No sound immediately after turning on YouView from standby on 13.4.0/1.6.0/490/3

Josh1Josh1 Member Posts: 17
edited July 2017 in Archived Posts
Hi there,

Since the June upgrade to my Humax trial box to 13.4.0/1.6.0/490/3, my TV does not receive any audio from the YouView box on the channel it comes out of standby (low eco mode) to. So, for example, if it comes out of standby to BBC News, it'll appear as if it's muted, but it isn't. I have to change the channel on the YouView box (through any method - guide, channel up/down, entering a number) for it to start feeding audio the the TV. Altering the YouView volume, or moving in and out of mute doesn't help, and altering TV volume doesn't make any difference; only changing the channel kicks the audio into action.

I'm using YouView with a Sony Bravia HD TV in 1020p via HDMI, if that helps.

Not so much of a problem, but if new customers receive this error, they might think it's a fault rather than something that can be addressed with a software update.

Thanks,

Josh
«13

Comments

  • SW1SW1 Member Posts: 240
    edited July 2013
    Yep same here, mine is a Sony 40Z4500, the solution for me is to turn on the Humax box 5 or 10s before I turn on the TV, then the problem does not happen. Agreed though changing channel will also resolve this.

    I am also one of the original triallists and never had this problem before.
  • AndyAndy Member Posts: 19
    edited December 2013
    I've had the same issue, although not all the time.

    I'm using the SCART interface to receive audio/video, so not limited to the HDMI interface.
  • parneyparney Member Posts: 89
    edited July 2013
    me too. Connected to Panasonic TV over HDMI. Have to change channel back and fourth for the audio to come on. Only recently started.
  • Roger2Roger2 Member Posts: 16
    edited July 2013
    I have had this intermittent problem as well
  • adempseyadempsey Member Posts: 1
    edited July 2013
    I've noticed this lately, and changing the channel fixes it every time.

    I don't remember having it when I first got the latest update but I must have done.
  • Josh1Josh1 Member Posts: 17
    edited July 2013
    Any comment from YouView on the status of this?
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited August 2013
    I've noticed this as well. Doesn't happen every time. Turning off then on again usually solves the problem. Panasonic TV connected by HDMI.
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited July 2013
    billmars said:

    I've noticed this as well. Doesn't happen every time. Turning off then on again usually solves the problem. Panasonic TV connected by HDMI.

    Happened again last night.
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited August 2013
    billmars said:

    I've noticed this as well. Doesn't happen every time. Turning off then on again usually solves the problem. Panasonic TV connected by HDMI.

    I'm still getting no sound about three times out of four when switching on the box. Changing channels remedies the problem. Can't believe I'm the only one!
  • Patricia MurphyPatricia Murphy Member Posts: 9
    edited December 2015
    Same with me. I have a Panasonic connected with HDMI. I've only had this box, Humax, just over 2 weeks. I was a triallist and Humax replaced my broken box.
  • Darren NimanDarren Niman Member Posts: 36
    edited August 2013
    Morning all,

    I have had this at about 6:45am when I decided to see what was on BBC News channel. I hope someone from YouView can look into this?

    Thanks.
    D
  • Josh1Josh1 Member Posts: 17
    edited August 2013
    Is there any chance of a response from YouView about this? I reported it over two weeks ago.

    Thanks,

    Josh
  • gomezgomez Member Posts: 2,073 ✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?
  • Josh1Josh1 Member Posts: 17
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Yes, I've done both.
  • johnnyshankjohnnyshank Member Posts: 83 ✭✭
    edited March 2015
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Have the same problem.
  • Philip TrottPhilip Trott Member Posts: 1,040 admin
    edited December 2016
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Hi guys, I wondered if you could let me know the make and model of the TV you are experiencing the issue on? This will help with the feedback to our tech team to investigate further.

    Thanks,
    Phil
  • Josh1Josh1 Member Posts: 17
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Hi Phil,

    Yes, I'm using a Sony KDL-40L4000.

    Thanks,

    Josh
  • Darren NimanDarren Niman Member Posts: 36
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Hi Phil,

    My TV is a 32" LG, model no. 32LH5000. Hope that helps.

    Thanks
    Darren
  • AndyAndy Member Posts: 19
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Hi Phil,

    Mine is an old CRT one: Phillips 32PW9308/05 on SCART connection.

    Although I've not noticed this issue for weeks now.

    Cheers
    Andy
  • Geraint MorrisGeraint Morris Member Posts: 772
    edited November 2013
    Mines doing it again, today it's usually around 30 seconds + before the sound comes on
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited February 2017
    I thought the latest update had cured the problem, but it happened again last night.
  • Philip TrottPhilip Trott Member Posts: 1,040 admin
    edited December 2016
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Hi Guys, thanks for updating on the model of TVs you are experiencing this on. I will feed back to our tech team to help them look into it.

    Phil
  • Philip TrottPhilip Trott Member Posts: 1,040 admin
    edited December 2016
    billmars said:

    I thought the latest update had cured the problem, but it happened again last night.

    Hi billmars, what model TV do you have? Have there been any changes to you setup in regards to different sound outputs or settings on the TV?

    Phil
  • Geraint MorrisGeraint Morris Member Posts: 772
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    This is happening for me on a Samsung UE46B7020 as well as an old Toshiba 32WLT66
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited August 2013
    billmars said:

    I thought the latest update had cured the problem, but it happened again last night.

    Panasonic TX-L42DT50B. No changes to setup. Doesn't happen every time, and less frequently now than in the past 2 or 3 weeks.
  • billmarsbillmars Member Posts: 40
    edited August 2013
    billmars said:

    I thought the latest update had cured the problem, but it happened again last night.

    But it happened again this morning, along with picture juddering. Changing channels (first change didn't work) solved the problem.
  • Robert3Robert3 Member Posts: 1
    edited August 2013
    gomez said:

    Did you raise a fault with Youview rather than just post about it on here?

    Happening to me on Sharp LC-32LE600e
  • Steve B1Steve B1 Member Posts: 13
    edited March 2017
    This has just started to happen with me over the last week or so - mysteriously enough well after the last update - but at least I know I'm not alone and hopefully YouView/Humax will be addressing this with the next software release?
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 16,998 ✭✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Steve B1 said:

    This has just started to happen with me over the last week or so - mysteriously enough well after the last update - but at least I know I'm not alone and hopefully YouView/Humax will be addressing this with the next software release?

    Such a late onset problem might be fixed by the thirty-second reset. Have you tried that?
    ‘Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful’ Wm Morris
  • Steve B1Steve B1 Member Posts: 13
    edited September 2013
    Steve B1 said:

    This has just started to happen with me over the last week or so - mysteriously enough well after the last update - but at least I know I'm not alone and hopefully YouView/Humax will be addressing this with the next software release?

    It could be so I'll try it tonight but the problem seems so widespread that this needs to be fixed by YouView rather than everyone having to do the restart workaround. Thanks for the suggestion though.
Sign In or Register to comment.