moved to BT Infinity today and had my YV box BT'erised but still kept this latest update. Roll on August now ...
  • northernnorthern Member Posts: 241
    edited 30 November 2014, 12:48PM
    gomez said:

    Moved to BT Infinity today and had my YV box BT'erised but still kept this latest update. Roll on August now ...

    Just wondered if you had to have new wiring within the home to the new Home Hub etc thanks
  • tracestraces Member Posts: 199
    edited 24 November 2016, 7:25PM
    Retail Humax firmware upgrade installed ok here
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited 23 May 2013, 8:42PM
    gomez said:

    Moved to BT Infinity today and had my YV box BT'erised but still kept this latest update. Roll on August now ...

    The BT man screwed the fibre modem to the wall in my study in the corner next to the Home Hub router (sitting on a tall CD rack) which replaces my ADSL modem/router and where there is a convenient power point (two sockets needed). Then ran a cable from the new master telephone faceplate in the hallway round the skirting board and through the study doorframe to the modem which replaces the RJ45 cable I had taped to the skirting board for the last ten years so ended up a lot neater than it was. :)
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,388 ✭✭✭
    edited 6 March 2017, 9:48PM
    My Humax retail box auto-updated the first night. Haven't found any new bugs caused by it, so far...
    Back to my usual level of bafflement, then...
  • northernnorthern Member Posts: 241
    edited 30 November 2014, 12:48PM
    gomez said:

    Moved to BT Infinity today and had my YV box BT'erised but still kept this latest update. Roll on August now ...

    Thanks v much
  • user1116564user1116564 Member Posts: 3
    edited 24 May 2013, 6:58PM
    I am sorry but I am very confused. when i look at my box all I can see is:

    Manufacturer software :
    Component software : 1.2.6
    Platform configuration : 312
    ISP configuration : 40
  • MunsMuns Member Posts: 12
    edited 26 February 2014, 3:04PM
    Hi, I have posted a couple of times on the April update thread about not getting the update. I still don't appear to be getting the update.

    When I make my box check for software update, instead of saying there is no update, it now shows a progress bar that is immediately at 100% and proceeds to restart. After the restart no change has been made to my system. I still show the following Software version data at the time of posting this:

    Manufacturer software: 10.6.0
    Component software: 1.3.4
    Platform configuration: 332
    ISP Configuration: 40

    Please, Piers or Rachel, advise what I need to do? Thanks very much.
  • user1116564user1116564 Member Posts: 3
    edited 24 May 2013, 7:37PM
    okay, after doing a factory reset i have now got to the settings above - and with something (finally) in the manufacturer software section. i am now in the same position as above.

    with 10.6.0; 1.3.4; 332 and 40.

    and the progress bar imediately goes to 100% and restarts with no update.
  • churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    hi user1116554,

    Do not despair .... I had the same problem and posted this about a month ago.

    "FWIW I had a problem with the last update. I now realise that it was probably because I did a massive upload of some of my data to the cloud, and that was happening the very night the update tried to come through. The end result was that over about 3 weeks, the Software Checked and Updated fields incremented each day, but the levels stayed the same - the old levels. The other weird thing was that the Manufacturer Software Level field was blank - nothing there at all.
    I didn't want to risk losing all my recorded programmes, so I watched the lot over 3-4 weeks, and then did a Maintenance Mode reset. (I carefully took piccies with my mobile of all that I had scheduled to record, to make it easier to reset it all)
    Anyway, the next night it installed the update successfully, after failing to do so for 3-4 weeks.
    I am not saying that you have the same problem - but others may have - the signs are that each night the Software Checked/Updated fields update to the present day, but no update gets installed. If you see this pattern, then perhaps you have what I had. And that may also be accompanied by a blank Manufacturer Software field.
    I THINK what happened was that the first night it tried to do an update but my router was overloaded uploading all my files. That somehow caused the update to fail - possibly when it just started, and somehow left the system with settings that it couldn't deal with (may have been the Manufacturer Software field) Once this had happened, it happily started the following night (and every subsequent night), updated the software checked/updated dates, and then hit the same problem so didn't complete.
    Once I reset the system, it all went through like clockwork."

    Due to the appalling forum search facilities it took me about 20 minutes to find my OWN post..... so I decided to copy it whole rather than directing you to the thread.

