Aspect Ratio wont return after watching programme in 4:3

TheOldGitTheOldGit Member Posts: 2
edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM in Archived Posts
Hi,

I have my set-up to watch in 16:9 but when we watch some of the older programmes on Drama or whatever the aspect changes to 4:3 but then will not reset to 16:9.

I have been through the settings on my Youview box as well as the settings on the TV set itself, Toshiba, but to no avail. The only way I have found to fix this is to reset the whole box waiting for it to find all of the channels, and all of the other things it does in the original set-up. I don't want to keep doing this so what can I do? A hammer is looking like the next option.

Comments

• churchwardenchurchwarden Member Posts: 795
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    I'm not an expert on this sort of problem - too many variables. All I can say is that with my Samsung TV set to 16:9 I have no problems with this. Even when a programme is 4:3 it switches automatically to 16:9 for the adverts, and then switches back when the programme starts again.
  • RoyRoy Member, Super User Posts: 17,658 ✭✭✭
    edited 3 May 2017, 11:39PM
    The YouView box only ever outputs 16:9. When you watch a programme being transmitted in 4:3, the YouView box takes the 4:3 as 12:9 (the exact same thing if you divide top and bottom numbers by 3) within 16:9, by adding a 2:9 black bar each side.

So it's always 16:9, and there is no resetting to 16:9 to be done.

If you have changed anything on the TV when watching these programmes - though it should be completely unnecessary to switch it away from 16:9 to anything else - then that is the setting you will need to change back.

But for this to be a YouView box problem is completely inexplicable to me.

Not something I often say - indeed, I don't think I've ever said it before - but what you describe is a mystery to me, unless it is nothing to do with the YouView box.