    Hope this is helpful.

    image
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Member Posts: 194 ✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 11:43AM
    I'm not sure if the May 2013 update is the cause.
    Humax YV box. I was a triallist in summer 2012. Since May 2013 update. The box has twice lost picture via HDMI (picture goes into loads of wrong-coloured pix-cells), requiring mains switch-off/on to resolve.
    S/W =
    12.7.10
    1.4.10
    451
    3
  • AxolotlAxolotl Member Posts: 53
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    I thought I was pleased that my box finally updated to the May release last night (29 May), the Humax BT box is now showing Manufacturer software 12.7.10, Component 1.4.10, Platform 451 and ISP 28.

    However, seeing these reports of picture faults following the update, I'm not so sure.

    When I turned it on, it did at least switch the TV on and switch to the YouView box HDMI feed, which it has never done before. I don't know yet if that was a one off following software update, or if it will now switch properly every time.

    It may be a while before I find out as I am now only using the Youview box to record stuff when the two tuners in my DVD recorder can't cope. i.e. it is there for emergency use only, because I cannot rely on it to do what I want when I need it to, or to perform properly when it does work. If it were a retail box, I'd return it as unfit for purpose, as it is a BT box, I'm stuck with it to the end of the contract.

    I can't wait to see what the June update does. (Not).
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Axolotl said:

    I thought I was pleased that my box finally updated to the May release last night (29 May), the Humax BT box is now showing Manufacturer software 12.7.10, Component 1.4.10, Platform 451 and ISP 28.

    However, seeing these reports of picture faults following the update, I'm not so sure.

    When I turned it on, it did at least switch the TV on and switch to the YouView box HDMI feed, which it has never done before. I don't know yet if that was a one off following software update, or if it will now switch properly every time.

    It may be a while before I find out as I am now only using the Youview box to record stuff when the two tuners in my DVD recorder can't cope. i.e. it is there for emergency use only, because I cannot rely on it to do what I want when I need it to, or to perform properly when it does work. If it were a retail box, I'd return it as unfit for purpose, as it is a BT box, I'm stuck with it to the end of the contract.

    I can't wait to see what the June update does. (Not).

    Hi Axolotl - what problem are you currently experiencing?
  • DADA Member Posts: 142
    edited 3 May 2014, 7:08PM
    Since updating to this latest software I have experienced/am experiencing the following new bugs:

    • Orange display not working
    • Black screen lock-up when trying to play a recording
    • Loss of sound when playing a recording/after changing channels/after waking from standby (until another channel is selected or playback of recording has been restarted)

    It definitely feels as if with each software release more new bugs are added than fixed.
  • AxolotlAxolotl Member Posts: 53
    edited 29 May 2013, 10:39AM
    Following the latest update, I now can't watch my recordings. I just tried to watch one that was marked as "watched", there is no option to start from the beginning, It just starts at the end. If I try to use the info panel to move the resume position back to the start, the box just shows me a black screen and freezes. I have to turn it off and back on again to be able to use anything.

    Prior to this release, I was getting freezing when trying to watch catch-up channels, (not internet waits, just picture frozen and box frozen needing power off to resume) so I gave up trying, and bought box sets DVDs instead..

    I was also experiencing the skip forward "sticking" so it would skip straight to the end of recordings in 60s slots.

    I don't know if these problems are still there, as they were intermittent andI don't want to try anything else at present, I have better things to waste my time on

    As I said in previous post, this box just isn't usable to do anything reliably.

    Since I now can't watch anything, there seems little point in trying.
  • AxolotlAxolotl Member Posts: 53
    edited 23 February 2017, 1:13PM
    Update:-

    I just tried again.

    The HDMI switching is just as random as before. in three "on off" standby cycles, it has a) done nothing twice, so I had to switch the TV on manually and switch to the Youview HDMI channel, b) turned the TV on but not switched to the YouView HDMI once, so i had to manually switch to the Youview HDMI channel. It seems that the HDMI switching the TV on AND switching to the YouView HDMI channel is a one-off, immediately following the software update.

    The fact that it can do this implies it is a problem with the YouView box, not my TV, also my TV quite happily switches to my Panasonic DVD recorder when I turn that on. I think you need to add HDMI switching to your list of problems to be fixed, too many people with different TVs are experiencing it.

    However, I can now play the recordings that wouldn't play just now. There is no consistency in how this box behaves.
  • PiersPiers Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 17 November 2015, 3:18PM
    Axolotl said:

    Update:-

    I just tried again.

    The HDMI switching is just as random as before. in three "on off" standby cycles, it has a) done nothing twice, so I had to switch the TV on manually and switch to the Youview HDMI channel, b) turned the TV on but not switched to the YouView HDMI once, so i had to manually switch to the Youview HDMI channel. It seems that the HDMI switching the TV on AND switching to the YouView HDMI channel is a one-off, immediately following the software update.

    The fact that it can do this implies it is a problem with the YouView box, not my TV, also my TV quite happily switches to my Panasonic DVD recorder when I turn that on. I think you need to add HDMI switching to your list of problems to be fixed, too many people with different TVs are experiencing it.

    However, I can now play the recordings that wouldn't play just now. There is no consistency in how this box behaves.

    There are problems with HDMI CEC in all releases to date, but Humax do seem to have fixed that in the next release due out in a few weeks that we're testing now. We're sorry that it's taken so long but we don't have control of all the software.

    We do know about the orange front panel issue, and again it's a Humax problem but it does come back after switching on and off.

    I'll pass your comments about not being able to play recording after the update to Humax, and our support team. It is strange but not that widespread based on calls and email to YouView or BT. I'm sorry that you've been inconvenienced, and we take these report very seriously. I'll report back here when we can track down what might have gone wrong for you.
  • Simon12Simon12 Member Posts: 391
    edited 1 October 2015, 9:08AM
    Axolotl said:

    Update:-

    I just tried again.

    The HDMI switching is just as random as before. in three "on off" standby cycles, it has a) done nothing twice, so I had to switch the TV on manually and switch to the Youview HDMI channel, b) turned the TV on but not switched to the YouView HDMI once, so i had to manually switch to the Youview HDMI channel. It seems that the HDMI switching the TV on AND switching to the YouView HDMI channel is a one-off, immediately following the software update.

    The fact that it can do this implies it is a problem with the YouView box, not my TV, also my TV quite happily switches to my Panasonic DVD recorder when I turn that on. I think you need to add HDMI switching to your list of problems to be fixed, too many people with different TVs are experiencing it.

    However, I can now play the recordings that wouldn't play just now. There is no consistency in how this box behaves.

    Lo there Piers
    So Humax boxes are getting, what, a THIRD new update in a few weeks!?!
    Any chance of letting us poor TT/Huawei box owners when we are getting our FIRST new update. Also, will it include all the rolled up (April, May, June/July(??)) fixes as applied to the Humax boxes (as appropriate), or will be we be back at the April update.

    Not trying to shoot the messenger here btw :)

    BTW - I also want to see the HDMI-CEC issue fixed as well - obviously for Huawei ;)

    Cheers

    Simon
  • ScuttlebroomScuttlebroom Member Posts: 279
    edited 13 November 2013, 9:01AM
    Hmm, I seem to have a few issues with this latest version!

    The last couple of days, it wouldn't play a recording, got the black screen and had to do a 8 second restart.

    Also yesterday, it showed no scheduled recordings set, so again had to do an 8 second restart.

    And now my box wouldn't wake up at all today, so I had to do a software reset from the maintenance mode, and it now switches on.

    i will monitor over the next few days, but looks like a few issues with this version!
  • Chris_ThatcherChris_Thatcher Member Posts: 194 ✭✭
    edited 2 March 2017, 11:43AM
    Unable to book recordings from EPG until re-boot. Also recording schedule empty until re-boot, (mains switch off / switch on).
    All this since May 2013 software download. Humax YouView box. I was a triallist. I've never had these problems before.
  • Dougy BDougy B Member Posts: 1
    edited 1 June 2013, 2:11PM
    Got to say cannot believe how we are being used as beta tester for Humax!

    And yes we are beta tester. There are obvious issues with the youview box that it should have never been released until it was correct. To have to keep resetting your box due to lock up, blank screens with audio only, waiting sometimes 5 mins before picture returns or control of your box is a joke!
    I am absolutely gutted as my old humax PVR hardly ever went wrong, I only reset it 2 times in the space of a year .
    To keep telling the end user "just reset your box" is BS.
    They need to sort this as the YV box is not cheap, and you shouldn't have to do what we are doing at present. Come Humax sort it!!
  • sam1sam1 Member Posts: 1,182 ✭✭
    edited 25 September 2013, 9:47AM
    Ring Humax if it's a retail box. If it's faulty they'll exchange it.
Sign In or Register to comment.